Moved Thread Malthouse almost imploded with rage during interview.

Heres an example of telling it like he thinks it is

"We pride ourselves on our tackling and dispossession and … the rule, I'm sure, says something about, 'If you don't dispose of the ball correctly, it is incorrect disposal.'

Well no Mick, that simply is not the rule. If the tackled player has not had prior opportunity, then its not incorrect disposal. Learn the rules before having a cry!!

I think that's what the problem is... they had plenty of time. The Hodge one alone, he ran 7-8 metres before Judd ran him down. Dropped it cold, play on = goal.

Mick obviously builds his teams around enormous tackling pressure, one wonders how those awesome Pies teams would have handled running around tackling like maniacs all day only to have the ball carrier roll it out to his mate who trots off and creates a goal.

I think it at least needs to be clarified, otherwise coaches cant build effective strategies. Maybe zoning off is better? At least that way you aren't committing 2+ guys to a tackle only for the carrier to be able to dispose of it any way he likes to a now wide open team mate who is now being rewarded for not shepherding or blocking.

Yet Curnow got free-kicked for that exact thing in the Carlton forward line & then Sewell does the same thing at the other end & it is play on (which is the way it has been umpired all season, so why suddenly pay one, when they haven't been paying them)?

You're picking a specific example.
I'm taking a holistic approach.

The trend is to ignore incorrect disposal, it's been happening for years and is getting progressively worse.
Players no longer have to handball correctly, players can drop the ball when in possession.

There will always be instances where free kicks are payed correctly for incorrect disposal but it's getting a whole lot easier to just get rid of the ball any-old-how.
Look at any "handpass" that flings itself out of a pack.
Look at any "handpass" that goes over the shoulder of the same hand that is punching the ball, often with incredible speed - it's impossible the ball was propelled by the punching hand

In my mind, this is the worst thing to happen to football for a long time (along with the sliding rule and deliberate out of bounds)

I've no problem with this but is it neccessary??!

I just cant fathom how a pro AFL player can think a podgy, middle aged man jogging about with a bag/bottle is one of his team mates!! Its just so ******* stupid!

Your biased. Even watching it when they kicked to the trainer for a split second you are expecting the trainer to run to the ball, then you realize it's a hawks trainer. The Carlton player has already kicked it once he realizes.

Wether malthouse blamed the umpiring as one reason for the loss or not I haven't seen.
BUT he should! Way one sided in the second half

I was at the game and also saw it happen twice....pretty close to each other as well.

Also, on both occasions it was not clear who the doc was actually on the ground to assist.

Regarding the umpires, it thought there were a couple of shockers but now worse than most games....not that it is a glowing endorsement

This is probably what I was thinking more along the lines of when it happened. Coaches have been known in the past to have runners fill up space out on the ground.

I think that's what the problem is... they had plenty of time. The Hodge one alone, he ran 7-8 metres before Judd ran him down. Dropped it cold, play on = goal.

Mick obviously builds his teams around enormous tackling pressure, one wonders how those awesome Pies teams would have handled running around tackling like maniacs all day only to have the ball carrier roll it out to his mate who trots off and creates a goal.

I think it at least needs to be clarified, otherwise coaches cant build effective strategies. Maybe zoning off is better? At least that way you aren't committing 2+ guys to a tackle only for the carrier to be able to dispose of it any way he likes to a now wide open team mate who is now being rewarded for not shepherding or blocking.

What ? Geelong won at least two flags with plenty of dropping the ball and then picking it up again ?

You're picking a specific example.
I'm taking a holistic approach.

The trend is to ignore incorrect disposal, it's been happening for years and is getting progressively worse.
Players no longer have to handball correctly, players can drop the ball when in possession.

There will always be instances where free kicks are payed correctly for incorrect disposal but it's getting a whole lot easier to just get rid of the ball any-old-how.

In my mind, this is the worst thing to happen to football for a long time (along with the sliding rule and deliberate out of bounds)

Its almost like they announce that a specific rule is going to be changed (sliding) to get everyone all hyped up and watching for those calls, while sticking in a little stealthy adjustment ie ignoring dropping/incorrect disposal. It takes half a year for everyone to realize they've been had, and by then its like its been that way for ages so why complain.

It's a cosmetic change that wouldn't affect our enjoyment of the game whatsoever. Certainly worth considering, at least.

I swear I've never notice them on the ground.

If they don't change, expect to see all club doctors in opposition colours from now on.

I'm going to presume they wear the same game day polo as the coaching staff, which is brown. And they have a fluoro pink armband. My, the subterfuge.

Im sorry, the notion youd use highly paid doctors as team stooges beggars belief

Maybe at essendon but at most clubs the docs have better things to do with their time

I think its naïve to suggest that things like this don't occur on purpose. Not just with Hawthorn either. Teams will take advantage of anything they possibly can, even if it only creates two miss kicks per game.

Malthouse likes to divert the issue of his unusual coaching and that some of his players are not up to the top standard ,so he blames anything but that.
ie Last night Garlett and some others gave away stupid free kicks which took the Hawks OUT of the danger area .
Some blues players went head hunting and also shoved some hawks players into the ground head first .. free kicks .
Waite was easily beaten and did MM shift him around ...no.
Mclean and Judd , ok they got the ball but the receivers of their ball were well tagged but they continually delivered the ball to them .... dumb
They missed Yarrans run ... whose fault ..MM ,as Yarran didnt deserve to be the sub the previous game ..I would have gone mad at the coach to .
Last night Lake had a field day and what did MM do about that ...nothing .
Last week he blamed the video referee re Garlett WHO should have stopped and gone back and taken the kick at goal .. he played on ,BUT MM failed last week to state that Waite was given a mark right on the goal / point line that clearly came off a Bombers players hands, Waite goaled .
So MM is blaming many things but his shortcomings.

BigFooty fans cry out for umpiring to be fixed - for a voice to stand up and say what needs to be said.

Someone says it = they're a sooky flog.

The umpiring has been fixed - its been fantastic for a couple of weeks.

I can't beleive the sooking here - there were a couple of dodgy calls but there is in any game. It didn't impact the result.

FFS the sooking... Carlton got done because Hawthorn are a better side.

People have to realise one thing: the umpiring is never going to be perfect. They're human beings - they have human interpretations and they make mistakes. ****ing deal with it everyone.

They're always going to pay too many or not enough. I think most agree its best when they leave the contests alone and just pay the obvious ones.

It doesn't decide the game - the game is decided by which team is better, tougher, smarter and makes less errors. Last night that was Hawthorn.

This is probably what I was thinking more along the lines of when it happened. Coaches have been known in the past to have runners fill up space out on the ground.

You'd hope that coaches would be above requesting that of a club doctor and that a doctor wouldn't lower themself to actually do it. What if a teammate was seriously injured at the opposite end of the ground?

So footy is finally getting back to normal on the umpiring front and malt house complains because murphy is weaker then hodge? If we start playing free kicks to players just because they are Injured in a fair contest then this game has no hope

I forgot , MM also blamed the Hawks Doctor for wearing the wrong clothes when on the field as MM said his players were kicking to him ....Really Mick ....... I saw it happen ONCE and your player at that incident had a long long time to see it wasnt his player . Your player was open, the Doctor was coming OFF the field and no one was near him ..Your player stuffed up

I forgot
MM..... Garlett, Bootsma , Jamieson , Armfield, Rowe, Casboult and Kreuzer had 10 or less disposals.Murphy is excused for less than 10 due to an accident .
Bailey, Breust and Simpkin ( sub ) for the Hawks had less than 10 disposals for the game .
So you see MM you were out played .

Moved Thread Malthouse almost imploded with rage during interview.