Review Mid-season review

• Thread starter Thread starter PP34

I loved Ratten. LOVED him. He was one of my heroes growing up and when he became our coach I was ecstatic. I knew that the writing was on the wall last year but I really hoped that we would let him finish out his contract, and then maybe go after Malthouse (if he was still available) or Paul Roos. I was in tears on the day he was sacked.

Having said all that, I am confident that Carlton is moving in the right direction under Mick. As other people have said, we are getting more out of our team as a whole, rather than relying on one or two players to carry the team for us. For example, Walker is playing excellent footy and showing commitment to his role and to the team (he used to really give me the shits last year when he'd try to take mark of the year every five minutes) and Tuohy's form this year is a bit of a revelation.

I wouldn't say that we're quite there, yet, but we are well on our way. B- overall from me.

Its does not matter who the coach is. This mentality of we had to grab him or he would have gone elsewhere is part of the problem. In fact it IS the problem.

Dont you see, its the cult of personality, we had it with Pagan, you have it now with Mick. You have it with proclamations like that we had to get him or we would miss out, and sadder, our real power people have it. Costa didnt have it. He could easily have decided in 2006 that Thomson wasnt up to it, and gone after Matthews or some other high profile coach to go "the rest of the way" but he knows what you all delude yourselves into thinking isnt true, new coach, start fresh. He didnt do that, he stuck the journey, rest; history.

We have to do the work, the patient team building work, that takes minimum 5 years in this era and with the appointment of a new coach, ANY new coach, the clock starts over. You done people. You are deluding yourselves. Maybe we can scrape into the 8 this year or that. So what. If you want a flag, a rebuild is coming.

Ratts didnt this, Mick doing that, all small consolations to help you get through what will be another long wait. If that is what gets you through you hold on to your delusions tight. They are all you have.

In the meantime, nothing at the club will have really changed. And the implications of that are that we will go through all this again some time soon.

40yearBLUE, your superior attitude is really starting to grate on me. I don't understand why you can't put your point across without being so condescending.

Perhaps part of the reason is the mass delusional postings on here.

Perhaps another part of the problem is that, the club, has its decisions made by the equally deluded but power wielding clueless morons, on the back of this mass delusion (they have your tacit approval because you and I are powerless and they milk that for all it is worth, how else could they get away with it), and perhaps to mask your feelings of powerlessness you make up this stuff about how well Tex is playing in the backline now that we have a strong coach :rolleyes: .

Those that care but dont enjoy delusion have to live with the consequences. I made a stance that I was not prepared to wait for change any longer. It seems they prefer their money in lump sums from the rich and clueless rather than build a club, and a team.

Not for me. I dont go down silently. As you can all see. When the change eventually comes (my guess is circa 2020) many of you might like to remember that you went along with it, and perpetuated the wait.

sydney seem to have built a culture that lives without Roos, Coolingwood's racist bogan rabble is bubbling through after malthouses departure. make of it what you will.

my feeling is that Ratten was sacked by a poor board decision. Blues were derailed last year by injuries, many of them of no fault of the coach. If he was no good he should not have been given the contract. get some injuries and all of a sudden the coach is a hack?

that said, i also feel that Malthouse is a better, more experienced people manager.
malthouse is currently working on extracting 100% commitment from Yarren, something he has never given. Brice is another talent yet to be fully tapped. Great plan to get the best out of the talent at the club as opposed to go check-book hunting eh! (yes i see the irony of this statement)

lets look at a few positives

Simpsons game this week was back to the hard as nails Kade we love. 3 votes.

Murphy: You can't doubt the captains courage, he was broken taking on a bigger body last year and has backed it up with more of the same this year. The Captain is an inspiration. That is commitment to the "jumper" as they say.

Cachia: the composure this bloke is showing for a <10 gamer is outstanding. he knuckles in and he executes well when he gets the ball.

Casbolt: somebody said they couldn't wait see his break an opposition player in a marking contest, unfortunately he broke Randy the Ram this week. He provides serious presence in the forward line. need i point out that he currently leads the league in contested marks per game? we hope that he can build a dominant game around this.

Midseason review

injuries: any performance should be taken in the light of the injury tool. up till this week there have been a low/average level of injuries to top 25 players. Murphy is a huge loss and Randy the Ram's fanaticism will be missed, but Bell can play his role and Carrazzo should take murphs spot.

