Home & Garden Moving out - Hints/tips

If you have access to a clothes dryer, use it sparingly - very expensive to run.
Also, they ruin anything with elastic in them (socks, underwear, etc.)

Get a clotheshorse for wet weather (or when you're out all day and you're not going to get back before dewfall to bring the washing in).

- Anything can be turned into a drinking game
- You might be eligible for some form of centrelink student support thing
- Buy 3 days worth of food when you get take away (whats with all this cooking going on?)
- Buy some of those soft foam ear plugs
- No on expects a 19yr old male to have a spotless house
- Don't waste time on some budget unless you are fiscally ******ed or incapable of tracking how much money you have
- You are obligated to become a drinking venue and have a nice TV for sport related weekends

Dont move out with mates

No body i know has lasted longer then 8 months with a mate including myself its a ****ing pain in the ass in the long run just doesnt work

- Anything can be turned into a drinking game
- You might be eligible for some form of centrelink student support thing
- Buy 3 days worth of food when you get take away (whats with all this cooking going on?)
- No on expects a 19yr old male to have a spotless house
- Don't waste time on some budget unless you are fiscally ******ed or incapable of tracking how much money you have
- You are obligated to become a drinking venue and have a nice TV for sport related weekends

lol this is keeper advice

i'd love to see your pad

-

Some of us like to eat semi healthily. :p

-

Oh yeah this. For the first two/three years of living in this flat (we share the property with another flat), my ****ing neighbour would blast music every weekend till 3,4, even 5 in the bloody morning. One time I could of sworn he even had his god dam front door open. :rolleyes: But yeah thank god he is training to be a boxer now, so he doesnt have these late night parties anymore. :thumbsu:

Dont move out with mates

No body i know has lasted longer then 8 months with a mate including myself its a ****ing pain in the ass in the long run just doesnt work

I've lived with a friend -went thru primary and high school together-, for 4 years now, havent had one arguement.

I am in a house of three and we have had one huge argument but otherwise sorted it out. Adults should be able to sort out minor tiffs.

Ours was over cleaning- one housemate expected a perfectly clean house. I didn't. The other sat on the fence. Once u have the initial argument you just walk away, and try and talk it over later.

Oh yeah this. For the first two/three years of living in this flat (we share the property with another flat), my ****ing neighbour would blast music every weekend till 3,4, even 5 in the bloody morning. One time I could of sworn he even had his god dam front door open. :rolleyes: But yeah thank god he is training to be a boxer now, so he doesnt have these late night parties anymore. :thumbsu:

I've lived with a friend -went thru primary and high school together-, for 4 years now, havent had one arguement.

Fair effort you hitting that lol

I just havnt seen it work i guess it depends on the people but next person i move out with is the mrs would rather live with her then any my mates even if they paid me

Fair effort you hitting that lol

I just havnt seen it work i guess it depends on the people but next person i move out with is the mrs would rather live with her then any my mates even if they paid me

Hitting that??? :eek:

But yeah tbh, some people did warn me about moving in with a friend (had their nightmare tales to tell). But yeah we just get along pretty well, stay out of each others way pretty much which works.

Hitting that??? :eek:

But yeah tbh, some people did warn me about moving in with a friend (had their nightmare tales to tell). But yeah we just get along pretty well, stay out of each others way pretty much which works.

The guy you live with

Is he mates with all your other mates or do they stay seprate him having his group of friends and you having your group of mates

Think thats always been the problem with people i know they all are in the same group of friends which can turn ugly with things i have seen

The guy you live with

Is he mates with all your other mates or do they stay seprate him having his group of friends and you having your group of mates

Think thats always been the problem with people i know they all are in the same group of friends which can turn ugly with things i have seen

LOL.

I am of the female variety and so is my flatmate.

(And trust me there is no hitting that of anyone!!!!!!!!!).

We come from the same group of friends thru high school, but as what happens after high school (i'm 30 now), you lose touch with most people from HS. I have my own group of friends and my bf (:cool: she doesnt have a bf), and she has like her one or two mates that come over every blue moon.

I moved out with 2 mates, it was an interesting experience.

I can count on one hand the amount of times I actually cooked over the year.

One of my mates was alright but the other one was the messiest person I have ever lived with. We went away for a week and it was just him by himself and you honestly couldn't see the kichen benchtop. There was dirty dishes and left over food every where. He didn't even bother to check the mail while we were gone and the mail box was literally full.

