Matt Rendell...

Re: Matt Rendall...

He suggested that the race of the parents would be a factor in drafting decisions. More to the point, that having a white parent should be considered a benefit. I'm sure he would have worded his point more carefully if he could he have his time over again, but the insinuation is clear and you're doing yourself a disservice by arguing otherwise.

He is using an extreme hypothetical in a cautionary fashion, at no point does he suggest a "benefit." Rendell's statement is within the context of what he terms "attrition", which is specifically to do with how indigenous players from indigenous communities and cultures find the AFL system and city life away from their family particularly difficult, and the he cited examples such as Milera and Liddy.

At no point whatsoever did he say that these kids are "better off" with one white parent or that one society or culture was better than the other, but you would have to be kidding to deny that the AFL system is inexorably tied to a culture that is completely and utterly different to that which these kids come from.

I mean, Christ, the whole racism issue is about understanding and accepting cultures that are disparate in critical ways, and yet when someone implies that they are different and that transition from one to the other is extremely difficult, and would be for anyone, then he's the racist? That's a cruel joke.

I assume that Rendell would know a thing or two about the retention rate of indigenous players from outback communities since it's kinda a critical part of his job, but at no point does he say that his example is an ideal, or that indigenous kids would be "better off" in this situation, he has used a hysterical and somewhat unfortunate example to highlight the lack of a proper system in place to cater for these situations. Clubs are sinking time and a minor fortune into these kids only for them to depart for good, and Rendell is warning that if the trend continues and the "attrition", if you want, increases, then clubs will simply give up. And he's not saying that's a good thing, either.

He was talking with his recruiter's hat on. What he is getting at is that recruiters will eventually take into account characteristics (ie, race, descent) of players which cannot legally (or ethically) be taken into account.

A reasonable presumption is that he himself has thought this up (rightly or wrongly). He's also given a convenient explanation after the fact and he's stepping sideways.

How can the AFL and Adelaide possibly continue to support a recruiter who has raised the possibility of this in the future? Not to mention that all his decisions to recruit/to not recruit certain players would be scrutinised and debated for the rest of his career.

No YOUR unreasonable presumption is that he was suggesting that this is what he would do.

It staggers me that you and others in this thread have failed to comprehend that the scenario Rendell used was one that HE BELIEVES IS A BAD THING AND WANTED TO TAKE STEPS TO STOP IT EVENTUATING. It was plainly obvious even before last night's interview.

Furthermore, comparing young indigenous footballers being offered education opportunities to the forceful adoption and relocation of indigenous children in the 50s is as ludicrous as it is disingenuous.

FFS some people need instructions on how to use use their own brains.

Bingo. Post of the thread ^^

So many people on here who don't even know the basics about the situation, but yet feel strongly enough to make uneducated comments condemning Rendell. There are so many halfwits out there.

Way to miss the point.

Here we go, for the 98th time
The issue is NOT whether or not Rendell's theoretical scenario would be bad.
It would be, durr, that's the point he was making.

The issue is why some flogs have chosen to take a
"we're heading towards a situation where...[blah blah] and we need to stop that happening"
type comment, as
"[blah blah] is how I make my decisions and it is fine and dandy"

He's said no such thing.
I repeat.
No such thing.
Never.

weevil's post in the other thread - where he took the first half off someone's comment to give it a completely different contention to what was intended - is by far the best I've read on the topic.

No - I didn't miss the point - I was making a point of my own that I'm not a fool about anti-discrimination legislation which was insinuated in the post I replied to.

On your second point - no, he did not say such a thing. But he did not say that he wouldn't do it either. After all, it came out of his mouth, and they were his own comments - not anyone else's. No one else has said anything like it, nor has he said that others had said anything like it.

Facts are facts. He made comments to the effect that 1 white = good, and 2 black = less good ("risk"). He did not attribute his words to anyone else, they were his own. He does not deny saying it. He is just now giving convenient after-the-fact face-saving context. He is no doubt not a racist, but what he said was.

I just watched the Rendell interview.

Ultimately what we have is a guy who cares deeply about the prospects for indigenous kids in the AFL being booted out for trying to get them to lift their head out of the sand.

I have a bit of insight into it and its true that white kids and indigenious kids both have issues but it is definetely fair to say that indigenous kids find the AFL environment with all its demands and rigidity more difficult to deal with bc of the way they have been raised (Cyril Rioli admits this).

All Rendell is trying to do is say to 30 x 16 yo kids - c'mon get into a scholarship programme at a good school. Get a good education, get into a professional AFL environment and let it help you more with the rigours of AFL footy come draft day. I think the man should be applauded for trying to make it better.....not sitting on his ar#e and letting the current systems faults continue.

We only have to go back to last year. Zyrus Manson was without doubt one of the most talented kids in the AFL Draft. He simply didnt get picked bc clubs didnt think he would cope. That was a shame and its exactly the sort of thing Rendell wants fixed.

Could he have said it better ....of course. Does he deserrved to be burnt because of it.....no.

Bravo, but missing the point. If you knew what you were talking about you would have been better advised to quote the domestic laws based on said convention.

To be sued you must do the thing that is wrong. Not suggest that if something is not done then people will begin to do a wrong thing.

Bad action now = case

Thought re possible future bad actions that may be undertaken by others if things do not change= no case

In the end what has happened here is that Randell has said something shocking may occur in an attempt to get a reaction to a problem he saw developing. Instead of accepting that the AFL has a problem with the way it handles recruits from some socio-economic backgrounds. The AFL decided to do away with the messenger, with you cheering the trumbel on from the sidelines.
What's to say Adelaide hasn't recently overlooked an aboriginal player with two black parents while Rendall has been in charge of recruitment? Do you think they'd be entitled to take Adelaide / AFL to court based on Rendall's comments? I reckon they would.

