Past Michael Rischitelli (2004-2010)

Re: Michael Rischitelli

Yeah, slippery, slidey balls probably suit Davis and Didak more than most in the AFL, and both are capable of pulling out the unstoppable thing at times. Sit him down with the tape and go through a few positioning things, but I thought he had more general influence on the game than he has for a while. Made some great tackles too.

Begley was good, but still looks a bit skittish when he's running so having another competent 'waxing' option out of the back -- particulary when Drummo went down -- was very valuable.

definately need to get a bit more out of riska, but thats because we know he has more to give. he didnt' have the best pre season so hopefully he just needs to settle in. had more of a impact than he did last week which was good, but didn't look good as a defender at all.

how much he has played back previously im not sure, so maybe it would be an option with some coaching, but he wasn't good. could stick with his man, but choose the wrong option and gave away a goal or two.

still a riska fan and hope they persist.

It's easy enough to say that, but what are you basing it on? Stats? Historical data? Anecdotal evidence? A stated dislike of the backline?

There doesn't seem much dispute that his raw attributes set him up nicely as a potential backman, but no-one can seem to nail a reason why his 'head' isn't right for the role. Not sure what I've missed there.

i think tonight showed what i ment with riska not being a defender. was really outclassed and choose some bad options, but as i've said, its probably not a position he is comfortable with.

he probably could make a good small defender, but needs leppa to give him some coaching so he thinks like a defender.

hope he stays in the team, because he is a solid player

He really was under the pump and his disposal was poor. Together with Sherman, real liabilities with lively small forwards. Can we clone Jed ?

I felt like Rischa deserved a spell in the Magoos from about halfway through last year, and he has done nothing since then to change my opinion.

i think he needs to be dropped and stiller bought in, i thought that from start instead of stiller getting dropped.

I'd be surprised if wasn't dropped this week. I didn't mind the trial of him as a defender though, and I would be all for persisting with that in the 2s.

He seems to be a protected species around the club. I'd say hooper has more of a chance of getting dropped than him.

Link

Rischi switch for midfielder
Marc Fox
April 10, 2008 - 1:58PM

It's fair to say this season's subtle change of position hasn't yet bought the best out of Brisbane's young Lion Michael Rischitelli.
Last season Rischitelli played every game in midfield, averaging 17 disposals and laying the second-most tackles of anyone at the club.
He literally tackled the pants off the opposition, as Geelong's Corey Enright could testify. The Cats midfielder famously played on with his blue strides showing after another Rischitelli grab left him revealing more than he might have liked.
Last March, Lions coach Leigh Matthews even took the unusual step of singling out the 2006 Rising Star nominee as "an All-Australian in the making".
But 12 months on, the 21-year-old honestly concedes he's grateful to be playing at all given his current form.
"That's where I'm at at the moment so I've just got to try and keep persisting," Rischitelli said on the eve of Brisbane announcing the 22 to face Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium this Saturday.
"I haven't had a great start as yet. But it's one of those things where you build up and work yourself into the season.
"I've started off slowly but feel I'm steadily crawling back. Not everyone can have a great game every week. It's one of those things where you have to try and find a balance."
Rischitelli's recent indifferent performances, albeit in an unfamiliar defensive position, haven't gone unnoticed with Matthews demanding he play much better in the wake of the 17-point to the Swans last weekend.
When you're one of the club's elite tacklers, an error-ridden opening quarter is always likely to shine the spotlight on your position in the side.
Against Sydney, Brisbane's tackling effort was terrible.
"I was one that didn't tackle as well as I can," Rischitelli conceded.
However, he refused to buy into the hype surrounding his breakthrough season last year, reflecting that his form was only good in patches.
"For me this year is all about trying to be consistent," he said.
"I'm trying to work on a different game plan from last year ... but you've just got to do what you can do wherever you're playing."
That hints at a dissatisfaction with Matthews' decision to divert him from midfield to an attacking role out of defence.
Against the Swans last week he led the side in rebounding from 50, helping counterbalance the injury absence of Josh Drummond.
Rischitelli, however, hasn't instantly adapted to his new role and longs for a move back into the heart of the action.
"It's still early days but I'm just hoping that I can play a little bit more in midfield. Playing down back is a different role and you've just got to accept it and try and work it out.
"I'm grateful to be playing anywhere at the moment, but the ideal role for me is playing in the midfield.
Those sentiments can make for a nervous wait on days when the Lions match committee convene to agree the weekend's players.
"I think it's in the back of everyone's minds but you can't worry about that sort of stuff. You've just got to worry about that you are playing," said Rischitelli.
"I don't get too nervous. Fingers crossed.
"If it (losing your place) does happen you've just got to go back and play your best in the reserves and get back in
"But I'm just worrying about the game. I'm pretty confident that I will be playing this week."

rischitellide7.jpg

Brisbane Lions' Michael Rischitelli 'tackles the pants off' Corey Enright of the Cats in an AFL clash at at the Gabba in 2007.

