Manual or automatic?

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

rfctigerarmy said:
Just going to comment on that crackers.

rofl @ peternorth. :rolleyes:

was waiting for someone to bring me up on that :)

busted!

FWIW I dont think im better than anyone else because of what i used to drive.

as for safe distance between cars, spot on what others have said. besides its allows you to overtake safely if theres a need to do so.

on reflection maybe i should learn to drive a manual because others say so.

peternorth said:
was waiting for someone to bring me up on that :)

busted!

FWIW I dont think im better than anyone else because of what i used to drive.

as for safe distance between cars, spot on what others have said. besides its allows you to overtake safely if theres a need to do so.

on reflection maybe i should learn to drive a manual because others say so.

Besides I think you could pick up a '78 Merc. for about 5 grand.

crackers57 said:
Besides I think you could pick up a '78 Merc. for about 5 grand.

yes perhaps crackers. nice cars they are. still, nothing replaces my old one which didnt start in the mornings, stalled at lights, had a crappy tape deck :D

Manual

They use less fuel

The gearboxes cost less to fix, or are easier to fix yourself

You have greater control over your vehicle (esp. with synchro)

They aren't 'dodgem cars' (with a 'go' and 'stop' pedal)

Got my p's this year and got manual and i got a manual car. My old man wanted me to do that. Learning to drive a manual is a skill that i will always have now. Its not that hard to do after you get used to it and i can pretty much jump into any car and drive it.

love manual love my stick & agree with all the othe stuff posted ie cheaper to run , faster start etc

but auto's do have an advantage when you break or sprain your left hand/wrist/arm

Cassius_Clay said:
Incorrect. I have a manual license.

I want to relax while driving not worry about changing gears.
Exactly my point! Some people can multi-task a lot better than others can, while others worry about changing gears because they need things to be very easy for them to be able to relax. I find it very relaxing to drive a 6-speed manual myself, and I don't worry about changing gears whatsoever because it just happens naturally to me without thinking about it at all.

Papa G said:
Most serious sports cars are manual. Manuals are much more fun to drive.
Manuals have better performance and are slightly more fuel efficient than autos. While you may save a couple of grand on new manual cars, used manuals hold their value well and are usually similar, if not higher, priced than used automatics.

Manuals can be more fun to drive when you're out on the open road, but in today's days of ridiculous speed limits (people are regularly booked on the wide main street going out of my house, which has a crazy 50k limit :(), the enjoyment factor of driving is gone, when you can't just cruise.

So really, driving is, as someone said, something to get you from A to B. At traffic lights and in the city, manuals are a real pain. They're not hard to drive and you feel like you're more in control when driving a manual (changing gears becomes second nature), but autos are just that little more relaxing.

KissStephanie said:
Exactly my point! Some people can multi-task a lot better than others can, while others worry about changing gears because they need things to be very easy for them to be able to relax. I find it very relaxing to drive a 6-speed manual myself, and I don't worry about changing gears whatsoever because it just happens naturally to me without thinking about it at all.

Gee you pile loads of crap into one post to make it look respectable.

Nothing's changed Stephanie. :rolleyes:

guess_who said:
Manual - nothing more frustrating than being stuck at lights on a relatively steep hill and having nob jocks pull up within 5 cms of my rear!

Have none of my fellow manual drivers heard of a handbrake? ;)

Alternatively you can hold your position with the clutch and accelerator although I think they left that one out of the driving manual for a reason...

If I lived in a big city and had to endure peak hour traffic I would buy myself an auto.

ICan'tDressMyself said:
Gee you pile loads of crap into one post to make it look respectable.

Nothing's changed Stephanie. :rolleyes:
Why do you direct messages to me? Are you that desperate for a little attention? Are you still cut because I made you look foolish in a footy thread last season? No wonder you get banned from various boards here on BigFooty.

It is relaxing for me to drive a 6-speed manual, and there is not any crap about it. Can you prove that it isn't? It is my opinion that some people need things to be very easy for them to be able to relax, while others can relax while multi-tasking, and this board is a place for opinions.

You're right...nothings changed, but if you'd like to change things starting right now by not directing anymore messages toward me, then that would be great! If you're that lonely, go and buy a dog. :)

KissStephanie said:
Why do you direct messages to me? Are you that desperate for a little attention? Are you still cut because I made you look foolish in a footy thread last season? No wonder you get banned from various boards here on BigFooty.

It is relaxing for me to drive a 6-speed manual, and there is not any crap about it. Can you prove that it isn't? It is my opinion that some people need things to be very easy for them to be able to relax, while others can relax while multi-tasking, and this board is a place for opinions.

You're right...nothings changed, but if you'd like to change things starting right now by not directing anymore messages toward me, then that would be great! If you're that lonely, go and buy a dog. :)

Haha see what I mean? You didn't need 3 paragraphs to get your point across! But hmmm if I write heaps of paragraphs like this it will make my dull post look more respectable :rolleyes: Oh and you didn't make a fool out of me on the Collingwood board, you were wrong :) I had numerous PM's from Collingwood fans saying that you were talking **** :) :thumbsu:

PS. I have 2 dogs :)

Cassius_Clay said:
Auto.

