HugeJohnson

Just hanging out
Port Adelaide
Liverpool
I am thinking of moving out fairly soon, I turn 20 on NYE and earn around 450 a week at the moment. Just looking for advice/opinions if I am earning enough for it to be sustainable. At the moment I'm only working 20-25 hours a week but I'm hoping to pick up an apprenticeship at work soon, and maybe even a second job depending on how long until a position comes up. My mate has already applied to take over the lease, rent is $335 a week (so 167.50 each) and it's a 3 bedroom house. Only 2 of us at the moment but down the road there is the option of bringing in a 3rd room mate if it gets too expensive I guess. At the moment I live about 70km's away from work which is costing me pretty close to what I would pay for rent anyway in petrol and would save me a shit load of driving as this house is about 5 minutes away from work rather than the 1hr15m at the moment. Then there's also the matter of electricity,water bills etc on top of my phone bill. I'm thinking if we get it I'll definitely be needing to find another job fairly quickly just as a safety I guess to make sure I'm not spending more than I'm earning. I love living independently so I'm definitely keen on doing it I just want to be sure I'm making the right choice. I have around $3500 in savings atm so I should be okay for the forseeable future, I'm pretty good at not spending money if I can't afford to/not an impulse buyer. The lease runs out in May as well so I'm thinking I could try it out until then and if it goes okay then I'll commit to the lease extension.

What age were you when you first moved out of home? How much were you earning? How much was rent/mortgage repayments? Did you know the people you were moving in with? Any horror stories or did it all work out okay?

The guy who is moving out has also offered to sell us most of the stuff in the house for a grand as well, so $500 each that includes tv, washing machine, fridge, BBQ, BB gun (most important part), cooking utensils, lawn mower, and furniture like couches and beds.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

One thing that I cannot stress highly enough is make sure that you have the funds behind you and the job stability to move out, and move out for good. Had plenty of mates move out at 17/18/19 and then was back with mum & dad within 6 months. Doesnt get much more depressing than that. I had a touch over 30k behind me before moving out. Don't need that much but I wanted to travel overseas and then come home with a decent amount still in the bank.

I'd say 3500 is probably enough but on the edge, especially on a apprentice wage. I would recommend dragging it out for another 6 or so months so you have 5k plus. But hey people have moved out on far less than that and are doing fine, though many don't have a savings acct. Guess it's just about weighing the options and what you want most.

First thing you need is your own soap container.

Don't share the soap...

Bills that are split 50/50 may cause problems.

Do your own laundry, dishes (this one is important), buy and make your own food, it might be better to get your own household supplies too (ie toilet rolls and such).

I moved out at 17. About three or four weeks before I turned 18. It was four hours on the road. Then a year later, I moved four hours on a plane across to Melbourne.

Both were the best things I've ever done.

Living away from home is just great fun. Living with your olds in some shithole is just boring. I couldn't imagine being this age and just having that kind of rigidity, but also pampered existence. I don't know, but I just think it's a lame thing to do and people are so scared to just back themselves.

I moved out with $4,000 and I'll be going back to Melbs, living off nothing but what I get myself, with about $2,000 in a month. I break even with my Centrelink and Youth Allowance (mmmm yo taxes) every week, in comparison to rent and living costs.

Still, so worth it. It's the best way to live as a 19-year old and I can't imagine my life another way.

Had plenty of mates move out at 17/18/19 and then was back with mum & dad within 6 months. Doesnt get much more depressing than that.

Yes it does. Not being able to bring girls back home because you're scared of mum and dad, not to mention being 20 years old and still having a room and just generally living with your parents. At least they had the gall to give it a go.

Make sure you:
- Know how to maintain a household. This includes washing dishes, clothes, and cleaning the house
- Know how to cook a few basic, healthy meals. You can't eat pizza every night.
- Have stable finances to deal with rent, bills and anything else that comes your way
- Live with the right people (if sharing). This is very important... You don't want to be living with party animals that are pigs and trash the house. It gets old pretty quick. I've seen good friends become enemies when they lived together. You want respectful housemates that keep public areas clean.

If you can't do any of that you'll be home before you know it.

Edit: Party house can be fun if you're young and like to have girls around and loud music. Make sure everyone knows what the deal is though.

Make sure you:
- Know how to maintain a household. This includes washing dishes, clothes, and cleaning the house
- Have stable finances to deal with rent, bills and anything else that comes your way
- Live with the right people (if sharing). This is very important... You don't want to be living with party animals that are pigs and trash the house. It gets old pretty quick. I've seen good friends become enemies when they lived together. You want respectful housemates that keep public areas clean.

If you can't do any of that you'll be home before you know it.

Edit: Party house can be fun if you're young and like to have girls around and loud music. Make sure everyone knows what the deal is though.

All excellent points. Have lived in both good and bad share houses.

One thing I did do was install a power point in my wardrobe and put a little bar fridge in it. Saved me looking like a dick by marking my foodstuff and saved me from cracking the shits if someone helped themselves to my beers , lunchmeats etc

Communal stuff = Main fridge

My goodies = Bar fridge.

How did you guys go the first time you tried getting your own place? As in, actually having you as the main tenant and having your name on the lease, as opposed to moving into a place on Gumtree?

Are you adressing anyone in particular? And if so in what context? Like application, or dealing with a property manager etc?

