Most passionate/animated you've been at the footy

• Thread starter Thread starter Johnson#26

In recent years... probably the 2 point win over the Pies at the Gabba in 2008.

Absolute edge of the seat stuff, especially that moment with 20 secs to go when the ball just wouldn't go out of bounds. The umpires had shafted both teams all night at varying stages so the whole crowd had their blood pressure up. When the siren went off, so did I. One of those games where you go home with the taste of blood in your larynx.

The Bris vs Carlton elim final came close... but the suspense in that Collingwood game was beyond intense.

I wasn't at the game but watching on tv... the sirengate game in Tassie.

I've never felt so insanely aggressive as I did watching that d1ckhead umpire ignore the Freo players telling him the siren had gone and giving the Saints not one, but two chances to win the game.

I felt like smashing anything and everything I laid my eyes on for hours afterwards.

Qualifying Final vs Sydney in 2005.

In hindsight, I went a little cocoa bananas.

Heh, good times.

I don't remember much of that game after Hunter took the big screamer in the final term. Blurred memories of an absolutely ear splitting roar when the ball left his boot gun barrel straight from 50 out, leaning out over the second tier and being hauled back by some good samaritan, then mad barracking for the rest of the game- rode every touch to the siren. Subi was absolutely rocking during that final quarter.

Was great stuff heading to the train station afterwards, with street crowds
belting out the song and hugging randoms.

Tne one coherent thought at the time was 'shit, what a relief we aren't ever going to have to go through a nailbiter like that again' Pretty ironic in hindsight actually ;)

Richmond Vs Brisbane at the dome a year or two ago, when bowden kicked one with about 10 seconds on the clock. We were down by about 40 at 3 qtr time, banged on 7 or 8 in the last. Went nuts!

At home --

Ebert's after the siren goal in 07' against the Hawks

Cassisi's winner at Skilled

Motlop's miss after the siren against the Saints

The first 08' Showdown where we were about to tie the match but the umpire stepped in.

Hawthorn at Aurora in 08' with the choking celebration.

didn't plan on reading about Anzac day 2009, but what can you do? :p

that last qtr was just, in a sporting/footballing sense, horrible. we played terrible footy all day, but still lead. if you claim to be a reasonable mob, you've got to clinch those games. shaking my head right now.

the dyson goal is the one which set the wheels in motion. it was a 'the storm is rolling in and the rain's about to start, get inside now!' noise from the essendon fans. then when harry o and lockyer smothered the jetta attempt, it should have been enough.

nup. that zahararkis kick is etched in my mind's eye, i can still see it now. genuine disbelief at what was happening. have never left early, but had everything in motion and ready to leave as soon as the siren went as soon as it happened. just looked at the person in front of me, to whom i hadn't spoken all day, and we just stood there, mouth's open, eyes wide with confusion.

I still have the ANZAC day game on Foxtel IQ, I watch the last qtr regularly and those last 10 minutes, from the excitement of Jetta's failed attempt to grab the ball where the crowd is standing and roaring like a hurricane to the Zaharakis moment never fail to lift the hairs on the back of the neck and no matter who is around both arms go up every time. Glorious stuff.

Collingwood got redemption later in the season, we really stole that game.

Passionate Angry:

2008 Grand Final. I was absolutely livid during that 3rd Qtr.

Passionate Happy:

2009 Grand Final. As soon as chappy kicked that goal it was amazing.

Passionate Happy - Grand Final 2008. i'm usually self contained and don't really yell a lot at the footy, but I don't think I will ever yell as much in the rest of my life as I did during that game. I was sitting behind the goals, went absolutely nuts in the 3rd quarter. Best day of my life.

Passionate Angry - As I said I'm usually pretty contained at the footy and don't really get angry. One game I can remember is in 07 losing to Port when we were 2 goals up with 30 seconds left down in tassie. I was watching it at home and threw the remote at the TV. Cost us top 4!!!1

Port had 21 frees to 19.

Watch the game again.

The chant of 'cheat, cheat, cheat' could be heard in the Great Southern Stand as there were more Port supporters at the game than North!

Is there room in this thread for me sitting next to my hawks-supporting brother during the '07 elimination final. That last quarter was epic with both joy and heartache. When torney kicked that goal from the boundary line on the 50 i was screaming so ****in loudly and swearing profusely with kids and families around. And then of course crying into my lap after franklin kicked that goal. We were right behind him and had a perfect view of the kick but i didn't bother to watch and just waited for the enormous roar to reverberate throughout the dome.

Round 1 2007 WC V Sydney at Telstra/ANZ Stadium.
To set the scene:
- Was already worked up with all the media beat up of a GF rematch
- Robert Wall's Good V Evil comments had just come out
- Had lived in Sydney for 10 years and WC rarely won a game in Sydney during that time
- My wife scored some Gold Class seats from her boss which were top notch and amongst all the Swans chardonnay supporters (you know the type all clubs have them).
-WC were missing about 5-6 premiership players so my expectations were not high

WC came out of the blocks firing only to let the swans back in it. The final qtr came and my heart was going 100km per hour. Of course I was giving it to the Swans up until then so was sweating big time with each goal the swans got closer and the crowd got louder. Fortunately Kerr saved the day with a blinder last qtr and WC got up with a 1 point victory. As the siren went I jumped about 5 feet in the air with fists pumped and had tears in my eyes. Before I new all the seats around me were vacant and I was at the players race going beserk cheering the boys in. Woosha looked in my direction and had a wry smile on his face, probably was thinking who is this loon!

