Midfield vs Melbourne

You're speaking to a pro tanker. The MFC did what was encumbent upon them to rebuild the list as best they could. In fact, I reckon it would have been an utter disgrace for them to finish on 5 or 6 wins and miss out on the pp.

You're welcome to disagree. :thumbsu:

Respect is the word. Not everyone understands the meaning of it, and not everyone values it equally.

I have respect for clubs like Geelong, who didn't bottom out and didn't resort to shameful tactics in order to build a great side.

Everyone chooses their own way in life. Footy is no different. Any coach who has ever chosen NOT to coach to win the game has zero character in my book.

But like I said, it's a choice, and I am fine with peope choosing differently. I am happy though, that my football club has chosen to fight its way to the top rather than to "lose" its way up.

In the time I have followed football (since I arrived in this country 20 odd years ago) I certainly haven't seen a Melbourne side that demanded respect. I won't speak for the rest of your long history, of course.

You're speaking to a pro tanker. The MFC did what was encumbent upon them to rebuild the list as best they could. In fact, I reckon it would have been an utter disgrace for them to finish on 5 or 6 wins and miss out on the pp.

You're welcome to disagree. :thumbsu:

If it happened at North I would have been pissed, but hey, each to their own. Tradition and self respect have different values to different people I guess and it will become fairly difficult to hold that line when success becomes more and more of a reality.

Respect is the word. Not everyone understands the meaning of it, and not everyone values it equally.

I have respect for clubs like Geelong, who didn't bottom out and didn't resort to shameful tactics in order to build a great side.

I'm not the custodian of your values, or emotions. The "respect" you have for Geelong is an emotion that I have no control of and nor does it interest me. If you respected Melbourne I wouldn't care, if you loved Melbourne I wouldn't care, and if you hated Melbourne I wouldn't care, as it has nothing to do with me. I have no ownership over it and nor am I invested in your personal journey.

Thanks for sharing though. :thumbsu:

Yeah Wells is playing there for that very reason. Edwards out of the goal square could work but I think at the end of the day it is both the personnel and the structure that is the problem.

Tarrant and Black are potentially the only classy upcoming key forwards we have and you might say from past probabilities that only one will make it. Apart from that I'd like to see a bloke with real X-factor on the half-foward line like a Rioli/Johnson/Shagga/Akermanis type that just creates goals from nowhere (although I do admit that is a big ask).

Just needs to be a big focus in the upcoming 2 drafts and then Scott needs to develop and get some fluidity between the midfield and forward line and I'll be stoked. That would be a big achievement from him.

As for Melbourne well they are in a similar position to us. Like you hinted though their midfield relies a fair bit more on Bruce/McDonald/Green than ours does on Harvey/Rawlings though.

Sam Wright anybody?

I'm not the custodian of your values, or emotions. The "respect" you have for Geelong is an emotion that I have no control of and nor does it interest me. If you respected Melbourne I wouldn't care, if you loved Melbourne I wouldn't care, and if you hated Melbourne I wouldn't care, as it has nothing to do with me. I have no ownership over it and nor am I invested in your personal journey.

Pathetic and disingenuous "pro-tanker". :rolleyes:

Ha, what makes you think anyone here "cares" about your opinions? More to the point, what the fukk are you doing here?

I'm a bit hesitant to jump in here as it might look like we are bullying opposition supporters who come to this board.

However, can I just point out the glaring inconsistency (and/or irony and/or hypocrisy) associated with joining a thread to lecture people on the meaning of 'culture' in the football club sense, then proudly outing oneself as pro-tanking?

Arguably, tanking has brought rewards, although not to the expected extent, but at what cost? I share the obviously widespread view that the MFC is now a disgrace, due to its willingness to abandon its proud history and culture for a quick fix. You might call this view an "emotion", but looking past emotion, the cold, hard fact is that any objective assessment of the cynical regime of tanking would find that it severely compromised the dignity and culture of the club. The taint will be there for years and years.

Just not worth it.

You are a joke.

You don't value respect?

You believe that your team should do whatever it takes to succeed, regardless of moral implications?

By your logic, you support the Melbourne Storm's cheating?

Are you "pro" steroids as well?

You have a lot to learn about life.

Im so keen to see this game

Levi on Jones is a solid match up.
same goes for Wells on Davey, Im pretty sure Davey takes the cake over Wells but who knows Wells could have a day out if all goes well.

Our only real down fall could be our backline. Lachie hasnt really been playin to well in my eyes, keeps stuffin it up causing a fair amount of clangers. But then again Melbournes forwardline aint too crash hot.

should be an absolute barn burner
:thumbsu:

same goes for Wells on Davey, Im pretty sure Davey takes the cake over Wells but who knows Wells could have a day out if all goes well.

Ya reckon? I must be watching two different players.

Our only real down fall could be our backline. Lachie hasnt really been playin to well in my eyes, keeps stuffin it up causing a fair amount of clangers.

Ah I see, you were kidding all along.

