Make this the Mundy Thread

I wouldn't be surprised if there is an announcement tomorrow. He went across for the Brownlow and got to also do the rounds of all his preferred clubs to be traded to.

Tonight he gets to sit with our players but tomorrow he may ask to be traded. Hope I'm wrong, but it looks although he's stirring up quite a lot of interest over there, and we'd be the ones that would have to pay the premium.

Also, he probably wont care as much about being a 1 club player and being on our veterans list if he earns enough coin now. I can't recall that he's ever said that he wants to be a 1 club player, and the manner in which the club forced Haze into retirement may raise the question of Freo's loyalty to it's senior players.

All indication from the clubs he's supposedly shown an interest in is that he definitely wants to play in a premiership.

I wouldn't be surprised if there is an announcement tomorrow. He went across for the Brownlow and got to also do the rounds of all his preferred clubs to be traded to.

Tonight he gets to sit with our players but tomorrow he may ask to be traded. Hope I'm wrong, but it looks although he's stirring up quite a lot of interest over there, and we'd be the ones that would have to pay the premium.

Also, he probably wont care as much about being a 1 club player and being on our veterans list if he earns enough coin now. I can't recall that he's ever said that he wants to be a 1 club player, and the manner in which the club forced Haze into retirement may raise the question of Freo's loyalty to it's senior players.

All indication from the clubs he's supposedly shown an interest in is that he definitely wants to play in a premiership.

How was Hasleby forced into retirement?

What do you mean it looks as though he's stirring up a bit of interest?

You mean his management is engaged in discussion with numerous clubs keen to acquire his services?

Well **** me dead, an uncontracted in form clearance machine with elite footskills is copping some attention. WOW :thumbsu:

Lol. What about the manner we treated Pav a 4 year deal which will take him well passed 30 with a golden handshake to finish.

Haselby was a spent force. As was Des, although he was never a force to begin with.

Sentiment doesnt win you flags.

Fyfe, Hill, Morabito, Crichton, Ballantyne, Mayne, Broughton, Palmer, Barlow, Sandilands, Pavlich have all got 3 years at least.

Did you see Peake at all in the finals? Not saying I want Peake or Tambling, but clearly he can play if he is best22 in the Saints side, and pretty near BOG against the Cats.

He looked pretty shithouse the other night. Kicked a good goal, but other than that it was all shanks and helicopter kicks. Pretty much standard Peake.

How was Hasleby forced into retirement?

They told him he wasn't going to get opportunity next year. In other words, stay and you're a list clogger. Thought he was playing injured and below his best at the end of the season, probably just fighting on for a contract extention, but it seem to have worked the other way.

Telling him the truth is hardly forcing him into retirement. He's shown a desire to move elsewhere for more opportunity/money before, could be that the club were giving him the chance to try again.

They told him he wasn't going to get opportunity next year. In other words, stay and you're a list clogger.

No. They told him they thought the problem he was struggling with for the best part of the last three years of his career (back) was extremely likely to get worse and worse.

The medical guys won out and he was only ever going to be a year-to-year prospect.

Hase' situation is more analogous to JLo's.

* People who want to believe there is any animosity are wrong too.

.... also do the rounds of all his preferred clubs to be traded to....

Do you mean this literally? Would you have a source for this? In this day and age I would expect it's extremely difficult for a player like Mundy to do the "rounds" of opposition clubs without being spotted.

What do you mean it looks as though he's stirring up a bit of interest?

You mean his management is engaged in discussion with numerous clubs keen to acquire his services?

Well **** me dead, an uncontracted in form clearance machine with elite footskills is copping some attention. WOW :thumbsu:

If he was just after the extra cash he could have his pick of 4-5 teams that aren't as close to the top of their caps. By visiting Melbourne and the cash rich Carlton it suggests that premiership opportunities with a Melbourne club are on his radar, which makes the decision less about money.

My point is that if it's about money we can keep him with a nice offer.

Lol. What about the manner we treated Pav a 4 year deal which will take him well passed 30 with a golden handshake to finish.

Haselby was a spent force. As was Des, although he was never a force to begin with.

Sentiment doesnt win you flags.

