SMFC. PMFC,OAFC
This might bore some of you but it needs to be addressed.
This is also an open forum where we all share our views right or wrong, correct. So how come once again he has let us down.
I bring this up again as i was at a cricket function tonight a few K's from the old Lake Oval. At the fuction were three old Swans fans i know, one being in his eighties who's home club has produced over twenty swans players including a Brownlow medalist. The other two are in their early fifties and have seen alot of footy, in South and in Sydney.
My question to them was, what do you think of our new Captain and low and behold their responce was, how did he get it.
The general feeling was that he has had two games to show something and has let us down, so how does our club make this decision, is it off the ground where he has a big influence, who knows.
In my honest opinion,Goodes should have been Captain with maybe three Vice- Captains.

To be fair, two games is hardly enough to go on and Mcveigh has been talked about for ages as a future captain. So something must have been showing at the club for some time. I say give him a fair go, even if you felt it was an odd choice. Goodsey is for me the best player going around but even he had to adapt to the position of captain.

This might bore some of you but it needs to be addressed.
This is also an open forum where we all share our views right or wrong, correct. So how come once again he has let us down.
I bring this up again as i was at a cricket function tonight a few K's from the old Lake Oval. At the fuction were three old Swans fans i know, one being in his eighties who's home club has produced over twenty swans players including a Brownlow medalist. The other two are in their early fifties and have seen alot of footy, in South and in Sydney.
My question to them was, what do you think of our new Captain and low and behold their responce was, how did he get it.
The general feeling was that he has had two games to show something and has let us down, so how does our club make this decision, is it off the ground where he has a big influence, who knows.
In my honest opinion,Goodes should have been Captain with maybe three Vice- Captains.

If McVeigh ever gets randomly killed outside his house i think i know who the police should focus their investigation on.
or your goodself, fair dinkum have a good look at him. Who would you want to go into battle with , him or Jack, or Tige, or LRT, or B1, or afew others that are in our colours.

I think the inner sanctum at the Swans would have a better idea of who is a good leader than you would. Sure Jack and the others listed may be great (and courageous) players but for all you know they have next to no leadership ability. Not everyone is a born leader.

Meh. It's preseason. Jude's form hasn't been any better, yet people were talking about him as a possibility.

Let's just give him a year. If he's rubbish, then fine, but he has had no real chance to show anything. If Goodes had shown similar form he wouldn't be copping the same flak.

Bez, it's not about accusations of disloyalty, though I do think any Swans player deserves the respect of our fans (I like to think we're better than the rabble). Some of us just think it's a bit too early to be judging his captaincy. Let's see how he's goes. Even natural leaders still need to learn the ropes and Horse must have seen something that makes him think he's got what it takes.

Seriously, Bedford, you argue passionately that we should give Jesse White 5 or 6 seasons to make it as a forward yet you're not prepared to give McVeigh a bit more than 2 NAB cup hit-outs to make it as a captain. Anyone would think you didn't like him. Had your mates been both old AND wise they might have told you to wait and see.

In the end, if he doesn't work out we've lost nothing. In the worst case we'd effectively have Goodes as a sole captain.

I think the inner sanctum at the Swans would have a better idea of who is a good leader than you would. Sure Jack and the others listed may be great (and courageous) players but for all you know they have next to no leadership ability. Not everyone is a born leader.

THIS :thumbsu:

And come on Bedford its two NAB cup games... hardly anything to get worried about...

Wait for at least 5 regular season games before we start worrying.

I never said White 5 or 6 seasons. This is not McVeigh bashing it's just what i'm hearing from people who have followed our club for along time.

So you're saying you won't give White at least 5 seasons to prove himself ? That he should be kicked out this year (4th season) if he doesn't make it ? That seems harsh. Players, like captains, take time to develop

"This is not McVeigh bashing" ?

You start an entire thread to let us know the esteemed opinion of 3 old geezers at the cricket club, as if being 'a few k's from the old Lake Oval' makes them the three wise men. My mate reckons Justin Bieber's a big girl's blouse but I don't start a thread about it.

Bedford you often have some good insights and you have good footy knowledge but your cred is being seriously wasted on this continual witch hunt of McVeigh.

If you say it's not a personal vendetta then I challenge you to go the season without mentioning him.

