HF:      Shaun Hart        Jonathan Brown     Luke Power  
F:       Daniel Bradshaw   Alastair Lynch     Martin Pike  
Foll:    Clark Keating     Simon Black        Brad Scott  
Int:     Beau McDonald     Craig McRae        Tim Notting
         [B][COLOR=Red]Mal Michael[/COLOR][/B]
Coach:   Leigh Matthews

Code:
B:       Chris Johnson     Chris Scott        Justin Leppitsch  
HB:      Luke Power        [B][COLOR=Red]Mal Michael[/COLOR][/B]        Marcus Ashcroft 
C:       Shaun Hart        Michael Voss (c)   Martin Pike  
HF:      Des Headland      Jonathan Brown     Nigel Lappin  
F:       Jason Akermanis   Alastair Lynch     Darryl White  
Foll:    Clark Keating     Simon Black        Brad Scott  
Int:     Beau McDonald     Craig McRae        Tim Notting        
         Aaron Shattock

Code:
B:       Chris Johnson     [B][COLOR=Red]Mal Michael[/COLOR][/B]        Darryl White  
HB:      Luke Power        Justin Leppitsch   Nigel Lappin  
C:       Jason Akermanis   Michael Voss (c)   Martin Pike  
HF:      Ashley McGrath    Jonathan Brown     Robert Copeland  
F:       Craig McRae       Alastair Lynch     Daniel Bradshaw  
Foll:    Clark Keating     Simon Black        Shaun Hart  
Int:     Jamie Charman     Blake Caracella    Marcus Ashcroft
         Richard Hadley
Merrett-Murray Medal results:

2001: =8th (42 votes)
2002: 5th (58 votes)
2003: =10th (52 votes)
2004: 6th (58 votes)
2005: 7th (38 votes)
2006: 4th (42 votes)
Brisbane Lions Team of the Decade:

Code:
[B]B:[/B] 	Chris Johnson 	   [B][COLOR="Red"]Mal Michael[/COLOR][/B] 	        Darryl White
[B]HB:[/B] 	Marcus Ashcroft    Justin Leppitsch 	Chris Scott
[B]M:[/B] 	Nigel Lappin 	   Michael Voss (c) 	Brad Scott
[B]HF:[/B] 	Jason Akermanis    Jonathan Brown 	Craig McRae
[B]F:[/B] 	Luke Power 	   Alastair Lynch 	Daniel Bradshaw
[B]Foll:[/B] 	Clark Keating 	   Simon Black 	        Shaun Hart
[B]Int:[/B] 	Martin Pike 	   Tim Notting 	        Jamie Charman 	   
        Richard Champion
Coach: 	Leigh Matthews

Queensland team of the century:

Code:
B:     Marcus Ashcroft   Dick Verdon           Wayne Stewart
HB:    Gavin Crosisca    Don Smith             Zane Taylor
C:     Scott McIvor      Doug Pittard          Des Hughes
HF:    John Stackpoole   Dick Parton           Barry Clarke
F:     Ray Hughson       Jason Dunstall (vc)   Owen Backwell
R:     Ken Grimley       Michael Voss (c)      Jason Akermanis
INT:   Keith Leach       Alex McGill           Noel McGuinness
       [B][COLOR=Red]Mal Michael[/COLOR][/B]       Gordon Phelan         Clem Ryan

Re: Mal Michael -Retired

Farewell Mal, I wont forget you.

I sad now...:(

Lets just hope Voss's decisions cheers us up.

:thumbsu: Loved Mal Michaels as a player, I'll remember the fella for theplayer he was.

Top notch bloke aswell.

What are the chances of Vossy retireing aswell.

One of the things that Mal doesn't get enough credit for is his consistency. He may not have gotten AA but if you wanted someone to defend for your life it would be Mal because you know he would get the job done. A lot of this comes down to his professionalism.

It has been a tough year and the writing was on the wall. If he had stayed on I would have been worried because he was struggling in the 2nd half of the year. Probably not easy playing in 4 straight grand finals and then shooting to the bottom of the ladder, especially at full back.

Mal has been one of the best trades (Molloy and pick 44 for Mal and pick 22) in recent history. Under appreciated by the Pies, it was good to see both the Lions and Mal win out big time. He now leaves as a champion of the club. Well done:thumbsu:

Salute to Mal.

I think if you're going to lash your hopes to these ageing blokes you're be feeling crook more often than not. Vossy, like Mal, will very likely hang the boots so it shouldn't come as a shock when it's announced.

