Make Richo captain NOW

Look I don't necessarily disagree with what you have said BJ, but I don't making Richo skipper will make one iota of difference to his motivational capabilities.

emp I'd have to contest your view of what the captaincy is all about, It;s NOT to draw the best out of the annoited player...it's to lead the playing group....How on earth is Lids the best person on our list to take on that task, or are your suggesting that as an act of tokenism we annoit him as captain to draw out the very best in him:confused:

Much as I would love to see the big fella lead the side, I think it would smack of tokenism and he probably doesn't need the extra distraction at this stage if his career.
Likewise, Deledio doesn't need it either. Watching his press conference after he won the B&F, he could barely bring himself to look reporters in the eye. I'm not saying he won't be a good leader down the track, but he's not ready yet. Young captains are only good if they are natural leaders. Lids and Richmond would be better served by letting him concentrate on taking his game to another level again next year. Make him vice captain if you like, but it's obvious to me the next captain of Richmond will be Chris Newman. Vice captain this year, 4th in the B&F, Francis Bourke Award as best clubman... I just hope he has the character to reject the no. 17 and rid us of this stupid 'tradition'. Give it to our first draft pick.

Now that would indeed be a stupid tradition...It's a great honour that the club has bestowed on the captain to wear the revered No 17 and NO p_issant and I repeat NO p_issant is BIGGER than the club that he has the power to rewrite our consitution and turn tradition on its ear. Just remember without a heritage there is NOTHING:eek:

emp I'd have to contest your view of what the captaincy is all about, It;s NOT to draw the best out of the annoited player...it's to lead the playing group....How on earth is Lids the best person on our list to take on that task, or are your suggesting that as an act of tokenism we annoit him as captain to draw out the very best in him:confused:

I agree, i didn't mean for my posts to be interpreted as that. I'm not suggesting we do it to 'get the best out of him', as I believe he is capable. I think my angle is more I believe Deledio is equipped to skipper the side sooner rather than later, at the start of the year I would have agreed that appointing him skipper for 09 was lunacy, but his performance on field this year tells me he is stepping up. Don't get me wrong I would still be nervous about it, but I reckon he has what it takes. Its kind of a gut feeling Bo, I can't really explain myself any further than what I have :p What can I say, I really rate Lids as a player and a leader :thumbsu:

Out of the old blokes only Richo is really equipped to lead the playing group, Browny, Simmo, Bowdo are all in the twilight of their careers and not in line and Suga has had his go and needs to just concentrate on the footy. I belieive Richo is the same, better for him to carry on as is and concentrate on his football. Newman is probably a strong candidate, but I have always felt Lids had something about him and I believe he would be a better skipper than Newy or Axel.

Our best player, courageous and a hard worker on field, carries himself with class off field and sounds like a smart cookie from the media stuff I've heard him do. 'Ticks all my boxes' as they say

Now that would indeed be a stupid tradition...It's a great honour that the club has bestowed on the captain to wear the revered No 17 and NO p_issant and I repeat NO p_issant is BIGGER than the club that he has the power to rewrite our consitution and turn tradition on its ear. Just remember without a heritage there is NOTHING:eek:
Seriously BJ, it ain't a tradition. It ain't heritage. It's a six-year-old wank thought up by Greg Miller to cover for the lack of real leadership we had on the field. It's an insult to other great skippers like Royce Hart and Dale Weightman to suggest their numbers are not good enough for the captain to wear. The Dyer hype is way overdone.

Our best player, courageous and a hard worker on field, carries himself with class off field and sounds like a smart cookie from the media stuff I've heard him do. 'Ticks all my boxes' as they say

I'll admit, I don't know where all these reports of 'Lids the introvert' came from, but if it is the case, then there is one gaping hole in his resume.

BJ made a similar point before, Sugar is not our best player, but as an article on Deledio said earlier in the year, his off-field leadership helps develop the list, not his on-field prowess or his off-field 'class' - does Lids have that? Only the club really knows about these things, and secondly only they know what they want in the next captain.

