Big Blow Hard

That's a horrible idea, what time?
The Fighting Lagers, SF Giants
Hi guys, sorry to impose on your board.

Just finished watching Matt Maguire kick 5 goals in the VFL.
Wondering if you would consisder him playing permanantly forward in the AFL.

Probably a good dilemma to have. Matt was a gun before the injury and I would love to see him out there again for you gauys. Just not next week ;)

You'd think he has to come in at some point soon (the obvious guy to replace being Gwilt). I don't think he'd play permanently forward, but would swing from forward to back wherever he's more needed.

3rd tall forward is a probably the one role we don't have filled at the moment though, with our top 4 goal kickers exactly the same as last year and hence a bit predictable he'd be really handy playing that role providing more options.

I cannot wait for him to come back in, but unfortunately it might be a while due to our teams good form.

You'd think he has to come in at some point soon (the obvious guy to replace being Gwilt). I don't think he'd play permanently forward, but would swing from forward to back wherever he's more needed.

3rd tall forward is a probably the one role we don't have filled at the moment though, with our top 4 goal kickers exactly the same as last year and hence a bit predictable he'd be really handy playing that role providing more options.

I cannot wait for him to come back in, but unfortunately it might be a while due to our teams good form.
aswell as goosey is playing and im really happy for him atm u coodnt just drop gwilt bcoz of what matty maguire did today, its a really good game for him and really pushes him up the list for a return, but gwilt has been playing the best footy he has been playing so not quite yet but very soon:D

I'm more worried about Fish.

Goose will get a game there's little doubt of that, the problem is when it will happen especially if he keeps up that kind of display. Fish having been unable to push into the side, dropped kilos to push in and now in hospital with a possible fracture to the eye socket / cheek is rather worrying for the man.

Fisher, I don't like to say it as he's a good guy and an okay player, but he will surely be delisted at the end of the year. Probably should have been last year really.

As for Goose, well no one really deserves to be dropped but at some point you just have to say that there are players who will bring that much to the side they have to come back. Max Hudghton is definitely in this boat, I don't think anyone would argue he should come back in for Dawson, good as Zac has been. imo Goose is in that boat too:
Pros
- Big, strong, experienced, versatile, proven gun CHB, could either play the 3rd tall HF role that we lack himself or allow others like Gilbert to play it, hard, tough and courageous.
Cons
- Injury prone, out of match practice, no room for him in side.

First 2 cons are practically obsolete, just a matter of the 3rd. Others may think I'm overrating him (I might well be, he was one of my favourites back in the day so I'm probs biased) but I really think we'd be a better side with him in, and better than we are now is pretty bloody good.

Goose is a shit kick for goal, infact, he's absolutely terrible. He's about as reliable as the cougar. Anyways, if he comes back into the side, it'll free up Fisher to play spare man back. We saw how amazingly good he is in that role. Maguire hasn't played senior footy for an extended period for ages, also he's quite slow and gives us no rebound qualities, which is so important in modern footy. So i don't know what'll happen, just have to wait and see.

Fisher, I don't like to say it as he's a good guy and an okay player, but he will surely be delisted at the end of the year. Probably should have been last year really./quote]
I was reading this in disbelief, thinking "NOT SAMMY!!" Then I thought twice, and I calmed down a bit.

As much as it pains me to say this, I agree with you 100%. After we got Ray, I thought that Fish would not get a game, and it's looking like i'm right.

. Maguire hasn't played senior footy for an extended period for ages, also he's quite slow and gives us no rebound qualities, which is so important in modern footy. So i don't know what'll happen, just have to wait and see.

Absolute rubbish. If you make a comment like this I doubt you have been watching him of late. The bloke can kick the ball 60m. Rebounding isn't always about running forward.

Agree, strange comment there. Big long kicks rebounding out of defence would have to be one of his strengths. Offers plenty the other way, he's hardly in the Prestigiacomo mould.