If both played on it wouldn't make a great deal of difference to our position next year -- it will be mainly determined by other factors including:
- Brown's fitness,
- Bradshaw's retention,
- our drafting,
- our fitness team not wrecking blokes,
- CJ and Nige's ability to return from layoffs,
- better luck with injury,
- Mitchy Clark's development,
- Strawb's development at CHB/FB,
- Millsy and Wood's ability to step up,
- Hadley's ability to return,

In the end, we just have to assume we are going to win the 2009 premiership and that someone will be playing fullback when it happens. That guy was never going to be Mal, so let's find him.

This really sucks for the club and for me personally, and I am sure others feel the same.

Mal was always the player you knew would stop the best defender, he always did, he was the most reliable player we had i reckon, a champion player and will be missed a lot.

Mal was a great player for our club, I will never forget you BIG MAL :D :thumbsu:

Thanks for all the good times, and I really do wish you well for the future mate. :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Vipertooth
(Adam)

P.S can somone get him to sign something at the dinner if he is there adressed to me? thanks.

It was Mal's consistancy that was frightening to other clubs. How will Wallsy call our games from now on without Mal's wonderful thighs??

I loved how he knew that they were footballers first and everything else was hoopla not to be respected. He was a team man. He was great.

It is sad that personal issues influenced his footballing career but I'm sure that he'll move on to better things for himself.

A sad day....

From an opposition supporter's point of view - Mal and Lepper were the 2 guys that you just knew were going to give your forwards no room and no easy kicks.

Mal was an absolute star - and it was great to see him achieve so much success at Brisbane after leaving Collingwood....:thumbsu:

Congrats on a great career.

A lesson not to take things for granted. Who would have guessed both Leppa and Mal gone at the start of the year.

Very sad news and there could be more to come :(

Good Luck for the future Mal

Lady Lawrence said:
Jason Roe (Mini-Mal) come on down (someone take him to kfc over summer and build him up) lots of turkey and Christmas pudding too!!!

And teach him how to handpass.:o

I'm gonna join the Mal love-in. Absolute champ for us...was really the 'missing piece' of the puzzle for that fantastic Lions side, couldn't have done what they did without him. Often forgotten when talking about the best fullbacks going around and him, Leppa and Johnson formed a classic, formidable defense that stopped the best going around.

Will be missed!

glad to see that all the trade talk with Mal were just empty rumours - Mal is such a selfless team man that to associate him with selfishness just seems wrong

i played sport with Mal when he was a skinny 15-yr-old and he was an exceptional athlete then and an absolute champion off the park - his family are some of the nicest people on earth and i have kept in touch with them over the years

i watched him play in the ruck for Morningside and was devastated when the club overlooked Mal back in mid-90s - and of course suitably relived when he returned

(side note: big Mal, Matthew Waters, Clint Bizzell and Max Hudghton all played for the Lions in a preseason game at Coolum against Carlton in '95/96 as they were all trying out for the Lions list...Wallsy picked Waters from those 4 players :confused: at least we got one back when Mal moved home)

he'd be my #1 fullback of all-time (I'd put SOS as my third tall ;))

all the best Mal - I hope you continue to be a straight-shooter in life as you were on the field

Thanks for the continued supreme efforts Mal.
Integral of the good times.
All the best for your future enterprises.

Another point, he has walked away from his contract.
We don't pay him a cent next year (free up some salary cap $$), typical of the bloke.
Club in front of the individual!!!

Goodbye and goodluck Mal.
You were our rock through the turbulence of the good times and the bad.
You made your decision with dignity, and will always hold a very special place in our hearts.

Aaahh....another sad day:(

Gotta respect his decision though.

All the best big fella.

Absolute travesty of justice that he was never selected in the AA.

Still, I guess he has his 3 Premiership medallions to console himself with:thumbsu:

I have been in a foul mood since this has happened.

The man is a mountain, a beast, a rock.

One can only wish him the best in his future endeavours, which certainly seem close to his heart and look to be a very worthwhile cause too.

If you check the 2006 calendar that came with this year's Brisbane Lions Club membership pack, you might notice that Mal is October.

Thanks for everything Mal.

We understand your reasons for needing to leave. You have a big heart.

I've known Mal a while - We we're young fellas playn' b'ball at the Lang Park PYC just last week it seems, good fella then and a better fella now!!!

Congrats on all you've achieved Big Mal, enjoy the years ahead

Mal I AM GOING TO MISS YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You did great things, you are a champ and good luck with your mission.

He will be missed.