maxrm

Toronto Raptors
Began this about a week ago and have been struggling to find time to spend on it. If I find the time I will continue to update this but in the mean time I thought I may as well post it now, before I forget about it. I put a lot of time into the order, and if you want descriptions and/or heights etc beyond my top 10 I recommend you look at Knightmare's phantom draft:thumbsu:
If you have an questions regarding my draft and your teams selections, or any recommended changes for my 2nd version which I'll get to closer to the draft, then I'd be more than happy for you to ask/suggest it to me. Enjoi:thumbsu:

GC - 1: David Swallow H: 186cm W: 83kg D.O.B: 19/11/92 Is guaranteed to be a sun next year, and played for them all year in the VFL. This kid is an absolute gun, arguably the best youngster in the history of the AFL, Swallow will be winning brownlow's and dominating games in the near future. He has terrific speed and agility, can push forward and kick goals and his kicking skills are sublime, I feel sick everytime I think that, in any other year, WC would be picking him up as the #1 draft pick.

GC - 2: Harley Bennell H: 180cm W: 70kg D.O.B: 2/10/92 Looks to be locked in as a top 3 pick, and it's almost impossible to debate otherwise. Harley has amazing speed and skills, kicks heaps of goals from the wings and has the ability to win games off his own boot. Won the Larke Medal this year as the best player in the U18's championships, and has been one of the best for cellar-dwellers WAFL side Peel Thunder.

GC - 3: Sam Day H: 195cm W: 90kg D.O.B: 6/9/92 Sam Day, the white Naitanui. He possesses an amazing leap and has freakish natural talent. Is a very raw prospect but if he reaches his full potential, watch out. He has amazing speed and agility for his height, and has great skills and a huge mark. Can play basically anywhere but generally plays up forward, where he's been known to kick lots of goals. Looks to be a certain top 3 selection, will be a sun next year, and a gun in the future.

WCE - 4: Andrew Gaff H: 183cm W: 78kg D.O.B: 16/6/92 A very safe selection, Gaff plays predominately on the wing and boasts good speed and amazing endurance. He has terrific kicking skills and can push forward and kick goals. Has leadership potential and will be a very good AFL player for a long time, WC will be very happy with this selection. Will also strongly consider Heppell and Polec, but the general consensus seems to suggest WC will be selecting him here, apparently their recruiting staff were very impressed by his ball-winning, kicking skills and overwhelming professionalism.

BL - 5: Dyson Heppell H: 186cm W: 82kg D.O.B: 9/1/92
A tremendous prospect, Heppell won Vic Country's B&F this year playing as a backmen because of a limited pre-season. But once he got back to full strength, he pushed in the midfield for TAC cup team Gippsland Power, and absolutely dominated, leading his team in a surprise GF and winning the TAC cup equivalent of the brownlow, the Morrish medal. Played Basketball as a junior, and still has massive improvement in him. He boasts a beautiful left foot kick, and is a great mark and has good speed and agility. Brisbane have a future star on their hands here. Will also consider Polec here.

RICH - 6: Jared Polec H: 188cm W:77kg D.O.B: 12/10/92 A talented goal-kicking wingman, Polec boasts a booming left foot and great speed. Has tremendous line-breaking ability and good skills. His tackling pressure is fantastic and has the potential to win games off his own boot. Richmond will be very happy with him to add to their young side, they'll also consider Gorringe and Lynch, particurly if they for a KPP player.

GC - 7: Daniel Gorringe H: 200cm W: 86kg D.O.B: 2/6/92 A very talented ruckman, Gorringe possesses a great leap and fantastic ruck work. After growing another 2cm to him the 2m mark, his stocks have risen even further. His an extremely smart footballer, and with the danger of Essendon picking him up at 8, I'm expecting the suns to jump on him now. They may also consider Lynch, Atley or Caddy here.

ESS - 8: Josh Caddy H: 186cm W: 81kg D.O.B: 28/9/92 Caddy's your typical olden-day midfielder. He's a courageous tackling machine, throws his body on the line and has great hands, winning the handballing test at the combine. He has surprisingly good speed and skills for an inside midfielder. Is a pretty safe pick, and with Essendon's lack of quality inside mids, he's a fantastic pick up here. They'll also strongly consider Shaun Atley here.

GC - 9: Tom Lynch H: 196cm W: 86kg D.O.B: 31/10/92 Coming from a basketball background, Lynch plays predominately at CHF or FF and has been fantastic for Vic Country and in the TAC cup this year. He has a huge amount of improvement left in him, and is very athletic with the ability to play in the ruck. Is an unbelievable mover for his size and has great skills and speed for such a big guy, GC will lock him in here, as a great future KPF prospect.

