MCC Members

I've just joined the waiting list and anyone can if they want to. If you are sick of seeing the members half empty get yourself on the waiting list, and when you get your membership in 15 years time fill up those seats.

Its ridiculous people complain about it, not all of the 15,000 peope who didnt turn up on ANZAC day were from the members, half the people who didnt turn up were from outside the members.

People who want to know the costs here it is:

Nomination Fee (to join the waiting list): $66*

Current Entrance Fee: $726

2008/09 Membership Fees:

* 50-Year member: $15
* Full member: $541
* Restricted member: $422

Members have paid for the right to choose when they want to turn up, any one can join, and its great value so why wouldnt you.

Did they open up that top part of the MCC near the Ponsford to GA yesterday? There looked to be a large amount of people sitting up there about halfway through the first or second quarter. I thought it looked like they had opened it up as directly next to that area it was fairly bare and it is rare that you see that many people sitting in that area.

Nah all the members just decided to cram themselves in, on the top level, where no one normally sits.

Of course they opened it up to GA:)

Quick question for MCC members (sorry didn't know the most appropriate place to post):

I'm going as a visitor, and will be meeting some mates in the public section. Will I be able to cross back with my visitor ticket?

Quick question for MCC members (sorry didn't know the most appropriate place to post):

I'm going as a visitor, and will be meeting some mates in the public section. Will I be able to cross back with my visitor ticket?

Yes they will give you a pass out if you leave the MCC reserve to re enter if you go out as many use it to go for a quick smoke etc. Make sure you dont wear tracksuit pants either and have a collar on or you wont get in to the MCC members section.

Cheers for the quick reply! What about going back and forth to the Ponsford stand?

Shouldnt be a drama mate as everytime you leave the MCC members section you will still get a pass out to get you back in.

Enjoy and behave as your behaviour reflects on the MCC member who got you in! If you play up i.e fight etc or get ejected the MCC member who gained you entry can have his membership revoked. Not saying you will but a lot of people dont realise this. :)

Shouldnt be a drama mate as everytime you leave the MCC members section you will still get a pass out to get you back in.

Enjoy and behave as your behaviour reflects on the MCC member who got you in! If you play up i.e fight etc or get ejected the MCC member who gained you entry can have his membership revoked. Not saying you will but a lot of people dont realise this. :)

Thanks very much.

No probs and have a good day. The new stand is awesome for MCC members and the view from every level is magnificent. :thumbsu:

A little after the Hawks Cats match started, they opened up the level 4 light green seats in MCC to the public. If you watch the replay the first 5 minutes it will appear empty, then all of a sudden that section is 100% full :p

Great move.

At the end of the 2008 grand final, MCC stewards wouldnt even let people into the reserve to cheer the guys going down the tunnel.

There would have been less than 100 people involved and the reserve had emptied out.

Actuall, then they builf the northern stand, it would have been good to move the AFL members round there, with the join between the AFL and MCC reserve being on the centrline.

That way the current southern stand could be like the old outer

At the end of the 2008 grand final, MCC stewards wouldnt even let people into the reserve to cheer the guys going down the tunnel.

There would have been less than 100 people involved and the reserve had emptied out.

Actuall, then they builf the northern stand, it would have been good to move the AFL members round there, with the join between the AFL and MCC reserve being on the centrline.

That way the current southern stand could be like the old outer

Possibly but as an AFL member I prefer to sit on the sunny side of the ground.

For those that are wondering why MCC members pay the yearly fee, when they don't get the bang for their buck, well I'm sure there are plenty like me. I'm not some tosser who thinks he's too good for the general public, because my parents had the foresight to sign me up as soon as my birth certificate was signed. My brothers and I were signed up at birth and got our restricted memberships at about 15-16. I would say a decent percentage of MCC members in their 20s play footy (or another sport). Therefore getting to a Saturday Night/Sunday arvo game when you can barely move from the week's game in order to get value for money is probably not top priority. Paying the yearly fee to keep your membership is. I'm looking forward to ten years down the track, when I can head to 20+ games, finals and a couple of days of the test during the year. That's when the membership will pay off. Plus the guaranteed seat for a Geelong grand final (any gf, but I'd rather not take the seat of a member who supports one of the participating teams)...well, I can't put a price on that. And if you don't scrape together the cash every year before then, you won't reap the benefits.

