McGuire in Arizona

right but when Ed took over the club we were in the negative, there is no denying that. he has done a great job with the club off field.

We were only in the negative owing to the most inept Board that ever ruled over the club.

Eddie had an easy canvas to paint his painting on.

Collingwood, regardless of it's financial position, has always been the biggest brand in the AFL. Makes it pretty easy to attract big sponsors when that is the case.

We were only in the negative owing to the most inept Board that ever ruled over the club.

Eddie had an easy canvas to paint his painting on.

Collingwood, regardless of it's financial position, has always been the biggest brand in the AFL. Makes it pretty easy to attract big sponsors when that is the case.
true but it does help when u have a popular figure at the helm to drive even more business into the club.
A negative is a negative no matter whom or what caused it, the issue is getting out of the negative and to how far you can get out of it. Eddie has exceeded more then what was expected. His duty isnt to deliver premierships, his duty is the welfare off field which is in a good state.

Just a little extra info on the arizona trip, if this is like the last two the players subsidize some of the cost themselves.

So you will probably find eddie paid his way over there aswell

Eddie has exceeded more then what was expected.

Has he?

The club virtually has non existent cash reserves.
The club is yet to win a flag, 8 clubs have done so since Ed became President.

The club just wrote off $4.5 Million on a failed hotel venture (the previous Board did the same thing on property) & we are about to enter a world recession.

Has he?

The club is yet to win a flag.
Well when he started the club had debt, and wasnt even playing finals

Has he?

The club just wrote off $4.5 Million on a failed hotel venture (the previous Board did the same thing on property) & we are about to enter a world recession.
winning premierships is eddies job is it? then why did he hire mick?
He has done a shitload of work to get this club on its feet, something not one BF poster could do so i guess we should all just applaude him. BTW, rohan i know your not having a go at him.

back on topic, this photo is a pisser: http://photos.collingwoodfc.com.au/arizona/arizona.html

Has he?

next year we will make a profit and the hotel venture will be a distant memory. Like i said his job isnt to win flags, thats the coaches job.

Well when he started the club had debt, and wasnt even playing finals

correct, people just like to hate and cant handle it when success onfield doesnt come. I bet you if the club won in 2002 and 2003 Eddie would be a hero to his current haters. I cant remember him pulling on a guernsey or coaching in the box so i guess i can see where they blame him for on field success.......

As I said originally, this is not an Eddie bash. Just wanted to get a discussion going on why and if he should be over there.

You are all beautiful to me. :D

Ed's the Prez of the most prestigious AFL Club ever to grace a footy field and he is over with the boys (from the look of it doing the hard yards).
What would you be doing?
I know I'd be there.
So many are quick to blame Eddie for the clubs failings and here he is giving his own time to do all he can to get the boys in the right frame of mind, gee em on and just be there in the trenches and you can still find fault.
Lets see Pratt or Kennett have a dig.

Eddie? I bloody love him. Love what he has done for the Club, it's profile, it's financial security and most of all it's supporters. (except that lame arsed membership advert....can it Ed!).

Go Pies.

Ed's the Prez of the most prestigious AFL side ever to grace a footy field and he is over with the boys (from the look of it doing the hard yards).
What would you be doing?
I know I'd be there.
So many are quick to blame Eddie for the clubs failings and here he is giving his own time to do all he can to get the boys in the right frame of mind, gee em on and just be there in the trenches and you can still find fault.
Lets see Pratt or Kennett have a dig.

OK, hold on, most prestigious AFL side ever to grace a footy field? Let's get the blinkers off for a second. I love the Pies as much as the next on here, but let's jag a premiership first, hey?

As I tried to say, not bashing Ed, but you seem very defensive. What would I be doing? I'd most likely be in the "trenches" with Perty. You know, players play, administrators administrate etc. But that's just me. Each to their own. There is no right or wrong. He's the prez and that's what he's doing, so fair enough. I was just wondering why.

