Minson offensive comments

Have a look at Lucy's Facebook page. It's almost impossible to disassociate any of the Corneses from each other on this one when they're posting in support of each other. Gotta admit, I feel for Kane atm - probably the last thing he needed this week.

I've seen it but if you want to think they all share one brain then you are not being smart at all. What did you expect to see on her FB anyway. It's basically the Cornes and pearce extended family saying Will Minson is despicable (sp) - and they all have their reasons to say that.

This is just the oddest thread, people are so offended by people being offended that it's a hypoctirical circle of offence.

How many blokes in the AFL would be hoping to come up against Pearce and Port Adelaide in a final. What a bunch of pathetic sooks no wonder why we spanked you in the contested ball last week, imagine someone said this Joel Selwood or Jordan Lewis, they would just laugh and probably got twice as hard at the person in the next contested ball and hurt them back that way, then shake their hands after the game. That is why pearce is soft and outside player and always will be. Just laughable all this stuff football is becoming softer than netball.

This is just the oddest thread, people are so offended by people being offended that it's a hypoctirical circle of offence.

It's not odd at all. In fact, it's your bog-standard BigFooty thread. Team A (whose player is in wrong) thinks it's all a beatup. Team B (whose player was offended) thinks it's not harsh enough. Everyone else is in the middle.

..What a bunch of pathetic sooks ...

Aside from the fact that the AFL initiated the investigation, not Pearce or Port Adelaide, I did notice Minson was moved to tears today when asked what impact it would have on his reputation.

It's not odd at all. In fact, it's your bog-standard BigFooty thread. Team A (whose player is in wrong) thinks it's all a beatup. Team B (whose player was offended) thinks it's not harsh enough. Everyone else is in the middle.

I think it was pretty much harsh enough. I'd have settled for a fine, or even just a super embarrassing public apology by itself. I don't think it was worth a game.

The main thing for me is that Minson can't hold his head up and make any claims on being a decent bloke in the footy world. He's now a multiple offender when it comes to going to far with his comments. I don't care how high his TER was or how good he is with a saxophone. He will be remembered as a w***er.

At least a guy like Ballantyne doesn't claim to be one thing when he's another.

Pretty much correct. Don't really care about sanctions for Minson. I Don't really know what people want Pearce to do about it. Not let the AFL start an investigation? Take Minson's phone calls?

I thought Pearce's statement was quite good. Talked about actions being important and moving on from it.

Now I'm heading over to Twitter to see if old Loosey is happy she got her target.

Pretty much correct. Don't really care about sanctions for Minson. I Don't really know what people want Pearce to do about it. Not let the AFL start an investigation? Take Minson's phone calls?
Tell the corners to pull their heads in and stop being such a soft sook over a mum sledge.

Aside from the fact that the AFL initiated the investigation, not Pearce or Port Adelaide, I did notice Minson was moved to tears today when asked what impact it would have on his reputation.
Lol if that wasn't the biggest staged press conference with him dribbling the same crap that they always do "i'm sorry to have offended anyone, i accept responsibility for my actions"...blah blah then i'll eat my hat. Further Pearce did raise it with the umpire at the time and he is happy to keep complaining to the press http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/138962/default.aspx so he is hardly sitting back and saying let it stay on the field. The funniest part was the article with leading up to the game with Surjan coming out and saying the bulldogs won't bully port. http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/138605/default.aspx. haha way to show you won't stand being bullied by crying at some sledging.

Happened 5 years ago. Minson has apologised for it. He wouldn't have done it again, so it would be about something else.
Apparently said something about Pearce's mother.
Army boots?

This has gone into completely overboard. Lucy Cornes bringing up a previous and unrelated incident and then being disappointed that it has resurfaced is idiotic.

I've had the pleasure of interviewing Will Minson. He is a great person. There is no way that this represents his character. Big Wilbur does many great things. The outcry over a silly sledge said on a football field is amazing.

Please. Tell me more about the "circumstances" that make what Minson said unforgivable and why Charlie Sutton (who epitomised mental toughness) would be embarrassed?

Happily champ. Charlie Sutton was an absolute gentleman, had more honour and integrity in his little finger than Minson will ever have, and would never have stooped so low as to sledge a guy based on his sick kid. Clear enough for you.

I thought I'd pop in again to see exactly how this thread could still be going, when I was bombarded with some absolute gems from PrideOf.

