Maxwell Cleared

• Thread starter Thread starter Merv

How the **** can he get off? It contradicts the laws of the game.

No it doesn't. That's why he got off. What it contradicts is an interpretation from a couple of idiot administrators. Maxwell did nothing wrong in accordance with the RULES of the game.

What would your view be if Dale Thomas copped a broken jaw and ten weeks out as the result of a similar bump from an opposition player?
for starters dale thomas would have more awareness then that eagles player and would have taken it like a man, What if judd delivered that bump and copd 4 weeks for it, you carlton supporters would be in an uproar. Everyone can say the same for there own team, this decision saves all footballers from getting pinged for this the rest of the year. its a good thing.

There is still a lot of people on here who want to see players pulling out of or shirking bumps and our game criticised as soft. It would pretty much be Gaelic or International Rules with an oval ball:thumbsd:

I understood the need to rub out the front on charge when a player was bent over picking up the ball, but this was just ridiculous and left everyone confused.

IMHO this is one of the best decisions for the good of the game in a long time.

****in Collingwood and AFL in bed together as usual. The guy gets a broken jaw from Maxwell's unsavory act. If Dale Thomas got knocked out and had his jaw broken by a young eagle rookie I reckon there would have been uproar in the east and he would have served time.

This is the worst post I have had the misfortune to read in a long time.

I am waiting for the findings to be published, thats going to be the interesting thing.
But where is the 2009 ruling available. I have been quoting the rule from the published Tribunal Book from the AFL HQ section of the AFL website. If there is a 2009 update, I would love to see it. If it on the web?
I think the word you are looking for is "misquoting".

for starters dale thomas would have more awareness then that eagles player and would have taken it like a man, What if judd delivered that bump and copd 4 weeks for it, you carlton supporters would be in an uproar. Everyone can say the same for there own team, this decision saves all footballers from getting pinged for this the rest of the year. its a good thing.

I realise what you are saying about awareness,McGinnity is a rookie and will learn to look up and maybe not focus on the ball which is what he was doing.Maybe Maxwell should of attacked the ball and not focused on the man because the ball was there to be won and he chose a soft option of taking out a player focused on the ball.
Anyhow it is good to see you can still shitmixer someone when they least expect it and get away with it.:rolleyes:

At the Tribunal this was not raised as your main defense, rather you tried to argue that the contact was accidental - and therefore Maxwell should get off... even though the rules state that this is irrelavant.

Today you argued the case strongly over Maxwell's options ,and convinced the appeal board that Mawell did not have another option - therefore accidental contact is not the players fault under this rule.

The more likely sacking would be for your legal consel who did not argue this case correctly in the first place .

Actually thats crap. First they presented evidence that it was a head clash so as to prove the bump was executed properly and not a shoulder to the head which would have led to an immediate upholding of the MRPs original ruling or even perhaps more weeks. That evidence was accepted by the AFLs own advocate who conceded it was a technically well executed bump. Collingwood then presented evidence regarding the lack of other options. Thats what the tribunal didnt buy. In fact they even came out of deliberations once to clarify the options rule. Obviously it was line ball as they were in there for 20 mins.

The appeals board haven't spelt out the reasons for overturning the original decision. When they do we'll know a lot more about what this means for front on contact. When Maxwell was first suspended I assumed that it must have been his shoulder that contacted McGinnity's head but the argument was that the broken jaw resulted from a head clash.

Looking at the footage on Youtube again and again I still cant see a head clash. Maybe viewing it under better conditions and frame by frame would show one but I'm skeptical. In addition the argument by the Collingwood advocate that Maxwell going for the ball posed a greater risk to the other two players than bumping McGinnity seems farcical to me.

I accept the Collingwood argument that aborting the delivery of a bump is not a realistic option but my understanding is that the AFL want to eliminate the risks posed by a shirt front and for mine Maxwells bump was to the chest not the side of McGinnity.

Toots I must say I am as confused with what actually cause the break as many others must be, but on watching the bump live and on replay ad nauseum, it always looked a fair bump. Without the injury it would never have even been looked at.
This is the victory. What appeared to be fair in all senses has been adjudged to be fair in spite of the rules.
This is surely why the appeal system is in place and in this case I think the system has worked and delivered a win for footy and common sense and the AFL. I feel for McGinnity but only in the sense he has sustained a bad injury in the process of a match.

Probably the worst post of all time. :confused:

Dale Thomas is a little girl compared to Mcginnity, how can you take a smashed jaw like a man?

I can understand why Maxwell should get off but I can't understand how he could given the rules of the tribunal. Will be interesting to see the ruling on it. Does this mean any tribunal decision can be overturned if the appeals board sees fit? Even if theres no way of getting around the points system?

In the end this just shows once again that we have a far from perfect tribunal system.

I hope we at least see plenty of massive shirtfronts this year now :thumbsu:

I just want to say one thing the tribunial system and the AFL a nothing but a joke, and is run so unproffesional bigtime.How could they find him guility 2 times and then 3rd time lucky. Sounds Mickey mouse to me .That panel should never ever hear a case again because they have failed the system and made a fool of themselves just like the AFL have to.:thumbsd:

I think the word you are looking for is "misquoting".
Hmmmm......No. Unless someone has installed something on my machine that edits the text when I use copy and paste! Misinterpreting or mislead maybe, but one thing I fell 99.9999999% sure of is that I am not misquoting.

