List Mgmt. Morabito delisted

• Thread starter Thread starter DaveLister

I'd probably say the saddest stories in our club history are the ones we don't know about, that or the death of a former player. FFS the kid made about $300,000 a year for six-odd years. He was paid to be hard-working, diligent, and tough – many people have to exert those traits for $18 an hour, or with kids and a mortgage. There are people with harder stories, worse things, this guy was a footballer and will now return to being a pretty healthy man – his knee is buggered but he's still fitter everywhere else than any of us would be.

It is a disappointment he couldn't be the player he should have become. But miracles don't really happen that much. It would be a joy if he was out there being an absolute machine for us, crashing packs and kicking goals like he did against the Hawks every weekend, but it wasn't to be and we move on. It's just footy. The bloke isn't dead.

$300k a year for 7 years? I don't know any 1st or 2nd year players earning anywhere near that. Then the last two years he has been on the rookie list, so that's 4 years on say $120k, so you think the club is paying $300k a season during 2012-2015 with him only getting 3 match payments that entire time?

That's beside the point in any case, money is only one part of it, the sad part from a football perspective is we never saw him reach his full potential, setback after setback. No it isn't a death, but in a pure football sense I can't think of a sadder story at our club.

A few finals wins at Peel would've been a nice way to go out but even then he couldn't get through even a qtr.

Back at the end of 2010 we had Fyfe & Morabito as first year players and I reckon most would've said mora was the better prospect. That is sad - from people on a footy forums perspective, if we want to compare everything to real life then we will all be arguing here a long time - some may like that I feel.

Sad but somewhat inevitable. Always hoped we would get another Magic Mora goal but it never happened.

Showed heaps of guts and determination, he can go away knowing he gave 110%. All the best young fella!!

A shame for us and him; his power and nice foot skills could have given us the sort of player we never really had. Who knows how 2013 would have or could have been if he was never hit by those ACLs.

However, the club did really well to stick fat with Mora for so long. The writing was on the wall by ACL 2 and yet he got a few more contracts. There are worse ways for a club to deal with that sort of thing, and we could all see the inevitability of it.

As for Mora. Yes, he's an incredibly driven, tough, aspirational person and I'm sure this is a big knock to him, but he isn't dead. He may have some trouble walking and with his legs as the years go on, but his life in his early 20s was good. He played a few games in the AFL, probably owns his own home in a decent spot, and was basically paid to go gallivant all over Spain and Italy on the club's dollar a few years ago. The dude did well.

There are plenty of guys, at Freo or elsewhere, who play 20-odd games and are never ever thought of again. That, or people think 'thank ****' when they're turfed. Anthony Morabito can know that he only played 20 games in the AFL, but everyone wanted him to play way more. I could think of worse legacies and situations.

Great post - somehow I don't feel as bad as I thought I would when this inevitable news broke.

I imagine it might be too much to think he could be picked up elsewhere, he's now the same age Mzungu was when he was picked up by us at the end of 2010.

If not, he deserves an incredible future wherever that path may lead.

It's the correct decision, hope the last sentence in that article is prophetic and he has an exciting future in or out of football. The dickhead surgeon that stuffed up his first reco killed a promising career

Sorry that it came to this but the poor guy just couldn't get his body right. Incredibly unlucky.

If we'd had Fyfe, Hill, Neale and Mora at their best, we would have had our own fab 4 in the midfield.

Cant believe , my eyes turn red a bit even though i saw it coming , forever mora. Thanks for the memories , all the best for the future.

Exciting potential who I don't doubt would have gone on to be a big game player. Could've proved a big difference in 2013 GF and 2015 PF. Morabito and football lovers have missed out on an exciting career.

Devo'd. Knew it was coming but I was one still dreaming of the fairytale come back. Imagine him & Fyfe together . . Sigh.

Was always inevitable I suppose but full credit to the club for sticking by him as long as we did and full credit to Mora who picked himself up after each setback and tried his hardest to get back to where he belonged.

I wish him all the best.

The goal in the final against the Hawks is the talking point. It was his two goals against Geelong earlier in the year that I will remember the most.
I think it was the second, when he took the ball from the pack, wheeled boundary side, straightened and slotted the goal that got me.

Thought we had the next Judd on our hands [emoji24]

Just about my favourite Freo Video.

Mora's goal at the 48 second mark.

That first half of 2010 still my favourite time

Devastated. One of the best first seasons for Freo, that running bounce from half back all the way through to the inside 50 and goal in the elimination final will always be remembered. Such a shame.

Bloody hell if only we had Ross coaching that team instead of pea brain, some serious talent in their prime just in that play.

Sydney will take the risk and rookie him now.

Was hoping for a Menzel type miracle but deep down knew this was the likely outcome.

Footy just sucks sometimes.

All the best Mora.