Another time I remember watching him wash the kitchen benchtop, no kidding he used about a quarter of a bottle of dishwashing liquid directly onto the benchtop. Was pretty funny watching all the bubbles.

To top it off he would refuse to pay bills, we kept a ledger for rent, elec, water, etc. He ended up owing myself and the other house mate about $5000. He eventually paid it back because he is a really good bloke but wow was he hopeless.

I lived with friends and it was awesome. Most of my friends moved out and lived with each other in various combinations over the last 5 or so years. No one has had a single problem with anyone.

If you get all angry at your best friends as house mates perhaps you didn't choose your friends very well to begin with.

Or maybe you are the problem, not them. Hah :p

Well thank christ you didn't confront him.

Living with friends can work. I lived with a couple of mates for a bit over a year before both moved back home for financial reasons and had no real issues.

2 of us were rarely home and the other played WOW all night so we didn't get in each other's way much.

Ensure whatever arrangement you want/have with rent/bills/lease is set in stone ASAP, and, most importantly, everyone in the house is aware of and concers with it.

A girl and I moved in with another girl from our high school three years ago (first girl had been living there for 2-3 years already, and was looking for two new housemates). We were told that bills/rent money was a set amount ($130 or so), to be paid (to first girl) at the start of each month, and that any excess would be spent on cleaning products or a night out (the later occured only once over a two year period).

Now, us being first time renters, were just happy that we'd found somewhere to live that was close to uni, and was affordable, and of a pretty good living standard. So 2nd girl and I paid said amount, which we assumed was the amount that we were all paying, so we said nothing, putting up with her annoying mannerisms for two years, during which time we never saw a power/gas/internet bill (we were trustworthy people who took her at face value).

When she moved out at the start of this year, 2nd housemate and I had worked out that, in the process of changing the names on the lease & bills, we'd overpaid her by $100. On her last day, when this was brought to her attention, she alerted us to the fact that, over the course of two years we'd lived together, we had not been paying an equal share of the bills/rent to her. She insisted that the excess rent/bill money we were paying, was essentially a 'fee' for using her stuff (she owned practically all of the furniture in the common rooms, which she took/sold on her departure).

For some reason, what she said didn't click right away; we were just happy that she was moving out. Once we realised she'd been ripping us off for 24 months, we were understandably fumming. We were dumbfounded that someone, who had essentially stolen from us for 24 months, lived with us totally guilt-free for that period of time.

Still a bit shattered to this day that we were taken advantage of like that.

EDIT: Probably belongs in the 'Epic Fail' thread :(

Like paying "$130 or so" :confused:

Didn't mean to sound ambiguous. TBH it was $130 on the nose. Only put 'or so' so as not to be too specific (although, thinking about it now, I don't know why it would matter if the BF community knew how much rent I paid).

Changed to $135 toward the end of housemate 1's stay due to a rent increase (which as far as I know, was legit).

I don't understand the validity of your comment... My story illustrates the precise need to ensure the arrangement the OP has with his other housemates regarding rent/bills/lease is set in stone. I now know that this is a must.

You way you've quoted it, it's as though, even after this story, I'm comfortable with the rent being '$130 or so,' as though I haven't learned from my mistake, which isn't the case.

Ensure whatever arrangement you want/have with rent/bills/lease is set in stone ASAP, and, most importantly, everyone in the house is aware of and concers with it.

A girl and I moved in with another girl from our high school three years ago (first girl had been living there for 2-3 years already, and was looking for two new housemates). We were told that bills/rent money was a set amount ($130 or so), to be paid (to first girl) at the start of each month, and that any excess would be spent on cleaning products or a night out (the later occured only once over a two year period).

Now, us being first time renters, were just happy that we'd found somewhere to live that was close to uni, and was affordable, and of a pretty good living standard. So 2nd girl and I paid said amount, which we assumed was the amount that we were all paying, so we said nothing, putting up with her annoying mannerisms for two years, during which time we never saw a power/gas/internet bill (we were trustworthy people who took her at face value).

When she moved out at the start of this year, 2nd housemate and I had worked out that, in the process of changing the names on the lease & bills, we'd overpaid her by $100. On her last day, when this was brought to her attention, she alerted us to the fact that, over the course of two years we'd lived together, we had not been paying an equal share of the bills/rent to her. She insisted that the excess rent/bill money we were paying, was essentially a 'fee' for using her stuff (she owned practically all of the furniture in the common rooms, which she took/sold on her departure).

