Nathan Brown

Heaps of coverage for Cousins and Coughlan at the moment in the media, but no one has really mentioned Brown. Finished last season with injury. Where is he at now? (here come the disgruntled dogs fans.......). I feel that if he struggles again this year, it could be time to pull the pin. Discuss. (for the record, i love him as a player).

Browny was good last year. In a winning team he is the bloke that ices the cake and you notice him more. Think 2005.

Having a side that is on the up, looking to win more than it loses, and can sniff finals will bring out the best football in NG Brown;)

He didn't struggle at all. Basically when the side was down in the dumps every time he would pull a goal or two out of nowhere and lift us up again. He's the X factor. When he's firing hes probably the most important player in our side.

:oyou think he struggled last year, i think its time you start to watch some footy you really are embarrassing

read the thread again, and yes he did at times struggle (played some good footy as well), but he did not finish the year due to injury, so again discuss.

had a great year looked magical up forward and really looked great onball
his pin point kicking especially through the corridor was great when he went on the ball, after the pettifer bowden droppings really improved his defensive side as far as chasing and harassing goes. got rested late in the year due to a sore leg, is burning it up pre season again
no worries for ng brown probably 2-3 left

had a great year looked magical up forward and really looked great onball
his pin point kicking especially through the corridor was great when he went on the ball, after the pettifer bowden droppings really improved his defensive side as far as chasing and harassing goes. got rested late in the year due to a sore leg, is burning it up pre season again
no worries for ng brown probably 2-3 left

Beautiful. Haven't seen or heard much about him over the pre season. just hope he's over his injuries, and is managed correctly over pre season. As everyone knows a match winner on any given day.

i read it perfectly the first time, you said if he struggles again this year he should retire he did not struggle last year for someone who had not played much footy in the previous 2-3 years and he played really well last year. but uneducated fools like you expect him to be at his best when coming back:rolleyes:

great news on brown. look forward to him playing in a good young side. hopefully can have a few good stints on the ball again. him along with morton will help our forward line alot. now we just need a strong, proven ff to go along with brown and morton.

yeh it will look good if hughes comes along this year, we will just have to wait and see i guess

last year was his best year since he broke his leg... i mean he was instrumental in getting us over the line in games against both the blue and the dons... it amazes me that some of our own supporters can only remeber the end of the season and say he struggled... that game against adelaide he killed it at the g and other games as well... it is a bonus no that next year he won't have to venture up the ground to much we have got the likes of cogs and cousins in the middle as wekll browny can go show his class but we are settled up forward with jack, cleve, the brown man and morton to go with players floating in and out ie pattison nahas gourdis putt post vickery... he will really shine this year... don't be surprised if he doesn't almost win the b&f

Brown now becomes the luxury type player. The player you can throw into the middle occasionally fo a quick lift or the player you can leave in the forwardline and kick his 2-3 goals a game, a player that will be always demanding a very good defender.

This is what Midfield depth and strength is all about and it's what I have been trumpeting for 4 years.
Instead of relying on Brown to win the ball 30 times a game we now can use his finishing skills to it's optimum and create head aches from the opposition.
When people say we still lack a small forward I just laugh. We have the best small forward in the comp, it's just we have relied on him too much up the ground.

yeh it will look good if hughes comes along this year, we will just have to wait and see i guess
hopefully hughes plays good footy all year and then with jack we have a good forward we just need another tall in there or just on occasions. maybe schulz or patto or maybe even vickery.

yeah we have a number of those guys who can play cameo roles but hopefully someone makes that position there own

Brown now becomes the luxury type player. The player you can throw into the middle occasionally fo a quick lift or the player you can leave in the forwardline and kick his 2-3 goals a game, a player that will be always demanding a very good defender.

This is what Midfield depth and strength is all about and it's what I have been trumpeting for 4 years.
Instead of relying on Brown to win the ball 30 times a game we now can use his finishing skills to it's optimum and create head aches from the opposition.
When people say we still lack a small forward I just laugh. We have the best small forward in the comp, it's just we have relied on him too much up the ground.

100% on the money with that quote Nut!
its kinda like with Cogs, its hard to remember how good they were because of their absence from the team.
when Brownie was up and running he was the best small forward in the comp, thats why we drafted him!
I though he was getting better with each game last year before his injury.
if he stays injury free this year i dont see any reason why 2009 cant be his best for the club.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

100% on the money with that quote Nut!
its kinda like with Cogs, its hard to remember how good they were because of their absence from the team.
when Brownie was up and running he was the best small forward in the comp, thats why we drafted him!
I though he was getting better with each game last year before his injury.
if he stays injury free this year i dont see any reason why 2009 cant be his best for the club.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Cog's is exactly the same. He will add grunt and pressure into the midfield, allowing players like Lids, Edwards, Mcmahon etc... to run off him. Our tackle count will go up and our core strength.

....and then there's cousins.:D:thumbsu:

Cog's is exactly the same. He will add grunt and pressure into the midfield, allowing players like Lids, Edwards, Mcmahon etc... to run off him. Our tackle count will go up and our core strength.

....and then there's cousins.:D:thumbsu:
the more we talk about the players the better they sound. the only negative thing is, its so long untill pre season let alone round 1.

i read it perfectly the first time, you said if he struggles again this year he should retire he did not struggle last year for someone who had not played much footy in the previous 2-3 years and he played really well last year. but uneducated fools like you expect him to be at his best when coming back:rolleyes:

It started as a discussion piece where anyone could have input. You have had your say and fair enough, that's the point of it. As for education, i reckon anyone who has to resort to insults to prove a point, may not be to bright. If you can't have an adult discussion without insults i would suggest let the grown ups talk and you can go back to your room and flog to your mums target catelogues:D

i agree. i have been thinking for a while now that as soon as a player such as browny becomes a luxury, the better.

in the past we have relied on the richo's, brown's, bowden's and co to win games off their own boots. it was not very healthy at all.

but now when we dont have to rely on browny or richo kicking bags of goals or bowden having to play on a scotty lucas or jonathon brown these players become luxuries because we dont need them to star to win us games anymore. anything they do from here on is just icing on the cake the way it should be with veteran players.

it also makes everything they do that much more sweeter;)

Didn't think he struggled last year but did miss alot of footy towards the end of the season which is a worry. Just because his broken leg was so brutal I personally get a little worried when he misses 3 games in a row and not for poor form. By far and wide the most couragous player I have ever seen when he broke his leg. Wasn't in shock , knew exactly what was happening , took in the deep breaths and then off to hospital. I can't think that any player in the AFL could be that tough if we ever saw a injury like that ever again.

I hope his legs fine but have my doubts. Hope he has an awsome year because he is one of the hearts and souls of our footy club and has never let anyone down since coming on board.

Go Browny

Didn't think he struggled last year but did miss alot of footy towards the end of the season which is a worry. Just because his broken leg was so brutal I personally get a little worried when he misses 3 games in a row and not for poor form. By far and wide the most couragous player I have ever seen when he broke his leg. Wasn't in shock , knew exactly what was happening , took in the deep breaths and then off to hospital. I can't think that any player in the AFL could be that tough if we ever saw a injury like that ever again.

I hope his legs fine but have my doubts. Hope he has an awsome year because he is one of the hearts and souls of our footy club and has never let anyone down since coming on board.

Go Browny
his broken leg is fine there is no need to stress about that lol