Toast Mitch Robinson

LAKERS|STORM|BULLANTS
I stood up out of my chair and cheered for Robbo yesterday when he got knocked out in the 50 and kicked his goal. This kid is gonna be a star, mark my words. His intensity and fearlessness are a HUGE asset to the CFC and it's so good that Rats is pulling him off every once and a while to try and help him focus his game more. I'm so excited to see how he stands up and develops come September and going into next year with a bucket load of confidence.
Heres to you, Mr Robinson!

show_image.php

Im convinced he is actually one of the most important players in the team. Yes, he is rough around the edges, but he is always working his butt off, applying pressure and thats what we need cause alot of our better players can tend to drift in and out of the game. He along with Joseph and Setanta are the 3 blokes regardless of the position of the game, are putting there bodies on the line 100% and i am convinced for us to play at our best, these 3 must be played week in and week out!!

He's in major need of a few pre-seasons to build core strength & endurance, and must learn to steady before kicking, but he's going to be OK. He has a tendency to lairise instead of concentrating on the basics, but the coaches will soon knock that out of him.

When he's stronger I'd love to see him at the ruckman's feet where Ratts used to put himself. He has the uncanny reflexes which could make him the competition's elite inside on-baller.

When he improves his disposal and decision making a bit to go with his courage and general insanity at the ball he is going to be great. Smashed some contests yesterday and i love the kid.

can't believe this stuff, Robinson was ok yesterday, but he is not in our best 22. his a dumb footballer atm, not to mention he falls over more then fisher. the grunt and hardness his got is great but not when he continually over commits in the contest or going for tackles it doesn't help the side. don't get me wrong i reckon he'll have a spot in the team in the future.

ps- last thing he needs is more confidence he already thinks his a star. which he's not.

yeah dont know where this is all coming from. Didnt do much yesterday and to say he is one of our most important players (blueboys11) is rediculous. He does some good things, dumb things. Just your typical first year player.

Will be one of the first changes if we decide to make any.

The extroverted persona, the confidence, the energy, the desire to take on the opposition.

Personally, I see a lot of Aker in Robbo.

Oh you mean more personality wise, I see what you mean. Aker probably comes off as more intelligent and less like he has ADD. :D

Football wise I do not see it. Aker is quick, skillful and just mercurial. Where as Robbo is hard as nails and will be more of an inside midfielder (although he showed great skill in the championships).

yeah dont know where this is all coming from. Didnt do much yesterday and to say he is one of our most important players (blueboys11) is rediculous. He does some good things, dumb things. Just your typical first year player.

I think it's the fact that he just throws his body in there without regard for his own well being. His hardness at the contest is quite astounding for a first year player. I wouldn't say he was great yesterday but he showed signs that he will be a good player.

I want the club to develop him into a tough inside midfielder as his skills can be quite good (can also be poor at times). The tools are there, we just need to use them. I see him as a Kirk type player who isn't that flashy with the ball but averages that 6-10 tackles per game along with a bunch of contested possessions.

I know his nickname is Addsy, but ever time I see him throw himself into the play with his skinny frame I just think of Ken Hunter. I think Mitch Robinson may become known as 'God', as he needs a touch of Hunter's immortality to play with that level of courage.

Agree, he could become the inside mid we need so badly.

and must learn to steady before kicking, but he's going to be OK. He has a tendency to lairise instead of concentrating on the basics, but the coaches will soon knock that out of him.
I think partly he looks rushed everytime he gets the ball.....whether he feels the pressure or whether its just his brain moving too quick for his body to keep up.

Composure I think is the word......as you say, he just needs to learn to steady, get composed and execute.

If he can get his skills up on this area, and stay focussed for the full 4 Q's we have a ripper on our hands.
Will provide some much needed hardness around the packs.......and when his body can do what his brain wants it to he is going to inflict some serious damage (legally)........to himself and those brave enough to cross his path.

A bit like Alex Rance but not as careless (Robbo can use his shoulder as well as his head :D) and twice the footballer. :thumbsu:

He adds intensity to our side... We bring intensity to our game we win... simple... Mitch Robinson through his actions helps lift the intensity of everyone around him. Its not what he does, its the mindset he brings to the team which is most important!

He worried Port about going in and getting the ball last night, saw him absolutely go in hard as nails, get crunched, get straight back up.

A good first season for #40 Robinson.
Can you believe that the polls board have him listed amongst the worst draftees :confused:

He reminds me of Liberatore more than anyone else.
He will succeed because he has already made his mind up, he will.

He fears nothing and will lift team-mates with his desire.
If he gets on well with his fellow players they will bleed that little extra for him as well.

Robinson: An ASSET

Actually I can, the quality of posts on the polls board is up there with bay 13 ;)

love the aggression this kid has on the footy
people who are saying he did nothing yesterday get effed
he didnt get a heap of the ball, but he was creating contests
he goes to the ground because he dives after the ball to create a contest geez
hes not a brad fisher who falls to ground coz he cant apply pressure

I tell you what I would hate to be a opposition player with Mitch on the rampage, after a couple of good pre seasons he is going to be scary. I think like has been mentioned he is going to be the hard as bricks outhouse, enforcer for us. Scary thing is that he has ADD and it was funny yesterday when he was trying to rub his head and stand on the mark, he wasn't sure which came first lol. Love the kid wasn't too sure about him, but after the NAB cub and first few rounds I was sold on this kid. With more experience and confidence his skills will improve as well, we have a good one here. :thumbsu:

I stood up out of my chair and cheered for Robbo yesterday when he got knocked out in the 50 and kicked his goal. This kid is gonna be a star, mark my words. His intensity and fearlessness are a HUGE asset to the CFC and it's so good that Rats is pulling him off every once and a while to try and help him focus his game more. I'm so excited to see how he stands up and develops come September and going into next year with a bucket load of confidence.
Heres to you, Mr Robinson!

Dunno about you, but i'd think that'd make it a bit more difficult to focus!

^^ composure etc etc.. lol you know what i mean.

mitch doubters will be on the bandwagon in a few years time (ala JR)
and whoever compared him to fish is a douche. fish falls over because he is slow tired and clumsy. mitch falls over because he throws himself at tackles and puts in some effort/pressure.

Robbo's had a good first year. He's had a taste now and has shown enough to suggest he'll be around for a while.

But he shouldn't be ahead of a Grigg or a Browne at this stage of their respective developments. Those two are both 3rd year players and their composure and experience are better suited to September at this stage.

For mine, it's either Grigg for Robbo or Austin for Robbo. That's the side we should settle on for the finals.

He adds intensity to our side... We bring intensity to our game we win... simple... Mitch Robinson through his actions helps lift the intensity of everyone around him. Its not what he does, its the mindset he brings to the team which is most important!

:thumbsu:

Get him strong so his tackles and bumps are hurting the opposition and they'll be terrified when they see him lining up.