GC - 10: Shaun Atley H: 187cm W: 82kg D.O.B: 13/9/92 With exceptional pace and acceleration, and great speed and agility, Atley's commonly known to burst out of packs. He was a state hurdler highlighting his speed. He has exceptional awareness, and predominately plays inside, but also has an outside game. Can also play across half back and can push forward and kick goals. Is a strong tackler, but his main flaw is his kicking skills, although not being anything special, they're still better than most in the AFL. He possesses great value here and if available I can't see the suns passing on him. Has all the attributes to be a fantastic player in the near future.

GC - 11: Billie Smedts
A very talented prospect, Smedts isn't KPP height but has the marking ability to seem like one at times. Reminds me a bit of Steve Johnson, but plays more time up the ground then Johnson. GC will be stoked to add him to their strong list of young guns.

MD - 12: Kieran Harper
They could definitely go Jack Darling here, but imo Harper's superstar potential and game-breaking ability will win them over. He also suits Melbournes fast, exciting game. And someone like Luke Mitchell will probably be available at their 2nd selection. So they'll also get the KPF.

GC - 13: Patrick McCarthy
A great prospect, McCarthy plays predominately at CHB and GC would be crazy not to select him or Matthew Watson here. But I think they'll choose McCarthy.

ADEL - 14: Brodie Smith
A very Judd-like mid, Smith plays predominately inside but can also play outside. Even with his lack of strength, Smith has the ability to burst through packs and break tackles. He's defensive side is really good and he can also push forward and kick goals. A very talented prospect, if he slides this far Adelaide would have to be smoking something really strong to pass on him.

GE - 15: Matthew Watson
With players like Scarlett and Milburn getting on in age, Geelong need a young KPB to sure up their defence for the future. Going by this they'd be crazy to pass on Watson.

PA - 16: Ben Jacobs
Plays predominately as a rebounder from defence, but can also play midfield. Jacobs racks up heaps of the ball, and uses it really well with his penetrating kick. A great pick-up here for Port.

NM - 17: Isaac Smith
I originally had Jayden Pitt here, but from what I'm hearing NM are extremely keen on Smith. He's come from nowhere in the last month to suddenly be a definite draftee, potentially even higher then this. He screams X-Factor and can win games of his own boot playing off the wing and pushing forward to kick goals. He's 21, but has as much improvement in him as other potential draftees, only he's proving himself against men, in VFL finals.

CB - 18: Jack Darling
Carlton would be over the moon to get Darling here, and I think they will, unless Melbourne snare him at 12. Darling was all the talk last year, he was seen as a definite top 3 pick and rated extremely highly. He even kicked 7 goals in the WAFL in one game. But his form dropped dramatically this year. He gained weight and with that lost some speed and athleticism and performed way below expectations at the U18's carnival. He also fractured his skull in a reportedly unprovoked king hit. But if he can reach his full potential, watch out.

HH - 19: Jed Lamb
The kid with the green boots, Lamb is hard to miss. He performed fantastically at the U18's carnival and throughout the TAC cup. He has an amazing goal sense and has super speed, agility and accuracy in front of goals. He was the best performer in Nathan Buckley's kicking test at Draft Camp, and with the Hawks chasing similiar players to him in Hill and (mind blank) I think they'll definitely take Lamb here if he's still around.

FD - 20: Reece Conca
SS - 21: Seb Tape
WB - 22: F/S Mitch Wallis
GE - 23: Jayden Pitt
STK - 24: Luke Parker
BL - 25: Josh Green
WC - 26: Jamie Cripps
BL - 27: Warrick Andreoli
WC - 28: Tyler Chalwell
RT - 29: Scott Lycett
ES - 30: Dion Prestia
BL - 31: Lucas Cook
MD - 32: Luke Mitchell
CB - 33: Mitch Hallahan
PA - 34: Blayne Wilson
PA - 35: Cameron Guthrie
GE - 36: Ben Newton
HH - 37: Angus Litherland
GC - 38: Viv Mitchie
SS - 39: Patrick Karnezis
WB - 40: Tom Liberatore
CB - 41: Alex Fasolo
STK - 42: Myles Sewell
FREM - 43: Tom Gordon

Comments please:thumbsu:

Good read mate,shame it had to end at pick10 i was enjoying it,pretty much round the mark with the top10 to.

If Richmond pass on Hallahan or Cook with our second pick, Ill go crazy! Common sence says that if Cook a KPF who could go round 1 slides to round 2, We would snap him up as we need 1 more tall prospect in the forward line.

