Hot Topic Michael Voss - Coaching in 2026. Should he remain beyond that?

I want a putter that sinks 12 foot putts with magic buttons I can press and turn it into a 6 degree one wood so I can push less weight in my golf bag - which I want to turn into an SUV at the end of the round or better still a helicopter which doesn't need any fuel - Ive been waiting for decades for this and I am entitled ! Also big clean out required too.

Have you been paying for a membership to support an exclusive team of engineers that are supposed to be developing and delivering this magical device to you? How many thousands of dollars have you sent this group over the decades?

Question is, whose not up to it?
We don't know if anyone is or isn't.
But if the context is saying Voss needs more support for match day tactics, then I guess we're talking about the senior assistant.
Even then, might not mean 'not up to it ', just that we need to find better or different.

It's taken 4 seasons to recognise (apparently) that an "experienced" coach needs support, how many more seasons will it be before we're satisfied that the support we provide is adequate?
We would not want to go backwards without extenuating circumstances.

Have you been paying for a membership to support an exclusive team of engineers that are supposed to be developing and delivering this magical device to you? How many thousands of dollars have you sent this group over the decades?
It is a good response you make - but ultimately the argument fails with me - because I have no expectations as a member except best efforts. Carlton has been digging itself out of a self imposed black hole for a long time - other teams haven't been carrying the baggage that Carlton is slowly dropping off - part of which (IMHO) is entitlement syndrome which has led to "short termism" and desperate reaching. So I think Carlton is still playing catchup to a lot of teams - but the Club is making progress - perhaps not as fast as some would like and progress in a competitive landscape is never linear.

This is fair enough, because you have a right to expect best efforts... although I'd be questioning whether those best efforts have been happening. Seems more toward corporate greed and virtue signaling than winning a premiership...

But others might not see it that way... and they have a right to expect results.

The club has made too many mistakes over the decades and the result, is angered members who are seeing other clubs rebuild in half the time, whilst there are other clubs who aren't bottoming out and constantly being relevant each season.

Need to be respectful that some people make sacrifices to pay for memberships, so the on field results are the most important thing and are not interested in participation awards for best efforts any more.

This is fair enough, because you have a right to expect best efforts... although I'd be questioning whether those best efforts have been happening. Seems more toward corporate greed and virtue signaling than winning a premiership...

But others might not see it that way... and they have a right to expect results.

The club has made too many mistakes over the decades and the result, is angered members who are seeing other clubs rebuild in half the time, whilst there are other clubs who aren't bottoming out and constantly being relevant each season.

Need to be respectful that some people make sacrifices to pay for memberships, so the on field results are the most important thing and are not interested in participation awards for best efforts any more.
Off forum - you might find that my attitude towards the CLub'spasst administration and Board ( and certain players) is a tad more scathing than I am prepared to post in this place. I certainly agree that paying members are entitled to unconditional effort from players especially - and (perhaps) some more IQ around the place in general. It all starts with stability and unity and I am sure that the Club has been made very well aware of exactly what supporters thought about the start to the year - witness membership numbers if nothing else.

There's a difference between thinking we can improve in an area and not being up to it

Of course but we are in an elite competition, where several players each year are delisted because they dont quite make the grade, the same goes for assistants, list bosses, CEO’s or head of football types, i feel this is just the reality.

Im not a Voss fan but i can see some big failings from the LM team that suggests that anyone in his position would struggle, i hear and have heard since he started that Voss wasn’t great tactically but we have largely kept the same assistant group for years, i have no idea which one of them isn’t great at their job but compared to other clubs our group seems light for quality, but this can’t really be measured.

If there’s a clean out of assistants, to me that shows the existing group as a whole isn’t up to scratch, same goes for the LM team, if we continue to perform worse as a team despite getting older, more experienced and with quality players, then I think the coach/group aren’t up to it.

Voss started in 2022 with hamill, Hansen and Clarke under him. Going into the 4th year, have they performed well enough to say none of them could have been replaced with someone better? We should be looking to improve every department, every year.

If Voss is staying, then get some people around him that can improve him. We got Voss because he wasn't on training wheels, but that didn't mean he was any good. He still has heaps of improvement to make if he's to stay long term. Get someone in to replace Neil Craig. You'd think 8 years would be enough time to find an experienced head to oversee.

Also, get rid of Hamill. He chose St Kilda and did nothing to warrant being welcomed back, apart from be available (fully aware this is 60% spite and his area is probably our strongest on field which may in fact prove I'm incorrect).

Voss wanted Houston but Carlton said No.

I wonder how much Voss is to blame .. or is it a case that he just has to work with what he is given?
I'd love to hear what Voss really thinks about Carlton ... only that aint gonna happen until after he is gone ... if at all?

I believe the Coach should have more control ... which is what it appears to me that Sammy Mitchell gets at Hawthorn.
But then ... they know how to win Premierships over there ... Carlton doesn't, unfortunately.
Would he have changed where we are right now?

I wonder how much Voss is to blame .. or is it a case that he just has to work with what he is given?
I'd love to hear what Voss really thinks about Carlton ... only that aint gonna happen until after he is gone ... if at all?

I believe the Coach should have more control ... which is what it appears to me that Sammy Mitchell gets at Hawthorn.
But then ... they know how to win Premierships over there ... Carlton doesn't, unfortunately.

My mate sat next to him on the plane to round 0 recently (I guess he was going to watch a game or 2)

Carlton hat, Carlton background on his laptop, punching out a 4000 word document titled ‘Zero Day’.

He loves em 👍👍

I believe jagga was the right call

Houston isn’t playing amazing and Jagga is a 15 year player

Voss Ball

A game style predicated on big bodied inside, contested ball winners and tall marking forwards.

A once popular methodology in the early 2000’s before significant improvement in player speed, power and endurance. The advent of modern technology and innovative coaching techniques has relegated this once effective game style to the archives.

Not sure if this is driven by Voss or assistant coaches..

Really annoys me, we have so many inside 50 entries, 2x AA KPFs and all we do is bomb it as far as we can into the forward line and watch it rebound over our heads. This methodology hasn’t worked since the second half of 2023.

WTF hasn’t the coaches focused on the cause and fix it or came up with a better method to enter 50.

Really annoys me, we have so many inside 50 entries, 2x AA KPFs and all we do is bomb it as far as we can into the forward line and watch it rebound over our heads. This methodology hasn’t worked since the second half of 2023.

WTF hasn’t the coaches focused on the cause and fix it or came up with a better method to enter 50.
Coaches as a collective are no good.

If the players all put in 100% and oppo are a bit weak we have a good chance of winning.

We can’t match it against tge better sides.

We don’t have an intelligent modern system.

Probably don’t have tge players either.

It's time to throw off the Voss gravitas that he was a courageous Captain, therefore is our man. Collingwood and even Essendon are closer to surpassing 16 Premierships than we are. What bragging rights are left? Nothing..

Get Bevo - at least he has a concept of modern footy with his St. Bedes bubble and he seems to be able to develop mid-fielders, judging by the number of midfielders who have left such as Dunkley, Lipinski et al - who we should have got, if we were serious.

We need to focus on our next Premiership and I turned off on Friday at half-time because I knew what would happen.

MASSIVE CHANGE and a rebuild is required - they are hopeless!!

Hot Topic Michael Voss - Coaching in 2026. Should he remain beyond that?