Just giving agents a call, going through the place... will they even patronise me and give me a go? I'm a pretty presentable guy and don't get shy or anything, it's just the whole "I'm 20 – can I have a look through and get a lease?"

you probably dont have the money on your current wage unless you want to live extremely shoe string, but that also means saving is near impossible

moving out too early can really put you behind in buying a house, you can easily get stuck in the rent trap (if you want to rent long term then thats fine, but if buying a house is your goal then just be aware)

you have enough on a week-to-week basis, but i would try and double your savings before moving out.

i'm imagining once you've paid the bond you're going to be pretty hard up if a situation arises where you need quick money, ie. you crash your car or something like that.

you probably dont have the money on your current wage unless you want to live extremely shoe string, but that also means saving is near impossible

moving out too early can really put you behind in buying a house, you can easily get stuck in the rent trap (if you want to rent long term then thats fine, but if buying a house is your goal then just be aware)

But really, how many young people will be able to afford to own their own, good house?

I mean I've pretty much given up hope. Even if I wanted to live in bloody Ringwood I'd struggle to get something in my lifetime.

you have enough on a week-to-week basis, but i would try and double your savings before moving out.

i'm imagining once you've paid the bond you're going to be pretty hard up if a situation arises where you need quick money, ie. you crash your car or something like that.
Yeah the bond is going to be $1000 each so good point. I'm in the process of trying to sell shit I don't use or need any more (6 guitars but I only ever play one of them) so hopefully that'll free up a bit of money as well. I'm hoping that if we do get the lease we'll find a third to split the costs reasonably soon after. Just not sure about the $500 each for furniture and stuff like how we're going to split the stuff down the line when we move out etc

Make sure you:

Sage advice.

Pretty straightforward that if you can't pay your bills you won't be able to stay, but moving out for the first time it takes a bit of time to get set up. It's not just furniture, appliances etc. that you might not have, but you go to mop the floors which you never had to do before and realise you have no floor cleaner. Then you realise you have no mop. Or bucket. Etc. Little things add up.

Being able to cook is important. If you're on a budget, you want to be able to feed yourself with enough nutrients to get by. If you eat shit, you'll feel shit.

Living with the right people is crucial. People you are the best of mates with and see every day will still get on your nerves if you live with them. Some people are neat freaks, others are homebodies, some never shut up, some finish everything without replacing it etc. I wouldn't live in another share house unless it was a good sized place and there were plenty of zones so you can have space to yourself where you live.

My parents went away for 6 months this year so I lived alone then with my brother, step brother and step sister and I was pretty much the only one who bothered to clean the house regularly so I sort of know how it works. And I'm hoping to get an apprenticeship as a chef so I can cook a bit anyway. Was just the shock of having them back and not being able to go and cook at whatever time or do anything late like TV or guitar that will wake people up that has me wanting to move out. Just feel like I need more space and freedom. Also have a four year old brother that is constantly nagging me to play with him 24/7 that's starting to do my head in. There's only so much Thomas the Tank Engine a grown man can take before wanting to blow your brains out.

Was great. I only did the sharehouse thing very briefly when I was overseas. When I got back home I landed a job and rented a nice unit that was just a few years old. It was kind of in the outer suburbs so that allowed for cheaper rent which meant I could save for a deposit on something I wanted. Its great because you can cook what you want, decorate how you want, watch what you want etc. Low rates meant the mortgage was only a bit more than rent anyway.

Depends on your home situation. If you're in a good location (close enough to work / entertainment / mates), and have enough freedom with the parents then it's ok to hang around for a bit longer. My parents place was nicknamed the Moreland Hotel by my mates. Just come and go when you please with whom you please. Only real rule was no substance use on premise, which really wasn't that big an imposition.

But yeah, get out before 25 at the very very latest.

Just giving agents a call, going through the place... will they even patronise me and give me a go? I'm a pretty presentable guy and don't get shy or anything, it's just the whole "I'm 20 – can I have a look through and get a lease?"

It can be really dependant. Some places will have times scheduled and you will show up with 1,000 other people, some will be more presentable and frankly better candidates for the agent some will be total dero bogans. Invariably in the market at the moment people will probably apply then and there some people apply without even checking the place out. It can be tough without any rental history etc, for my first few places i put together a letter introducing myself , explaining what i did etc. sounds like a total wank but i think it got me over on the other people applying.

But really, how many young people will be able to afford to own their own, good house?

I mean I've pretty much given up hope. Even if I wanted to live in bloody Ringwood I'd struggle to get something in my lifetime.

It's not easy but many of my friends have saved up the 25-40k for deposits on a house and gone on to buy

I had a friend get a house with a 15k deposit about 18 months ago

It's certainly achievable if you make it a priority

It's not easy but many of my friends have saved up the 25-40k for deposits on a house and gone on to buy

I had a friend get a house with a 15k deposit about 18 months ago

It's certainly achievable if you make it a priority

Agreed. It's less than a new car for a deposit.

Do it if you want, you probably have enough money.

You need to figure out priorities about what you want in your life though - is this the most important thing, saving money for your own place, travelling, a new car etc etc. On those sort of figures, you won;t be able to do all of these things.

What's wrong with Ringwood?

I'm about 5 years older than you and I bought a place around the area and it's not a bad suburb. The property has increased in value. It won't be my home forever, ideally I'd like to move regional, but it's a start.

You probably won't enjoy sharing forever, trust me. Nor will renting during retirement be a good option.

Not making out to know you or anything, but most nice, good houses in the inner suburbs are owned by people who have been working hard for many, many years and continue to do so to service their mortgages. Perhaps you need to temper your expectations.