Toast Matt Thomas' first match

Melbourne Heart, Furies
Thought I'd post a positive thread :)

Matt Thomas was very good last night. I thought he might be be on the outer and lucky to get 3 or 4 games this season.

What I'm not going to say is that he'll win our B&F based on one game, just like Griffiths is now our second best tall and Vickery is playing in the VFL next week.

But, overall, was very impressed with how hard he went at the ball. Really stood our compared to most of our other players. Hopefully that form can continue, because he's only 1/22 through the season, just like all our other players.

Thought I'd post a positive thread :)

Matt Thomas was very good last night. I thought he might be be on the outer and lucky to get 3 or 4 games this season.

What I'm not going to say is that he'll win our B&F based on one game, just like Griffiths is now our second best tall and Vickery is playing in the VFL next week.

But, overall, was very impressed with how hard he went at the ball. Really stood our compared to most of our other players. Hopefully that form can continue, because he's only 1/22 through the season, just like all our other players.
I though he was just about best on for us. Did exactly what was asked of him. It is just unfortunate for him/us not many other players decided to turn up.

That'll change and he'll get to enjoy some memorable tiger victories!

How did he not get games at Port? Their midfield doesn't necessarily bat deep with superstars...

Having said that what a ripper we've unearthed. Onya big fella. Hopefully some of the other blokes take a leaf out of his book.

Always said he would do well for us. Reminds me a lot of Scott Thompson from Adelaide with his size. His just to big to not do well in the packs. Was really exited when we got him.

Also cant wait to see Banfield in our forward line he could be that player we need.

Great First up game,But I'm not sure we can have both him and Jacko in the same side.Both are very similar in so many ways.Not sure we can have both in.Honestly.
With less rotations and midfielders resting more in the forward now i can see it working.
I wouldn't be against seeing Jackson playing higher up the ground. Can rove the packs quite well and scored some freakish goals last season.

I don't expect too many posts on this thread as there would be enough egg on mushes to feed the third world with armchair experts around here who claimed he couldn't play despite never seeing him,
haha

How did he not get games at Port? Their midfield doesn't necessarily bat deep with superstars...

Having said that what a ripper we've unearthed. Onya big fella. Hopefully some of the other blokes take a leaf out of his book.
Happens all the time, Yelle. Schultz the other way an example, sometimes a face or skill set just doesn't fit. Big win for us.:thumbsu:

Knows and can perform his job here (that is get the ball and feed it out), whereas at Port Boak, Wines and Ebert who would win their own ball and didn't require Thomas to feed them the ball. Obviously our midfielders know how to win their own ball as well its just ours have more outside game then the port players. Just look at how many times Cotchin received the ball of Thomas last night instead of having to get the ball himself or get the tap from Hampson and be under immediate pressure.

With less rotations and midfielders resting more in the forward now i can see it working.
I wouldn't be against seeing Jackson playing higher up the ground. Can rove the packs quite well and scored some freakish goals last season.
Not sure that will work either.We need whipper snippers up fwd.lol

I was not dead set against him coming but thought at his age and what he showed at port was that the AFL standard game was past him. I am happy to say I was wrong. If Mat plays with the aggression and desire he played on Saturday, then **** me, let him play every game he can.

Obviously needs some more time to properly absorb the Richmond gameplan.

Stop going in hard - wait out on the wing for the easy kick.
2nd efforts - what are those???? C'mon mate - we've practiced the 'Throw your hands in the air and stare at the umpire' - get it right.
Now - tackles. I see that you and that young guy Reece made most tackles. Look, we've told you - if you are wasting time tackling, you can't be running forward of the ball, or cruising out the back for the handpass.

Get with the program, or it's VFL next week.

Looked like he wanted to win.
Yeah see in the highlights how angry he was wen GAJ kicked that goal from a kickout. Has plenty of passion and drive. Will do a lot of the inside grunt work allowing Lids and Cotch to deliver on the outside

very very good debut. i think came out evens with Ablett on the night. 28 possies and 7 tackles is a good night out for a leading midfielder let alone someone taggin Gablett.

i believe he is an upgrade on Tuck. will become an important tool going forward and will repay the faith in spades.

Considering a lot of our recent problems against Carlton stem from not being able to stop them flipping the ball out to the skirts who hang around the pack & then they take off, Matt Thomas is going to be a very important player for us next week.

I reckon we can actually as Jacko was good in open space last year and he is a runner.
And Jacko has become a goal kicker as well - Thomas will free up our midfield & compliment Jacko. Can't have too many tough bodies who can go and get the pill.