As for MCC players, I'm pretty sure current cricket club players are given the same privileges as full members. Play ten years for the MCC and you get permanent membership. Not sure if this is extended to the other sports that the MCC fields teams for (hockey, baseball etc.), but I doubt it.

For those that are wondering why MCC members pay the yearly fee, when they don't get the bang for their buck, well I'm sure there are plenty like me. I'm not some tosser who thinks he's too good for the general public, because my parents had the foresight to sign me up as soon as my birth certificate was signed. My brothers and I were signed up at birth and got our restricted memberships at about 15-16. I would say a decent percentage of MCC members in their 20s play footy (or another sport). Therefore getting to a Saturday Night/Sunday arvo game when you can barely move from the week's game in order to get value for money is probably not top priority. Paying the yearly fee to keep your membership is. I'm looking forward to ten years down the track, when I can head to 20+ games, finals and a couple of days of the test during the year. That's when the membership will pay off. Plus the guaranteed seat for a Geelong grand final (any gf, but I'd rather not take the seat of a member who supports one of the participating teams)...well, I can't put a price on that. And if you don't scrape together the cash every year before then, you won't reap the benefits.

As for MCC players, I'm pretty sure current cricket club players are given the same privileges as full members. Play ten years for the MCC and you get permanent membership. Not sure if this is extended to the other sports that the MCC fields teams for (hockey, baseball etc.), but I doubt it.

You don't have to justify it mate! You pay for the privilege, its not a birth right.

Plus the guaranteed seat for a Geelong grand final (any gf, but I'd rather not take the seat of a member who supports one of the participating teams)...

Nice sentiment but its bollocks. The MCC Reserve belongs to MCC Members and turning up on GF Day (or not) doesnt make any difference to the number of tickets available for club members.

If you want to go to a GF when your team isnt playing, go for it. I know I will.

Nice sentiment but its bollocks. The MCC Reserve belongs to MCC Members and turning up on GF Day (or not) doesnt make any difference to the number of tickets available for club members.

If you want to go to a GF when your team isnt playing, go for it. I know I will.

I'm talking about MCC members who follow one of the teams, when I'd be non-partisan. I know it's my right, but I just don't think it's the right thing to do. Others in my family feel differently. Each to their own. I'm happy enough having a barbie with the lads if Geelong is not playing in the grand final.

Sorry, misread your post but my point is the same. Even more so.

The MCC doors almost never get closed on GF Day. Theres room for all. If you're teams playing and you arrive by 8 or 9 you'll get in. I think your high moral stance is misguided. Perhaps if Melbourne ever played in GF again I might stay away for the benefit of their fans because thats abouty the only time they are likely to lock the gates.

Thanks for staying away though - keeps plenty of room for the rest of us.

(if its any consolation to you, I've missed the past two GF's myself).

On the day it makes no difference but that is not the point. The whole set up is a joke and is just a legacy of history. I pay as much for a social club membership as mcc membership costs but i have less chance of getting in for the GF (if we make it) then a MCC member has who follows neither team. The AFL membership is similar.

Most its membership is based around football. If the MCC's hold on 25% of the seats at the G didn't exist historically it wouldn't exist now. Obviously people who now have memberships, or queued for years, want to maintain the status quo. Doesn't make it right.

As a member, the MCC just makes sense. I pay for every game at the G and I pay handsomely for the right to attend at my discretion. If you don't like empty seats in the ponsford, jump on the waiting list an dish up the cash.

