Rumour Mark Blake?

• Thread starter Thread starter fpm84

I don't know if the rumour stems from his non-appearance in the VFL or this supposed meeting at the club this morning.

I'd be extremely surprised if there's anything to it - he's still a strong chance to play finals - but am wondering whether anyone can officially knock it on the head?

Wish he did last year then we still would have mummy who by the way is exactly what our team needs now and for the future.

Blake is a big sook, he should be thanking geelong for making him the worst premiership player ever.

Be gone please.

I heard it was Professor Plum in the library with a candlestick.

Horatio says:

"There is nothing to see here Frank"
d762a16289009acc5982ef9727d19666.jpg

Might be some substance to that rumour. Apparently Rod Blake has turned up at the club this morning with a box of tissues.

This bloke has shown his true colors once before and more than a couple of players made it clear they did'nt want him in the side ever again. If he's cut up rough because he's been given a few weeks in the VFL to clean up his act then he needs a reality check.

Blakey - you're damn lucky you got a second chance and won a premiership. He was also damn lucky it was Mumford out of contract last year and not himself ..... blatantly, that is the ONLY reason he remained at Geelong.

There's a simple solution to this problem - if true. Gloves on Blakey - into the boxing ring with Mad Dog Chapman for a bit of a wake up call young man.

I think you will find the "intense" meeting that was mentioned on SEN was a bit of sensationalism by KB and he was actually refering to Paul Chapman and a possible MRP case, not Blake. He was just saying it because i think Neil Balme was running late for his spot on KB's show.

Wish he did last year then we still would have mummy who by the way is exactly what our team needs now and for the future.

Blake is a big sook, he should be thanking geelong for making him the worst premiership player ever.

Be gone please.

Heheh I was just saying to a mate today that I wish we still had Mummy Would be great to have as 2nd ruck to Ottens for this campaign:(

He was also damn lucky it was Mumford out of contract last year and not himself ..... blatantly, that is the ONLY reason he remained at Geelong.

Where did you pull that from?

All of our ruckmen (Ottens aside) were out of contract last year, Blake included.

I think you will find the "intense" meeting that was mentioned on SEN was a bit of sensationalism by KB and he was actually refering to Paul Chapman and a possible MRP case, not Blake. He was just saying it because i think Neil Balme was running late for his spot on KB's show.

I heard Neil Balme on the radio. They were discussing at the club which incidents may come up at the tirbunal. The AFL alerts clubs as to which incidents they are looking at. The Chapman one was mentioned.

Where did you pull that from?

All of our ruckmen (Ottens aside) were out of contract last year, Blake included.

Are you sure ? I could have sworn the club said Mummy was out of contract and that they could'nt keep him inside the cap .... and that Blake was already contracted for this year. I've got a feeling Blake signed well before the end of the year - as did Ottens ..... leaving Mumford as uncontracted at the completion of 2010.

Apologies if I'm wrong.

Mumford would be nice about now. Ah well, we could be in a worst position. We could have Playfair rucking for us instead.

Are you sure ? I could have sworn the club said Mummy was out of contract and that they could'nt keep him inside the cap .... and that Blake was already contracted for this year. I've got a feeling Blake signed well before the end of the year - as did Ottens ..... leaving Mumford as uncontracted at the completion of 2010.

Apologies if I'm wrong.

No, Blake and Mumford came out of Contract at the end of last year. The trouble was Geelong wanted to keep both.

http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2009/10/02/108901_gfc.html

Apologies if I'm wrong.

No what I think it was was that the club couldn't have kept Mumford b/c even if we moved Blake on, what we would have saved (i.e. whatever $ Blake is on) was not as much as Sydney offered Mummy.

We did have 2 ruckmen out of contract but they were Mumford and West, not Mumford and Blake.

Anyway on Blake, I think we must take this rumour, like all things on SEN, as being not particularly credible. Having said that, it wouldn't surprise me if come trade week, it becomes reality, as Blake has done it before. Really even if the coaches no longer want him (i.e. they believe his type of ruckman is obsolete, as Amos basically said) we have to manage this well, because with Otto about at the end (1 more year max I reckon) and the future of the young ruckmen uncertain, we don't want our premiership window to snap shut after this year because we don't have anyone to carry the ruck next year. Speaking of managing it, does anyone know if Blake is under contract for 2011? Hopefully yes because we don't want to lsoe him for nothing.

Haven't heard any rumours but wouldn't blame Blake if he did walk.Whether he can play or not, he has played for I think four seasons now. He has carried the ruck load with a very injured and unreliable Ottens(who yes remains the better ruckman)obviously with the club/coaches support.
We didn't need King in the 2007 GF.
Now Our senior Coach has suddenly decided that Blake needs to learn to play 'our way/ a different way'. What the hell does that mean after all this time. He is either a ruckman or not and given that he has been played there for all of this time , then he must be, or the coaches are all delusional and don't know what they are doing.
As for Mumford he and the club made a decision which has nothing to do with Blake.
So I think that he has a right to be p****d off. Plus what happens if Ottens breaks down again and Hawkins fails to be fit enough to play in a GF. Now Blake will be somewhat out of form and not ready either.