Multiplat Minecraft

lions hey?? lol
Booted this up last night to find i was almost dead, so went in search of pigs.
I found out that when you kill them, they will give you 2 pieces.... so aslong as you don't use it(back to full health) + plus don't have it in your inventory, you can get 2 pieces from them.
So i got 2, put them in my chest, went back out, so forth now i have a full chest of bacon :thumbsu:

[youtube]pjQ9JL5E9gc[/youtube]
Terrible accent is terrible.

TreeD, Wideo, Hate (instead of height!). Lrn2English pal.

So carrying on from the 'Cheap Games' thread.

I decided to give the demo/trial thing that I got from buying the Humble Bundle a go. 15 minutes into it, I decided to buy Minecraft.

There wasn't anything that I was blown away by or anything like that, but I could almost instantly see the insane possibilities in the game. So I thought it'd be worth a purchase at least before the full game comes out later this year (too bad I bought it just before this new 2 4 1 deal...otherwise I'd have a free copy to give away).

So yeah, I put in some more time after I purchased and have set up a makeshift hut on top of a massive cliff atm just as my safe haven from the nasties of the night. Have crafted the main things that I need, crafting table, bed, double chest (yes I'm using the Minecraft wiki, I don't have time to fluke this shit ffs). I also have plans to turn this mini-hut into a massive building with a full on cart ride going around the entire boundary of the area (which is a nice big area too).

Since I'm on here though, might as well ask a few things. Anyone have any main tips for a n00b?

I get that my best option is to build my hut and then go mining for minerals to expand my empire and using the bed is massive to gaining time to dig for everything. But any tips on what I should be using or looking for specifically or doing while digging would be handy.

Also just throw in any random shit you want that could be helpful.:thumbsu:

Just a few quick Q's too. Is there a need to eat and such so my health doesn't deplete over time? I don't know if the game goes that far into it, but thought I'd ask.

Also why the **** do I have straggling zombies walking around at times during the dead of the day? I had one hiding atop a mountain under some trees and had to run like the clappers to get back to my hut just in time before the thing blew itself up near me.

Since I'm on here though, might as well ask a few things. Anyone have any main tips for a n00b?

I get that my best option is to build my hut and then go mining for minerals to expand my empire and using the bed is massive to gaining time to dig for everything. But any tips on what I should be using or looking for specifically or doing while digging would be handy.

Also just throw in any random shit you want that could be helpful.:thumbsu:

Just a few quick Q's too. Is there a need to eat and such so my health doesn't deplete over time? I don't know if the game goes that far into it, but thought I'd ask.

Also why the **** do I have straggling zombies walking around at times during the dead of the day? I had one hiding atop a mountain under some trees and had to run like the clappers to get back to my hut just in time before the thing blew itself up near me.
The thing that blows up is called a creeper, They stay alive during the day so be carefull of them. Zombies and Skeletons will burn in the sunlight.

With Food, your health won't deplete over time, only when taking damage from enemys. If you create a furnace, burn porkchops in them to get more health back than a regular porkchop.

With the mining, there is a bottom level(s) called the bedrock.
These are indestructable and you will find diamond (best mineral) about 10 (block) levels above it.

Thats about it for now, anymore questions I'll try to answer if i know them.

WHAT ELSE WOULD BE BETTER THAN AT 2AM TO REPLY TO THIS TOPIC!!! haha

Yeah, Knighta summed it up nicely.

There's four hostile mobs in the main world - skeletons, creepers, zombies and spiders. All of them are hostile (except the spider in sunlight, unless you attack it, I'm pretty sure) and the creeper and spider don't burn in sunlight.

Also, build a furnace if you haven't. Means you can cook pork and smelt stuff like iron and gold. And if you want to know where the ores appear, hit F3 and grab your y coordinate for this:

Coal - any level
Iron - y < 64 (sea level)
Lapiz Lazuli - y < 32
Gold - y < 32
Redstone - y < 16
Diamond - y < 16

There's a small tendency for blocks to spawn a couple of blocks over that limit. You'll likely see iron above sea level somewhere in your game.

Lava will generate in caves that go under the y coordinate of 10, too. And the lower the 'layer' (y value), the more hostile mobs will spawn - the level of light that mobs can spawn in increases with a decrease in height. Hostile mobs spawn in most levels of light at the bottom of caves, but at layer 128 (the height limit), mobs will rarely spawn, unless you build a completely enclosed area, and walk a distance from it, because mobs also can't spawn within a certain distance of you. I think it's about 25 blocks.

And about the non-hostile mobs - when killed, pigs drop 0-2 pork chops, cows drop 0-2 leather , sheep drop 1 wool but when sheared drop 1-3, chickens drop 0-2 feathers and an egg randomly every 10 minutes or so, and squid drop 3 ink sacs.

A note on the wool - it's awesome. You can dye it green (with cactus green, cook cactus in a furnace), black (with ink sacs), blue (lapis lazuli), red, yellow (both flowers), brown (cocoa beans), white (bone meal - craft bones) or a mix of some - red and yellow make orange dye.

If you've wondering about cocoa beans, they're found in dungeons - if you ever see a cobblestone cube (5 to 7 blocks in length and width, about 5 in height), it's a dungeon. Inside there is a chest or two with some goodies, plus a spawner, which will spawn one type of hostile mob excluding creepers, if you're close enough. If you see a square hole in some sand, dig down. It's a dungeon - they don't have a generated roof so if it spawns under sand, the sand caves it in.