For all I know the introvert reports could all be hyperbole, so he might be the next in line - but if I had to, I'd put my hard-earned on Newman (or Foley).

Seriously BJ, it ain't a tradition. It ain't heritage. It's a six-year-old wank thought up by Greg Miller to cover for the lack of real leadership we had on the field. It's an insult to other great skippers like Royce Hart and Dale Weightman to suggest their numbers are not good enough for the captain to wear. The Dyer hype is way overdone.

True. The Jack Dyer bullshit we went through a few years back was embarassing. I think it was Ian Campbell's idea to 'increase the club brand and recognition'. I thought at one stage we were going to change our name to Dyer-mond.

There have been other great No 17s play for us - Barry Richardson, Maurice Rioli, :DPaul Hudson:D. It's only a number.

Yes, Captain Blood is our No 1 legend.

Guess what - the club is bigger than any one player. Jack Dyer should have been honoured (and probably was) just to wear the Richmond Jumper - that's what's important - not what ID you have on the back.

You forgot Paul Broderick Wallaby, but you reinforced my point. Maurice and Brodders are two of my all-time faves. And seriously BJ, are you saying you want to see Richo run around in anything other than no.12? Remember how wrong 17 looked on Campbell's back? Multiply that by the how much better and more loved Richo is.

clearly not a history student my friend, Jack Dyer was a bit more than hype he symbolised RFC and put it on the map.and for that the legacy lives on...It's like New york and the statue of Liberty. I think it's a marvelous tradition that will stand the test of time and it sure aint any disrespect to those other skippers that spilt blood for RFC...there's always gotta be a beginning pal, like when man landed on the moon and staked the US flag, was that disrespect to the monkeys that the cosmo's sent up there., I think not..shit I'm sounding like cogg now:p The moral of the story is "if you don';t know where you've come from, you'll never know where you're going"

I'll admit, I don't know where all these reports of 'Lids the introvert' came from, but if it is the case, then there is one gaping hole in his resume.

BJ made a similar point before, Sugar is not our best player, but as an article on Deledio said earlier in the year, his off-field leadership helps develop the list, not his on-field prowess or his off-field 'class' - does Lids have that? Only the club really knows about these things, and secondly only they know what they want in the next captain.

For all I know the introvert reports could all be hyperbole, so he might be the next in line - but if I had to, I'd put my hard-earned on Newman (or Foley).

You see I reckon the notion that being an 'introvert' precludes a bloke from the captaincy is pure BS. If Lids is Bruce Doull mach II then maybe I could see that being a problem, but he doesn't strike me as a bloke who is introverted to the point of being mute.

I suppose it all depends on what you personally define as a good skipper and we won't truly know until Lids (or whoever else's name is in the ring) actually gets the gong. In the end winning games of footy and being a successful side are the ultimate benchmarks, not how much of a good bloke to have around the club or mentor someone is. I think Wayne Carey can attest to that as can poor ol' Sugar who universally gets a bad rap despite seemingly being a popular skip amongst the players

like you, i would also wager on Newman being a good shot, as my ranting about Lids is totally my opinion not what I think the club will actually do or how they think;)

clearly not a history student my friend, Jack Dyer was a bit more than hype he symbolised RFC and put it on the map.and for that the legacy lives on...It's like New york and the statue of Liberty. I think it's a marvelous tradition that will stand the test of time and it sure aint any disrespect to those other skippers that spilt blood for RFC...there's always gotta be a beginning pal, like when man landed on the moon and staked the US flag, was that disrespect to the monkeys that the cosmo's sent up there., I think not..shit I'm sounding like cogg now:p The moral of the story is "if you don';t know where you've come from, you'll never know where you're going"
Mate, I'm fully aware of the importance of Dyer. It's why there's a big statue of him out the front of Punt Rd Oval (just like NY:D). I was talking about the hype about him and his number.