Good read mate,shame it had to end at pick10 i was enjoying it,pretty much round the mark with the top10 to.

Yeah, hopefully I'll get some more of the draft done over the next couple weeks, its much harder then it looks, very time consuming.

To Luke: If Lycett slides that far I think Richmond would be crazy to pass on him. Him and Vickery would secure your ruck stocks for the next decade, Lycett's only a small step behind Gorringe, and could easily end up better, and apparently richmonds interested in him at 6. Lycett's been rated a top10 prospect by many people, I'd be stoked to be Richmond and getting him at 29.

Melbourne will surly go tall with one of our first two picks.

Look for Luke Mitchell or Thomas Gordon in the second round. Would be wrapped if Cook slid that far!

Personally I would like us to take Parker over Conca but the "go home" factor may get Conca over the line.

Also, I think West Coast should gamble and go with Polec to gain some leg speed. Masten, Shuey, Priddis, Ebert, Stevens aren't exactley line breakers. Take a gamble. Freo gambled with Hill and Fyfe and they have paid fantastic dividends

Personally I would like us to take Parker over Conca but the "go home" factor may get Conca over the line.

Also, I think West Coast should gamble and go with Polec to gain some leg speed. Masten, Shuey, Priddis, Ebert, Stevens aren't exactley line breakers. Take a gamble. Freo gambled with Hill and Fyfe and they have paid fantastic dividends
so do i and leave gaff for brisbane :D:thumbsu:

Melbourne will surly go tall with one of our first two picks.

Look for Luke Mitchell or Thomas Gordon in the second round. Would be wrapped if Cook slid that far!

Yeah, i agree that we will probably be going tall with our first pick. One of Darling or Lynch. If not, we will go for another HBF more so than a HFF, as we have a few of those already. Obviously if a Gorringe drops to our pick (like that will happen) we will draft him.

I reckon our priority will go something like Lynch/Darling > Atley/Smedts > Watson. It would of been great if we traded our 2nd rounder + Warnock, for a mid-late 1st rounder (as i don't think Warnock is much good, plus he's getting on a bit).

How was Fyfe a gamble?

If we could get Watson, and Prestia, that would be gold and fit our needs so well. Personally I don't think Watson will fall past GC, but if, as you predict, the Bombers take Caddy, that could change the order of things and we might get lucky and he might fall through.

I would have been very pleased with Tape, Wilson or Guthrie (and think all three fit our needs well) at 36, but you've put them all out of reach.

What are the Pies 1st 2 Picks at 44 and 45 are?

With the eagles having no picks after pick 26 and 28 I don't know many players beyond the top 40 or so. And im certainly no expert on Collingwood and their needs, I could imagine them taken mature aged players while their at the top, maybe someone like Myles Sewell if he was still around.

Also, just a small edit on my draft, I now have Luke Mitchell going to Melbourne and Patrick Karnezis going to Sydney.

I like how you rate Chalwell, he will be a gun, in fact I can see him going as high as 20 to Freo.
Apparently Port have told Conca they will take him if he is still available at their first pick.

If Richmond pass on Hallahan or Cook with our second pick, Ill go crazy! Common sence says that if Cook a KPF who could go round 1 slides to round 2, We would snap him up as we need 1 more tall prospect in the forward line.

If we take a mid at 6 and Lycett is available at our second pick we would be nuts not to take him. Could easily go top 20 and he has been compared to Kurt Tippet who would be a walk up start in any side.

With the eagles having no picks after pick 26 and 28 I don't know many players beyond the top 40 or so. And im certainly no expert on Collingwood and their needs, I could imagine them taken mature aged players while their at the top, maybe someone like Myles Sewell if he was still around.

Also, just a small edit on my draft, I now have Luke Mitchell going to Melbourne and Patrick Karnezis going to Sydney.

Eagles have a midfield full of blokes who can win footy but not kick. They wont go for Myles Sewell for this reason. They need good kicks.

I like how you rate Chalwell, he will be a gun, in fact I can see him going as high as 20 to Freo.
Apparently Port have told Conca they will take him if he is still available at their first pick.

I heard that Rhodes has said in the media that Port will select Scott Lycett with their first pick if he is still available, so go figure.

If we take a mid at 6 and Lycett is available at our second pick we would be nuts not to take him. Could easily go top 20 and he has been compared to Kurt Tippet who would be a walk up start in any side.

If we take one of Poled, Gaff, Heppell with our Pick 6, we need to take either Cook, Mitchell of Lycett if available at Pick 29. We wouldn't be stupid enough to ignore both. However, I have a strange feeling both will be gone by 29...