Agree it should be a good game though, at least we agree on something. :thumbsu:

By your logic, you support the Melbourne Storm's cheating?
Are you "pro" steroids as well?
Of course not. There are strong rules against salary cap rorting and steroids.

Since when are there any rules about how many wins you ought to have and what draft pick you get?

For the record, I don't think Melbourne tanked that much. They really were just crap ... sixteen players from the finals teams of 2006 went off the list.

However, can I just point out the glaring inconsistency (and/or irony and/or hypocrisy) associated with joining a thread to lecture people on the meaning of 'culture' in the football club sense, then proudly outing oneself as pro-tanking?
Just not worth it.

I suppose it depends on your definition of "tanking". Obviously the players didn't tank, but the coach didn't do all in his power to win at all costs, in fact, he may have made moves which lessened the likelihood of victory. The Board, the President, the coaching staff and most supporters thought that the benefit of not winning 5 or 6 games for the season completely outweighed any benefits of 1 or 2 meaningless wins. The penalty for winning was too great. I can now have the benefit of watching Jack Trengove run around the G for the next 10-15 years instead of celebrating one pathetic win over another rabble in Richmond. I remember beating Carlton in round 22, 2007, which prevented us from obtaining a priority pick and handed Kreuzer to Carlton. What a great win ! I still feel so proud of the boys - even though many are no longer on the list :eek:. Sure we were crap and still were crap for the next two years, but I am still chuffed when I remember that glorious victory. :rolleyes:;)

We may, or may not win a flag in the foreseeable future, but if we do I won't be lamenting any list strategy decisions from 2009. In fact, the opposite is true. It was encumbent of those charged with rebuilding our club to take advantage of the systems in place. Not to have done so would have made them derelict in their duty. A flag is all that matters to me and it's not going to get any easier to win one in an 18 team competition.

I think I'll cope with the barbs from bitter opposition supporters. :D:thumbsu:

I suppose it depends on your definition of "tanking". Obviously the players didn't tank, but the coach didn't do all in his power to win at all costs, in fact, he may have made moves which lessened the likelihood of victory. The Board, the President, the coaching staff and most supporters thought that the benefit of not winning 5 or 6 games for the season completely outweighed any benefits of 1 or 2 meaningless wins. The penalty for winning was too great. I can now have the benefit of watching Jack Trengove run around the G for the next 10-15 years instead of celebrating one pathetic win over another rabble in Richmond. I remember beating Carlton in round 22, 2007, which prevented us from obtaining a priority pick and handed Kreuzer to Carlton. What a great win ! I still feel so proud of the boys - even though many are no longer on the list :eek:. Sure we were crap and still were crap for the next two years, but I am still chuffed when I remember that glorious victory. :rolleyes:;)

We may, or may not win a flag in the foreseeable future, but if we do I won't be lamenting any list strategy decisions from 2009. In fact, the opposite is true. It was encumbent of those charged with rebuilding our club to take advantage of the systems in place. Not to have done so would have made them derelict in their duty. A flag is all that matters to me and it's not going to get any easier to win one in an 18 team competition.

Of course on the flip side, in the much more likely scenario that the hapless Dees do not win a flag for another 20 years, how fondly will you look back on that time where you were a pathetic rabble, where turning up to the footy each week for 3 years (if you actually did, doubtful) was not only soured by the soft attitude of your players, but also the soft attitude cop out attitude of your club.

To shit on the leagcy of past players and adminsistrators who would fight to the death for the respect of the club (again, if there are any, doubtful) and then not win a flag?

And then there are the spoons that are in the history books.

Each to their own I guess.

I am certainly not bitter Hannabal, just giving an honest opinion.

On your board I have seen multiple references to North supporters on this site being arrogant. I don't think we are an arrogant bunch over here. Sometimes some of us can be a little strong in what we say, but hey, it's our board. I think we are a proud bunch, a very proud bunch that love this club and fought to keep it alive, some more involved than others, and we deeply respect those that played a role in making our proud clubs continuing existence a possibility. I guess imagining that being tarnished on game day by club sanctioned tanking is something that would bee seen to cheapen what we North Melbourne people have rebuilt and are continuing to rebuild, so don't expect anything other than a differing opinion to your own when posting your pro-tanking sentiment.

Best of luck to the Dees though. Your club has put together some top line talent and now must really develop well to optimise their chance of success. God forbid if this rebuild fails though as tarnishing the clubs proud history for a few extra early draft picks will seem like a shocking deal if these prized recruits fail to deliver. Although I am not sure what's worse. Selling your soul and falling short or selling your soul for a success that is ultimately tarnished and cheapened.

As I said, this is just my opinion on what is an interesting matter. I hold no malice towards the Dees.

Should be a cracker on the weekend. Looking forward to seeing some sparks fly in the middle.

Sparks? Mate, don't forget it's Melbourne we're talking about. ;)

Even when they win, there are never sparks associated with that football club.

G'day gents, trying to make a bit of a habit this year of doing a bit of a pre grame write up on our oppositions board and include key match ups.

