Murray Newman

• Thread starter Thread starter West123

Well that certainly got some discussion going.

I don't like the way it's been dusted under the carpet seemingly; put yourself in the victim's shoes. On the fence whether he should play for us or not.. seems the strategy is ignore it and in time it will go away. Even the commentators danced around the issue.

Wasn't one of the reasons for not looking at D Garlett due to his off-field issues? Might give a clue as to the second question.

Seem we were right to not draft him after reading a story about how Mitchell had already pulled him aside telling him to pull his head in. From all reports Newman has been a model citizen and i think having Garlett around the club would have seen Newman fall into the same traps.

I don't like the way it's been dusted under the carpet seemingly; put yourself in the victim's shoes. On the fence whether he should play for us or not.. seems the strategy is ignore it and in time it will go away. Even the commentators danced around the issue.

Well it's not going to go away. He's due to be sentenced on March 7th.

That will result in either a fine/suspended sentence, in which case he's free* to continue to build on his apparent good pre-season form and push for an upgrade and senior selection, or a term of imprisonment commencing that day, in which case he won't be playing in a West Coast uniform again any time soon and playing him against Freo (and in any other pre-season games) will have been a waste of time.

*in more ways than one.

Seem we were right to not draft him after reading a story about how Mitchell had already pulled him aside telling him to pull his head in. From all reports Newman has been a model citizen and i think having Garlett around the club would have seen Newman fall into the same traps.

You might be right in most of what you say, but Newman has not been a model citizen since the incident. Spitting the dummy as bad as he did playing for the Black Duckies, is a case in point.

From all reports Newman has been a model citizen
Only since he was the complete opposite...
I had to demob a model citizen today because they did something that was against the law and procedure. They were a good worker though and promised to be a model citizen in future...

It was Albany

He may get to be Mayor
You're right I think it must be an Albany thing, maybe we are just brought up tougher or something :confused:

I haven't said too much about this topic and don't intend getting into a wrong vs right debate with anyone but in all honesty all this emotion over a young bloke belting someone during a tough time is a little bit over the top IMO... it happens. Don't get me wrong I don't condone violence at all but it's not like it's not natural human behaviour and doesn't happen in everyday life on a regular basis.
Newman acted erratically over a situation that obviously had his own emotions in a bit of turmoil (a breakup and an apparent mate poking the ex from what I can gather) it hurts and makes one think and do things they sometimes regret. I don't agree with fighting but I do understand circumstantial emotion taking over. I don't know Murray Newman but I reckon he's had a fair bit to think about lately so I'm not going to be one who wants his head on the chopping block I'd like to see him have an opportunity to show he can learn some self control and focus on footy.

Yeah, if a guy throws a punch or two, he should -never- be allowed to work in his chosen profession ever again. I mean, if someone broke your jaw, you wouldn't want to see him working as an accountant or an engineer, would you?!
There are a number of professions where a criminal conviction means he would never work again in that profession.

If only it was relevant to Newmans sentencing?

Oh hold on... Newman's guilty already.. I've been inactive since footy season ended, haven't really been up to date with anything.

Only reason why I posted that was because I thought they were both similar cases. Nevermind then!

Hes on the rookie list anyway, so if we delist him its not going to free up a spot for anything this year.
I don't know what they will do though im not aware of any other cases where a club has had someone imprisoned still on their list...
No need to delist him right now, simply just leave him out of the team until we know he's avoided prison, no need to announce that he's intentionally being left out.

It's something they definately consider. The need for punishment, deterance, protection of society, rehabilitation, and the guilt of Marley Williams.

I'm sure I've read it somewhere.
The High Court was sitting in Albany ;-)

Only since he was the complete opposite...
I had to demob a model citizen today because they did something that was against the law and procedure. They were a good worker though and promised to be a model citizen in future...

Isn't the goal or jails to rehabilitate the person to be able to become a member of society again?

Seems to me Murray has done this already without going to jail, I think sending him to jail would be the worse thing for him in that respect. Could actually have a severe negative effect on him.

Isn't the goal or jails to rehabilitate the person to be able to become a member of society again?

No, that's just one aspect.
It is also to provide a disincentive for others to follow in the individuals footsteps.
There is also the retribution element of the criminal law.

No, that's just one aspect.
It is also to provide a disincentive for others to follow in the individuals footsteps.
There is also the retribution element of the criminal law.

I did actually mean to put 'one of the goals'. Blame the morning.