Has the form too, leading possession getter for Sandy playing long stints down back today (~25 touches, ~10 marks, 5 goals from back, forward and ruck from what I heard, in case anyone missed it :D )

Maguire has been horrible when put up forward, he just doesn't know where to go at all, however his reading of the play as a CHB is sensational, work that one out.

One role I could see him playing is an Aaron Hamill type role of offensive enforcer, go out there and smash and tackle as many people as possible whilst hopefully snagging 1-2 goals per game.

Goose is a shit kick for goal, infact, he's absolutely terrible. He's about as reliable as the cougar. Anyways, if he comes back into the side, it'll free up Fisher to play spare man back. We saw how amazingly good he is in that role. Maguire hasn't played senior footy for an extended period for ages, also he's quite slow and gives us no rebound qualities, which is so important in modern footy. So i don't know what'll happen, just have to wait and see.

Gee, what a load of rubbish !

I don't know about you, but I saw some very impressive goal kicking by the big man down at Trevor Barker Oval today. When did you last see Maguire play as a forward ?

Dawson has played some very good games in the forward line when playing for Box Hill, including some 8 goals efforts. When did you last see Dawson play as a forward ?

A very effective way to beat a zone is to kick over the zone - Maguire has one of the longest kicks for St Kilda (together with Goddard). That's very impressive rebounding for me. When did you last see Maguire kick a football ?

Maguire is a big man, but he is quite quick for his size. He spent some time in the midfield today and was running around well. When did you last see Maguire run ?

That was a shit post, in fact, it was absolutely terrible. You should stop repeating old stereotypes all the time, but rather watch some footy every now and then to realise that things change.

And you should give these guys some respect.

You've obviously never actually watched Goose play. Seriously. You've obviously never laid eyes on the man.

Matt Maguire.. Quick? Are you serious? In this day and age of guys like Buddy Franklin, he is not quick by any comparison. Days are gone where you can kick the ball long and hope, the game's about hitting targets. If we do what you say and get Maguire to blaze away, the ball will come back a hundred times quicker. I however will admit to have never seen Maguire play as a forward, but times when i remember he did kick for goal. He was ordinary.

Maguire was a gun CHB two years ago, a week is a long time in football let alone two years. Forwards nowadays are getting quicker and smarter, hands in the back has been introduced. Do you think Matt Maguire can stop someone like Buddy? Modern footy are producing footballers that are better all round players than ever.I know back when he was at his best, he'd often go for a run off half back and go with the big long kicks but i don't think he can do it any longer. You have guys like Davey and Rioli harrassing, the rolling zone where if kick it without great direction it's going to come right back at you. That's all i'm going to say for now but don't get me wrong I hope the game isn't past Matt Maguire as he was my favourite player, i have the #30 on my back.

...Matt Maguire as he was my favourite player, i have the #30 on my back.

You're an angry young man, Signd Sealed Saint, aren't you ?

You say that nothing is great until we win the flag. You say things about players that are disrespectful and sometimes just wrong.

Sometimes it helps to take a deep breath before you post (or act).

That would probably also have prevented you from buying Brad Howard's jumper while Matt Maguire was your favourite player...

31. And nothing is great til you win a flag. We should've won one in 04-05 i believe we were a far better side talent-wise than Sydney except they have the grunt and guts plus Paul Roos as a coach. West Coast's midfield was one of the best we're ever going see, Cox, Judd, Cousins and Kerr is sublime. Where we lost in that regard we made up with the talls up forward. I really don't see how we managed to screw it up, especially in 04. It was gut wrenching even though i was a kid and looking back at it now, it was such a big opportunity missed. We have another crack at it this year however.

But Holden, would you say Geelong had a great year last year? I wouldn't. They won every game but two and one of them was the most important of them all.

Goose has struggled with his kicking in the past, but got away with a bit through kicking 60-65m (and the guys up-field have a fair idea of where he was going to kick to).

