Merged Warnock Trade Thread

Re: Warnock Simmlar to Wood Trade

Suncoast Lions and Mt.Gravatt I'm pretty sure.
Okay,

Those I heard Wood having 30+ Possie games for Suncoast

Okay,

Those I heard Wood having 30+ Possie games for Suncoast
Dude, the word is "Though".

"Though I heard Wood having 30 + possession games for Suncoast".

Re: Warnock Similar to Wood Trade

So are any Carlton or Richmond fans happy to give up their 2nd rounder for Warnock? Or are they more likely to offer 3rd round and a player?

Bond has said that Freo will "draw a line in the sand" on his value, but no one is willing to give away what exactly they think he's worth.

Bailey and Renouf are in a different age bracket to Taylor and Campbell. Kreuzer/Hampson/Warnock are all in a similar age group. Hence why it is strange list management.
Why is it strange?

If they all work out great, and one of them isn't getting a game then they have huge trade value......Lions have made a living off tradind excess ruck stocks.

If one of them doesn't work out or gets injured then you still have two.

What is so strange about that list management?:confused:

The same is true of Warnock though, which is why it's a strange move to pick up another skinny ruck prospect when you already have two on your list you consider keepers.

Bailey and Renouf are in a different age bracket to Taylor and Campbell. Kreuzer/Hampson/Warnock are all in a similar age group. Hence why it is strange list management.
It would be an ultimatum to Hampson you would think.

Perform or you are out. Could also be an indication they think he will be heading to GC regardless.

Why is it strange?

If they all work out great, and one of them isn't getting a game then they have huge trade value......Lions have made a living off tradind excess ruck stocks.

Nothing wrong with List Development because you would have great Depth.

But Warnock could be Just Overrated and Could just wind up play in the VFL because of not getting a game.

If he went to the Dees he would be there Number 1 Ruck and Start from Round 1

Why is it strange?

Well, perhaps it's more strange coming from the player's perspective. He is a 2nd or 3rd choice ruck behind Sandilands and possibly Gilmore, and although he did say he was leaving to be closer to family, you'd be surprised if he didn't want more opportunity. At Carlton he'd be playing behind Kreuzer, who is going to play 22 games, and Cloke who appears to be your current #1 ruck. He's also competing with Hampson for a spot on the ground... doesn't add up to me.

Taken from the club's perspective... yes it's great to have competition for spots, but you usually want to keep your players happy to some extent. Also, you do have rather glaring concerns down back and up forward that need addressing. Hartlett doesn't seem to be panning out as a CHF, and Edwards is in and out of the side. Russell isn't too popular with Blues supporters from what I can ascertain. Down back I really like Jamison, but he's not a KPP and he's had the advantage of coming into the competition older than most draftees, and so perhaps has less improvement in him. O'hAilpin's all over the shop, Bower I'm not convinced by. There's only so much you can spend, in terms of draft selections/players/resources, on one position on the ground which is patrolled by usually no more than 2/22 players on game day.

If he went to the Dees he would be there Number 1 Ruck and Start from Round 1
He would be our number 1 ruck as well.

Is more senior than Kreuzer and Hampson, and Hampson would be starting in the VFL.

It then comes down to form, and competition for spots. In two years time either one has dropped by the wayside......or is very good but unlucky not to get a game......and development wise Kreuzer or Hampson may play more forward.

Many things can happen, but he would be the number 1 next year at the start.

Who knows, in 3-4 years time Kreuzer may well be playing a "Richo" type wing role and just roaming with Hampson and Warnock dominating the centre bounce............whichever way you look at it, it's not a "bad" thing to have all three.:)

It would be an ultimatum to Hampson you would think.

Perform or you are out. Could also be an indication they think he will be heading to GC regardless.
I don't know if it's quite that dire, but I think it could be an indication that Hampson may not be where they hoped he'd be at this stage. Fair enough Carlton want to do due diligence by sounding out a talented young prospect, but they've run out of Josh Kennedy's to offload in trade, and if Hampson is up to scratch you'd think their draft picks would be better spent elsewhere.

