Mac Point Stadium! - "Tas Says Yes!"

• Thread starter Thread starter Jazny

What kind of stadium do you want?

Tasmania State Government’s plans to fast-track Macquarie Point urban renewal project, AFL stadium​

The state government plans to fast-track the proposed Macquarie Point urban renewal project - which includes the AFL stadium - but insists the public will get to have their say.
It will be nominated as a Major Project under controversial legislation which passed parliament in 2020 and will take the decision on its future away from the Hobart City Council and into the hands of an expert panel.
The new Bridgewater Bridge was the first project fast-tracked under the legislation.

State Development Minister Guy Barnett said the government had received advice on the most appropriate planning assessment pathway and after the updated Masterplan for the site was developed, it would be nominated for declaration as a Major Project.

He said before declaring a major project, in accordance with the statutory process, the Planning Minister would consult with a range of interested parties.

“If declared, the project would then be assessed by an independent expert panel appointed by the Tasmanian Planning Commission and at arms-length from government.
“In effect, Major Projects takes the politics out (of) the decision-making and allows a development proposal to be assessed on its merits against the requirements of the Land Use Planning and Approvals Act and our Resource Management and Planning System.

“Tasmanians can be assured that if declared a major project that there would be an independent process that is rigorous and which provides genuine opportunities for community engagement.”

Under the Major Projects process, the Macquarie Point urban renewal project, like the Bridgewater Bridge, would not come before Parliament or council for approval.

Mr Barnett said Major Projects was a statutory planning process under the LUPA Act that contained various opportunities for public input, including during the development of the assessment criteria and during consideration of the Major Project Impact Statement.

“It is a process that has already demonstrated its integrity and effectiveness during the assessment and approval of the $786m new Bridgewater Bridge project, the biggest transport infrastructure project in this State’s history,” he said.
Labor leader Rebecca White last week expressed concerns that the project could be fast-tracked despite not being taken to the last election.

“I must say it was strange to read Ms White’s recent comments in relation to the Major Projects assessment process – which was supported by Labor in both Houses of Parliament not so long ago. If this type of infrastructure project doesn’t go through this process what is the purpose of it?” Mr Barnett said.

Under a previous Labor government the Bell Bay pulp mill and Ralph’s Bay marina development were both assessed as projects of state significance but neither went ahead.

Mr Barnett said images of the stadium released on Friday were concept images “only showing indicative footprint and sight lines, not how it will look”.

“We are scoping designs that will be uniquely Tasmanian, iconic, utilizing local materials that demonstrate our green credentials.
“It will draw people to Tasmania in its own right in much the same way as MONA has.”

Maybe so, however I don’t believe it matters now. They will have to learn to accept it lol
Notice the Labor government are being non committal as to what their stance actually is re the stadium.

They know it will be political suicide if they are the reason Tassie missed out on a team.

They are a joke and wouldn't even build housing anyway.
They backflipped real quick on the pokies issue

Blundstone having a 20k capacity is a complete falsehood. I attended the two sellouts against Richmond. It was chock full. The amount of congestion outside and inside the ground was awful. Traffic, queues for days. Recall going to get a beer just before quarter time and didn’t get back to my seat until about 12 mins into the second quarter.

I was at that hurricane’s v stars Boxing Day game it was a nightmare to get in and especially out at the end of the game

Where and when?

Massive supporter of this team/stadium but interested to see if they get any significant numbers.

Jacqui Lambie and Cassy O’Connor are leading it I believe it’s Saturday at Parliament lawns

Yeah, this stadium will never be built.

Awarded federal funding to the amount of $240 million, but had more than that cut from our GST share 😂 so we will essentially be paying it all ourselves.

Yeah, this stadium will never be built.

Awarded federal funding to the amount of $240 million, but had more than that cut from our GST share 😂 so we will essentially be paying it all ourselves.
So if the stadium wasn't being built, we would not have had any GST cuts? I don't really understand the point.