Some might remember him playing as a forward against the Dogs, taking a nice mark 35m directly in front and then pretty much kicking it off his shin out of bounds on the full.

In a couple of the earlier Sandy games he was not quite pin-point either.

But that kicking performance yesterday was remarkable. Even into the breeze his kicks were "gunbarrell" straight.

He has clearly done work on his set shot action - looks a bit weird but seems to allow him to run straight at the goals.

His hands have always been good, seems to read the play pretty well, and always lays a hard tackle. If his kicking is sorted, he will very quickly start to be at the forefront of the selectors minds.

But Holden, would you say Geelong had a great year last year? I wouldn't. They won every game but two and one of them was the most important of them all.

I would. Gee, I envied those bloody Geelong supporters. They have now won what ? 53 of their last 56 games ? The current Geelong team is one of the great teams in the history of this game.

Sure, they did not win the premiership last year. But does that make them "not great" ? I don't think so. I also consider players like Robert Harvey, Chris Grant, Scott West, Nathan Buckely and Matthew Richardson great even though they have never won a premiership.

Clinton Jones running down Buddy Franklin, Zac Dawson bumping Barry Hall, Milney screaming after a goal so that you hear him in Level 3, Blake risking his body with a diving save when the game is won anyway, having had the honour to see Robert Harvey play, our current winning streak (the 2004 winning streak for that matter), having beaten Carlton 11 times in a row (and counting), etc., etc. - there are so many things that make the St Kilda football club great.

Even without a premiership !

Wouldn't mind if we did win one (or more), though.

However great that is. It doesn't go down on the cup Holden. St Kilda's history is lamentable, and i think we as a club is very unlucky to be playing this ridiculous football while Geelong is on this huge run.

I don't think that I understand what you are trying to say.

I don't think that we are playing ridiculous footy (and what does luck have to do with it). St Kilda's history may not be filled with a lot of success in terms of premierships, but the fact that we are still trying and we still believe is one of the very reasons I love this football club.

No need to argue any more, for some it's a tennis racket, for others it's heart, passion and loyalty (despite the lack of premierships).

That our good footy coincides with Geelong's run. Anyhow this is about Maguire as a forward. I don't reckon he can make it as a forward, however he will be taking a third tall defender and will make a good decoy. He's not quick enough on the lead or tall enough at 192cm, he hasn't got the vertical leap of Rooey to make something of that height. So it could work to a certain extent, but don't expect bags from him.

or tall enough at 192cm, .

And how tall do you want the third forward to be?

Hamill was only 187 odd.

With Roo and Kosi as the two key forwards we do not need another really tall forward.

As a potential HF Goose is competing with Gwilt.
They both have their pros and cons.

And how tall do you want the third forward to be?

Hamill was only 187 odd.

With Roo and Kosi as the two key forwards we do not need another really tall forward.

As a potential HF Goose is competing with Gwilt.
They both have their pros and cons.

I think a more relevant competition for Goose is Eddy.... Eddy's been pretty much a stop gap half forward flanker for St Kilda... until Lynch comes in... Ross Lyon was drafting to needs when he picked Tom Lynch. The one & only deficiency in St Kilda's structure is the medium half forward in the Hamill / Medhurst type role.

A mobile Goose can very easily fill those shoes... provided he does HF type things, i.e. chase & tackle, create contests and apply heaps of pressure in the forward 50 rather than solely being a marking target.

Maguire needs to be introduced as we will probably not have Maxy next year, or if we do it will be for about half a season. He is the obvious replacement for mine.

I have spouted about Goose as a forward and i reckon he can do it if the team balance requires it. It is a different mind set kicking for goal as a forward than a back; I am not sure why but if you line up in the forward line one week and a back thenext, you will kick straighter as a forward.

Hamill was a forward pressure player foremost, marking target second i always thought. He did the lead up role really well though. But Goose is a proven gun CHB, why change the role?