Nathan Ablett

MmkMrMackie

Has played some decent footy this year, but the last few weeks he has looked like a lost puppy. Is it time for him to be dropped for a run in the VFL? who would we replace him with? The obvious answer is Tom Hawkins, but has his form in the VFL warranted a run? Its painful even to think, but should we give Gardiner a run?

Hawk for nab straight swap. Play hawk at FF and moons from CHF.

One ordinary game from a 20 game tall forward who is otherwise having a good season.

Adelaide have one of the best defensive units in the league. They regularly target and shut down forwards from all clubs.

If NAB is fit for the next match he should definitely play.

I'm unsure whether today is a good example of his play, all posters on this page have stated today's disposal efforts were a long way off par, so Nathan maybe just didn't have the chance.

Leave him in if he is fit, if not, well take him out. However we have a week off soon, maybe he can play next week and really take the week or so to recover.

Otherwise the Hawk is a straight swap.

One ordinary game from a 20 game tall forward who is otherwise having a good season.

Adelaide have one of the best defensive units in the league. They regularly target and shut down forwards from all clubs.

If he is fit for the next match he should definitely play.

His form over the last few weeks has been ordinary.

I will go on a crime spree if he is dropped. He won't be, so I am safe!

Depends. If he is carrying an injury thats starting to mess with his performance, wouldn't you rather him have 2 weeks rest and be ready for the run home?

His form over the last few weeks has been ordinary.

I disagree he has been ok up until today. He was ordinary today true but you have to take the opposition into account. If he played like that against an average defensive unit maybe he would benefit from a spell in the twos but the Crows are very tough defensively and you are not taking this into account.

If Nath has an injury then yes, give him a spell.

If he's fit, well, think about if you're the opposition coach. You need to put a decent defender on him simply because he's an Ablett. You put a kid or someone who plays him loose and he'll kill you. Nathan's out, you can put a better defender on SJ, Chappy etc. He keeps a quality defender away from someone else and gives opponents one more person to worry about.

I disagree he has been ok up until today. He was ordinary today true but you have to take the opposition into account. If he played like that against an average defensive unit maybe he would benefit from a spell in the twos but the Crows are very tough defensively and you are not taking this into account.

nathankx1.jpg

Sorry mate, but his stats would suggest otherwise. He is definately not the same player he was at the start of the year. His last month of footy has been shocking.

nathankx1.jpg

Sorry mate, but his stats would suggest otherwise. He is definately not the same player he was at the start of the year. His last month of footy has been shocking.

Well mate you keep reading the stats...and I'll keep watching the footy itself and reading and understanding the game for what his worth is to the side. These are things that stats dont support and you obviously have no understanding of these football things

IE...strategies/matchups/goal assists/how to position yourself with respect to other forwards and defenders to create goal scoring from just being intelligent... etc etc

No amount of useless dialogue with a 'stats' man is going to change that.

He was ordinary today. Thats it. If he keeps playing like today he will get dropped...he doesnt deserve to be dropped on one poor effort against a great backline and flooding midfield.

Any mention in the stats today about the opposition and what they were doing to keep him out of the game?

Maybe you and some other football genuises who think NAB 'had no idea' today could enlighten us about Football things...and not just make general comments that any idiot could make.

Well mate you keep reading the stats...and I'll keep watching the footy itself and reading and understanding the game for what his worth is to the side. These are things that stats dont support and you obviously have no understanding of these football things

IE...strategies/matchups/goal assists/how to position yourself with respect to other forwards and defenders to create goal scoring from just being intelligent... etc etc

He was ordinary today. Thats it. If he keeps playing like today he will get dropped...he doesnt deserve to be dropped on one poor effort against a great backline and flooding midfield.

Any mention in the stats today about the opposition and what they were doing to keep him out of the game?

Maybe you and some other football genuises who think NAB 'had no idea' today could enlighten us about Football things...and not just make general comments that any idiot could make.

Well, if just standing around made someone a good footballer, then I reckon I could slot into any forward line in the AFL. The stats indicate to me that Nathan is not getting the ball - plain and simple. I think he had one touch to 3/4 time or something? He has been similarly quiet in recent weeks. I'm not saying he is not a good player, but perhaps he needs a few weeks in the VFL to get his confidence back?

Thank god there is someone with some common sense out there. If Nathan is dropped for Gardiner, Playfair et al. I will be bloody fuming. Aside from the fact that Nathan has had one poor match (i was at the saints match and he did a lot more than the stats would suggest; he was also good against PA in shocking conditions for tall forwards), there is no one (including Hawkins) who has the form in the 2's to deserve to replace him.

Actually being at the game is invaluable. Too many comments on here are from people who never get to the games at all.

Anyone see leigh matthews as a spectator today? Gee I wonder why? I can see him pouring over the disposal stats this week and playing a rookie on NAB because he feels he is pretty useless at the moment.

Actually being at the game is invaluable. Too many comments on here are from people who never get to the games at all.

Anyone see leigh matthews as a spectator today? Gee I wonder why? I can see him pouring over the disposal stats this week and playing a rookie on NAB because he feels he is pretty useless at the moment.

Facts are that Nathan Ablett is lacking the confidence that saw him dominate the first part of the season. Deny it all you like, but it is there for all to see. His stats make for poor reading, and the amount of times that he drops easy marks makes me want to scream.

That will come with time and with experience, wouldnt give up on him but do think he may need a week or two in the 2s to just get a little touch back. dont think its a major problem though.

Facts now mate? Ha ha...keep twisting yourself up in knots stats man...they might read poorly but you might actually start becoming entertaining.

The FACTS are he is our best option in that forward role at the moment for many reasons. If you want to drop guys on one poor effort thats your opinion...and a wrong one.

You havent taken any consideration of who we are playing next week...what the match ups are...why he actually played poorly today.

Those are the real facts. You are a 'superficial' supporter and your opinions read similarly.