Play Rischitelli in the midfield and play Selwood as our small backmen to take the best small forwards in the game.

Riska will need a good one this week to keep his spot, you'd reckon. Especially if he's playing in defence again.

I reckon he'll stay back until he stops sooking and starts doing a good job at it.

Gee, it's not like he was tearing up the middle and the difference between half back and centre is bugger all in todays game anyway.

Suck it up, princess.

Bloody hell xplo, it is like you are reading my mind. If we put Blacky on a half back flank and told him to do a job on an opponent and provide some rebound, then I reckon he'd get the job done. He might not like it but he'd do it. You play in a team and under a coach - you do what the coach thinks is best for the team. I don't know if it is the players making excuses or supporters sticking up for their favourites but I hate this idea that guys don't/won't play well unless they are put in their favourite position. When I played footy, I wanted to play full forward or in the centre but so did the rest of the blokes I played with. But not everyone plays the glamour roles.

Let's get this straight - these guys aren't Chris Judd or Simon Black. They have not earnt the right to automatic selection in their most favoured position. They would be the last blokes selected in some clubs and not be near first team selection in others. We all see the promise and we all remember the occasional quality performance. But until they put consistently decent performances together, then they are entitled to nothing. In my mind, they are not yet AFL standard on-ballers and so they aren't entitled to play on ball, particularly when our first sting on ball division is so strong. That means they need to fill other roles in the side or not get selected.

I didn't see it as a whinge, more just a frank assessment of where he's at. The textbook answer is 'I'm happy to play anywhere' but I don't have a problem with him being honest about where his preferred position is. Playing on ball is the premier position for a player his size and I like it that he is ambitious and wants to regain his spot back. I don't think he was suggesting he's hard done by, and he wasn't hiding from the fact that his form is well down.

Ive got to agree with you Grim, i dont think he is having a winge, i think this is just an honest assesment of where he is at the moment.

I think the follwoingself assessments mirror a lot of the comments made on this board the last couple of weeks:-

"That's where I'm at at the moment"
"I haven't had a great start as yet. But it's one of those things where you build up and work yourself into the season.
"I was one that didn't tackle as well as I can,"

Ive got to agree with him, I think Riska's best role is as a defensive midfielder. The fact that the guy was second at the club in tackles last year supports this as well.

"I'm grateful to be playing anywhere at the moment, but the ideal role for me is playing in the midfield.

I like this attitude, in previous years we have heard that the coaching staff has been worried about dropping him due to the effect it would have on his conficence. This might be a change in perception (or it just might be towing the company line).

"If it (losing your place) does happen you've just got to go back and play your best in the reserves and get back in".

Just my 2 cents

Just sounded a bit out of touch for what today's defenders do. Look at Keneally, Peter Burgoyne, MacLeod, Heath Shaw.. -- they're all basically traditional wings/centremen playing off the back edge of the square. JMac and Drummond are in the top bracket for disposals for us this year playing as ball chasing defenders.

The difference between a 'defensive midfielder' and a 'midfieldy defender' is about 20m to the left, and you'll probably swap with one of the starting guys anyway.

I would have thought he'd be looking at it as something of a promotion -- as in, 'we see you as a guy who do more than one job', exactly the way that Adcock does. Jed can kick goals, get the hard ball, shut down danger forwards and run the ball -- all depending on what the side needs. Strawb certainly never appeared to look at fullback as a demotion. It was another chance to stave off the selector's axe.

Bradshaw too, always looked more confident in his place in the team once he had clearly established him credentials as a defender also.

As Nick Davis, Neon Leon and Milney can all atest, guys that are perceived as one-dimensional specialist find it hard to survive when the wind changes, as it inevitably does.

valid point xplo, especially with how fast the game is changing atm. dont think riska really cares if he is playing down back, and dont think he is at all complaining bout it. he seems to know he is lucky to be in the team and is happy where ever, on baller role is just his favorite is all.

I could see why Judd would want to be in the square. He's a clearance genius, and what he does specifically in the first 4-5 seconds after the centre bounce is a particular skill that doesn't translate automatically to the backline.

But wouldn't have thought Rischa hung his hat on his clearance work.

Great discussion here guys. :thumbsu: It has helped me understand what Rischi was really saying. Initially I was shocked at his open comments about wanting play the midfield more and not sounding enthusiastic about playing in defence. I would have thought being selected at all would be enough to keep a young AFL player happy but Rischi sounded a bit deflated about being moved into a different position and that's not good. I always thought that you play where to coach wants you to and that's that. However, when you guys mentioned that Rischi was just being honest about his preferred position instead of being wantonly diplomatic then I admire him for that. I like Rischi and I think he is and will continue to be an important player for our team. I think he is capable in defence and given time he will prove that (probably even to himself!).

much better game tonight Rischa :thumbsu: (along with shermo as well).

if those two can get some confidence back we will be SUCH a better team for it.