Most passionate/animated you've been at the footy

Both this year.

Rocking back and forth on my chair behind the Saints cheer squad all through the final term in the Prelim... when I saw Riewoldt fly across for the mark... such relief. Then he put it through and he gave us back the lead! Congestion in the pocket after that ball flies up and not that I knew at the time, but the commentary I've heard over and over again in replays... "Jones... Dal Santo... look out Riewoldt hands to it couldn't hang on... Loose ball! GUESS WHO!" Then my nerves and muscles all fell apart in relief and jubilation at once as the typical old man with the radio says to his wife "19 Seconds to go". And from then until I went to sleep, pure joy at it's finest :D

Lathlain Park in the 90's sometime. Perth v Souths. Was with one other Souths supporter & a bunch of Perth supporters so stood out a bit in my red & white. The other Souths supporter is pretty reserved at the footy, not so myself.
That evening some sheila rang Bob Maumill's talkback to complain about the foul mouthed Souths supporter in the middle of a bunch of Perth supporters.

MCG, Round 22 2008, Hawks Vs Blues, As buddy kicked his goal, sprinting down a level to get on the ground........ Then the entire last quarter where everyone in the crowd, no matter who they supported, was going nuts hoping fev got to the ton... Was shattered to not get the chance to go to the gf though.

The most passionate angry I have been was probably the Hawthorn v West Coast game this year at Subi, the "Naitanui" game (are we calling it that yet?). There was a point in the third quarter where McKinley was rugby tackled without the ball at the end where I sit, and no free kick was given. Capped off a quarter where we got mauled by the umpires and the crowd was... not impressed.

Thankfully that game turned out to also be one of the very best I've been to see live.

Yeah everyone in my block were going crazy and every-time there was a stop in play there was just boo's at the umps, they were shocking that night against us and i watched the replay a couple weeks ago on tv and even the commentators were saying we were being harshly treated.

That was a hilarious night afterwards on Bay 13. Rich and Naitanui both played superb matches, and Watts had a nightmare night at the Gabba. Some of the most immature and hilarious banter was exchanged.

Losing, Nick Davis tearing us in 05(iirc) apart. He haunted my dreams for weeks.

Is this the game you meen? I had almost given up on the season at 3/4 time, any slight thoughts of a premiership were gone and we went on the win our first grand final in 72yrs, mabee you should watch it again lol Ive still got a dint in my shed roof where I watched the game from my stubby hitting it, neighbours came out an all to me yelling, I went nuts...

[YOUTUBE]DvH5yPHOaVg[/YOUTUBE]

"I see it but I dont believe it!"

1994 PF against the kangaroos when Gazza snr kicked the winning goal after the siren. One of the greatest games I have been to and an emotional rollercoaster in the last half. Went ballistic at the siren.
Do you remember the Brownless goal against the Dogs?

As far as bad memories go, I thought a Demons supporter would've been haunted by Essendon. :p

2000 GF - well, it wasn't exactly a close game, so you wouldn't be too heartbroken when the siren went.
2004 EF (RIP broadbridge last game) - David Hille winning goal!
2007 - "Lucas! LUCAS!!!" a sleezy goal off the back of the pack with less than 10 secs remaining. Bombers kick 3 or 4 goals in the last 5 minutes to win by less than a goal. :D

Godzke said:
2004 EF (RIP broadbridge last game) - David Hille winning goal!
2007 - "Lucas! LUCAS!!!" a sleezy goal off the back of the pack with less than 10 secs remaining. Bombers kick 3 or 4 goals in the last 5 minutes to win by less than a goal. :D

Thinking about these two games (amongst MANY others) makes me sad. :(

These are a few moments that really pissed me off.

97 prelim vs Adelaide has got to be the lowest feeling I've ever had. Even though I was still quite young I've never forgotten that feeling.

09 Prelim vs saints. Thought we had it but managed to lose.

08 final vs Hawks. Went into the game thinking we had a chance but got totally blown out of the water and shattered any confidence that we could win the flag.

Vs West Coast this year at etihad stadium. Man that was a frustrating game to watch.

The good moments...

06 final vs Collingwood. Was a sign we were on the up and our kids were going to become good.

All the games against geelong this year. Win or lose I love playing the cats. Seems like they are always pretty good games.

Richmond Vs Brisbane at the dome a year or two ago, when bowden kicked one with about 10 seconds on the clock. We were down by about 40 at 3 qtr time, banged on 7 or 8 in the last. Went nuts!

Very passionate game.

You guys were only 4 goals down at 3/4 time though and at one stage got out to a 2 goal lead in the last before we came back.

Bowdens goal nearly killed me. The week before I watched Travis Johnstone stroll into an open goal to bury North only to miss from 15m, and the next week I went to Tassie to watch the Hawks make us look like u/12's.