Also, about water and lava - if you pour water (using a bucket, made of iron) over laval, it turns into obsidian, which is used to make portals to the Hell world, or the Nether. In there is lots of lava, plus ghasts (think Boo from Mario without invisiblity, but with small exploding balls it shoots at you) and zombie pigmen (neutral until attacked, and they will all attack you). Make sure you pour it over the original block of lava, or source block. Lava pools are all source blocks. To mine obsidian, it takes 15 seconds with a diamond pick.

If you can't (CBF/don't have diamond) mine the obsidian, you could make a mould for a portal. They're on YouTube somewhere.

Oh, and there's this thing called Herobrine... ;)

That was long.

For some reason I have no problem in using the wiki but I think pressing F3 is a bit cheap.

Also with your shelter be sure to keep it well lit as mobs can still spawn in the dark parts of your hut, usually when you're asleep. Make torches with a stick and charcoal/coal on top if it. Charcoal is easier to make than coal is to find, just burn any wood (not woodplanks) in the furnace. Don't forget to use charcoal as the fuel once you've made enough. I think I read it's exactly the same efficiency as coal, certainly much much more than sticks/wood.

Has anyone tried multiplayer? What seems to be the overall goal of most mp servers? Any recommended servers?

Cheers for the tips guys.

I managed to dig myself down really far last night and found a shitload of stuff to mine with an awesome slippery slide of water cascading down there to get to it really easily. Lots of the red dust stuff (had about 120+ units of this), diamonds (had maybe 20 lots of this), gold (10-15 of this), etc. etc. but absolutely ****ed it up by getting caught numerous times by the arrow shooting skeletons (and hadn't fashioned myself a sword at that point so really had no means to defend myself). I went back about 4 times to try and pick up what I had lost, but continually found myself falling into lava or getting shot by skeletons again. Even after taking a sword to try and get these pricks, but kept getting cornered or double teamed.

So I think I've lost that stuff now.:( Will start mining in another part now I think since I got most of what I could down there and it's fairly full of lava so would be tougher to mine out without getting a ton of cobblestone that I don't really want.
Also with your shelter be sure to keep it well lit as mobs can still spawn in the dark parts of your hut, usually when you're asleep. Make torches with a stick and charcoal/coal on top if it. Charcoal is easier to make than coal is to find, just burn any wood (not woodplanks) in the furnace. Don't forget to use charcoal as the fuel once you've made enough. I think I read it's exactly the same efficiency as coal, certainly much much more than sticks/wood.
I've found coal easy as anything else to find. I am literally running into it all over the place. So much so I'm basically getting TOO much and not really finding anything else that I can actually use to fashion better tools out of.

I don't think I've ever been more addicted to game then I am with minecraft. Countless hours of important study have been lost playing this game. Made some pretty sweet structures though.

I bought this for the girlfriend and I today. No ferking idea what to do. ;)

Wouldn't mind starting a BF server.

I'd be up for that.

I have been building a footy stadium its mostly made of wooden slabs and cobble slabs. The bottom level is 10 rows back then it's the corporate boxes and 6 rows on top of the boxes i am still in the process of building it. I have also been thinking of making a train station near by.
footyground2.png

footyground3.png

I have been building a footy stadium its mostly made of wooden slabs and cobble slabs. The bottom level is 10 rows back then it's the corporate boxes and 6 rows on top of the boxes i am still in the process of building it. I have also been thinking of making a train station near by.
footyground2.png

footyground3.png
Nice job. :thumbsu:

I'm planning on building Etihad or the MCG with a mate, but would love to do it with some of you blokes. Would start by laying down the field (one block is a square metre, I believe) so we can measure it out. I had a play last night and just did the dimensions and it felt like the right size.

Then go from there.

Nice job. :thumbsu:

I'm planning on building Etihad or the MCG with a mate, but would love to do it with some of you blokes. Would start by laying down the field (one block is a square metre, I believe) so we can measure it out. I had a play last night and just did the dimensions and it felt like the right size.

Then go from there.
Would definitely be up for helping out.:thumbsu:

Whoever wants to set up a server, make it happen!

I tried as soon as I got it and felt like a major newbie. :o

I can get a server for us if you want, Australian hosted too. Did a survival island play through with an Mate, while speaking through skype, he should be happy to do it, if not I will host it being I have the PC requirements to do it.

Also, BigDazr - Can I have the world save? (Upload to a file-sharing site.)

I just had a play with the dimensions and made a cross 171x146 blocks and it looked realistic. I didn't fill it in as it was just a muck around but it looked good none the less.

Really pumped for this. If a few of us were dedicated to it, it would be incredible. Could make the stands, bays, players' races etc.

Sounds interesting, I'd be up for helping :)

At about 5:00am this morning, I thought it would be a good idea to download an unlimited resources mod. Bad move, as I spent a lot more time just planning and testing stuff and am wrecked this morning. :o

I can get a server for us if you want, Australian hosted too. Did a survival island play through with an Mate, while speaking through skype, he should be happy to do it, if not I will host it being I have the PC requirements to do it.

Playing with this now. Ridiculous how quickly it ate up an hour of time...

Though at the end of every night there is a spider waiting to smash me...

Sorry i have no idea how to do that