6/6
realistically what were our expectations this year under a new coach? We have beaten decent team in the Eagles, who were down when we met them. We have lost to the rest of the top eight but not by more than 3 goals.

The last two weeks have been our most recent test and we have failed both! we have won the first halves of both games before the Carlton system has dropped away in the second. Exiting defensive 50 has broken down in the second half as there does not seem to be that outlet runner on the wing to receive the rebounding kick. Do we not have the fitness to play the game style? is it just not second nature enough to perform under fatigue?

I am quietly confidant about the blues season still. If Waite had not been suspended for the saints game and Ray Chamberlin's grandmother had not heavily backed Hawthorn last friday, 8-4 could be the first half result and there would be a lot of up and about going on amongst up blue baggers.

best of luck to Muph in his recovery

My personal ratings would be:

Overall: B- (Should be a B+ but we cannot get over the line for wins, this is above my expectation for the season though)
Mid: B (Some senior players not playing consistant but our second stringers are standing up, this is where we need to improve the most to help our other areas)
Def: A- (Was strong early and pretty consistant but our overlap and coverage needs work)
Fwd: C- (Showing signs that they will get it together soon but too inconsistant like the personnel seems to be)
Ruck: C+ (We are spoilt in this area but none of our ruckman is stringing together solid performances)
Coach: A- (Getting more out of the team then I expected but tried to do too much early)

Stats

Disposals - 11th
Contested Possessions - 5th
Uncontested Possessions - 13th
Disposal Efficency - 8th
Clangers - 16th
Marks - 12th
Contested Marks - 2nd
Marks inside 50 - 4th
Hitouts - 7th
Clearances - 6th
Centre clearances - 7th
Stoppage clearances - 7th
Rebound 50s - 13th
Frees For - 18th
Frees Against - 13th
1% - 6th
Bounces - 1st
Inside 50s - 5th
Tackles - 9th
Goals - 7th
Behinds - 3rd
Goal Assists - 5th
Goal Accuracy - 11th

Average position 8th. .. Anecdotally I'd give the boys a B- but based on this its a C. ..

Played around with the figures above and came up with a rough ratings for Midfield (M), Defence (D), Forwards (F) and Rucks (R). .. More for fun then any real analysis but here it is:

mid-season.png

Costa Shmosta 40yb... Were you part of the Geelong inner sanctum that made that decision... Thompson was almost gone except for a last ditch effort by the players who saved him (Scarlett main instigator). If Ratten was respected enough by our players they would've gone out and begged him to be saved and to give him that final year to prove 2012 was just bad luck. In the end the team knew Rattens job was on the line mid year and didn't play like a group of players that wanted to save this coaches job... Lots of fractures between players and coaches lost Ratten his job more than losses (losses being the end result).

Ratten we all know had his favourites with his bum slapping and champ comments... In the end Ratten was not able to unify the players and coaches enough to warrant him being retained and that's why he lost his job.

Stats for our contested marking are pretty interesting since I was pretty sure that was one of our weakest areas only a couple of weeks ago.

Hammer good couple of games early and now Levi's efforts over the last couple of weeks with Waite against Essendon. .. Not consistant yet but Levi is showing good signs with 6 last week and 4 this week. .. He and Waite are leading Contested Mark averages at the moment. ..

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_rankings?year=2013&rt=LA&st=CM

Its does not matter who the coach is. This mentality of we had to grab him or he would have gone elsewhere is part of the problem. In fact it IS the problem.

Dont you see, its the cult of personality, we had it with Pagan, you have it now with Mick. You have it with proclamations like that we had to get him or we would miss out, and sadder, our real power people have it. Costa didnt have it. He could easily have decided in 2006 that Thomson wasnt up to it, and gone after Matthews or some other high profile coach to go "the rest of the way" but he knows what you all delude yourselves into thinking isnt true, new coach, start fresh. He didnt do that, he stuck the journey, rest; history.

We have to do the work, the patient team building work, that takes minimum 5 years in this era and with the appointment of a new coach, ANY new coach, the clock starts over. You done people. You are deluding yourselves. Maybe we can scrape into the 8 this year or that. So what. If you want a flag, a rebuild is coming.

Ratts didnt this, Mick doing that, all small consolations to help you get through what will be another long wait. If that is what gets you through you hold on to your delusions tight. They are all you have.

In the meantime, nothing at the club will have really changed. And the implications of that are that we will go through all this again some time soon.

