Medhurst needs a reality check.

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

This guy is fast becoming an embarrasment.
The most arogant footballer playing the game at the moment, everytime he gets the ball trys and does it all on his own for all the glory.
Yet when players dare miss him or dont pass he goes off, once had the nerve to go off at haselby.
Currently this guy may be more of a liablity than asset, needs his head pulled in and fast.
Longmuir while his attitude isnt the problem, his use of his height is, he was drafted because he was a mobile big man, not because he is mobile.
About time he start playing like a big man, he only looks good when 3rd or 4th person up.
Perhaps he is giong to be offered up as trade bait at the end of hte year?

Medhurst is a very hard problem to solve. When he is good he is bloody awesome, and when he is off he is a liability. It is these good games that will keep him in the team for 22 games a season, yet its the 8-10 or so very poor games he plays that can be very detrimental to our side.

When he is off, he needs to be used as a decoy and free up some space for a couple of big men to make a pack and a couple of little men roving what they spill. Problem is this doesnt fit Medhursts style and he'll probably only get further criticism for not getting in the game.

I used to like following freo because they were the most exciting team to watch with players like medhurst farmer waterhouse etc etc etc. We have soo many exciting players. Now that we've had the excitement and want continued success, it doesnt seem like we have the right type of players we need to achieve this.

Some tough decisions need to be made, just changing around some periphery players doesnt count as a 'shake up'. Almost as poor as the 1 change shake up we had after the hawks loss.

Later
Voodoo-

Originally posted by voodoo_86
Medhurst is a very hard problem to solve. When he is good he is bloody awesome, and when he is off he is a liability. It is these good games that will keep him in the team for 22 games a season, yet its the 8-10 or so very poor games he plays that can be very detrimental to our side.

When he is off, he needs to be used as a decoy and free up some space for a couple of big men to make a pack and a couple of little men roving what they spill. Problem is this doesnt fit Medhursts style and he'll probably only get further criticism for not getting in the game.

I used to like following freo because they were the most exciting team to watch with players like medhurst farmer waterhouse etc etc etc. We have soo many exciting players. Now that we've had the excitement and want continued success, it doesnt seem like we have the right type of players we need to achieve this.

Some tough decisions need to be made, just changing around some periphery players doesnt count as a 'shake up'. Almost as poor as the 1 change shake up we had after the hawks loss.

Later
Voodoo-

Very inciteful, very correct. Well said!

Lay off Megastar, I was at the game today and he worked his butt off, kicked a couple of goals chased, tackled etc. He is a small forward ! When the Ball does not come down your end their is not much chance of you being a hero. Our problem is in the midfield , that is where everything starts.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Lay off Megastar, I was at the game today and he worked his butt off, kicked a couple of goals chased, tackled etc. He is a small forward ! When the Ball does not come down your end their is not much chance of you being a hero. Our problem is in the midfield , that is where everything starts.

I'd say several times today it all started in the Demons backline as Brown, Wheatly and Yze torn us a new one running off our forwards and setting up the play.

Hes all about the glory.
Everytime he gets it his only aim is scoring and rarely looks to pass it off.
And has the nerve to go off at players for not passing at him, I know for a fact he was disliked at high school due to his attitude..seems nothing has changed in adult hood.

Originally posted by sabre_ac
seems nothing has changed in adult hood.

Has he actually reached adulthood?? **** you could've fooled me!
Maybe in calendar years but not mentally, more like an over rated brat.

Originally posted by YAKUZA
Has he actually reached adulthood?? **** you could've fooled me!
Maybe in calendar years but not mentally, more like an over rated brat.
We see eye to eye on so many issues yak.

Originally posted by pav_is_god
I've been saying it for a while. give him a kick up the ar$e, otherwise he's gonna slack off.

The team doesn't deserve supporters with attitudes like that. Last year Megastar was a hero kicking 48 goals in the H&A. This year it is round 11 and he has 24, missed a few more than he did last year so that means he has been working harder than last year. But somehow he now needs a "kick up the arse". A small forward is only as good as the delivery and that has been up to **** this year. If you want to pick out anyone pick on the midfield as they are the one that have gone missing in our embarassing lapses.

So, Haze , Bellie , Pav , Cookie , Jlo need a "kick up the arse" .

Probably need a run in the WAFL to wake them up. ;)

I agree he is not our only problem and guys like DJ aren't carrying their weight, but I've been to all the games and when things aren't going his way he just sits back. At least Farmer tries to get involved in the game (even if he does occasionally get carried away).

And I resent your first comment. The team does deserve fans like me, who stay in the pouring rain watching the game, even though the boys appear to have already hit the showers with 20 minutes still left on the clock. Its not good enough from Medhurst and the rest of the forwards or the midfielders!

I agree with P_I_G. Funny that

Medhurst is all about himself and needs to be put back in his box. He may be on track for the same amount of goals as last year but remember he did kick 9 in one game and pretty much none away from Subi.