OK, hold on, most prestigious AFL side ever to grace a footy field? Let's get the blinkers off for a second. I love the Pies as much as the next on here, but let's jag a premiership first, hey?

As I tried to say, not bashing Ed, but you seem very defensive. What would I be doing? I'd most likely be in the "trenches" with Perty. You know, players play, administrators administrate etc. But that's just me. Each to their own. There is no right or wrong. He's the prez and that's what he's doing, so fair enough. I was just wondering why.

LOL....I meant as a club( I've edited the original), not this particular 22.
Given the goings on late last season, maybe Ed's building some relationships with the younger boys, repairing some with the older boys and enjoying every minute he has left with some of the much older boys.
Montgomery lead shoulder to shoulder with the troops and his efforts saw him as one of the most loved and successful leaders of the war.
(NO I was not in the war it's just an analogy to make a point)

Eddie actually wrote a piece in yesterday's Herald-Sun about his trek up Mt Humphrey. The only link I can find to it requires you to pay for the article and I was not all that keen on that.

Basically he was part of the Executive Group that started an hour before the players headed up the mountain. They caught Eddie pretty quickly and he was really struggling. Apparently one of the conditioning coaches took it upon himself to get Ed up the mountain. He was still making his way up when the players were on their way down and MM apparently told Eddie it would be best to turn around and head back down the mountain. Ed's response was apparently the first time he had sworn at MM throughout their time at Collingwood.

The article was not really about Ed himself but about the coach, Mick Dugina I think his name was, and how he would not take no for an answer (Ed apparently told Licca to p!ss off and help the players) and motivated him up the mountain without being asked to help.

I can't help thinking Eddie doing that and willing himself up the mountain would have been great for the players to see and even if they were laughing at him, they were doing it together.

If anyone can find the article and post it, that would be great. It's a good piece!

Good on you Ed.. inspiring the boys to push themselves.. he's a presidents president :thumbsu:

High-flying Pies have their Ed in the clouds

COLLINGWOOD'S 2008 season was one of soaring highs and agonising lows, but the Magpies have finally reached the summit - Mt Humphreys summit.

The Magpies, including Alan Didak, made the trek to Arizona's highest peak, a 3700m ascent on day four of their high-altitude training camp to Flagstaff, in the US.

And president Eddie McGuire was there every step of the way.

Travis Cloke told the club's website McGuire's presence gave the players a kickalong.

"It was good to see Eddie get to the top after he looked to be struggling early, and it was really good for team morale when we got together at the summit and had lunch in freezing conditions," Cloke said.

"It took about six hours to get to the top and back down again. It's a good way of doing some intense training away from your traditional footy pre-season."

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24657131-19742,00.html

Ya gotta love Ed.
Always puts Collingwood first, the players love having him around.
President for life, for mine

He's a ripper, if not for a spot of luck he could have delivered 2 flags by now.. continues to take the heat for the club he loves :thumbsu:

Haha, fair enough mate, easy mistake to make.

Good call on the repairing relationships too, hadn't considered that but makes a bit of sense!

Did you watch the CTV interview halfway up Mount Hatawattythingy?
He was struggling...lol
You have to love a guy that will go to those lengths to be a part of the side and help add to the camaraderie.

His heart is firmly attached to his sleeve and it's damn inspiring to see.

The Maguire or Mag Uidhir clan were the lords of Fermanagh for hundreds of years. Their motto was Justice and Courage are Invincible.

Here's the famous Ode to The Maguire, written about Hugh Maguire by his bard, O'Hussey in 1600. The English shot Maguire, but as he lay dying he summoned all his strength and brought his sword down upon the head of the man who shot him, and took him with him.:thumbsu:

Where is my Chief, my Master, this bleak night, mavrone!
O, cold, cold, miserably cold is this bleak night for Hugh,
It's showery, arrowy, speary sleet pierceth one through and through,
Pierceth one to the very bone!

