Macgill kidnapped

• Thread starter Thread starter Satan

Not even remotely close to the same level of Slater, agreed. Not here to defend Magill, as he's always seemed like an arrogant flog, but other than his incredible stupidity to get involved with drug dealers – which he got cleared of (?) – what's your other main issues with him? I mean, i guess this performance is prob enough to go on, but i don't remember other times he's flown off the handle like this

I don't think he was all that popular when he was in the Australian team and he didn't get picked to go on many overseas tours.

He's the sort of guy I could see rubbing people the wrong way and that angry outburst from him in that podcast is a reason why.

I don't think he was all that popular when he was in the Australian team and he didn't get picked to go on many overseas tours.

He's the sort of guy I could see rubbing people the wrong way and that angry outburst from him in that podcast is a reason why.
yeah if he carried on like that in the dressing room it wouldn't do him any favours, but i kinda thought it was more because he read books and preferred red wine.

This is a very, VERY broad brush to paint people with - let me start by saying that before I go any further - and I recognise that before players even get to the point where they can HAVE an onfield persona, their physical limitations and stature etc play a part in the path they choose to take as a cricketer. I acknowledge that completely.

But there is always something that makes me slightly uncomfortable about a spin bowler who has anger issues on the field and carries on like a fast bowler when he takes wickets and runs around like he’s about to blow a gasket when he takes a wicket.

People always said Warnie had the mentality of a fast bowler - and he did in that he attacked like one and he played mind games like one - but until very late in his career when he had the run in with Samuels etc, he exuded calm and even in his big celebrations it was like he would soak up the glory as if to say ‘yep. It was coming. What of it?’

Blokes like MacGill and Harbhajan seemed to be angry half the time like they wanted to punch a hole in a wall and I’d watch them and think ‘you’re a spinner mate - do you think you frightened them out with your pace and bounce and fear of hurting them? Go back to the library and read a book.’ Zampa sometimes gives off the same vibe. But I just think ‘geez if you want to prove a point and get in people’s faces and fire up…. Why did you become a spinner of all things, even if you’re good at it?’

This is a very, VERY broad brush to paint people with - let me start by saying that before I go any further - and I recognise that before players even get to the point where they can HAVE an onfield persona, their physical limitations and stature etc play a part in the path they choose to take as a cricketer. I acknowledge that completely.

But there is always something that makes me slightly uncomfortable about a spin bowler who has anger issues on the field and carries on like a fast bowler when he takes wickets and runs around like he’s about to blow a gasket when he takes a wicket.

People always said Warnie had the mentality of a fast bowler - and he did in that he attacked like one and he played mind games like one - but until very late in his career when he had the run in with Samuels etc, he exuded calm and even in his big celebrations it was like he would soak up the glory as if to say ‘yep. It was coming. What of it?’

Blokes like MacGill and Harbhajan seemed to be angry half the time like they wanted to punch a hole in a wall and I’d watch them and think ‘you’re a spinner mate - do you think you frightened them out with your pace and bounce and fear of hurting them? Go back to the library and read a book.’ Zampa sometimes gives off the same vibe. But I just think ‘geez if you want to prove a point and get in people’s faces and fire up…. Why did you become a spinner of all things, even if you’re good at it?’

tl;dr fast bowlers are allowed to be aggro, spinners aren't, Macgill was aggro therefore bad.

What incredible insight 👍

tl;dr fast bowlers are allowed to be aggro, spinners aren't, Macgill was aggro therefore bad.

What incredible insight 👍

No, just BE a fast bowler or accept that you aren’t one and your artform isn’t going to rough anyone up or make you a source of venom.

Imran Tahir was another one and he has an air of knobhead about him.

No, just BE a fast bowler or accept that you aren’t one and your artform isn’t going to rough anyone up or make you a source of venom.

Imran Tahir was another one and he has an air of knobhead about him.
I'll always remember Tahir in that test in Adelaide where ABD & Du Plessis batted for hours on end, in the first innings after being carted for 7 an over by Warner, finally got him out and charged around the ground like he'd won the world cup final.