Here are my favourites:

- Because Graham Cornes said that Montgomery's sledge on Ramanauskas in 2004 was "quite witty", apparently the ENTIRE CORNES FAMILY thinks cancer is funny! (I still can't get my head around this one)

- When called on this, PrideOf said "Just look at Lucy's Facebook page!" where cancer is not mentioned once. But it's obvious proof that the ENTIRE CORNES FAMILY thinks cancer is funny.

Also, I didn't mind Ron The Bear popping in and using a quote COMPLETELY out of context ("[Pearce] said it reminded him of former St Kilda star Nicky Winmar's stand against racism."). This was from Danyle's father, but don't let that get in the way of...

Simon garlick said " the club will not tolerate the use of inappropriate and offensive comments, especially in regards to women.''
What if Will Minson had told Pearce he had done the deed with his father? Would that be viewed in a more favourable light by the Bulldogs?

Pearce is, was and always will be a pea-heart.
He was happy enough to sledge Minson until Minson hit a nerve, then he sooked.
I assume Pearce will never sledge any player who misses an easy kick for goal in case it upsets him?

Simon garlick said " the club will not tolerate the use of inappropriate and offensive comments, especially in regards to women.''
What if Will Minson had told Pearce he had done the deed with his father? Would that be viewed in a more favourable light by the Bulldogs?

Not going to debate it's merits however attacks on women will always carry more weight then on men. I.e I don't think Corne's comments on Will and his former team mate Hugh's deceased Dad, caused anyone to bat an eyelid?

Welcome back Bernie. The place has missed you. :rolleyes:

Way to rewrite what was actually posted. Classic strawman argument to drop the cancer/Cornes family thing into it. And then you have a crack at someone else for quoting you out of context.

Gold.

Pearce is, was and always will be a pea-heart.
He was happy enough to sledge Minson until Minson hit a nerve, then he sooked.
I assume Pearce will never sledge any player who misses an easy kick for goal in case it upsets him?

Is this really your thought process?

This has gone into completely overboard. Lucy Cornes bringing up a previous and unrelated incident and then being disappointed that it has resurfaced is idiotic.

You should have heard the start of the 5AA sports show. I tuned in to see what Grandpa would say - first time I've listened in years.

Stephen Rowe (playing the role of the moron): "This has got nothing to do with Lucy Cornes."

Grandpa Cornes: "Will Minson has really suffered since the story leaked out onto social media and now everyone's having a say."

Wow.

Political correctness gone mad.

Its a sporting a arena for gods sake. Players say things to get in their opponents heads, and get a competitive advantage. It has been happening since the day sport was invented.

The AFL , Port Adelaide and Danyle Pearce should all be ashamed of how they have approached this.

I feel bad for Will Minson, and it makes me sick to see him absolutely hammered by all those moral tossers out there in the media who are towing the PC line to make themselves look like angels.

Welcome back Bernie. The place has missed you. :rolleyes:

Way to rewrite what was actually posted. Classic strawman argument to drop the cancer/Cornes family thing into it. And then you have a crack at someone else for quoting you out of context.

Gold.

I apologise - I believed all of the posts to be yours, when it turns out one wasn't. But you DID defend that post, thereby making me assume that you thought it had merit. Here are direct quotes from the previous page, if you think I'm taking something out of context:

Actually champ, it is related. Grandpa Cornes weighed in yesterday with his high-horse opinion that Minson was a disgrace for what he said.

What did happen in 2004 - and I'm the one who bumped that post - is when Ramanauskas was sledged by Montgomery that 'the chemo had gone to his head', Grandpa Cornes thought it was 'quite witty'.

I thought Cornes' comments back then were off, they're just made worse when he decided to saddle up the high horse when his family is involved.

Of course I did.

After which, Graham Cornes decided that he found the comments "quite funny".

Which is a fair way removed from his weighing in yesterday with "what Minson said yesterday was in no way acceptable".

Thus, from this we can establish that the Cornes family sees cancer and chemotherapy as a laughing matter, but draw the line at abusing someone's mother.

Have a look at Lucy's Facebook page. It's almost impossible to disassociate any of the Corneses from each other on this one when they're posting in support of each other. Gotta admit, I feel for Kane atm - probably the last thing he needed this week.

Minson offensive comments