To the supporters of all clubs ,who want to keep it a mans game , this verdict is a win for us. to the bleating hearts , who are crying in theyre light beer ,footy is not for you lot.be careful you dont prick your finger on your knitting needles.

Bump to the side or front - doesn't matter - both are allowed. What isn't allowed is contact between the body and head. People have a misconception that front on contact means you can't make contact with the chest - incorrect. A player is allowed to push, bump or block to the side and chest of an opponent. Front on contact not allowed is that which makes contact with the head. This is especially frowned upon when a player has their head over the ball.

There are a lot of Collingwood/Maxwell haters out there who would have loved to see him burn for this.

But take off that hat for a second and look at the big picture.

This isn't even that important for Collingwood he is far from our best player and others can lead.

However it is a great decision for football fans and for AFL in general.

Imagine our great game without the hip and shoulder. It has already become very non contact with the pace/fitness changes since the 70s/80s but this would have been a real nail in the coffin for our "contact" sport.

Fantastic decision tribunal. I applaud and thank you!!!

I realise what you are saying about awareness,McGinnity is a rookie and will learn to look up and maybe not focus on the ball which is what he was doing.Maybe Maxwell should of attacked the ball and not focused on the man because the ball was there to be won and he chose a soft option of taking out a player focused on the ball.
Anyhow it is good to see you can still shitmixer someone when they least expect it and get away with it.:rolleyes:

Oh my god! It was not the soft option it was the TEAM OPTION! Half of todays game is about creating for your team mates. Which was exactly what Maxwell was trying to do - clear a path for his team mate to gain possession and have a chance to use the ball with reduced pressure.

For those who think Maxwells bump was anything but fair maybe you should consider how dangerous allowing accidents to be reportable, it doesn't require too much of a leap to foresee the high mark completely removed from our game on the basis that someone may get seriously hurt by a knee to the back of the head.

I'm in no way endorsing sniping (times a heavy bump is used when the opponent shouldn't reasonable expect it) which should continue to be dealt with harshly, but in this case McGinnity had no reason not to expect contact. For the AFL to suggest that you can execute a skill of the game 100% correctly (and no the shoulder didn't make contact with the head) but because your opponent wasn't ready for it you should be reported is ridiculous to say the least.

Maybe we should outlaw all contact because in any situation that involves 2 or more players making contact there is a risk of damage to one, both or all players. How stupid would that be!!!

Not only did we make the MRP, Tribunal, the AFL, Vlad and Mumbles Anderson look foolish, we saved the game, we got our captain off and we even get half our money back! :D

The AFL have made fools of themselves for 1 reason, Adrian Anderson coming out and making comment on the incident. Until the process is completed, they should never make comment and give their own personal opinion. He is the one that looks like a dill.

The tribunal system, well thats what appeals are for. Take a look at the court system and it runs similarly. People can be found guilty in magistrates and then decision overturned when it gets to the supreme court. Is this a flaw? No. It gives everybody the right of appeal (natural justice) if they believe they did not get a fair hearing or the process was incorrect.

Maxwell's reps would've been appealing on a particular part of the case. Ie. the severity, process, interpretation to the law. AA is a fool!!

Leigh Matthews does..

Look at it again - all maxwell has achieved is burnt time and money for the pies (and the AFL) for an act which was unneccesary - the player was covered and the ball was almost over the line anyway.

Was it a"welcome to the AFL" childish prank on the rookie player ? what a dork "Broken Jaw with that, kid ?"

what sport do you watch... AFL is a contact sport, Injuries happen.

The Duty of Care in a contact sport is a fallacy.

If a player is tackled and does a knee do u suspend the player that laid the tackle? -

If he had have put Chris Judd out for 12 weeks, do you think the same would have happened on appeal? He would have got 8 I reckon !

And if Judd had done what maxwell had done McGinnity would have got 4 weeks for head high contact on Judd.

If he had have put Chris Judd out for 12 weeks, do you think the same would have happened on appeal? He would have got 8 I reckon !

If the thought of bumping Chris Judd even entered a player's mind they'd be on the sidelines before they had a chance to go through with it.

dont have time to read the thread but want to say on record good decision

now waters hurry up and fix your elbow so you can start dishing it out again for west coast!!!

Oh my god! It was not the soft option it was the TEAM OPTION! Half of todays game is about creating for your team mates. Which was exactly what Maxwell was trying to do - clear a path for his team mate to gain possession and have a chance to use the ball with reduced pressure.

For those who think Maxwells bump was anything but fair maybe you should consider how dangerous allowing accidents to be reportable, it doesn't require too much of a leap to foresee the high mark completely removed from our game on the basis that someone may get seriously hurt by a knee to the back of the head.

I'm in no way endorsing sniping (times a heavy bump is used when the opponent shouldn't reasonable expect it) which should continue to be dealt with harshly, but in this case McGinnity had no reason not to expect contact. For the AFL to suggest that you can execute a skill of the game 100% correctly (and no the shoulder didn't make contact with the head) but because your opponent wasn't ready for it you should be reported is ridiculous to say the least.

Maybe we should outlaw all contact because in any situation that involves 2 or more players making contact there is a risk of damage to one, both or all players. How stupid would that be!!!

This is probably the smartest thing ever to come out of an Adelaide supporter's mouth. R u the premier or the mayor?

A win for footy, and a big stuff you to those that want to pander to the soccer moms.

He kept his elbow tucked, didnt leave the ground, his opponent was upright. Its pathetic it even got as far as it did.