Two words come to mind.

Scapegoat and witch hunt.

Demetriou is, it appears, a lying arseh*le.

And it's about time someone called him and his minions to account.

They treat the public and anyone who doesn't toe the company line with utter contempt.

All Rendell is trying to do is say to 30 x 16 yo kids - c'mon get into a scholarship programme at a good school. Get a good education, get into a professional AFL environment and let it help you more with the rigours of AFL footy come draft day. I think the man should be applauded for trying to make it better.....not sitting on his ar#e and letting the current systems faults continue.

That, sir/madam, is what led to the Stolen Generation. Who are white people to say they do it better and that everyone should be like white people?

Someone needs to interview Jason, his side of things needs to be heard and soon.

Not sure if its been mentioned earlier but the low point for me was when Garry asked Rendell the question "If you have a white player and an indigenous player of equal ability, which one would you take ?"

Well Garry .... as a powerbroker at Melbourne, which one would you take ?

Rendell himself acknowledged that it was a stupid throwaway line to make a point.

What a debacle. Vlad looks like a heavy handed autocrat, the AFC looks weak and Rendell looks like a racist.

ps how appalling was Caroline Wilson? "Are you sorry?" FFS

Not sure if its been mentioned earlier but the low point for me was when Garry asked Rendell the question "If you have a white player and an indigenous player of equal ability, which one would you take ?"

LOL :thumbsu:

he gave a great answer being that is never the case, so why even consider it.

OK let be quote the UN International Convention on Elimination of all forms of Racial Discrimination on which our anti discrimination is necessarily based (as Australia is a party to this Convention):

"racial discrimination" shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin which has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life."

Exactly how is proposing that AFL clubs (like his own) will prefer to draft an aboriginal kid with one white parent over an aboriginal kid without a white parent not discriminatory based on that definition? I think I have demonstrated more than a functional knowledge of unlawful discrimination and anti discrimination legislation. If you still can't get your head around it, let me know! Alternatively, have a look here: http://www.hreoc.gov.au/racial_discrimination/index.html

This is the problem, some people are not actually understanding what is being said. You've gone a step too far. It is the discriminatory aspect of this definition which is important.

The problem is that Rendall hasn't proposed anything, he hasn't acted BUT he has provided constructive considerations for the development of policy to prevent discrimination. That the development of the policy in on the lines of race may well make it racist but then, native title and any of the other lauded social developments would also be "racist" or "racial discrimination".

Rendall has suggested that the racism in that definition will be an unintended consequence of a failure of policy to assist with the assimilation of young indigenous footballers into AFL culture.

To have a discussion about the very essence of racism is not "racist".

When feminists highlighted the issues faced by women in the 60s and 70s and lobied for policy change were they sexist?

The whole situation has just shown exactly how hysterical society has become about these sorts of issues.

It would be nice if some of these folks could leave the self righteousness and PC thuggery at the door before trying to discuss such topics.

Dear god.

So I suppose you think:

(a) getting into a good [white] school is always better than regional [non-white] schooling.
(b) get a good education because an aboriginal boy couldn't possible get a good education close to their family and parents in their local language / culture.
(c) if you didn't go to a good school and get a good education, you couldn't possibly get into or succeed in a job / professional AFL environment.

lol... only a Crows supporter would believe that... king of spin and it makes it hard to believe anything he says.
Take it you've not met Matt?
AFL footy will be poorer without Matt Rendell. He's got more integrity than Demetriou will ever have.
This.
Andrew McLeod backs him 100% - that's enough for me.

I am completely disgusted in the AFL, and I'm ashamed to be an Adelaide Crows supporter.

Jesus Christ, they've ****ing crucified a guy who was actually trying to help and offered genuine suggestions on how to improve things!!

And Caro, just shut up.
So much this, especially Caro.
Any chance AD can go away for a couple of hours and think about what he said?
We're not that lucky.
I hope we give him a massive pay-out and unofficially keep him on staff.
Will be in contact with Hamish Ogilve you can bet your bottom dollar. But I hope he has a chance to do what he wants now for a bit.
Bingo! - I hope Robbo or someone has the cajones to call Vlad on this
Robbo smashed it last night on 360. Tonight will be VERY interesting now he has ammo.

Matt Rendell, a champ of a bloke who was thrown under a bust by the AFL to divert attention from their own car wreck and had his club just stand by and watch. NOT deserving of that.

So I suppose you think:

(a) getting into a good [white] school is always better than regional [non-white] schooling.
(b) get a good education because an aboriginal boy couldn't possible get a good education close to their family and parents in their local language / culture.
(c) if you didn't go to a good school and get a good education, you couldn't possibly get into or succeed in a job / professional AFL environment.

No one is saying any of what you are inferring. Kids getting into the AFL system initially live a very spartan and sanitized life. It's heavy on structure and micromanaged to the nth degree, all Matt Rendell has done is make his concerns known and heaven forbid try to look at a solution to the problem.

You are entitled to your opinion but FWIW i think you are way off.

So I suppose you think:

I have said two words and you assume to know what I think on aboriginal issues. I suggest you stop accusing people of being racists when they haven't actually said anything of the sort. I said "Dear god", because your comment linking AFL indigineous programs and assimilation programs to the "stolen generation" is the most bizzare thing in this whole thread.