Melbourne's scene-overrated?

• Thread starter Thread starter smasha

Karnivool goes alright, but thats about all I have taken any notice of to come from Perth lately.
Karnivool, 11th, Umpire,Schvendes, Fall Electric, KTA, Leap Year, is all I basically rate, personally.

Sugar Army, Boys Boys Boys, Tame Impala - tripe.

Karnivool, 11th, Umpire,Schvendes, Fall Electric, KTA, Leap Year, is all I basically rate, personally.

Sugar Army, Boys Boys Boys, Tame Impala - tripe.
Downsyde go alright if you're into that sort of thing.

And are Tourist still going around? Good dudes, great players, nice tunes.

Spent a bit of time i Perth over the last few years and always dug going out and seeing bands. You've got better venues than we do over here IMO and some great talent, not to mention waaaaay better gear shops (in particular drum stores).

Always struck me as really peculiar that you have a quarter of Melbourne's population yet 4 times the music stores and 10 times the range of products to choose from! Perth shames Melbourne for drum gear.

That said, i'm still proud to be a part of the Melbourne music scene Smasha. While we may not have many prog bands (are Anim8 still going though with Alex Degan on drums? Or sub-sonic Symphony with John Zac? They were killer prog bands a couple of years ago), its really pleasing how the covers scene is slowly dying in the arse and there are heaps of good, well attended original nights popping up all around town.

Dont be a hater dude.

Is our music scene overrated?

Just killing to see something fresh and different like 70's prog but that style is barren as a desert in Melbourne.

No prog bands to be seen anywhere.
you know ones that play in the style of Yes,Genesis,Crimson,Floyd,Tull.

There's nothing out there.

Bangs head on desk.:mad:

Don't you ever get sick of posting the same shit about the 70's?

Last time I checked it's 2009 old man.

LOL Melbourne's modern music scene is crap because they don't play 70's prog.

Just like our punk scene sucks because they don't play enough jazz, right? And our hiphop scene sucks because I haven't heard them play classical in ages.

Hell, AFL sucks because all tehy do is play footy, not enough basketball for my liking.

I reckon its OK

you got Birds of Tokyo, Karnivool, The Butterfly Effect, Cog and Mammal at one end of the spectrum and then at the other you have bands such as Cut Copy, Midnight Juggernauts, Pnau, Van She and Empire of the Sun at the other.

Much rather listen to any of those bands than those shitty cat noises the OP posted the other day.

oh and smasha, what was it you said about Laura again?

something along the lines of
"i've never been blown away by such a band live before"
yep good old crappy melbourne music scene right there

oh and smasha, what was it you said about Laura again?

something along the lines of
"i've never been blown away by such a band live before"
yep good old crappy melbourne music scene right there

Yeah,they are every good if not excellent.

That's the only alternative I have until I find a band with a hammondorgan,Tron,flute and moog synth.:D

In the way of symphonic prog,Melbourne's cupboard is bare.

I remember Aragon back in the 80s.

They were excellent but no bands since then.

They were more 80s sounding anyway lol.

LOL Melbourne's modern music scene is crap because they don't play 70's prog.

Just like our punk scene sucks because they don't play enough jazz, right? And our hiphop scene sucks because I haven't heard them play classical in ages.

Hell, AFL sucks because all tehy do is play footy, not enough basketball for my liking.

punk and hip hop are shit forms of music, you should know that :cool:

overrated? go to sydney!

all the bands over there try to sound like radiohead...

STOP! PLEASE STOP!

perth's got a reasonable local scene because there arent many interstate or international acts going there

I reckon its OK

you got Birds of Tokyo, Karnivool, The Butterfly Effect, Cog and Mammal at one end of the spectrum and then at the other you have bands such as Cut Copy, Midnight Juggernauts, Pnau, Van She and Empire of the Sun at the other.

Much rather listen to any of those bands than those shitty cat noises the OP posted the other day.

LOL.like I expected!

Mammal aren't even real musicians. More of a faux band.

They made me want to cry when I saw them at BDO...not in a good way. Why would they inflict their particular brand of "faecal matter rock" upon me? WHY!?