Sentiment may not win you a flag, but it can be the difference between a star young player thinking "I want to stay here," or looking outside the club at other opportunities. Loyalty is a 2 way street, we are loyal to the club and expect them to be loyal to the supporters. At the same token most of us are also loyal to the players that give the club everything. It is from that loyalty that I feel that Haselby was shortchanged. People tend to forget that while Hazelby was never fast, his disposal was always brilliant, which kept his opponent close by and not running off him because he was so damaging the other way.

He would have known himself when he couldn't contribute anymore, he was still taking excellent marks and accurately kicking goals right through the year. I am not convinced that Haselby didn't have another good season in him. If Mundy does decide to leave, Haz's early retirement could be a waste.

Fyfe, Hill, Morabito, Crichton, Ballantyne, Mayne, Broughton, Palmer, Barlow, Sandilands, Pavlich have all got 3 years at least.

But they are not in Victoria, bearing in mind that he has always looked at all his interstate options with each contract extension. His best mate is also about to be delisted and that will no doubt have an impact on his decision to move home, last time Murphy got a magical extention and surprise, surprise, Mundy re-signed.

Do you mean this literally? Would you have a source for this? In this day and age I would expect it's extremely difficult for a player like Mundy to do the "rounds" of opposition clubs without being spotted.

No source other than other bf posters.

If, as you said, the medico's forced his retirement, I would certainly feel a lot better about the whole situation. As a supporter, I though he was unfit near the end of the season, but a few rounds earlier he was worth his spot.

Sentiment may not win you a flag, but it can be the difference between a star young player thinking "I want to stay here," or looking outside the club at other opportunities. Loyalty is a 2 way street, we are loyal to the club and expect them to be loyal to the supporters. At the same token most of us are also loyal to the players that give the club everything. It is from that loyalty that I feel that Haselby was shortchanged. People tend to forget that while Hazelby was never fast, his disposal was always brilliant, which kept his opponent close by and not running off him because he was so damaging the other way.

The same Hasleby who has shopped himself around the last 2 seasons? You have an interesting interpretation of loyalty.

At 27, he was hardly offered a contract to write home about in a team with plenty of cap space that was at the bottom of the ladder. He's given Freo his best years and copped some pretty serious injuries for our team.

Loyalty you say, bout time you selected a team to support if you question my interpretation of loyalty.

At 27, he was hardly offered a contract to write home about. He's given Freo his best years and copped some pretty serious injuries for our team.

Loyalty you say, bout time you selected a team to support if you question my interpretation of loyalty.

He was offered over market value, otherwise he would have left. If Fremantle are smart, they won't be giving Mundy more than market value either.

Somebody correct me if I'm wrong, but I think I recall him taking a reduction in his contract at some stage so the team could keep Pavlich in the cap.

Memories should be eating his words right now. To round 10, Mundy has 9 votes, Barlow 7.

Considering the importance he places on Brownlow votes, this should prove that Mundy was the most important midfielder.

Hmmmm ...is this a Southern suburb starting with M and ending with E,as I saw Mundy and the Duffman transporting a large LSD Tellie in Duffs ute yesterday??

Why didn't anyone tell me? ****in' hell.

Memories should be eating his words right now. To round 10, Mundy has 9 votes, Barlow 7.

Considering the importance he places on Brownlow votes, this should prove that Mundy was the most important midfielder.

Not to mention Priddis!

Gun.

Fired policeman should be eating his words right now. Barlow got 12 votes before his injury, proving he is Fremantle's most important midfielder.

If Mundy requests a trade to the demons I'm relinquishing my mod duties for a week so that I can take the long handle to their CEO and Footy Manager. Still hate those slimy bastards.

Who is this fired policeman?

Probably the same guy who ranks a 7 year veteran in Mundy better than a first year rookie in Barlow.

Funny that a real midfielder like Barlow can get more votes in his first year, even though playing only 60% of the games, compared to a veteran demanding 700K/year.

Probably the same guy who ranks a 7 year veteran in Mundy better than a first year rookie in Barlow.

Funny that a real midfielder like Barlow can get more votes in his first year, even though playing only 60% of the games, compared to a veteran demanding 700K/year.

Aren't you that guy who suggested trading Sandilands so we could get Daniel Rich?

Make this the Mundy Thread