You compare Geelong to Carlton yet claim that everyone else is deluded. Mickey Mouse would appear a genius appointment with their list.

I guess Fremantle should've kept Mark Harvey because now that Lyon's there they've gone backwards and won't contend for a minimum of five years.

Nice logic.

Here's a tip: Derailing threads with your repetitive drivel and talking down to people wanting to discuss the current campaign doesn't make you the enlightened one, it makes you an arseh*le.

I have no issue with voicing an opinion but looking for fights on the internet just reveals you to be a sad, sad character.

Re the Malthouse v Ratten debate. That's done. I was a Ratts supporter 'til the end, but I can see the difference that Malthouse has brought and I approve. How many times in the past have we seen this side decide it's all too hard and just submit? We don't fold like a house of cards anymore, not for a grand finalist, injuries, nor umpires.

That's something Ratten, for all his positives couldn't, or ran out of time to instil in the playing group. It's hardness we haven't seen for over a decade. Not enough yet to be sure, but it's there.

Was going to start a similar thread, but more around how our team should look in the second half of the year. Has changed a little now that Murphy and Robinson are likely to miss a few games.

One thing I would like to address is 40yrBlue's ramblings particularly about Malthouse. We shouldn't lose sight that aside from the Geelong game, we've been in every single game late in the last quarter. Some bad mistakes have really cost us, and with a little more composure, I dare say we'd my alot closer to say where Essendon are sitting on the ladder. Our biggest losing margin so far is still only 17 points, and we have played Geelong, Hawthorn & Essendon. Another big test in two weeks time against Sydney.

Given the injuries to Robbo & Murphy, this is the side that I would like to see take on Sydney in a couple of weeks. A couple of surprises (maybe), but with Mick still tinkering with the best 22, why not try this one out.

Backs: Tuohy Jamison McIness
H-Backs: Walker Henderson Simpson
Centres: Bootsma McLean Gibbs
H-Forwards: Armfield Casboult Laidler
Forwards: Garlett Waite Betts
Rucks: Kreuzer Judd Cachia

I/C: Yarran Curnow Scotland
Sub: Lucas

Watching McIness yesterday [albeit not all game] playing across HB, he looked like he hadn't missed a beat. Give him one more game next week, that's 3 games under his belt prior to the Sydney game. I'm reasonably confident that he won't let you down, and down the track he could very well become one of Micks favourites. Yarran comes back in, didn't have the best game yesterday, but did enough to earn his recall. And, would like to see Laidler given a chance as a half forward. Reads the game so well, marks well and is a good kick on goal.

I like the statistical analysis Claypigeon!

I think we sit somewhere around there as a middle of the table 'C' team. Really, we have shown the potential in 2009-11 that would indicate we would be far ahead of where we are now - and whilst development is never linear - I'm still worried that we've lost our ability to close out games and really put teams away.

Other than that, I'm happy to see that we're never being blown out of the water - and consequently always in the game until the dying moments - but these 'honorable losses' will begin to grate quickly on the supporters and the players.

I would've pegged us to be within striking distance of the 4 at this stage of year, and losses to Richmond and Essendon that could've/should've gone the other way are the only thing that have really stopped that. 8-4 looks far different to 6-6.

After Sydney and Collingwood we play; StK, North, GC, Freo, WBD, Rich, Essendon and PA.

With our penchant for dropping games we should, we'll probably need a win in the next couple of games to cement a spot in the 8.

Another chance to put together a solid 6-2 or 7-1 run into the end of the year, which should really have the players and supporters excited.

I just hope we can learn to convert our opportunities, which is something we had done really quite well in the last couple of years.

I think Murphy's injury will have a silver lining as he has looked somewhat laboured with the weight of the captaincy. We will, however need to inject more class to compensate, as I that our erratic F50 entries are undoing us on the counter with worrying consistency.

Stats for our contested marking are pretty interesting since I was pretty sure that was one of our weakest areas only a couple of weeks ago.
I think this is a misconception framed negatively by the media. Our F50 marks are no more or less the key to our good performances now as they were in the recent past.

Our game play relied on denying the opposition the ball and utilising space - Uncontested marks was a far more indicative statistic in the past to our success.

Empirically, our tall I50 targets have appeared no more dominant than they have in the past 3 or so years despite this increased statistical output. I'd say this year has been the least functional forward line display since the turn of the decade.

lost three games we could and should have won - Collingwood, Essendon & Hawthorn.

lost another two games where we were beaten early but came back - Richmond & St Kilda

we struggle to finish teams off when we dominate and also struggle to come back if we are beaten early.