Only for it to have been a no ball

I'll always remember Tahir in that test in Adelaide where ABD & Du Plessis batted for hours on end, in the first innings after being carted for 7 an over by Warner, finally got him out and charged around the ground like he'd won the world cup final.

Only for it to have been a no ball

Yep me too. It’s an enduring image for me. Carried on like an absolute spanner. He does it to this day in some of the minor franchises where he’s running around at about 45 years old.

Look it’s obviously a very harsh way to judge someone as a person who could be a ripping bloke. But there’s something I don’t trust about a slow bowler who tries to act hard

I was fortunate to have a few drinks with him after a days play at Coogee Oval almost 30 years ago. I found him to be more than ok, but very black and white and if he didn’t like something or someone he didn’t hold back in expressing his view. As such that video rings very true to my recollection of him. He doesn’t suffer fools.

I don’t doubt that he’s a naturally very intelligent fellow or at least one who can hold a conversation without it having to be based around sport and ‘bloke’ talk.

That may be true but he got it wrong in that video. Colombian powder has caught up with him.

Heaps of psychos who are spinners going around at the moment who try and be intimidating when they're bowling. Its become a real thing particularly in T20 cricket. Off the top of my head Tabraiz Shamsi, Imran Tahir, Rashid Khan, Matt Kuhnemann, Shakib Al Hasan all real aggressive in their demeanour at the batsman when they're bowling.

Here’s the only spinner who ever had the right to intimidate anyone at the bowling crease:

Attachments

• 1772683156976.webp
    1772683156976.webp
    77.2 KB · Views: 22

Yep me too. It’s an enduring image for me. Carried on like an absolute spanner. He does it to this day in some of the minor franchises where he’s running around at about 45 years old.

Look it’s obviously a very harsh way to judge someone as a person who could be a ripping bloke. But there’s something I don’t trust about a slow bowler who tries to act hard
Sulieman Benn comes to mind

A real knobhead IMHO.

Sulieman Benn comes to mind

A real knobhead IMHO.

100 per cent. As a Windies fan he used to make me cringe. He wasn’t even any good.

What made his case even worse is he was built like Marco Jansen. I mean ffs if you’re that aggressive be a quick and send them down from 8’5 and even at 130kph they’ll feel 140

Theres a non zero chance it was all staged to boost the podcast's publicity
I'm starting to think it was all a play, based on how the podcast host is trying to milk it for publicity

Embarrassing from all parties involved

"Menners" almost starting to come across worse than MacGill.

I have a natural distrust of sports podcasts to begin with.

My immediate thought with virtually all of them is ‘aside from the fact that they often swear which no one does on panel shows, what can they actually offer that no one does in normal sports coverage.’

With all 3 main sports I follow - AFL, league and cricket there will always be 3,4 that are actually good, let me say that from the outset. They avoid the obvious stuff that tv shows cover. But beyond that? What else is there?

The stories that everyone has already heard a thousand times? Hell even some of the allegedly ‘good’ ones aren’t even true: I’ve heard Hayden tell some with Blewett and Brayshaw where he’s saying things that can’t have physically happened because he was out of the team for two years at the time he was claiming they happened and the players he was up against weren’t in the same line up together

They get these same old tired ‘I needed to realise that I had a problem’ stories from their subjects so often that it’s just laughable

I'm starting to think it was all a play, based on how the podcast host is trying to milk it for publicity

Embarrassing from all parties involved

"Menners" almost starting to come across worse than MacGill.

Only way situation could be worse is if it was fake

My immediate thought with virtually all of them is ‘aside from the fact that they often swear which no one does on panel shows, what can they actually offer that no one does in normal sports coverage.’

For me they are only good for a sport like NBA where I don't have time to watch any games or care too much about it but still want to know what's going on.

A lot of sports talk is about things that could happen but never do , what if's and players legacy.

AFL is getting pretty bad and last season I had to stop listening to anything AFL related except for SEN stuff. For example all the talk about Zach Merrett and then in the end he stayed.