Rolls real thunder? Or was that red vivid light
Only a meteor? I scarce know; but through the midnight dim
The pitiless ice-wind streams. Except the hate that persecutes him
Nothing hath crueler venomy might.

An awful, a tremendous night is this, meseems!
The flood-gates of the rivers of heaven, I think, have been burst wide—
Down from the overcharged clouds, like unto headlong ocean's tide,
Descends grey rain in roaring streams.

Though he were even a wolf ranging the round green woods,
Though he were even a pleasant salmon in the unchainable sea,
Though he were a wild mountain eagle, he could scarce bear, he,
This sharp, sore sleet, these howling floods.

O mournful is my soul this night for Hugh Maguire!
Darkly as in a dream, he strays! Before him and behind
Triumphs the tyrannous anger of the wounding wind,
The wounding wind, that burns as fire!

It is my bitter grief—it cuts me to the heart—
That in the country of Clan Darry this should be his fate!
O woe is me, where is he? Wandering, houseless, desolate,
Alone, without or guide or chart!

Medreams I see just now his face, the strawberry-bright,
Uplifted to the blackened heavens, while the tempestuous winds

Blow fiercely over and round him, and the smiting sleet-shower blinds
The hero of Galang to-night!

Large, large affliction unto me and mine it is,
That one of his majestic bearing, his fair stately form,
Should thus be tortured and o'erborne—that this unsparing storm
Should wreak its wrath on head like his!

That his great hand, so oft the avenger of the oppressed,
Should this chill, churlish night, perchance, be paralysed by frost—
While through some icicle-hung thicket— as one lorn and lost—
He walks and wanders without rest.

The tempest-driven torrent deluges the mead,
It overflows the low banks of the rivulets and ponds—
The lawns and pasture-grounds lie locked in icy bonds
So that the cattle cannot feed.

The pale bright margins of the streams are seen by none.
Rushes and sweeps along the untamable flood on every side—
It penetrates and fills the cottagers' dwellings far and wide—
Water and land are blent in one.

Through some dark woods, 'mid bones of monsters, Hugh now strays,
As he confronts the storm with anguished heart, but manly brow—
Oh! what a sword-wound to that tender heart of his were now
A backward glance at peaceful days.

But other thoughts are his—thoughts that can still inspire
With joy and onward-bounding hope the bosom of Mac-Nee—
Thoughts of his warriors like bright billows of the sea,
Borne on the wind's wings, flashing fire!

And though frost glaze to-night the clear dew of his eyes,
And white ice-gauntlets glove his noble fine fair fingers o'er,
A warm dress is to him that lightning-garb he ever wore,
The lighting of the soul, not skies.

Hugh marched forth to fight—I grieved to see him so depart;
A lo! to-night he wanders frozen, rain-drenched, sad, betrayed—
But the memory of the lime-white mansions his right hand hath laid
In ashes, warms the hero's heart!

That "hero's heart" still beats in our McGuire.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Next year we will make a profit and the hotel venture will be a distant memory.

Incorrect.

The club still has to make up $4.5 Million. A profit/surplus next year has to be within this sum if it will be considered a distant memory.

Writing off $4.5 is not a minor subject, you cannot simply wipe it under the door and say that is that.

Like i said his job isnt to win flags, thats the coaches job.

Coach is answerable to the board, which is led by McGuire. The ultimate KPI of a FC is a premiership.

Continuing with a coach, who hasn't tasted premiership success in a 9 year frame is Eddie's job..

[/QUOTE]

The Magpies, including Alan Didak, made the trek to Arizona's highest peak, a 3700m ascent on day four of their high-altitude training camp to Flagstaff, in the US.

How is that relevant?

Coach is answerable to the board, which is led by McGuire. The ultimate KPI of a FC is a premiership.

Continuing with a coach, who hasn't tasted premiership success in a 9 year frame is Eddie's job..

Well have a good whine about it.. that should fix things :rolleyes:

Vote him out or go follow Carlton.. easy as

How is that relevant?
My thoughts exactly.