I think it could be an indication that Hampson may not be where they hoped he'd be at this stage.
So in your opinion, where do you think Hampson, having only played AFL for a couple of years prior to being drafted, as a second year ruck, ......where do you think he should be?

False logic.

Did the Hawks pick up Baily and Renouf because Taylor and Campbell aren't "Panning out" as expected?

It would be great to have three guys, all quality, fighting for two positions........they will push each other to get better.

Then, in two years time......IF there is no room for Hampson........how many of those GC17 first round picks do you think a 200cm ruck with 4 years development, fastest on our list over 20m, and highest vertical leap..........(just has to learn how to play footy :D).....who is ex-GC.........might be worth?;)

I'm thinking a top 10 and a maybe top 20.
Let me explain what TRS was doing. He was applying your logic to Carlton to show you how flawed it was in the first place.

Re: Warnock homeward bound

The iPrimus sponsorship was only worth around $400K p.a. One of the cheaper main sponsors in the league

The media reported it as 1 mill ....if you have a more accurate source I will bow to that.

MELBOURNE'S bad run continued yesterday when major sponsor iPrimus confirmed it would not renew its deal with the club in 2009.

The naming-rights partnership was believed to be worth $1 million a year to the Demons, who were set to record a loss of nearly $2 million this season before the club's Debt Demolition month.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,24171904-19742,00.html

I don't know if it's quite that dire, but I think it could be an indication that Hampson may not be where they hoped he'd be at this stage. Fair enough Carlton want to do due diligence by sounding out a talented young prospect, but they've run out of Josh Kennedy's to offload in trade, and if Hampson is up to scratch you'd think their draft picks would be better spent elsewhere.
From Carlton's perspective, they will have 2 top 10 draft quality ruckmen. One in the mould of Ottens (Kreuzer) who will become their KP forward swinging into the ruck, with knockers the designated tap ruckman. He is also fantastic around the ground.

So they have 2 of the best 3 young ruckmen for the next 5 years, working with arguably the best young midfield in the game.

It structures up perfectly for me.

And no, knockers is definitely not behind Gilmore. Give him another year or two, and he would be far better than Sandi, that's the problem. He is already far better around the ground.

So in your opinion, where do you think Hampson, having only played AFL for a couple of years prior to being drafted, as a second year ruck, ......where do you think he should be?
Probably pretty much where he is... but what difference does it make where I think he should be? I'm not chasing Warnock...

If Carlton started chasing enigmatic 28 year-old full-forwards, I'd think that was pretty strange too. Even if Fev's managed 99 in a season.

Probably pretty much where he is... but what difference does it make where I think he should be? I'm not chasing Warnock...
Sorry TRS.......did miss your response on the previous page.

At Carlton he'd be playing behind Kreuzer, who is going to play 22 games, and Cloke who appears to be your current #1 ruck. He's also competing with Hampson for a spot on the ground... doesn't add up to me.
He would be the first ruck with Kreuzer off the bench, Cloke to be trialled as a forward to save his career and Hampson to continue to develop in the two's to learn the game.

Also, you do have rather glaring concerns down back and up forward that need addressing. Hartlett doesn't seem to be panning out as a CHF, and Edwards is in and out of the side.
Agree. This would be the main reason why using pick 24 would be a better idea than getting Warnock.
Russell isn't too popular with Blues supporters from what I can ascertain.
Looking for the relevance? Russ isn't a KPP but a run with player, and a midfielder/HFF at best.
Down back I really like Jamison, but he's not a KPP
Daniel Bradshaw might disagree with you. Held him goaless in the middle of Bradhsaw's rich vein of form earlier this season, and while he may be a little undersized, is very versatile, beating Medhurst as well.
Bower I'm not convinced by
Watch his game on Franklin in round 22 then get back to me.

The fact is I agree with you to the extent that we have more obvious needs, especially as another forward.

Your assumption is then, that if we chase Warnock above these needs, then it must be because we don't have faith in the stocks we have.
You may be right, but I suspect it is more looking at where we want to be in 4-5 years time.