He may have a hell hot girlfriend, part own potentially the best racehorse in WA, and life may be great but he needs to realise he is no world beater and if he expects team-mates to put in each week, he should too. Too many times he doesnt give that extra yard and drops his head. He is also the first to give his mates a spray for not passing off. Just as predictable as Sandi is for going for the handball, its just as likely Medders will head straight for goal no matter how many are free or what angle hes on.

Needs to realise footy is about the team and you dont get far without hard work and one percenters, although the FFC seems to be rewarding half assed efforts at the moment.

And I resent your first comment. The team does deserve fans like me, who stay in the pouring rain watching the game, even though the boys appear to have already hit the showers with 20 minutes still left on the clock. Its not good enough from Medhurst and the rest of the forwards or the midfielders!

Bloody oath, I resent being labelled a bandwagoner when criticising the substandard efforts that the majority of our Forwards and Midfielders have been putting in as of late. I sat in the rain as well and was bloody disgusted with what I saw.

I agree he is not our only problem and guys like DJ aren't carrying their weight, but I've been to all the games and when things aren't going his way he just sits back. At least Farmer tries to get involved in the game (even if he does occasionally get carried away).

Hey, I drove 800km (& 800km's back) to sit in the pouring rain. And if you were there you could not blame Megastar fotr the last QTR as the ball only crossed to our side of the field (I was in 121) twice.
It is not his (or any one players) fault.

I resent all the negativity. Last year the Pies were where we are now give or take a game and the pies fans were confindent (even arrogent) that they would win 8 in a row or what ever and they did. All we can do is believe Barra & the worst and eat our own. Wait until round 22 before eating our own is all I ask.

Hey, I drove 800km (& 800km's back) to sit in the pouring rain. And if you were there you could not blame Megastar fotr the last QTR as the ball only crossed to our side of the field (I was in 121) twice.

I resent all the negativity. Last year the Pies were where we are now give or take a game and the pies fans were confindent (even arrogent) that they would win 8 in a row or what ever and they did. All we can do is believe Barra & the worst and eat our own. Wait until round 22 before eating our own is all I ask.

Maybe I expect more from the boys than you.:)

I think it all comes down to expectation and what we were "promised" by CC. We were all told about the three year plan. We did relatively well in 2002, Pretty good in 2003(with the final result being a dissapointment) and we expected to do even better in 2004. Our hopes are being dashed(to an extent) so we're becoming depressed:( .

I agree with your last sentence though Rip. I hope I'm proved wrong and we win the next 11 straight :D , or at least pull off a collingwood like resurgence.

Originally posted by Freo Big Fella

I agree with your last sentence though Rip. I hope I'm proved wrong and we win the next 11 straight :D , or at least pull off a collingwood like resurgence.

We are poised for it. A bit like the young bull and the old bull standing on the top of the hill and looking down at a padock full of Cows.
The young bull said to the old bull, "lets race down and root a cow".

The old Bull shook his head and replied. "No, lets walk down and root the lot".

I reckon we are being primed for the second half this year. Hang tough.

Our draw definately improves, but taking a pesamistic yet still biased look at the rest of our games:

richmond - should win, could lose, tipped a loss but with no confidence
port - probably lose, port play subi well, we arent atm
bullies - should win
kangas - should win
adelaide - probably lose (have we ever won at aami?)
sydney - 50/50, probably win
carlton - should win, probably lose (this is a long way off, hopefully the resurgance is in full flight by this time)
collingwood - should win
geelong - probably lose
derby - 50/50 (its a derby, go easy :P), should win tho
saints - need i bother.

we're 6-5 now, based on this we could well be 11-11.
Bloody hell.. just scared myself.. (actually expected to project around 13 wins) let the surge begin, this week please dockers :)

definately not doom and gloom yet, aslong as we've on the better side of 50/50. Next 2 weeks appear vital.

Someone reassure me ;)
Later
Voodoo-

Originally posted by voodoo_86
richmond - should win, could lose, tipped a loss but with no confidence
port - probably lose, port play subi well, we arent atm
bullies - should win
kangas - should win
adelaide - probably lose (have we ever won at aami?)
sydney - 50/50, probably win
carlton - should win, probably lose (this is a long way off, hopefully the resurgance is in full flight by this time)
collingwood - should win
geelong - probably lose
derby - 50/50 (its a derby, go easy :P), should win tho
saints - need i bother.
You reckon we need 7 wins to be where we want to be.
Rich
Bulldogs
Kangas
Crows (just got beaten by Carl!)
Syd
WCE

Plus I give us a big chance vs Saints in Rd 22, now that they've lost, they won't be going hard for the unbeaten all year record, and could easily be a game or 2 clear on top. They might be thinking more about next week than our game.
Geelong as well is possible. They are going pretty good, but are a young team and could drop off in the 2nd half.
Port as well are still injury struck so are beatable.

BUT WE HAVE TO IMPROVE for any of this to happen. Noone predicted we'd lose to the Hawks. Not many predicted we'd lose last week. 11 wins are possible from here. But only 1 matters this weekend. We have to start now and start proving the point.

Whoa - chill out guys

I agree with ripper_46.

The problem is that Medhurst has been put on players who are twice his size. You will find that Medders is a small forward.

Don't be so harsh on Paul Medhurst.