I posted something similar in that we had great no 3 captains, no 4 captains etc, the players make their numbers their own asking anyone to change their number for some six year old tradition is piss ant!!!!!!!

Really good thread. Some great posts and I've been swayed back and forth a few times by some of them.

I'd say offer it to Richo. There are no guarantees he would take it, as he really seems like one of those blokes who wouldn't do anything that wouldn't completely benefit the club, and as such if he saw it merely as a sentimental gesture, or if he felt anyone on the list could do it better than him, I'd imagine him turning it down.

Unsure on Lids. The worry for me is how he would handle it. Obviously we don't know if he would thrive on it or fold under the pressure, but the fact that that question even needs to be asked, for me, means we shouldn't give it to him, and subsequently risk damaging his game.

If Richo doesn't get it/want it, Newy would be my option. He's just so consistent, seems very level headed, and I can't imagine his game wavering at all if he does get it.

Axel is another option, and I'd put him up there with a chance perhaps only for his work ethic. This, and his attack on the ball, is a great example for some of our younger kids.

Offer to Richo.
Then Newy if Richo doesn't want it.
If it manages to surpass both of these two, then give it to Axel.

Really good thread. Some great posts and I've been swayed back and forth a few times by some of them.

I'd say offer it to Richo. There are no guarantees he would take it, as he really seems like one of those blokes who wouldn't do anything that wouldn't completely benefit the club, and as such if he saw it merely as a sentimental gesture, or if he felt anyone on the list could do it better than him, I'd imagine him turning it down.

Unsure on Lids. The worry for me is how he would handle it. Obviously we don't know if he would thrive on it or fold under the pressure, but the fact that that question even needs to be asked, for me, means we shouldn't give it to him, and subsequently risk damaging his game.

If Richo doesn't get it/want it, Newy would be my option. He's just so consistent, seems very level headed, and I can't imagine his game wavering at all if he does get it.

Axel is another option, and I'd put him up there with a chance perhaps only for his work ethic. This, and his attack on the ball, is a great example for some of our younger kids.

Offer to Richo.
Then Newy if Richo doesn't want it.
If it manages to surpass both of these two, then give it to Axel.

if Richo doesnt want it?
If they choose a captain and that player doesnt want it, that pretty much confirms that the brains trust has NFI. ;)

if Richo doesnt want it?
If they choose a captain and that player doesnt want it, that pretty much confirms that the brains trust has NFI. ;)
If you read my paragraph on Richo you'd understand. And I'm assuming if they did offer it to him, and he turned it down, they wouldn't still give it to him. Hence the word 'offer' as opposed to 'force it upon him against his will'.

If the choose a leader then the one they choose is just that. If we start getting...thanks but no thanks...then those who are suppose to be able to pinpoint talents in their players, like i said, have NFI. ;)

I see where you're coming from. But say they offered it to Richo, and he said he'd prefer a younger kid got it. Richo isn't necessarily right. The people who chose Richo might have reasons for picking him that Richo himself can't relate to.

If Richo cant relate to why he was picked, then with all due respect he aint captain material. Furthermore, right now we need to begin our next journey with the captain that will be there in say 4 years time. ;)

I've been feeling richo's pain ALL day at once again missing out, story of his career, if NOT finals now the games highest honour. With KJ about to step aside as skipper, our only CHAMPION should be annoited into the role he has always cherished. I implore the club not to let richo miss out once again, he deserves so much more for what he has given this club and it's fans. Make him skipper immediately, the only probelm I have is with the number, richo without No 12 would be like Ferrari going into the next F1 with a white car:rolleyes:
Richo isn't fit to be captain. He gets angry with other players on the field too much, even though hes a really good player. We'll need someone responsible like Newman or Foley. Most likely Newman cause hes been here for longer. Also Richo's age will only let him captain for around 2 years.

I think Richo's still a head case, but has matured considerably over the last couple of years. Would be a fitting reward to someone who's given so much of himself for little reward.

Go Richo!

:thumbsu: