Malthouse Megathread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lockyer24

MM is quite clearly coaching for the moment and having no forward thinking re: not playing Rowe and Maxwell, our only two "finds" from last year.

Its fine if he wants to play the same old duds again this year but if we fail don't expect me to be sticking up for him when his jobs on the line.

Lockyer24 said:
MM is quite clearly coaching for the moment and having no forward thinking re: not playing Rowe and Maxwell, our only two "finds" from last year.

Its fine if he wants to play the same old duds again this year but if we fail don't expect me to be sticking up for him when his jobs on the line.

True and same.

I think people are not taking the Williams inclusion seriously. Willo is not a dud, he hasn't really played too many bad games, as he was with Willie all of last year. When dropped, it was because he had to play Full Forward for Tarrant. In the final rounds, he got back in the side and played very good footy, either on the Wing or at Half Forward. Kicked goals too.

Had a good Pre-Season, as has alot of players. King for example is now a midfielder rather than a chucky forward pocket. He looks okay for the job, you never know.

Julian Rowe, big mistake!!! Think he should be in the side. Maxwell, has been good the last months, and showed potential last year, yet he hasn't got a guarenteed spot, he is fighting out for the same position as many players. Remember, Chad Morrison is in the side now, so it squeezes Nick out.

Rowe I don't mind leaving him out for disclipinary reasons. The fact is (if I got the facts right and they are in fact facts) he lied to the club. If that is not the case he should be in the side, but it's not the end of the world.
Maxwell has been in good form and I think he should definiately in the side, however on team balance there probably isn't a spot for him. Morrison, Johnson, Cole, Lockyer, Woewodin, Lonie can all take small bulldog forwards if necessary and Bulldogs aren't blessed with tall forwards so Clement, Presti and Wakelin should be able to cover them and Walker can be used in the backline if need be.
I would leave Lonie out of team to give him a spur and to make him work hard for a spot in the 22.
Williams inclusion is fair enough for me, we have given him a 1 year contract to prove himself and he has shown good enough form in preseason games and training to deserve a chance to prove himself.

Well, I guess there's no point worrying about the side now, it's there in black and white....so to speak....

Carn The Pies!!!!!

Murray said:
If people on here can tell other people to shut up - and believe it is their to say so.

Then why can't other people who also believe it is their right criticise the club, the coaches or what ever?

Is that truely the definition of Hypocrisy

Shut up Murray :D Just kidding.

I agree with your call there. I think we are all mature enough to have a fiesty debate about such topics without resorting to abuse etc. I also think that we don't have to believe the club is making the correct decisions all the time. We, as members and supporters have the right to question things. If we didn't, we'd end up like Richmond. :)

I was very disappointed with the selections this week. It really hurts when I watched North and Melbourne yesterday, and some of their youngsters are brilliant. We have some good ones, but they aren't being selected over the likes of Williams, Shaw, Lokan etc. Very puzzling.

Lockyer24 said:
Julian Rowe played for Willy today apparently. Andrew Williams and David King didn't. (you can only guess what that means...)

Absolute disgrace. Looks like we are handicapping ourselves again this season with at least 2 *******s per week.

I said pre-season I can handle losing as long as we promoted our promising youth yet MM is still going with the tired old formula. Lokan get ready for a game next week!

Gee!! Isn't there a lot of 'real' Collingwood supporters here.

Some of these '*******' supporters seem only to want to bag the players and coach week after week. WTF is wrong with you people?

If you are going to be a Collingwood supporter, support them, otherwise go and support someone else. :mad: :mad: :mad:

dumesny1 said:

Some of these '*******' supporters seem only to want to bag the players and coach week after week. WTF is wrong with you people?

If you are going to be a Collingwood supporter, support them, otherwise go and support someone else. :mad: :mad: :mad:

I agree,

Too much Negetive talk on the Collingwood Boards, all because apparent 'duds' are playing and 'good' players aren't.

Guys, there are reasons why both are in and out. Maxwell can't get in the side because of a congested backline while Julian Rowe is obviously out due to breaking a club rule.

As for Willo and King (not playing) being called duds, that is stupidity. Only because they are no Buckley, Tarrant, Clement or Woewodin, they are footballers playing for Collingwood, and haven't had bad careers, whether long or short!!!

At the end of the day, the coaching staff is trying to win the game. They believe that this is the best possibly line up to beat the dogs, if we loose well then they got proven wrong and perhaps then they will realise any mistakes if they made any. Williams at his best is in our best 22, he is a great HF flanker. I just hope that he really proves all you tools wrong not only this round but right through out the year.

dumesny1 said:

I'm not going to encourage, and accept, mediocrity from my footy club.

Andrew Williams is mediocre. King I'm not sold on, but Rowe's ahead of him (when not being disciplined, which is fine if true).

Notice Mick has told Carlton this morning on 3aw he wants a job and that his mate Barrett has gone onto the AFL website saying he wants to coach. Massive coincidence he decides to tell the footy world this jsut after Carlton get belted by Suns. But of course he isnt for being involved in a 'play' on another coach or trying to stir the pot. He must thing we are all dills if he isnt sending Carlton a message "i want to coach again".

Anyway I reckon he will go as can absolutely see Carlton knifing Ratts which i think is a real shame given how well he has done lately.

For what its worth I am increasingly of the view Cloke is gone.

Well going by Rumors that MM and Cloke have Agreed to go the Blues.

On the Flipside there are Rumors going around the IF Cloke Leaves we be getting Goddard from the Saints.

Mick will coach next year, and it's almost certain to be at Carlton, that's what you read out of his comments this morning.

Who cares really, he served us relatively well for over a decade, and got us one premiership, so I thank him for that, but don't really care where he ends up.

One thing though, he was off his nut towards the end of 2011 while in the coaches box, that much was clear, the tears after the prelim showed that.

He won't be the same coach ever again, he will need so much assistance to get Carlton into the finals, let alone being a premiership threat.

Oh, and the Cloke and Malthouse to Carlton thing may come true, but it won't be because Cloke is following MM, it will be because Carlton off up the most money, plain and simple.

MM is a knob, i hope he goes to the scum and fails. He genuinely thinks he is the best ever and loves his ego being fed. 1 flag every 10 years Mick is not the greatest record ever...
Really over, Mick, Cloke and the scum. They all deserve each other!

Fortunately he can't poach any of his old assistants as they have all gone. But he will throw money at dislodging our support staff that are good friends with him such as Buttifant, Walsh and possibly even Hine.
He could lure some favourite players such as Thomas when he is out of contract next year as it Swan from memory.
Poaching staff and players is therefore the real worry, I have less concern about his tactical and strategic nous. And now that we have deserted Arizona I suspect that he will rush back there, which is highly predictable but harmless.

He is Just Pissed off at Eddie and Would love to Piss Him off and go to Carlton
To be honest, I don't blame him.

The whole coaching succession plan was a major fail by Eddie.

Think about it logically, would you replace one of the best coaches in the game, whom has taken you to the past 3 grand finals, winning 1 premiership with an untried assistant coach?

Their is no way it would happen if the coach in question was Robert Harvey and not Nathan Buckley.
Unfortunately, Eddie couldn't stomach Nathan coaching another AFL team, like North Melbourne and therefore drove out Malthouse to ensure 'his favourite son' would be coaching the magpies, even though a better alternative who still was willing coach wanted to stay on (and hence do not sign the so called sucession plan agreement that was drawn up and paraded in front of the media with a press conference).

To be honest, I don't blame him.

The whole coaching succession plan was a major fail by Eddie.

Think about it logically, would you replace one of the best coaches in the game, whom has taken you to the past 3 grand finals, winning 1 premiership with an untried assistant coach?

Their is no way it would happen if the coach in question was Robert Harvey and not Nathan Buckley.
Unfortunately, Eddie couldn't stomach Nathan coaching another AFL team, like North Melbourne and therefore drove out Malthouse to ensure 'his favourite son' would be coaching the magpies, even though a better alternative who still was willing coach wanted to stay on (and hence do not sign the so called sucession plan agreement that was drawn up and paraded in front of the media with a press conference).
I think the point is that EDDIES agreement brought MM flag success with Buckley by his side.
It is no co-incidence that until Bucks added IQ to the coaching ranks MM could not win a flag. What is galling is that MM has behaved like a petulant school boy, unable to stomach this reality,and his inflated ego prevents him from accepting that a deal is a deal.
Bucks has played the elder stateman in all this despite his age, while MM has lost all dignity.

People are being harsh. Mick is a coach and he has the passion to coach but he still loves the Pies.

When children are young they follow a team but then when they are in the draft they dont care where they end up as long as they play AFL and that's the way I see it with Mick. He still has the passion to coach so why would he care who he coached. If our favourite son Buckley was in his shoes he would end up at Carlton as well if the price and terms were right. Would anyone hate him for that? If anyone wants to blame anyone for this it should be Eddie because he still would have been our coach.

However I think the right decision was made by the club and I felt that we needed a change and fresh ideas, which isnt working to well at the moment but it will in the long run. It will be very hard for me to see Mick at Carlton but one thing is for sure and he said this "I was born a Collingwood fan and I will die a Collingwood fan". Business is business, he got us a flag and I can't wish the man anything bad.

I think the point is that EDDIES agreement brought MM flag success with Buckley by his side.
It is no co-incidence that until Bucks added IQ to the coaching ranks MM could not win a flag. What is galling is that MM has behaved like a petulant school boy, unable to stomach this reality,and his inflated ego prevents him from accepting that a deal is a deal.
Bucks has played the elder stateman in all this despite his age, while MM has lost all dignity.
Wow! So Malthouse doesn't deserve the credit for the past two years and really it was Nathan Buckley 'IQ' that implemented a plan that won the team the flag in 2010.:rolleyes:

Looks like Eddie has brainwashed you too.

Wow! So Malthouse doesn't deserve the credit for the past two years and really it was Nathan Buckley 'IQ' that implemented a plan that won the team the flag in 2010.:rolleyes:

Looks like Eddie has brainwashed you too.
Respectfully it was the succession plan that you so roundly criticise that brought us success - Bucks did his job and quite rightly all the commentators believed he made a huge difference with the FWD press as the FWD coach - is that a coincidence?
MM got a new FWD coach in Bucks who made our FWD pressure and scores from FWD turnovers the critical elements of our success - Leon became the no.1 player for FWD 50 tackles in the league while Bucks was his FWD coach - I don't recall MM having any of these ideas pre Bucks do you?
So best regards to the MM PR machine but I'm not buying the "we got rid of the best coach in the league routine" - despite my support for MM when others here wanted him gone in 2009.
His time had come - and he needed to move on - a deal is a deal!!

Couldn't have chosen a better term if you tried. Spent high - eventually - to win a flag, which I am thankful for, but exited with a scorched earth policy, list wise and in terms of attitude.

Buckley's got the poison chalise in some ways and will need to work out who's a jack the lad taking the piss and who wants to play for the jumper. Anyone harbouring any big-daddy complexes for Mick need to leave or get on board.