GHS33

Hey guys, I’ve been hearing lots of different things about our most recent draft and just wanted your thoughts on who is the most promising. Obviously Shane Kersten was picked up with some huge wraps on him, the same could be said for Jordan Murdoch. However, the club seems to have rated Joel Hamling a serious talent at the time of the draft and we’ve been hearing a lot about Lincoln McCarthy also.

Who do you think has the most promise?

Orren's going to show the most early doors (as he will get the most opportunity) and obviously is the most critical given the injuries to our other ruckmen, but that's a different question.

As far as most promising, would have to be Kersten for me, he moves so well for a player that size, his marking and kicking are genuine top shelf, and he's played well against men, I'm very surprised he slid to our pick. As I called before the draft I like Murdoch too, but I reckon he's a longer term prospect.

Jester is right though, this is all on paper and it's really pointless trying to predict until we've seen them play some footy for us.

It would have to be Bews , we are due for another truck load of complaints about FS picks and Geelong.

Honestly who could really say at this stage. Who showed more promise in 99.
Corey Chapman or Enright. Even now its debatable whos been the better player for us.

Id be very happy if we get 3 or 4 senior 150 game players from the draft group.

I like the Sth Australians, Jordan and Lincoln, but Murdoch is my pick.
Also think Eardley may have a future.

Dare I say it.....I am with meto...I like the look of Murdoch. Tremendous pace....

Very Varcoe like....hahahahhahahahaha.. ( just kidding mate!) :D:D

Seriously though, he looks a great prospect for the future. Kersten may start before him but I think Murdoch will be a gun player for us in the future.

Named in the squad for Friday night,suggests he has impressed some one on the training track,180cm and 80kgs,about the same as Varcoe ,Wojo and ready to go:D:thumbsu:

It would have to be Bews , we are due for another truck load of complaints about FS picks and Geelong.

Honestly who could really say at this stage. Who showed more promise in 99.
Corey Chapman or Enright.

Spriggs.

I guess it depends on what you mean by 'promising'. Stephenson would obviously be a short-priced favourite to have the biggest impact this year. I think, of the standard draftee-aged players, Murdoch will probably get the most games and everything I hear about him makes me excited to see how he goes this year. But there's just something about Hamling, how he doesn't have the senior footy CV that many of our other draftees have, but how much size and athleticism he has, it just makes me think that Wells has hoodwinked the rest of the league again. The fact that Kersten has been picked for the first round of the NAB Cup probably confirms what we already knew, that he is the most AFL-ready player right now. Picking Eardley for the NAB Cup squad is an interesting move and suggests that he may have the potential to get a crack in the seniors this year. I'm really excited about all the picks and would love to see Jed Bews become a bit of a surprise packet.

Named in the squad for Friday night,suggests he has impressed some one on the training track,180cm and 80kgs,about the same as Varcoe ,Wojo and ready to go:D:thumbsu:

I read Cam Eardley was mentioned as a potential top 25 draftee in an AFL publication last year, maybe whoever listed him that high was a fair judge of football talent.

Guess that remains to be seen, but not a bad way to start for the young fella, he's got himself a game.
Judging by his video, he reminds me of Luke Power, pretty hard at it, and a real good mark for his size.

I would imagine those physical stats a little outdated, looked every cm of that in the clip, and super impressive I might add, good one Mr Wells.

And, yes, Murdoch does have pace approaching that of Travis Varcoe DTC.

Spriggs.

I guess it depends on what you mean by 'promising'. Stephenson would obviously be a short-priced favourite to have the biggest impact this year. I think, of the standard draftee-aged players, Murdoch will probably get the most games and everything I hear about him makes me excited to see how he goes this year. But there's just something about Hamling, how he doesn't have the senior footy CV that many of our other draftees have, but how much size and athleticism he has, it just makes me think that Wells has hoodwinked the rest of the league again. The fact that Kersten has been picked for the first round of the NAB Cup probably confirms what we already knew, that he is the most AFL-ready player right now. Picking Eardley for the NAB Cup squad is an interesting move and suggests that he may have the potential to get a crack in the seniors this year. I'm really excited about all the picks and would love to see Jed Bews become a bit of a surprise packet.

Spriggs, that brought a smile at the end of an ordinary day!

I went Orren but thinking really of impact in 2012. He won't be a 150 game player but I'm hoping he can be a Pods and have immediate impact.