Seriously who the **** would drive a manual car unless its a money issue?

I don't think driving a manual is necessarily a money issue. You need a lot more driving lessons to learn to drive a manual. Well I know I did.

I think i had about 2 lessons a week for a about a year. It cost my dad a fortune. Although, my driving instructer was being dodgy and since I was 17 and couldn't get my licence til 18, dragged it out and kept using the clutch on her side so I couldn't learn. She also only would give me before school lessons which meant I was driving in peak hour all the time in a very busy suburb, never getting any practice going past 2nd gear. I was made to promise not to go out in the car with anyone else as it would interfere with her teaching me. She made me believe driving was really hard when its not. She was pretty smart really, she scammed about $2500 out of us.

She definitely held back my progress but I guess the positive is that I had a lot of hours behind me when I got my licence unlike most people these days that have about 4 lessons.

I had all those lessons but always intended driving auto. I just wanted to know how to do it. The problem is I've forgotten how to now :p ....ahh what a waste!

Unwritten_Law said:

Alternatively you can hold your position with the clutch and accelerator although I think they left that one out of the driving manual for a reason...

If I lived in a big city and had to endure peak hour traffic I would buy myself an auto.

Ohh so thats what its used for!! It's annoying using the handbrake though.

The clutch/accelerator thing is much easier, I usually do that but I heard that its not the best on your clutch?? Could be complete rubbish, just what I heard.

ICan'tDressMyself said:
Haha see what I mean? You didn't need 3 paragraphs to get your point across!
What are you on about? You may not use three paragraphs because you have no intention of sticking to a topic as your post shows. I do though, so then I used three paragraphs
ICan'tDressMyself said:
Oh and you didn't make a fool out of me on the Collingwood board, you were wrong. I had numerous PM's from Collingwood fans saying that you were talking ****.

PS. I have 2 dogs
I did make a fool out of you on the Collingwood board, so of course you didn't receive "numerous PM's" at all, especially as people replied directly into the thread with their opinion of your ignorance, and that says a lot more of course. :) :thumbsu: The fact that you're banned from various boards on BigFooty supports it too. Do you always get cut when you're made a fool of? I thought that you'd be used to it by now.

If you have two dogs, then why are you so lonely for attention? Why do you message me directly? Craving human attention are you? Since you are going to continue this, and not stick to a topic of a thread, then I'm going to ban you as BigFooty has. You're on ignore now, so go and seek someone else for attention. Have a nice life now sunshine. :)
Unwritten_Law said:
It's easy to avoid rolling back, and better for the car to use a handbrake to start up a hill of course.
Unwritten_Law said:
Yes because 'riding the clutch' and keeping it partially engaged like that when not in use can prematurely wear the disc. It's best to not use the clutch at all except for changing gears.

Some may use it change down when slowing down, but it's better to simply put the car in neutral and use the brake to slow down. It's cheaper to wear out brake pads than it is to wear out the clutch.
Unwritten_Law said:
I spend time in two busy American cities, and we drive on the 'wrong' side of the car and the 'wrong' side of the road here, but I still wouldn't drive an automatic! :thumbsd:

Drive an Auto but dont mind a manual, in fact i wld of bought of manual but i got sick of looking for one when i was looking for a new (2nd hand) car i thought **** it n went the Auto..

I dont mind Auto's but I think i wld prefer a manual, more fun.

And i am no hoon in anyway and was never much for burnouts, tyres cost too much, but sometimes u know, when ur sitting at an intersection maybe after a bad day, theres a nice feeling about dropping the clutch and letting rip with a nice burnout to take out some of those frustrations...

KissStephanie said:
What are you on about? You may not use three paragraphs because you have no intention of sticking to a topic as your post shows. I do though, so then I used three paragraphs

You just had to get to 3 lines didn't you?

I did make a fool out of you on the Collingwood board, so of course you didn't receive "numerous PM's" at all

Hahaha ok whatever you think Steph! I DID recieve numerous PM's from Collingwood fans :thumbsu: :)

especially as people replied directly into the thread with their opinion of your ignorance, and that says a lot more of course. The fact that you're banned from various boards on BigFooty supports it too. Do you always get cut when you're made a fool of? I thought that you'd be used to it by now.

People who replied directly to the thread were in the minority :) You do realise people who just read and don't post outweigh the people who read and DO post don't you? I had PM's from people I didn't know saying that you had no idea what you were talking about - and they were Collingwood fans! Your theory was ridiculous and many people saw that.

If you have two dogs, then why are you so lonely for attention? Why do you message me directly? Craving human attention are you? Since you are going to continue this, and not stick to a topic of a thread, then I'm going to ban you as BigFooty has. You're on ignore now, so go and seek someone else for attention. Have a nice life now sunshine. :)

Lonely? Craving attention? You're the one who has the username KissStephanie.

