Moving Out?

Hey guys I'm 15, turning 16 next week and had a problem.

Me and my best mate (turned 16 yesterday) are in a similar situation. He's getting kicked out of home and is planning on getting a rental (somehow?) around my area. I have had problems recently with the oldies and weve mutually agreed I'm moving out as soon as I can afford it.

I'm an apprentice sparky, earning $260 a week (40 hours @ $6.80/hour), mate is still at school.

Wondering if Youth Allowance/Rent Assistance could help us out or there is any way we can share a rental and get by?

Help greatly appreciated

MG

Me and my best mate (turned 16 yesterday) are in a similar situation. He's getting kicked out of home and is planning on getting a rental (somehow?) around my area. I have had problems recently with the oldies and weve mutually agreed I'm moving out as soon as I can afford it.

I'm an apprentice sparky, earning $260 a week (40 hours @ $6.80/hour), mate is still at school.

Wondering if Youth Allowance/Rent Assistance could help us out or there is any way we can share a rental and get by?

Help greatly appreciated

MG

You'd be hard pressed to find a landlord that would give two 16 year olds a rental opportunity. Just harsh reality, 16 year old boys would not be considered good tenants as they would be pre-judged to be a) irresponsible b) not good with money/bills.

On your wage, I'd be trying to straighten things out with your olds, or maybe trying to board with a generous family for as cheaply as they allow. 260 doesnt go far.

No chance anyone will take the risk on two 16yo's. I'm not sure anyone would let you board either.

Your 16 yo mate is getting kicked out of home? That astounds me. Either he is a dead-set loser or his parents are scum bags.

"weve mutually agreed I'm moving out as soon as I can afford it."

You can't afford it yet.

What are our chances of finding somewhere to board? How much would we be looking at?

The two of you together - I'd say zero chance. If you board on your own there would be many families willing to take you on, under the old "You live under my roof, you live under my rules" situation. Cheap board probably be up for 100-150pw depending on whether your meals are included.

My advice: suck it up and patch things up with the olds. There's no way you can afford to live on 260 a week out of home.

Without knowing your exact situation, if your 'problems' with your folks are just that you have different views on lifestyle enhancements (chicks? booze? drugs? whatever floats your boat), try agreeing to disagree and don't cause your folks unnecessary trouble. If you can stay at home until you're 18 (or ideally finished your apprenticeship), it'll be much easier.

Anyway, my 2c.

Unless you're a 16 year old heir to an insane fortune, chances are moving out at that age makes no sense whatsoever. Every 16 year old hates their parents, suck it up, mature a bit and in a few years you will be on better coin with more savings and then can move out.

Could not agree more with what the other posters on this board have said.

Your mate sounds like a dropkick. Maybe you should reconsider before you let him drag you into the abyss he's heading for.

Grow up, sort things out with your parents, begin saving $20 a week, and reassess the situation in two years.

Don't get pulled into a stupid decision someone else is making.

So did you move out?

I think he lost his apprenticeship, so it would appear unlikely...

What makes you say that?

You could live off $260 a week if you did it by yourself, found a cheap board and lived a very disciplined lifestyle that's very basic and simple. Forget $260 for you and or mate.

Help greatly appreciated

MG

Make it up with the oldies and stay until you are 25. In the mean time, save and invest so that at 25 you are in a really great financial position.

Join the Navy. Earn $30,000 for the first year with mega cheap accommodation/food then second year make $60,000 odd go to sea for a bit and make $70000-75000 a year and go to the gulf and make $100,000 a year. Then when you're 23 and you've done your 6 years leave the Navy with your apprenticeship done.

They might even offer you a payment of $30,000 to convince you to stay for another 18 months before you discharge.

Problem solved.

Lost my job, currently (hopelessly seeing as I have no qualifications or drivers license) seeking employment.

I know for a fact I wont find full time work before my 17th birthday (next september) because i lack a drivers license.

A mate (randomly) invited me to live with him because his having another mate live there, dont have to pay board just chip in for food.

Can claim youth allowance + rent assistance (tell centrelink im paying board).

At least I have some form of income if I do that rather than living at home - I have bills to pay and am selling my car because I have no money.

MG

Lost my job, currently (hopelessly seeing as I have no qualifications or drivers license) seeking employment.

I know for a fact I wont find full time work before my 17th birthday (next september) because i lack a drivers license.

A mate (randomly) invited me to live with him because his having another mate live there, dont have to pay board just chip in for food.

Can claim youth allowance + rent assistance (tell centrelink im paying board).

At least I have some form of income if I do that rather than living at home - I have bills to pay and am selling my car because I have no money.

MG
Are you Fabian Francis?