For some reason, what she said didn't click right away; we were just happy that she was moving out. Once we realised she'd been ripping us off for 24 months, we were understandably fumming. We were dumbfounded that someone, who had essentially stolen from us for 24 months, lived with us totally guilt-free for that period of time.

Still a bit shattered to this day that we were taken advantage of like that.

EDIT: Probably belongs in the 'Epic Fail' thread :(
$100 over two years? so $50 for each of the two of you? That works out to be just over $2 per month over 2 years...

Seeing as you were shattered though, these figures stand to be corrected

$100 over two years? so $50 for each of the two of you? That works out to be just over $2 per month over 2 years...

Seeing as you were shattered though, these figures stand to be corrected

Naah, sorry, my bad. $100 was what we thought she owed us for the most recent power & gas bills (bills received each quarter). i.e. we'd already given her our rent/bill money for the most recent quarter for her to pay (given that rent/bills $$$ was always paid at the start of the month), but she moved out in late January, so we wanted the bills money back we'd paid for the current quarter (Jan-Mar).

That $100 figure is separate from every other rent/bill payment we made over the two years (power and gas bills are separate). So really, it's still unknown how much excess we were paying that allowed her to pay less.

Does that make sense? :confused:

Trigg, you've said that you are moving into a house that is owned by your mate, so this probably doesnt apply to you straight away, but if in future you move out and into another rental sharehouse, beware the following:

- 1) I lived with a mate for 12 months in a rental apartment that we had to move out of because the owners put it on the market. On entering the house, I paid the bloke moving out my share of the bond, $600, which was 1/2 of the $1200 total bond amount. He had done the same to the previous guy when he had moved in. The total amount of the actual bond was held in trust by the bond authority, and each previous new tenant had just paid the outgoing tenant half the bond, as I did. This was fine, as each tenant 'knew' that there was $1,200 dollars of bond being held officially by the authority on thier behalf. When we went to withdraw the bond money from the bond authority, there was only $600 in total!!
Somewhere along the line, someone had ripped someone off, and everyone else just kept paying the next person $600 bucks. So, dont take anyone's word for that shit, even current tenants. Check out how much bond is held by the bond authority or whatever the hell its called.

2) I moved into a place, a share apartment that had all new tenants in it, but the lease was still held by friends of the current tenant who had moved out ages ago. Tenants kept on moving in and out, but the names on the lease stayed the same. This can be common, and this was a high rise apartment on the top of St Kilda road (dont ever recommend it).
We thought that we would do the right thing, and change the lease into our name. That was no worries. Agency were more than happy to help. 6 months later, they hit us with a demand for outstanding rent of $1,600. We were like WTF?? They said that the rent had been underpaid each month by some small amount for the last 4 years or so, and because we were now the leaseholders, we had to pay!!!!!!! The didnt tell us any of that shit when we took over the new lease, mind you we didnt ask, but would never have even thought too. I went to VCAT and they said we had a really good case against them, but it would have to go to the tribunal, which would eventually happen by us just blatant refusing to pay. My housemates wilted completely and just paid up because they didnt want 'a bad rental history'. I was furious at the agent and at them, i had organised everything for a month to defend ourselves. So i didnt pay, but just a lesson, really check if there is anything owing on anything that you sign up for. I know it sounds simple and common sense, but who thinks that there is a accumulated debt of $1,600 that the agent just hasntn bothered to tell you about??!!

Good luck living with your mate, and hopefully you never have to deal with any shit like that!
Also, totally agree with getting yourself a decent bed. Try out heaps of mattresses, and go for the places that are having clearance sales, get some great bargains and a good mattress and average queen size bed for $500 - 600 delivered. Totally worth it.
:cool:

- get a decent mop.
- never move in with someone with kids.
- clean up as you go while cooking, and do dishes straight after. especially if you're going out. went around to my gf's place last week to help clean before their inspection. walked into the kitchen. EVERY pot, pan, piece of cutlery, glass, plate, bowl was strewn all over the place... as well as food scraps from salads and leftover food. so i cleaned it up. took me ages and ended up using 4 tea towels. then a couple of days later it was back to that. her housemate's a pig and always out.
- try to plan meals in advance.