Oh and I'm banned from the AFL Board, that's it. As are many BF members :)

Weak. Taking the losers way out I see. You've basically just forfeited and handed victory to me. Very weak way out. :)

volcboy said:
Manual

They use less fuel

The gearboxes cost less to fix, or are easier to fix yourself

You have greater control over your vehicle (esp. with synchro)

They aren't 'dodgem cars' (with a 'go' and 'stop' pedal)

dead right dude!:D

i wouldnt have bought a WRX if they only come in auto! Yuk!

manual is more fun

What the deuce? said:
That parts not an issue for me (given that I am female) but I absolutely *hate* driving auto's. I've had both an auto car and a manual - which I currently drive. I much prefer the manual. I get bored driving auto's and like to be able to use the gears to slow down/speed up when I need to (no, I don't drive like a bogan or a hoon).

The few thousand dollar saving of buying a manual isn't an issue for me, but my next car will also be a manual.

To each their own. :)

I concur, driving manual does make driving more interesting... I learnt to drive in a manual, yet all the cars in my family HAVE to be auto by virtue (though not really) that my mum can only drive auto (for emergencies where she might have to drive one of our cars she'd not normally drive).... i don't really enjoy driving auto... sometimes I drive my mates' manual cars when we go out, just to keep in practice, and it's always a good feeling... makes you more 'connected' to the machine, for lack of a better expression.

From experience, driving manual in melbourne was not so bad, open roads, generally not very hilly and there's no real penalty in driving manual unless u drive in city traffic with a lot of stopping & starting... it's cheaper as well

it's a different story here in HK of course... traffic jams everywhere and 70% of the place are hills, so driving manual is a real pain in the bum :thumbsd:

but of course, auto is more convenient.....

as for the chick factor... who f***ing cares... r u driving it or the chicks?

ICanDressMyself said:
Auto.

Why would I want to manually move a stick around? There's so many things I can do with that other hand like eat a burger, put my arm out the window, slap my passenger etc

A few of my mates drive manuals basically beacuse they think it pulls the chicks :confused: and that it's more fun... :rolleyes:

You put your right arm out the drivers side window - interesting!

For the record, I learnt on a manual, but choose to drive an Auto.

KissStephanie said:
My 'new' car is a used 2004 GTi VR6 R32 all-wheel drive, and they were only released in a close-ratio 6-speed manual, and because of other factors and specs, I think it's quicker than a DSG. However, speed isn't an important factor to me, but a traditional clutch is though.

Your car is actually a Volkswagen Golf R32, in America it had the shorter title 'Volkswagen R32'.

It is not a GTI, it is vastly better. The GTI in that series (Mark IV) was a front wheel drive and four cylinder vehicle. Does your car have GTI badging? It shouldn't, providing it is not a very rare, largely unknown variant of the R32. To my knowledge a Golf IV can only be an R32 OR a GTI, not both. Calling an R32 a 'GTI' is doing a disservice to your car.

I'm a little confused as to why somebody who claims: speed isn't an important factor to me would own an R32. The extra purchase price, fuel usage and insurance premiums would be money severely wasted if this were true. Why buy an 0-60mph in 5.8 seconds car if not for the performance?:) Just buy a regular Golf and save a pile of $$$$$.

Unless you are not incurring these costs.:D

Off topic - A new VW Golf GTI weighs twice as much as the original 1976 version!:confused: :confused:

The performance advantages of manuals is not absolute.

In cars with forced induction (turbo or supercharged motors) or cars with large displacement motors the manuals can actually be slower than the automatics off the mark.

The new Porsche 911 turbo automatic (tiptronic) is quicker 0-100 than the manual.

In the current high performance Ford models they have the same results there too.

This advantage does not extend to track times though, Walter Röhrl in the 911 turbo was quicker in the manual around N*rburgring (had to paste this word and Walter's surname as I don't know how to do umlauts:)).

The best transmission for track times is actually a paddle shift "clutchless manual", i.e. Ferrari's F1 sequential transmission, Lamborghini's E-gear or BMW's SMG. These allow faster changes than a driver could manage by physically selecting the ratio through a gear lever. They also allow for "left foot braking" which allows drivers to apply throttle pressure more quickly than going from the brake to the accelerator with the one foot. These transmission also have an AUTO mode where the car can be driven as a conventional automatic. This feature is not an option in the Enzo Ferrari or its derivatives: the Maserati MC12 and Ferrari FXX; the driver must always use the paddles in these cars to select a gear.

It should be noted that in many cars a manual transmission is not offered. Very few manual Mercedes Benz models are available in Australia. BMW in the 5 series (excluding the M5) and the 7 series have not offered manuals for over ten years in this country.

Taxis (and police cars?) are always automatic. There must be a reason for this. Is it cheaper to have an entire automatic transmission replaced once than having to frequently replace clutches? Or do the companies not trust the drivers to be gentle with the transmissions?:D Any other ideas?