It's simple and it really is this simple, you don't let the best coach in the comp go if you have chance to snag him. Ratts does not have what it takes. Not many do, it's a special x factor. You call this season a fail the only fail is your short sightness and not being able to see what MM is building.

It isn't.

The situation is analogous to Thompson's and Worsfold's after the Eagles won the spoon (?). An opportunity for redemption was afforded to these coaches, and it was taken immediately thereafter. The anxiety from Carlton supporters about how Ratten's situation was handled is certainly understandable. Although 40YB doesn't convey it in the most diplomatic way.

Perhaps part of the reason is the mass delusional postings on here.

Perhaps another part of the problem is that, the club, has its decisions made by the equally deluded but power wielding clueless morons, on the back of this mass delusion (they have your tacit approval because you and I are powerless and they milk that for all it is worth, how else could they get away with it), and perhaps to mask your feelings of powerlessness you make up this stuff about how well Tex is playing in the backline now that we have a strong coach :rolleyes: .

Those that care but dont enjoy delusion have to live with the consequences. I made a stance that I was not prepared to wait for change any longer. It seems they prefer their money in lump sums from the rich and clueless rather than build a club, and a team.

Not for me. I dont go down silently. As you can all see. When the change eventually comes (my guess is circa 2020) many of you might like to remember that you went along with it, and perpetuated the wait.

Nice try 40YB, but not something you, me nor anybody else will be able to prove or disprove. A bit of a Hegelian Dialectic here.

lost three games we could and should have won - Collingwood, Essendon & Hawthorn.

lost another two games where we were beaten early but came back - Richmond & St Kilda

we struggle to finish teams off when we dominate and also struggle to come back if we are beaten early.

Disappointing results, in particular the St kilda and Essendon games. Been close in all games right to the end and for some bad luck, bad umpiring, bad decision making and just lack of polish, could have won all of the above. That said, I think Mick and Co are on the right track, not far away from going gangbusters. Trade week will be interesting.

Close thread. A review is futile, we should all give up and start following lawn bowls.

Malthouse is a massive failure, and our shocking culture/list/organisation cannot be fixed. Proven here...

Close thread. A review is futile, we should all give up and start following lawn bowls.

Malthouse is a massive failure, and our shocking culture/list/organisation cannot be fixed. Proven here...

I am taking up macramé classes. :D

2011 Carlton would lose by 20-40 points against 2013 Carlton.

People pay too much attention to previous year's finishes. West Coast for example were tipped by most 'experts' to finish top of the ladder this year - based on last year's efforts and this year's draw. A very clear and stark reminder to all that every team seeks improvement and has reasons for success or not.

There is no doubt that the team is playing competitive football - last Friday night Carlton played man on man for four quarters and got very close to a win against a benchmark team pretty much at full strength. I see that as a huge improvement.

Under Malthouse the team is being coached to play a good game of football irrespective of who is in or who is out. We aren't talking about injuries this year because the substitutes are playing good football - and many of those injured last year, about who everyone was explaining away losses - are playing VFL.

Still I continue to believe that we are one tall short down back and up front of being top4 - the game style being developed and attitude being developed will see these new players fit into a team ready to contend.

Carlton has a serious issue in terms of kicking goals from more than 35 meters out either through kicking on the run or set shots. This makes our forward entries far more predictable and easy to defend against. Tuohey, and Gibbs have been the only players so far to show any ability to slot a long one when required. This means that the team isnt capitalising on the better midfield clearance work and better tackle count we are putting together. This inacuracy as well as inability is teh reason we have lost a few of the close games - otherwise we would already have cemented a finals place.

Sydney will be a harsh test but Collingwood and the rest of the games ahead are winnable given a fair run with injury and a better run with umps. Proof will be beating Norths and St Kilda, Richmond and Essendon in return games.

The win loss ratio doesn't really reflect where we are - I reckon like Fremantle last year, carlton will get harder and harder to beat as the year goes on - however we are achieving all this without a second power forward to support Waite.

* Time will see Casboult, Cachia, Menzel develop into starting 22 players week in week out. Armfield, Garlett and Gibbs are playing much better football and Carrazzo, Yarran will come back to add even more seriosu depth.

Disappointed in the lack of development in Bell and Watson and hamspons early season struggles. I had all three as starting players by now - which would have solved a lot of issues.