Geelong v richmond, '05 or '06 cant remember. Sitting behind the goals kent kingsley marks the ball 25m out directly in front, instead of lining up for goal decides to pass to a team mate near the boundary post. Ball goes off the side of his boot and out of bounds on the full.

I unleashed a tirade of abuse that to this day still frightens many small children, went to that game with 5 others and all but 1 of them refuse to attend another afl game with me.
Kingsley deserved and would have heard every last word.

Passionate Happy: When the siren sounded after last years Grand Final.

Passionate Angry: After either the 1997 Qualifying Final or the 1997 Semi-Final. At the Qualifying Final I was extremely angry with the Geelong players, but on multiple occassions during the Semi-Final (Including the Leigh-Colbert non-goal, the moment the Crows hit the front and after the game) I threw the TV Remote across the living room and went off my head.

Happy:
When Pavlich hit the post, 20 metres out directly infront VS Carlton, 2008. That cost Fremantle the game.

Angry:
R3, 2009 - Blues vs Essendon, Thornton clearely punches the ball away and gets done for high contact on Llyod.

Heh, good times.

I don't remember much of that game after Hunter took the big screamer in the final term. Blurred memories of an absolutely ear splitting roar when the ball left his boot gun barrel straight from 50 out, leaning out over the second tier and being hauled back by some good samaritan, then mad barracking for the rest of the game- rode every touch to the siren. Subi was absolutely rocking during that final quarter.

Was great stuff heading to the train station afterwards, with street crowds
belting out the song and hugging randoms.

Tne one coherent thought at the time was 'shit, what a relief we aren't ever going to have to go through a nailbiter like that again' Pretty ironic in hindsight actually ;)
+1. Enjoyed this game immensely.

Subiaco Oval in that last quarter was the loudest I have ever heard it, maybe with the Carlton 06 comeback in the last few minutes.

The last quarter went about 34 minutes and seemed more like 134.

The most passionate angry I have been was probably the Hawthorn v West Coast game this year at Subi, the "Naitanui" game (are we calling it that yet?). There was a point in the third quarter where McKinley was rugby tackled without the ball at the end where I sit, and no free kick was given. Capped off a quarter where we got mauled by the umpires and the crowd was... not impressed.

Thankfully that game turned out to also be one of the very best I've been to see live.

The game against Carlton in 2002 when Riccardi kicked the goal after the siren to win it.

Went with my brother and his wife, who are both Carlton supporters (she brain washed him). They were quiet for three quarters, until Carlton came from nowhere to catch up, and then pass us after Lappin did a Greg Louganis and took the biggest dive you'll ever see, only for Riccardi to sink them with the last kick of the day, and I let out the biggest "YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" after it wobbled through for a goal.

Round 17 this year when Bartel kicked the point after the siren runs a close second too. :D

As for the negative aspect, two games stand out. The first was the game where Solomon decided to cave in his "mate" Ling's cheekbone with his elbow. It wasn't only that act that got me riled up, but all through the first term, Fremantle were playing the man, yet Geelong were the team who was get being penalised. Was the first time I've ever heard an opposition coach roundly booed after running back to the coach's box after delivering a quarter time address.

The second one was a game in 1992 against Brisbane. It was the return match after Geelong had smashed the record score against Brisbane at Carrara earlier in the year. It was on the eve of the finals, and the Bears were in the bottom four. As soon as the opening siren sounded, the Bears players decided (or were instructed by their coach Robert Walls) to engage in a wrestle with their direct opponent. All through the first half, Brisbane players seemed more interested in wrestling with their opponents than chasing after the pill. Just before half time, Peter Worsfold king hit Ken Hinkley from behind. After half time, when the Brisbane team were doing their warm up, the whole of the Hickey Stand were going absolutely nuts. The Bears were 16 goals down at 3/4 time, before finally deciding to play football in the last quarter, and ended up tripling their score in the last term.

2004 Preliminary Final, EASILY the most animated I've been at a game. On TV, it would probably the game against Geelong at Skilled in '07 with Cassisi's winner in the last 3 seconds. Funnily enough, Franklin's on the siren winner against the Crows in '07 was up there too :D

wow :o

out of all the games of footy (i'm assuming that's a lot) you've seen, which would include some amazing wins and heartbreaking losses, an opposition team losing in a game your team wasn't in is right up there.

bit sad really :o

I live in Adelaide so I do understand the port/crows hatred but i still think it's a bit pathetic.

Most happy ive been at a game.
The 2005 Collingwood game where Thompson kicked a goal on the siren from 55. North kicked 4 goals in 3 minutes to win. Shannon Grant two 55 metre left foot goals. UNBELIEVABLE.
Also the infamous centre bounce game in 08 against the Pies where Thomas and Campbell went beserk in the last quarter.