I wouldn’t build a roof. I have been going to Marvel for nearly a quarter century now. I love that ground. There are those in Melbourne who don’t like going across to the west side of town who rubbish it, but very easy access for Geelong, Ballarat, northern and western suburbs. It is a great shape and size for good footy, unlike a long narrow ground. Nearly every seat is a great view. Optus Stadium in Perth is very similar but without the roof is more spectacular. I know Perths weather is better that Melbourne and Hobart. But a grandstand roof blocks 90% of wind and rain. Marvel is so much better when the roof is open, both for night games and day games, they just don’t do it enough anymore. Television doesn’t like the smaller opening that causes too much contrast. This is where the roof doesn’t work. The roof also needs 4 huge pillars to hold it up, that Optus Stadium obviously doesn’t need so people don’t have their view impaired. And the main reason why I don’t think you need a roof is if you need to expand the size of the stadium in the future. You need to be able to grow the stadium at some point, 24,000 is just too small long term.
Tasmanians and footy fans in general are tough and can put up with a bit of cold for 3 hours surely?

It’s actually over 7 kilometres from Hobart to Blundstone by road don’t know why they keep running with this it only 3 kilometres away rubbish if you went straight across the river buy boat would be the only way 🙂

They’re running with this because Rebecca White is lying and trying to deceive the public for her own political gain.

No clue. Was hoping someone on here would have some details.
Stage 1 (state gov funded $65m) - Removing Eastern Terraces and building a new Eastern grandstand. Apparently will be started soon.

Stage 2 (fed gov funded $65m) - Removing Southern Terraces and possibly Northern Terraces; replaced with new grandstands (still in design phase). Will be completed prior to Tasmania entering the AFL.

Stage 3 (currently unfunded) - new indoor basketball arena and high performance centre out the back of Southern Terraces.

Here’s some more info about stage 1 and 2.

Stage 1 (state gov funded $65m) - Removing Eastern Terraces and building a new Eastern grandstand. Apparently will be started soon.

Stage 2 (fed gov funded $65m) - Removing Southern Terraces and possibly Northern Terraces; replaced with new grandstands (still in design phase). Will be completed prior to Tasmania entering the AFL.

Stage 3 (currently unfunded) - new indoor basketball arena and high performance centre out the back of Southern Terraces.

Here’s some more info about stage 1 and 2.

Thank you mate, much appreciate it.

Have heard people that are going to attend this anti stadium rally in Hobart on the weekend that are coming from up here in the north including from the north east where I live. I personally think this stadium is definitely not a done deal yet and could yet be knocked back,it will be interesting to see what happens to our AFL licence if the stadium doesn't go ahead.

It won't get knocked back. Who wants to be the one who stopped Tassie getting a team after we've come this far now.
We're too far down the road for that now.

Australia's last Liberal government to be thrown into minority as MPs defect over Hobart stadium

The Tasmanian MPs took issue with the proposed AFL stadium, saying decisions were made by cabinet behind closed doors, and they could not support it based on the information they had.

"To have the capacity to influence government decisions, you have to see the issue first before it goes to cabinet, and in this instance, I have not had the opportunity to," she said.

Ms Alexander said her intention was not to derail the stadium, but to put it under greater scrutiny.
"Being an independent, I do feel that I am more free in actually presenting policies and positions and suggesting solutions to some of the critical issues," she said.

"For me, as an accountant, as an economist, as a person that has worked in a not-for-profit sector, it's really hard for me to understand this particular investment [a stadium]; I just can't get my head around it."

Mr Tucker said he was neither for nor against the stadium, but wanted greater transparency.

Not even all the Libs were on board with wasting a billion dollars on an unnecessary stadium.

It's necessary if we want a team.

No matter what people's opinons are about whether we should build stadium or not is irrelevant now. AFL asked for one - we said we'd build one and that's that.

You want a Tassie team -you're getting a stadium with it.

We don't build a stadium - NO TASSIE TEAM.

This is our last chance folks.