So you're saying you won't give White at least 5 seasons to prove himself ? That he should be kicked out this year (4th season) if he doesn't make it ? That seems harsh. Players, like captains, take time to develop
At the risk of derailing the McVeigh hate thread, why is it that people are saying Currie has just about had it, when White is a full year older (23) and seems to be getting a lot more patience?

I don't think McVeigh really had any competition for the role.

• 25 Heath Grundy
  • 25 Jarred Moore
  • 25 Shane Mumford
  • 26 Ben McGlynn
  • 26 Jarrad McVeigh
  • 27 Mark Seaby
  • 27 Mike Pyke
  • 27 Nick Malceski
  • 27 Paul Bevan
  • 28 LRT
Who else in that age group can tick all the following boxes like McVeigh can:

• Groomed for leadership
  • Been at the club for a few years
  • No recent serious injuries
  • A Local boy
  • A dead cert for best 22
Hanners, Jack, Smith & Co are not ready yet, so we're stuck with him for now, so may as well give him (and the club) the benefit of the doubt..who knows, he might surprise. :footy:

At the risk of derailing the McVeigh hate thread, why is it that people are saying Currie has just about had it, when White is a full year older (23) and seems to be getting a lot more patience?

because he has actually proven himself. Earned a call up to the seniors in the regular season. Showed a bit when there (showed more than a bit for mine).

Currie not getting a call up when uninjured last year at any stage with Seaby down for 15+ games says alot. And he played 2 NAB cup games, so he had chances early.

If you say it's not a personal vendetta then I challenge you to go the season without mentioning him.
Ohhhh... I love a challenge!

But then what will Bedford talk about?? :p

That bet can't possibly stand anyway, it'll just take one fumble or turnover and it'll be broken...

Bedford you often have some good insights and you have good footy knowledge but your cred is being seriously wasted on this continual witch hunt of McVeigh.

This.

I think this is the best part of any post so far regarding bedford and this thread. Yes he is welcome to his opinion because his insights are just as good as they come, but the more he goes on with this campaign against McVeigh so early into McVeigh's time as Captain (come on its only been 2 Rounds of the NAB Cup, hardly important stuff here) the less people will take notice to him when they really should about McVeigh if it all goes arse up.

Valid point, and an idea I would love him to take up but I think it would be better to suggest to hold fire until later in the season about his captaincy and same old about his game play and form;)

Would it be possible to apply a filter, similar to the swear filter, that applies only to Bedford, and turns "McVeigh", "McHack", etc into "McIJUSTLOSTTHECHALLENGE" or something similar?

Ohhhh... I love a challenge!

But then what will Bedford talk about?? :p

That bet can't possibly stand anyway, it'll just take one fumble or turnover and it'll be broken...

His dislike of Moore?;)

Way too early in the season to be making judgments on McVeigh's captaincy IMO. He has been quiet as a player, but as someone else said, so has Jude. I'm still not sure McVeigh is the right guy to be captain (I would've given it to Jack, but that's just me), but Horse obviously has his reasons, so until he shows he isn't up to it in the real games I say let him be.

Who knows, perhaps he won't be able to handle the responsibility? I mean when they put Moore in the leadership group it really ruined him for a while. Not all players are born leaders...

All good points, but Bungee has no right to question the knowledge of three old geezers as he said. All of those three would have much more knowledge about our club and would have seen much more swans footy than my friend Bungee.
I was prepared to let it go about Jarred but the number of people i have spoken to , swans and others cannot believe he was made captain . I have every right to voice my opinion the same as others who can see no faults in him, but bag others like LRT and Jude who in my opinion have more bloods in them than Jarred. Having said that i would hope that he has a great year as it can only help our quest for a flag.

All good points, but Bungee has no right to question the knowledge of three old geezers as he said. All of those three would have much more knowledge about our club and would have seen much more swans footy than my friend Bungee.
I was prepared to let it go about Jarred but the number of people i have spoken to , swans and others cannot believe he was made captain . I have every right to voice my opinion the same as others who can see no faults in him, but bag others like LRT and Jude who in my opinion have more bloods in them than Jarred. Having said that i would hope that he has a great year as it can only help our quest for a flag.

I somehow doubt that. Its almost like you get some kind of sexual pleasure when McVeigh fumbles the ball.

I also recall you still insulting McVeigh when he won the B&F a few years ago so clearly it doesn't matter what McVeigh does you are going to find fault with him.

2 games isn't enough to judge someone on their captaincy worth and just shows people's biastry against the man. Give him 12 months in the job before we can discuss his worth as captain.