The consensus may well be that Cloke may fill the role as the second forward, we take Warnock and our ruck division is set for the next 10 years. Take a KPP forward next year and in 3-4 years time they are all peaking at the same time.

If Hampson doesn't develop then he may go..........if he does as most of us who have watched him thinks he will, then at worst in 2 years time we have a great trading chip in a lockout draft, and at best he may be sharing the ruck with Warnock, providing a headache up forward, while Kreuzer plays a "followers"....Goodes type role.

Either way, doesn't support your "Hampson not panning out" theory.

I'll grant you that generally, half-decent rucks do remain as decent bargaining chips down the track. I also think that Hampson's development has been quite good, but that only makes the decision to chase Warnock all the more strange to me. Either way, I think we're at an "agree to disagree" point because there aren't any further answers to the questions we're raising.

I do think that Carlton supporters might be over-estimating Warnock's readiness to hold down a #1 ruck spot next year. I also think that clearly, Carlton would not be the best place for Warnock to get the most opportunity, if that's actually what he's after.

A friend of mine is a director of the MFC who told me if Warnock chooses the MFC, we will be going hell for leather to get him for free in the pre-season draft. Make no bones about it.

He told me to discount the romantic idea of him coming to the MFC to play alongside his brother.

It will be all about $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.

That is why i fear those dirty rotten mongel cheats, Carltank will get him as Robbie will be made Assistant Ambassador to Visy Park.

Well done AFL, just open an official loophole for Carlton to rort the salary cap over and over again.

Demetriou, you are an idiot.

Melbourne supporters shouldn't point the bone when it comes to cap rorting or early draft picks, especially when the crux of your post is discontent at not being able to pick an uncontracted player for free while another club is willing to come to the table with an offer that's fair.

He told me to discount the romantic idea of him coming to the MFC to play alongside his brother.

It will be all about $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.

That is why i fear those dirty rotten mongel cheats, Carltank will get him as Robbie will be made Assistant Ambassador to Visy Park.
Reports are that Carlton are his preferred option, which suggests as much already.

However unless he limits Fremantle's options to Carlton only, he'll probably end up at Melbourne, and Fremantle will be reasonably compensated for him.

I do think that Carlton supporters might be over-estimating Warnock's readiness to hold down a #1 ruck spot next year.
Not if you check our board prior to today.:D

Last week he was "underdone" and not what we were looking for.

Today, he is the answer to our prayers.:D

FWIW, I hope that we don't go after him very hard, and actually use pick 24 to get a KF, as by the looks there may well be a decent one still around this year.

Nice to have an amicable chat.:thumbsu:

Cheers mate, from what everyone's saying around here, Mitch Brown could be around at your pick #24 and he's the 2nd coming of Jesus!

Incidentally, love your avatar. :)

Cheers mate, from what everyone's saying around here, Mitch Brown could be around at your pick #24 and he's the 2nd coming of Jesus!

Incidentally, love your avatar. :)
Is Mitch any relation to Nathan (Pies) and ??Mitch (WCE)??? I'll have to check out his profile.

Stewie Dew is doing for footy what Greg Ritchie, Merv and Boonie did for cricket.:thumbsu:

No relation as far as I'm aware. Brown's a common surname and it would be unusual to have two Mitch's in the same family.

Comments on the Richmond board that Freo will be looking for young players with a bit of experience in a trade, given that they have so few players under 23. It was suggested the Tigers give a player like Polo and our second rounder to Freo for Warnock and their third rounder.
In this scenario will will have Warnock & picks 8, 37 & 42, minus whatever player we give up. I know it's a deep draft but does it go all the way to 37? We might only get one good kid.
Now hear me out.
Given that after the top 7 or so in the draft, the next 20-odd are regarded as pretty even, what if we gave Freo pick 8 for Warnock & 21? Throw in a player too if that's what it takes. It would be the best offer they get. It shouldn't be hard to sell Richmond to Warnock.
Would Freo accept pick 8 & Polo for Warnock & 21? We'll throw in JON too if it gets it over the line.;)