Firstly i agree, more so than most other games the game will be won and lost in the midfield with no side having a particular advantage in either forward or backline.

Jamar(possibly Martin) vs. McIntosh/Goldstien/Hale, you guys seem set on having the three talls in the side, whilst Hale mostly up forward could be plan C for the ruck. Jamar in career best form and will be a good test for hims this week. Uncertanity whether Melbourne will play Martin, but i think he will as if Jamar went down mid match we would be in trouble.

Rawlings on Davey, Rawlings may not have the leg speed, but is a super competitor and can easily get inside Davey's head and dsitract him.

Goldstein/Hale vs Warnock/Frawley, unsure how they will match up. Hale seems to spend more time fwd than Goldstein, Warnock has extra height on Frawley, but i believe Hale is your number 1 traget inside 50, and Frawley is our best backmen.

Greenwood to Sylvia; Sylvia fast becoming our best player, can win the footy and kick goals greenwood has a strong body and can with him in the middle and down back.

Dunn on Wells, dunn did a terrific job on Brennan last weekend, well be a interesting match up wen wells go forward, possibly Garland to take him.

Scully/Trengove/Mckenzie vs. Cunnington/Bastinac/Jack Ziebell, plenty of talent there and probably will all spend time on eachother at some stage.

Moloney/Swallow, may not play on eachother but play a pivotal role for their side. Laying tackles and winning the ball directly from the ruck contests.

James MacDonald on Harvey, time for Jmac to revert to his old ways as a tagger, Harvey is a super player and very dangerous.

Sylvia, Green and Petterd our most likely goal kickers.

Both teams coming of confidence boosting wins, contrasting game styles Melbourne will continue to play corridoor footy and North will look to shut this space down and will be aided by the small dimesions of Etihad Stadium. This is where the game will be won or lost. Melbourne by 21 points.

Sparks? Mate, don't forget it's Melbourne we're talking about. ;)

Even when they win, there are never sparks associated with that football club.

Should have elaborated;

Looking forward to seeing some sparks fly off Levi as he bashes his way through the packs in the middle. ;)

They will come hard at us and have been doing very well in the contested ball stakes of late. I am confident that we can beat them in this area but we will need to be on the ball from the first bounce. Would love to see Jack really impose himself on the contest this week. He has been serviceable of late but I reckon he is not far away from playing a blinder.

A fairly good write up from an opposition supporter. I'd go with most of it. The things I would add are our backline match ups. Firrito could get Petterd, McMahon or Pratt (if he comes in for Urquhart) could take Green/Sylvia when he plays forward.

This could be a game where we may even drop Scotty Thompson due to the lack of match-ups. It's not something we have done much under Laidley, but I just can't see why we need 3 tall defenders for this game, and none of them has shown much ability in the forward line, so a switch up there isn't likely. Hansen is the one who could take a few grabs up forward, but after stringing a few good games together in defence, we may be reluctant to move him from there.

I also have a feeling that Melbourne may crumble if things don't go their way. Not sure why, just a gut feel. North by 35.

I am certainly not bitter Hannabal, just giving an honest opinion.

On your board I have seen multiple references to North supporters on this site being arrogant.

God forbid if this rebuild fails though as tarnishing the clubs proud history for a few extra early draft picks will seem like a shocking deal if these prized recruits fail to deliver. Although I am not sure what's worse. Selling your soul and falling short or selling your soul for a success that is ultimately tarnished and cheapened.

I'm unusual in that I quite like arrogant people if it involves a degree of wit, so there's no problem on that front from me.

No-one has stated that there's any guarantees from tanking/list management. I just want my club to have the best chance possible of winning a flag. And we're giving ourselves that opportunity. We've done it in a fashion that hasn't involved the club being exposed to league sanctions. On the contrary, Demetriou has supported the MFC when all and sundry decried our list management late in 2009.

If we happen to be fortunate enough to win a flag it won't be tarnished in any way for me. Once again, you can please yourself.:thumbsu:

It's worth noting that many former Melb players, including Lyon, Schwarz and our club President have supported the actions we've taken. Under our previous President Paul Gardner it most certainly wouldn't have happened. You can probably appreciate that I'm terribly thankful that he's no longer in charge.

G'day gents, trying to make a bit of a habit this year of doing a bit of a pre grame write up on our oppositions board and include key match ups.

Firstly i agree, more so than most other games the game will be won and lost in the midfield with no side having a particular advantage in either forward or backline.

:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown: our backline is far superior to yours,as is our ruck division,

Under our previous President Paul Gardner it most certainly wouldn't have happened. You can probably appreciate that I'm terribly thankful that he's no longer in charge.

Something else the two clubs have in common - rising from the debris of previous administrations' balls-ups.

Watching Melbourne's midfield racing in numbers and sweeping the ball up field Saturday night reminded me (unpleasantly) of the way they beat us in that 2000 PF. It should be fun to watch two mainly young midfields, who both seem under instruction to tackle hard and often and run and spread quickly when they get the ball, going hard at each other this week.

Midfield vs Melbourne