Mitch Thorp

May have been told to in an attempt to get Joel Mac and Thorpe.

Surely Thorp is a better chance to last till 50.
You'd think so.

I agree with Demon Revival that there are still a fair few reasons for this but your suggestion (like his) are both plausible given the situation.

Seriously doubt Thorp would last till #50, especially with Geelong having a bunch of picks in the 40's and Mooney being near the end and shit.

Wouldn't be surprised to see North snapping him up with #41 or Carlton with #43 or even Richmond with #44.

I see it as an impossibility of getting him at #50, if we want him it will cost us #34 which I wouldn't mind.

Seriously doubt Thorp would last till #50, especially with Geelong having a bunch of picks in the 40's and Mooney being near the end and shit.

Wouldn't be surprised to see North snapping him up with #41 or Carlton with #43 or even Richmond with #44.

I see it as an impossibility of getting him at #50, if we want him it will cost us #34 which I wouldn't mind.

That being the case I see us taking Vardy :mad: at 18 ILO Ball or Griffiths. If of course we are at all keen.

I would.

I would hate to take more then one recycled player. 1,2,11,18,34 must be used on kids.

50 and PSD is for a project kid like a Daw and a Mcdonald or a Thorpe.

Thorpe could've skipped ND and gone straight to the PSD. Tells me MFC aren't convinced and definietly didn't offer a guarantee. Mcdonald has. hmmm.

I would.

I would hate to take more then one recycled player. 1,2,11,18,34 must be used on kids.

50 and PSD is for a project kid like a Daw and a Mcdonald or a Thorpe.

Thorpe could've skipped ND and gone straight to the PSD. Tells me MFC aren't convinced and definietly didn't offer a guarantee. Mcdonald has. hmmm.
I completely agree.

The other factor to consider is that some teams don't even get their first picks untill the 30s and there is no way they will speculate on a player who was paid out to be booted - they will go for kids first.

I think given the situation MFC are doing the right thing here, if they consider Thorp worth a punt then using 50 on him is around the mark. I doubt other clubs would have even been keeping an eye on him, Hawthorn couldn't trade him and he went straight to Melbourne for training which (sadly) suggests he wasn't that popular. If someone else picks him before 50 then we just move on - I doubt we would base 11 and 18 around Thorp anyway so we will still get a forward or two.

Still not convinced about his big ego.

16.jpg

Still not convinced about his big ego.
Neither am I. Not to say that he can't/won't improve but it is yet another factor we have to put our faith in the club to decide. Bailey has stated a fair bit that the way players conduct themselves off field at the club is important to their recruitment. I'll go with the club rather than just call out Thorp's name without knowing all the circumstances.

Bit stupid to comment on his ego without seeing him first hand, for all we know after getting delisted by the Hawks he may have put his head down and realised his problem.

Exactly second hand knowledge has been hyped up a bit here.

Ummm, the fact he was booted out of the club by Hawthorn (under contract) because he was a twat is actually first hand knowledge. It would be majorly naive to think that a player would just turn around their whole attitude over a couple of weeks when they have carried it since 2006. Surely it is not over the top to make the point that we have to trust the club's judgement rather than just assume he is a more viable option than any other delisted players. I hope Thorp is a viable option because we could definitely use him.

Ummmm, you mean something some journo told you?

I know for a fact(not what some jouno wrote!), that in his VFL days with Tassie he was not short on confidence. But where he is at now could be very different.

Thorp may of made the choice himself to go to draft prior to training with Melbourne, all this is unknown.

But where he is at now could be very different.
Where he is at is "delisted".

Thorp may of made the choice himself to go to draft prior to training with Melbourne, all this is unknown.
I agree it is unknown, just as much as MFC's position on Thorp. We simply don't know. How hard a concept is it to grasp that I am willing to go with the club on this than just assume everything is peachy. I never said that Thorp is a bad option or that he won't be viable for us (I said I hope he is) just that I'd rather wait and see what the club does rather than worry that we aren't apparently getting him in the PSD.

Where he is at is "delisted".

I agree it is unknown, just as much as MFC's position on Thorp. We simply don't know. How hard a concept is it to grasp that I am willing to go with the club on this than just assume everything is peachy. I never said that Thorp is a bad option or that he won't be viable for us (I said I hope he is) just that I'd rather wait and see what the club does rather than worry that we aren't apparently getting him in the PSD.

Then I think we are on the same track here, just side tracked with semantics. I doubt everything is "peachy" and no doubt he would still have work to do. All I know is that he went from being a big fish in a small pond in Tassie to a small fish in a large pond. His development may of been hurt by having Roughead and Franklin as the key targets, no doubt the injuries played their part too.

I would like to have him at Melbourne, as long as his injuries allow.

Thorp was always intent on entering the national draft after his delisting. At this current point in time he would love to become a demon, but doesn't think its anywhere near a sure thing. His focus is on proving his wares at pre-season training in the 'hope' of being picked up, not the assurance of it.

Most likely, we would have told Thorp we're taking Joel MacDonald in the PSD, and the only way Melbourne could snare Thorp aswell was for him to enter the National Draft. Melbourne would be planning to get both, if the Joel MacDonald theory is in fact correct.

Thorp was always intent on entering the national draft after his delisting. At this current point in time he would love to become a demon, but doesn't think its anywhere near a sure thing. His focus is on proving his wares at pre-season training in the 'hope' of being picked up, not the assurance of it.

Good point. Thanks OEPie:thumbsu:

Demons would be his club of choice as we are on the improve, and still lack a second KPF.

thorp has all the talent in the world, no dedication though. He is basically where fevola was at the start of his career.

He came back on fire, looked set to dominate next yr, and was delisted for no reason, so something he said or did really got on the wrong side of the club.

thorp has all the talent in the world, no dedication though. He is basically where fevola was at the start of his career.

He came back on fire, looked set to dominate next yr, and was delisted for no reason, so something he said or did really got on the wrong side of the club.

In his own words he was delisted because they "didn't have a spot for him and they didn't think he was good enough"

Do you think he's capable of pulling his head in and getting his body right?
I put this question to you as you have always had reliable info regarding Thorp.
I hope the Dees take him and he lives up to his potential, he was certainly a player I was looking forward to seeing develop at Hawthorn.

Do you think he's capable of pulling his head in and getting his body right?
I put this question to you as you have always had reliable info regarding Thorp.
I hope the Dees take him and he lives up to his potential, he was certainly a player I was looking forward to seeing develop at Hawthorn.

He definitely seems to be far more grounded and motivated, which is why his delisting came as a shock to me. In regards to his body I can only hope that the time off and subsequent surgeries have corrected any lingering problems he may have had.

If he was to get another shot at AFL level I reckon he could definitely make a good fist of it. In hindsight the departure from Hawthorn could be a blessing in disguise as I'm not convinced he was happy there.

Would much rather take a punt on Jesse Smith over Thorp

Jess Smith's body may never allow him to play footy again. And as good as he could be, we are not exactly short of running back pockets/flankers. Que: Bennell, Strauss, Chenney, Bell. Even Cam Bruce played that sweeping role across half-back a bit last year.

Thorp could potentially fill a masive whole that we have in our team. I know who I'd be looking at.