Mitcham

I love how people who live in these outer suburbs hang sh*t on suburbs literally a kilometer further out.

Mitcham is a pretty good suburb, you ever been there? It's nothing like Ringwood

ok, m8.

yep, my favourite from "Shit Claremont People Say"

"I was taking a nice walk through Peppermint Grove and took a wrong turn. Discretely slipped the Rolex off, as I realised I was in Mosman Park"

yep, my favourite from "Shit Claremont People Say"

"I was taking a nice walk through Peppermint Grove and took a wrong turn. Discretely slipped the Rolex off, as I realised I was in Mosman Park"
When I first moved to Perth I lived in Westminster, glad it had the highway separating it from Balga, made it such a better place to live :$

a good mate lives up that way and the in joke is changing the sign coming off the free way "turn left - lucky you" and "turn right - are you sure"

Mitcham used to have a lacrosse club - it was a fair trip across the city from Williamstown those days. Lived in Box Hill for a while, and often passed through Mitcham on the way to Eastland. Like Box Hill, pretty nondescript suburb for mine.

Friend and his fiance live in Mitcham so I've been quite a few times. Seems like a very normal suburb. Not too interesting but not shit. Some biggish homes but some subdivided stuff for the not rolling in it. Got filled out decades ago so not full of utterly shit, cheaply built homes like real outer suburbs built in the last 20 years. Pub is crap but every pokie pub in Australia is crap.

At the same time do you want to live in middle suburbia forever? Australia and Melbourne especially will have a generation of people born in the middle to outer rings and who are lucky to keep it that way.

Probably hard to get out once you're in, especially if you don't want to rent. I grew up in the outer east and now rent in Abbotsford while all my friends have bought in Pakenham and Officer.

In Mitcham, Victoria for a few days and have already had a deranged woman try to steal my shopping, 6 separate drivers get out and fight at the supermarket, a cabbie try to swindle me and cut across multiple turning lanes and there is literally garbage everywhere.

What is the go?

That's the mark of a campaigner of an area, good entertainment though.

Why not? Since there is a freeway entrance on Springvale Road and with the incoming North East Link - which will either connect at Bulleen or Ringwood - and proposed Doncaster train line (also not far from Mitcham), it's going to be a piece of cake to get anywhere from Mitcham.

For people that don't want to go out five nights a week, I'm not sure what else it needs to get the coveted Big Footy seal of approval. Lots of schools, lots of restaurants, lots of shops (two major shopping centres within about a 10 minute drive - close, but not too close), parkland and recreation reserves (not to mention sporting clubs), great access to public transport and a freeway, easy access to Deakin, Swinburne, Monash and the city universities. I imagine the crime rate would be pretty low as well.

It's not great if you want a lot of hustle and bustle, but I think it's fair to say that's not a huge priority for most people outside the 18-30 age group and/or anyone with children. It seems like a cost effective option if you can't afford Blackburn, really.

It would be interesting to find out what Big Footy thinks are the decent suburbs that are more than 15km from the CBD.

Middle suburbs are in because not everybody is able or willing to pay $1,000,000 to live in a house they can raise 2-3 kids in.

I think you'd be pretty lucky to get four bedrooms in Mitcham (or Ringwood, for that matter) for under $1 million.

The Mullum creek/Yarran Dheran area of Mitcham (Deep Creek road, Antonio Park, Schwerkolt's cottage part for those who know the area) falls into that category.

No houses in that neck of the woods go for under a million. The majority of them are over 40 years old, double brick and large blocks of land.

The OP was there on a bad day I'd suggest. Other than a siege in a lawyer's office in the main shopping strip on Whitehorse road around 20 years ago it's pretty quiet.

You're a flog! :p Kidding.

Out of curiosity what is that you don't like about it?

I dont like outer suburbs as the further out you go the more you have to drive to get anything or go anywhere.

Well, yes, assuming that everything that you need to get and go to is in the CBD. For most people that's not the case and they make do with the local shops and amenities that are within about a 10-15 minute drive of where they live, for the most part.

What's the big pull of going to the CBD, besides work? I have little doubt that over the next 10 or so years, flexible work and hot desking will become the norm, meaning people will spend less and less time travelling for work.

Well, yes, assuming that everything that you need to get and go to is in the CBD. For most people that's not the case and they make do with the local shops and amenities that are within about a 10-15 minute drive of where they live, for the most part.

What's the big pull of going to the CBD, besides work? I have little doubt that over the next 10 or so years, flexible work and hot desking will become the norm, meaning people will spend less and less time travelling for work.

This what I'm talking about. Not travelling to the CBD.

Yeah I don't see the big pull of the city unless you work in there. My job is out in the suburbs, my local footy club is out in the suburbs, most of my friends and family live out in the suburbs and I'm still only 30 minutes from the CBD if I want to go the footy, have a night out or do anything else irregularly. Granted I'm only young so things may change but it just doesn't do much for me.

My 90 year old nanna lived in a public unit there. Got broken into a few times.

This what I'm talking about. Not travelling to the CBD.

I'm the same as Catfish Alley. If I didn't work in the city (and with a couple of young kids, I currently work one day from home and may push for more), or maybe the odd game at Etihad (doesn't really count), I'd go to the city a handful of times in a year.

I grew up in the outer East and I'm North East now. It's about an hour door-to-door from home and my office, 40 minutes from my door to the MCG by train (roughly the same by car to the G, depending on the time of day). I have a second tier shopping centre (cinemas, clothing stores, supermarkets Rebel Sport, K-Mart/Target...that sort of thing) a five minute drive away, numerous playgrounds and open spaces where my oldest can ride her bike or scooter, no shortage of places to have a pint and a counter meal within close proximity (albeit more your RSL type spots than somewhere to pick-up) close to relatives, ample space and a large backyard for the dogs to run around in. Now, if I wanted something similar within 8km of the city, I'd want to have a couple of million spare. But it's not that important for me to be close to the city, certainly not as much as it would have been 8-10 years ago. I have everything that I need out here.

So, that's sort of how I feel when these kind of subjects come up from time to time and people who are apparently years off entering the home buyers market give their opinions of what is and isn't a shithole. They've been to the station, or they've ducked in to the Coles to get some bread and milk, or they've played footy at the ground and had mean things said to them over the fence. That's not an accurate overview.

I'm not even sure that I'm qualified to give an opinion on Mitcham and I grew up about 5-6km from there, been to a few parks, been to the bowls club and know of all the places that JCVD mentioned earlier. I will say that it seems like an pretty quiet place without much trouble, with a station in the middle of the town (maybe 30-35 minutes to Flinders Street, if you get an express train?) and on the doorstep of the Eastern Freeway. I'm not really sure how people could have a major problem with what it offers. Yes, you'll get the standard station hangers, but if the trade-off is not having a station, I'll roll the dice with the terrifying Mitcham station and back myself to make it out alive.

Do the people that feel so qualified to judge the merits of a townhouse in Mitcham against the shoebox that they live in on the doorstep of the city have young kids? Do they have pets? Do they even have a significant other? It's different strokes for different folks, you see.

Mitcham