I really wished I didn't travel the length of the Country to see those three games:eek:

I dont know that it was entirely animated...but the 09 semi final against Collingwood was the most emotional I can remember. It was the most indescribable 120 mins or so of rollercoaster emotion I have ever experienced at the footy leaving me feeling utterly drained.

It was the kind of stress that makes you want to tear away at your skin and try to get away from your own body. Why DOES footy have such a hold on the emotions...I guess that why we love it.

When the siren went I tried to internalise it and just get out of the G asap, hopped into a cab only to find a driver who didnt know where Bourke Street was. He made a call to get directions then told us that Bourke St was not that far anyway and we should walk. Safe to say those emotions were suddenly externalised and thus the animation part of the evening materialised fully.

For me, the single moment has to be Riewoldt's kick after the siren last year.
The lead up was relentless all year, with St Kilda steam-rolling team after team, including Geelong in round 13. Nobody had given The Bombers a chance, and Vlad had even started to organise a special event to celebrate the Saint's unbeaten record for the year.

The game gave a different slant on things, with Essendon looking like certain winners before starting to run out of gas in the last quarter. Then Riewoldt took that great mark just before the final siren well inside the 50.

The Essendon supporters fell silent at first, then a rumble started which became a roar. The roof was closed reverberating the noise, the concrete stands started to shake with the pounding of feet, and every Essendon supporter started to roar as Nick started to run in for his kick. My heart was pounding. Then no sooner had the ball left Riewoldt's foot than the Essendon supporters near where I sat (we were in line with the kick) and those behind the goals jumped up, arms in the air, and it was all over - the ball veered to the right off his foot.

The walk back to the tram stop in Collins St was delicious: we just seemed to flow along that bridge in a happy red tide. I reckon that was the most animated moment I've had at the footy for a long, long time.

In a good way: 1999 prelim.. Sat with a mate whos an essendon supporter who had been telling me from 9am that morning that this game was just a formality.. I gave him that much after the game that he left crying.. Bwahahahah...

In a bad way.... 2000 semi final against Essendon... Where Lloyd was in the goals square and pushed/hit (memory faded atm) silvagni, and Silvagni retaliated which the umpire saw and gave Lloyd a free right in front of goal.. That was the point where we lost that game from memory.. I was in the 2nd tier and wanted to kill Lloyd.. I called him a C##T (as loud as i could) right in front of my old man and his wife (who id never sworn in front of b4)... I got up and left 5 mins later i was that bad....

Also 2008 v Brisbane at the gabba.. Where we led and were over run only to fight back and win.. We were seated in the CArlton section but i had a group of 3 nuffie brisbane supporters next to me (one with a mohawk).. When we got right up by about 8 goals he stood up and threw a empty palstic bottle about five rows ahead and called them all C**ts.. The whole bay.. I just laughed.. Once brissy hit the front in the last 1/4 he was parading up and down the isle sticking his finger up at the whole bay.. Then to his horror we hit back and took the lead and won.. He threw a full bottle of water from next to me which missed my mates gf by about 2cm from about 3 seats away.. He threw it so hard it would have knocked her out if it hit.. We didnt take too kindly to that, and he was fixed up well and truley.. Even his mates didnt defend him as we gave him a few.. Then the cops were called and he was dragged off..

jesus. So you beat up a guy and then called the cops on him?
Well the mates gf had gone and got them.. By the time they got to us they knew the story and he was kicked straight out.. Picture a guy who looks like Joffa.. but 3 times worse.. He throws a full bottle of water as hard as he can from 3 seats away.. What would you do.. Stand there??

Yeah, but South Australians always chant cheat cheat cheat if the other team gets more than one free a quarter.

A slight exaggeration. The cheat chant is usually justified, as the Crows and Port have both been crucified several times against Victorian opponents over the years. This is the only thing I will sympathise with when it comes to the camries.

Yes I believe the umpires are biased. I have collected stats previously to back this up. And I am still angry about those losses I mentioned, particularly 2005 where umpires (and dont get me started on the tribunal) contrived to derail our premiership defence.

1993 V Collingwood at Vic park, I lost the plot and nearly my head. McAdam kicks 9, Schwass runs amuk and we absolutely destroy the pies who were travelling along nicely near the top, possibly at the top of the ladder at that stage! It got pretty scary after the game, I had to hide my scarf and north jumper underneath a jacket that a mate let me borrow so that I didn't get my head kicked in!
If you happened to defeat the pies at vic park and got the slightest bit cocky or smart, you would either have something thrown at you, spat on or meet up with a group of pissed hardnuts in one of the pubs nearby!

Most passionate/animated you've been at the footy