On the day it makes no difference but that is not the point. The whole set up is a joke and is just a legacy of history. I pay as much for a social club membership as mcc membership costs but i have less chance of getting in for the GF (if we make it) then a MCC member has who follows neither team. The AFL membership is similar.

Most its membership is based around football. If the MCC's hold on 25% of the seats at the G didn't exist historically it wouldn't exist now. Obviously people who now have memberships, or queued for years, want to maintain the status quo. Doesn't make it right.

No, its right. There are nearly 100,000 MCC Members (and capacity of only 22,000 so every seat is paid for nearly five times over) who pay for their rights. They wait 15 years before they are accepted and then another seven years before they can attend the GF. They have to pay their subs EVERY SINGLE year, no matter if your club is going well or going badly, no matter your financial, family, heath or work circumstances.

You cant just sign up and pay up on a whim like you can with Social Club Memberships who come one year and go the next. Of course you have less rights than MCC Members. We paid for the ground. Your money goes back to your own club. Our money gets invested into the stadium. We are locked in for life. You have a choice.

So of the three posts above, the first two completely missed the point and suggest that self-interest is the only thing that matters

Timmy, you might think what you pay is justified but essentially my point is that the MCC is an anachronism.

While it has opened up more recently it is still a legacy of privilege. You still require a member's signature to go on the waiting list.

Collingwood had almost 1.1million to its 17 MCG games last season, which is a third of the MCG's AFL and cricket patronage combined. We've gotta compete with some cricket club that probably get 100 to their games who have got one wing tied up, and then a greedy independent Commission on the other wing who competes with its clubs at every level. So the home teams at the G get pushed into the pockets and have to try and sell inferior seats and so Collingwood ends up with 20 odd thousand MCC and AFL members who presumably would otherwise purchase premium Collingwood memberships

Now obviously the MCC membership spins a lot of money (based predominantly on people wanting to go the football) but there are other ways of achieving this than the status quo. It should be made to change its name at the least, and for big matches there should be some kind of pre-commitment.

Nothing will ever change though as you disenfranchise 100,000 people who, as we've seen here, think their membership is now some kind of fundamental right

While it has opened up more recently it is still a legacy of privilege. You still require a member's signature to go on the waiting list.

I'd be stunned if there is a single person on Bigfooty who would have a reason to sign up for an MCC membership and would not be able to find a member who'd sign their application. I'm not talking about people from the other side of the country, but people who would genuinely take the chance to pay the membership fee every year for the rest of their lives (or lose their membership).

Hypothetical to anyone from Melbourne: If the MCC waived the waiting period and you went through the same application process (minus the waiting period) to get a membership next year, same cost, same total number of members...how many of you reckon you would honestly struggle to find an MCC member to sign your application?

disclaimer: havent read the thread, sorry if its all been said...

for starters, im an mcc member

the mcc does allocate extra seats for the general public on busy games... and i f***ing hate it... for all the big games they rope off some of the top level seats for the general public, forcing us mcc members to cram together like sardines in an elevator... its most uncivil... good god, i dont want to have to actually sit next to someone, i need my spare seat buffer, both to the side and in front so i can sit my legs on the empty chair...

if you really want to complain about something, complain about 'blockbusters' being staged at that dreadful stadium in the 'docklands' precinct.... they're limiting the crowd to ~48,000, where as if the game was moved to the mighty g, there would be room for an extra 50,000 nuff nuffs...

anyway, the mcc will do whatever they want, because they are the mcc... you can complain about the situation all you want, your tears only make us stronger, similar to our pleasures derived from boo's during the mexican wave...

Then clearly, as a football fan, you're ripping yourself off. The MCC isn't the problem here.

Not a problem when you join a cricket club to go to the footy & get a seat at the Grand Final.

The Melbourne Cricket Club is a blight on Victorian sport, an elite group subsidised by the ordinary taxpayer and bankrolled by AFL footy.