Minson offensive comments

Imagine Danyle Pearce had to spend a week in Cameron Ling's body. He'd cry himself to sleep every night.

This whole incident is a complete and utter farce, fuelled by the media's feigned indignation, pandering to women and PC social engineers. Embarrassing to every man who has ever played the game at any meaningful competitive level.

he also said he didnt mind a bit of lip on the field. it seems players are happy to dish it out but cant take it when its given back.

You are sounding like Glenn McGrath - Handed out the most vile sledging to his opponents - And cried like a baby when he received it back with interest.

What did make the MRP decide to investigate then? If an umpire had heard the comment and it was as Pearce suggested, then Minson would have been brought before the tribunal and he would have been given a hell of a lot longer than the 1 week the club gave him. The other alternative is that Minson reported himself.

The MRP doesn't have the right to investigate vilification type issues on players. Any issues invoving the umpires go straight to the tribunal. I'm not sure if this type of issue falls under the "any other act of serious misconduct" which goes straight to the tribunal or falls under some other AFL rule.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/138857/default.aspx

THE AFL wishes to advise the Match Review Panel has reviewed the weekend's matches. The following charges were laid. Please note, the AFL is continuing to investigate a matter from yesterday's match at Etihad Stadium involving comments from Western Bulldogs' player Will Minson to Port Adelaide's Danyle Pearce:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/138857/default.aspx

From the Tribunal booklet

Table of Offences – Demerit Points
Reportable Offence Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Level 4 Level 5

Striking .....................80 .....125 ....225......... 325...... 425

Any other act of serious misconduct --------------------------- TRIBUNAL
Misconduct (spitting on another person) -------------------------- TRIBUNAL
Intentional contact with umpire ------------------------------------TRIBUNAL
Striking or attempting to strike or spitting at or on an umpire --TRIBUNAL
Behaving in an abusive, insulting, threatening or obscene manner
towards or in relation to an umpire -------------------------------- TRIBUNAL

Australia doesn't have a great history of white men and black woman. In the bush there are thousands of examples of white men having their way with aboriginal women and nothing being done about it.

Whilst what Minson said wasn't racist - a white bloke saying he is going to *******e a black woman does have plenty of racial overtones to an aboriginal.

I reckon this is a good post by passion1930 in the last hour on the Port board.

I also listened to Thomas [Port CEO on 5AA interview this arvo - he was in the studio] and he said something along the lines that Pearce went to Rhode worried about the on field fighting and wanted to explain what took place. Rhode then went to umpires and was told it was already being dealt with. Pearce's motive for going to Rhode was not to complain about the verbal stoush but more to justify the physical fighting. However, obviously he was extremely offended by the comments .

The fact Minson said a few times that he held down Pearce's mother for twenty then thirty minutes and did certain things to her may hit closer to home being Aboriginal with the high level of domestic violence and rape against Aboriginal women. Thomas said several times that you had to understand the context. The majority of us who are not in the know, will have to accept those in the know. Aker says he got what was said from Minson but Minson initially lied to the AFL investigators so he probably lied to Aker.

Danyle did not just take it, in fact he somehow threw Minson to the ground despite the difference in size. Danyle went on to be involved in the next two scores with a great delivery to Ebert ( who got cramp) I don't think it did affect his game after and he was certainly one of our best players on the day despite a heavy tag.

Give Pearce a break.

Australia doesn't have a great history of white men and black woman. In the bush there are thousands of examples of white men having their way with aboriginal women and nothing being done about it.
Whilst what Minson said wasn't racist - a white bloke saying he is going to *******e a black woman does have plenty of racial overtones to an aboriginal.

Without wanting to turn this into a racial shitfight I have no doubt that Aboriginal women are high sufferers or physical and sexual abuse in this country. It is not really the "white men" who are playing the major part in that unfortunate situation though.

I'd actually side with Jim on this one. I played footy from the mid 70s to around the mid 90s for a rough club in a pretty thuggish league and never heard that sort of sledging, not that it would have particularly worried me. A lot of my team mates would have feigned outrage just to give them an excuse to belt the shite out of someone.

Did anyone see Mark McClure pull Robbo up on this tonight? Was good to see Robbo mumbling after he got caught out, flog!

While I acknowledge Australia's very poor history of race relations, I think it's drawing a long bow to link Minson's comments to racism.

In this country, if the racism bow can be drawn, it will. Regardless of how long it may be.

If what Minson said what Tripl M told me he said , then this is the softest thing I have seen in a while.

Seriously harden up, Pearce is just being a sook.

Doesn't surprise me that Minson is like this. Saw him in a pub a couple of years ago and there was some girls in there that were insulted by something he had said to them, I ended up having a word to him and telling him it wasn't on and then he proceeded to tell me how he was an AFL player etc.

