noddy

/The Bays/Man U
I'm rapt in the way Matty Bode has performed in the midfield so far this year he adds not just his all round skills but also his hardness at the footy & body when the ball is in dispute,
He is a credit to himself & family in the way he has bounced back from the injury's he suffered from all of last year,

It just goe's to prove that not all that comes out of PAP land is to bad,

Any thoughts on Kane Cornes joining his mate from the bay in wearing the tri colours in the same circumstances as Body has done ??

Bodey is a little beauty! He has no concerns for his own safety that is for sure! He is terrific and has made huge improvements since coming to the Crows. I was a bit sceptical about him, but he has proved me wrong! He is great - and a little cutey as well!

k
xx

Originally posted by noddy
I'm rapt in the way Matty Bode has performed in the midfield so far this year he adds not just his all round skills but also his hardness at the footy & body when the ball is in dispute,
He is a credit to himself & family in the way he has bounced back from the injury's he suffered from all of last year,

It just goe's to prove that not all that comes out of PAP land is to bad,

Any thoughts on Kane Cornes joining his mate from the bay in wearing the tri colours in the same circumstances as Body has done ??

That's right, take a player that can't get a game for the Power and he is one of the best players in the Crows lineup. K.Cornes wouldn't want to be a fruit loop and is a decent player, anyway the Crows wouldn't want to give up anything decent to get him.

That's right, take a player that can't get a game for the Power and he is one of the best players in the Crows lineup.
Zombie - After all your "quality" midfielders tallied 50 possessions between them, you could do with someone like Bode who is hard at the ball. Bode recognised that there was no point making the finals if you can't win one, so he changed clubs. ;) :p BTW, Bode will be playing many years beyond D Wakelin (or Rehn), so I'm happy with the trade.

K.Cornes wouldn't want to be a fruit loop and is a decent player, anyway the Crows wouldn't want to give up anything decent to get him.
Not sure about the 1st part of the sentence (ie. WTF?), but you are probably right in saying the Crows wouldn't give up enough for the Power to trade K Cornes. We need key position players anyway!

I liked Matthew Bode at Port....his major trait was that he'd go for the hard ball - he just usually lacked the skills to do anything very useful with it...was pretty disappointed when he was traded.

However, I'm still pretty happy that we got Shaun Burgoyne for him though, thats for sure....star in the making, and I don't say that often.

Kane Cornes at pick 20 (who I believe was the Crows' second choice for their #7 pick) was just an excellent bonus :D

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Zombie - After all your "quality" midfielders tallied 50 possessions between them, you could do with someone like Bode who is hard at the ball. Bode recognised that there was no point making the finals if you can't win one, so he changed clubs. ;) :p BTW, Bode will be playing many years beyond D Wakelin (or Rehn), so I'm happy with the trade.

I don't think Bode changed clubs, he was traded because he was not considered good enough to play in the Port midfield.

Bode was traded for the #12 pick in 1999 which Port Adelaide picked up S.Burgoyne, Burgoyne is much more talented than Bode.

Originally posted by Zombie

Burgoyne is much more talented than Bode.

That would mean that the Crows have got the best out of this deal if your past "expert" opinions are anything to go by.:D

I liked Matthew Bode at Port....his major trait was that he'd go for the hard ball - he just usually lacked the skills to do anything very useful with it...was pretty disappointed when he was traded.
Porthos, he really worked on his kicking over the pre-season (recognising it was his biggest problem), so he has proved a great pick-up for us. He is now 2nd on the Crows BF YTD BOG votes. :)

However, I'm still pretty happy that we got Shaun Burgoyne for him though, thats for sure....star in the making, and I don't say that often.
Jnr Burger has quality written all over him. Hope he lives up to his potential, as he could be anything!

Kane Cornes at pick 20 (who I believe was the Crows' second choice for their #7 pick) was just an excellent bonus
Don't remind me about the dreaded no.7 pick. I just hope we can get a 3rd round pick from the Hawks for the talented headcase.

I don't think Bode changed clubs, he was traded because he was not considered good enough to play in the Port midfield.
Whatever, makes you feel good Zombie ... I think you have lost whatever credibility you has left on BF :rolleyes:

I always thought Bode's best attribute was his ability to read the ball off the packs and be front and square to the contest every time, at full pace!

Talking to him personally after he was traded, he admitted he was shattered to be leaving Port. It seems he has shaken off his injury tag of previous years and putting some quality games together now. I was disappointed to lose him, but happy he is doing well now.

Tredders#16

Whatever, makes you feel good Zombie ... I think you have lost whatever credibility you has left on BF :rolleyes:

That is why he was traded, when he used to play for Port he usually played as a small forward. I mean he wasn't bad, but he wasn't going to get a go in our midfield anytime soon which is why he got traded.

I'm glad to see him doing well (even if it is in a fruit loops guernsey) but I'm more than satisfied with who we got for him, I feel we got the better end of the deal.

Matty Bode from Port to the Crows could easily be compared to David Brown from the Crows to Port. A good player who wasn't able to get a chance but stood up after moving clubs. There are tons of stories like this. You can't really say who got the best out of this, it was pretty much a win-win. Bode got to have a regular match, the Crows got a quality small man, Port got a draft pick to replace the no.4 pick traded for Darryl Wakelin; probably the biggest plus in the whole deal, and that draft pick was able to be used for Shaun Burgoyne.

Originally posted by mic59
Matty Bode from Port to the Crows could easily be compared to David Brown from the Crows to Port. A good player who wasn't able to get a chance but stood up after moving clubs. There are tons of stories like this. You can't really say who got the best out of this, it was pretty much a win-win. Bode got to have a regular match, the Crows got a quality small man, Port got a draft pick to replace the no.4 pick traded for Darryl Wakelin; probably the biggest plus in the whole deal, and that draft pick was able to be used for Shaun Burgoyne.

I did not start this thread to see who got the best deal & which club put something over the other club, i was making a statement on the form Bodey has shown all year & his comeback from last years disappointing injury riddled year, i could'nt care less who the paps drafted in return & i hope Shaun Burgoyne has a great career but please pap people "get a life"

Originally posted by noddy

I did not start this thread to see who got the best deal & which club put something over the other club, i was making a statement on the form Bodey has shown all year & his comeback from last years disappointing injury riddled year, i could'nt care less who the paps drafted in return & i hope Shaun Burgoyne has a great career but please pap people "get a life"

I am sorry to see you thought I was trying to engage in some kind of one-upmanship. I just wished to add to the discussion, and to show that no-one lost by trading good players. If this doesn't interest you then too bad but I am sure some people may want to consider more than your blinkered view.

Not really, in fact not at all. Bodey was very inconsistent and quite injury prone in his time at the Power. I wasnt overly upset to see him go because when he got a game i dont think he realised how frail an AFL career could be. He'd kick a goal every now and then, but wouldnt get more than 8 or 9 touches. I thought (well, think) the best component of his game is his wet weather skill. He is fantastic in wet weather...one of a few players that can still do one-touch skills in the wet. And it is true, he could not break into the Power midfield, even in the Powers worse year. Maybe that shows how hard he has worked to improve his fitness and consistency with the Crows to be able to gain a regular first team spot...but at his time at the Power, he wasnt ever near winning a permanent spot in a forward pocket let alone as a midfielder.

As Mic said...many players have swapped clubs to become more useful/better players. Lance Picioane at the Hawks is another example...Tom Harley at Geelong etc etc the list could go on for ages

He certainly has improved this year for the Crows. Good on him. I hope he continues to stay injury free and has some good times at the Crows.
Im happy we got Shaun Burgoyne out of the pick we got, and i reckon he will be an out and out superstar within a few years.

Win-Win on all accounts i think! :)

You gave up your no 1 pick in the draft for him (Something like pick 12 i think, which we went and picked up the very talented Shaun Burgoyne).
My recollection was that we used Hawthorn's 1st draft pick (which we got for Rehn) which we on-passed to Port (for Bode), which Port then used to draft S Burgoyne. I incorrectly mentioned D Wakelin (that must of been the previous year), but I reckon you have made a mistake with the Crows' 1st round pick as we held on to it pick up Angwin.

Originally posted by mic59

I am sorry to see you thought I was trying to engage in some kind of one-upmanship. I just wished to add to the discussion, and to show that no-one lost by trading good players. If this doesn't interest you then too bad but I am sure some people may want to consider more than your blinkered view.

Oops, blinkers off well maybe just one ;)