Another thing i wont forget. In 05 against West Coast on a Friday Night at the Dome. We went down by 2. We were down by 30 at 3 quarter time.
The tention that night the papers said the Dome felt like a Blue and White cauldron. Leigh Harding hit the post from 2 metres out and i kid you not a bloke sitting in front of me started bleeding from his temple because of the stress. Remarkable. He bled blue and white lol.

Worst performance and most angry at a game would be 2007 against West Coast at the Dome. It was for 2nd spot if i recall. The umpires that day were the worst i had seen.
There was a chasedown tackle on Shannon Hurn by Matty Campbell infront of goal infront of the cheersquad. Now we had been copping it big time and the crowd knew it was holding the ball. It was one of those free kicks where you say to yourself he cant find something to penalise us with. Its that obvious its there. The umpire stopped running. Put his whistle in his mouth. Blew. And we all thought he was gonna wave his arms for dramatic effect?? Nope.
As he directed both his palms towards the ground I have never seen a crowd all rise as one and go off their chops. The ammount of abuse and language that was said was amazing. Kids. What kids. The swearing made collingwood look soft. Like the experience was- you know when your about to lose it. Obviously weve all done it once or twice before. And your head and your eyes jus go from side to side to look for something to hit break or throw. Thats how i felt. I dont know how i stopped myself from jumping the fence. Also i was speechless and looked ******* for the anger had taken my ability to talk away. Surreal that was.

Another passionate moment was me being rude-cocky than scared.
Round 1 2007 against Collingwood at the G. Shannon Grants 50m penalty to the square.
Now we had been leading all day. Collingwood has jus kicked their 7th goal of the quarter to hit the front after scoring 5 all game. I had bagged all Pies supporters i could yell to all day at the Punt Rd end and when Scott Burns had put them in front- talk about small man syndrome and slouching in your chair like its a shell. So when the umpire started skipping backwards and instructed Grant to jog along I stood up turned to the Pies supporters at the back and let loose. **** this your that shove ya **** up ya bla bla bla. And this wasn to 15-19 yo like me. This was to grown men. In their prime. Bogan european built like a brickwall males. As i turned around saw Shagga do that f**kin skip he does before he has a shot my heart beat slowed down then went quicker. And the ball collected the wood. Ever popped a pill. And the rush you experience when it comes over you. Picture a LOWEST OF LOWS rush come over you.
I turned around towards the back of the crowd at the Punt Rd to see the Collingwood fans. They had started to walk towards the aisle and were waving for me to go there to and come up. I have never ran so fast in my life to leave the G that day like i did for that game. I was that scared i was shaking.
That is why in my mind i will know that football will kill me one day,
The stress the crowd playing it. It will make the end of me:rolleyes:

Losing, Nick Davis tearing us in 05(iirc) apart. He haunted my dreams for weeks.

Winning, 07 prelim. Absolutely mental, never heard a crowd like that before. Topped even the grand final (didnt get to the 09 final) because of the atmosphere that was electric.

wow :o

out of all the games of footy (i'm assuming that's a lot) you've seen, which would include some amazing wins and heartbreaking losses, an opposition team losing in a game your team wasn't in is right up there.

bit sad really :o

I live in Adelaide so I do understand the port/crows hatred but i still think it's a bit pathetic.

I'm actually aware of that, but it happened and I'm not going to deny it. In my defence, it was a very, very exciting game with a very exciting finish. I'm not saying I prefer a close Crows loss to a close Port win by any means, but that game was something special.

I cried an was about to lose when we lost to the dees in 2008. Go to youtube and type freo break my heart again

ANZAC Day is usually it for me. At least the first half is anyway, over the last decade there haven't been too many close Essendon / Collingwood games that have been decided in the 4th quarter. A lot of them have been reasonably one-sided.

As far as 2009 goes

For a game we won: vs. St Kilda Rnd 20. I was with Saints mate who was riding the arrogance of supporting an undefeated side as high you could possibly take it. Riewoldt's miss, my jacket wave and collected three chirpy Saints supporters on my way out waving it. Brilliant stuff. He turned off his phone for the rest of the week, but not before he called me at 6am the following morning to discuss the game. ****.

I wasn't there for Zaka's after the siren kick... I had to play "good mate" for my pies buddy who broke his shoulder that day playing club footy and had his ex recently dump him. When he kicked that goal I went "OHHHHH ... yeah cool" *silence*.

Beating Carlton the first time made me the happiest of any games... because it was the umps who won it for us LOL. That Lloydy freekick was ridiculous. Not that you can blame him, he didn't play for it.

For a game we lost: vs. Richmond (whenever that was). I wasn't actually at the game, but listening on radio. Losing to a team that transcends the phrase "very ****ing shit team" made me rage.

For a game when the umps were awful: vs. Bulldogs. I have never EVER seen a worse display of umpiring than that 3rd quarter. Bulldogs had no answer to Essendon's speed during the 2nd quarter and it took several bs freekicks in the 3rd to swing the momentum. I was there with 200 exchange students behind Coventry end I think (the southern end, whichever that is). They couldn't understand the game and I couldn't blame them for it. The inconsistency was disgraceful.