I call bullshit on this :thumbsdown: I've met Will on a few occasions, both social and football related and he's one of the most humble, gentle and personable I've come across. Didn't know me from a bar of sh!t the first time, and took 10min away from Ben Hudson and a few of their friends to talk shop at Cookie one night.

He's a quality bloke that has a severe case of white line fever. I love the way he plays with such emotion. :thumbsu:

Got half way through and couldn't take it anymore.

1. If, and I have heard nothing to the contrary to make me think otherwise, Will Minson told Chad that he should be at home with his sick child and not playing footy, that in no way constitutes an attack, verbal or otherwise on a sick child. It is a direct attack on the parenting credentials of Chad Cornes. In no way could that be construed in any other way. Whilst the Cornes' may have been upset at the comment, to vilify Minson as some sort of child hater is unfounded and misplaced, and in all honesty, probably libelous and slanderous.

2. Taking note of point 1, Lucy Cornes should, as has been pointed out, withdraw from commenting on the latest issue, because she is doing the exact thing she is criticising Will Minson for, sledging. Something about people who live in glass houses, as well as two wrongs not making a right.

3. Whilst the football field is a workplace, it differs from a typical one in many ways, the most obvious being that the workplace is adversarial. Their employers demand and expect that they approach the contest as aggressively as possible, which includes members of the football club, (i.e. us) who directly contribute to the players wages. As such, it is reasonable to expect that in a highly stressed and emotionally charged situation, things will be said and done that may not be seen as acceptable in a normal workplace. This is no different to a police officer shooting someone in the heat of the moment. This is unacceptable behaviour in any normal workplace, but depending on the circumstances, expected and endorsed in a police officers workplace.

4. If Will Minson did in any way mention forcing Pearce's mother into sexual service, that is totally unacceptable, and in any workplace, would at a minimum involve censure and attendance at counseling, through to dismissal. This again however is dependent on the where, how and why the comment was made.

5. If Minson simply said, I had sex with your mum last night, that implies consensual sex between two adults, and whilst Pearce may have found that offensive, there really is nothing wrong in law about the comment, unless it could be proven that it had in fact not happened, at which point in time the circumstances surrounding the comment would be examined and a determination made from there.

6. There are a lot of people out there that have no real idea about how the law applies in this situation, and simply wish to apply their morals and attitudes to the situation.

7. As for sledging, it has been an accepted practice on every sporting field in the world for as long as sport has been played. It is about destroying the concentration of your opponent to gain an advantage. In Minson's case, it obviously had the desired effect. By reacting the way he has, Pearce will now find he is the target of a much more concerted verbal attack from both opponents and fans alike. That will have one of two results, either he will learn to live with it, or it will drive him from the game.

8. For those labelling the posters saying that what happens on the field stays on the field as Neanderthals, and misogynists (how many here even know what it actually means?), there was a reason why this attitude evolved. If you reacted to those sorts of comments, you were forever labelled by your opponents as an easy mark, and essentially, your career was half over, because you would end up being targeted by every opponent. Regardless of what was said, you didn't react. Even today, there are still legal ways to sort out someone who has offended you on a football field, either physically or mentally, without the need to create the current situation. You also knew that 99 times out of 100, what was said had no malice behind it, it was simply a ploy to distract you. That 1 time in a 100 when it wasn't , generally ended up with someone bleeding due to an unfortunate collision.

Oh, in case you are wondering, I have worked in HR and dealt with many situations like this. Something along the lines of a determination being made by "A reasonable person given a clear understanding of the circumstances surrounding the incident".

Anyway, that's my two cents worth.

I call bullshit on this :thumbsdown: I've met Will on a few occasions, both social and football related and he's one of the most humble, gentle and personable I've come across. Didn't know me from a bar of sh!t the first time, and took 10min away from Ben Hudson and a few of their friends to talk shop at Cookie one night.
Are you male or female?

It's becoming clear that Minson is a dog of a bloke. I thought my experience with him might have been a one off and that he had just had a few too many beers. Glad I said what I said to him because he is a gutless prick.

Rightio, now that everything has become so 'clear' to you, can you please refer to everyone else's personal negative experience with Will to bolster your own narcissistic self righteous claims of Will being a "dog of a bloke" & a "gutless prick"....

Happy if you just refer to post numbers, but quotes would be appreciated :rolleyes:

Seen but not heard supermod, u mad?

p.s. take it to the bay

Gen Y text speak irritates but doesn't make me mad.

P.s. Your welcome to 'like' posts again on the Bulldogs board, that contradict your viewpoints anytime :thumbsu:

Are you seriously accusing Minson of being sexist now? :rolleyes:

It would appear he is quite the long bowman

Minson offensive comments