Nathan Brown

I really feel bad for all you Richmond fans. I never watch the footy show ever because i think it has become a big boys club that don't like talking about football as much as they do pumping up their own ego's. However i watched last thursday night for the first time in i would say two years, and I could not believe Nathan Brown, just arrogant and sure of himself and you just get that feeling as people have stated before he is not a team player, he's there at richmond for money. I understand people saying you need to have things to do in your life other then football (People were very critical of Shane Crawford for the exact same reasons) However I dont think anyone has ever doubted Shane Crawfords commitment to his training, rehab, team mates and performance on field. The same can not be said about Nathan Brown. The worst was when i changed the channel and turned it back on a bit later to the footy show and they were showing a clip of people modeling brown's clothes on the catwalk. At the end of the day a team of great individuals will always get thumped by a great team, end of story.

I have a little story about Nathan Brown. Third hand information, although not all that suprising if its true.

When he was at the Bulldogs, he used to go to a Ford dealer for promotional stuff... or whatever it was, I'm not sure. Anyway, I spoke to the head of the Ford dealer this year and he had spoken to Brown all those years ago. When he asked "Which club do you think you'll be going to" (at this stage no one knew) Brown responded with "Whichever club pays me the most money."

Pretty much says it all, really.
Agree with the concept entirely, and time to drop Brown. But seriously, that comment was probably just a gag. Give him a break, footballers can't get away with anything these days.

There needs to be a clear distinction made between money and profile. Brown was in the best half-dozen paid and performed players at the Dogs before he left, and he would have been handomely renumerated had he decided to stay (only marginally less than the final Richmond offer). He ultimately didn't leave the Dogs over money, he left the Dogs to raise his personal profile. Nobody can say that it hasn't been a success - have a look at his burgeoning personal endorsement portfolio outside of football now compared to 2003 - and he only matched his Bulldog on-field form for a short 5-week patch since he crossed over to Punt Rd. So he has commanded big money both on and off the field, yet hasn't improved as a footballer at all during this time - only having a high profile can achieve and maintain this personal ambition.

His clubs of interest when he decided to leave the Bulldogs were Richmond, Collingwood and Carlton. No interest in the likes of Hawthorn (who were far lower profile 6 years ago), North, Geelong or St Kilda. Like all good marketers, he understood the value of profile, and has reaped the personal rewards accordingly.

I missed TFS last week, but if he used his profile to flog his personal interests, at a time when his club has been bashed around the ears by all and sundry, this attitude tells you all you need to know about where his true motivation lies.

Dismiss this as some sort of diatribe from a Bulldog supporter all you like. It's your choice.

Sadly won't happen...as if tezza would do it to his best mate.

Would be a great sight though...
I would think a stint in the magoos would be humbling for Browny
The other fashion stuff is irrelevant the bottom line is he aint performing on field

Doubt it would happen with Wallet looking after him

Coughlan you are living right up to that name, your posts are about as good as M.Coughlan knees. I don't need to act like i am clever i can confirm that i am clever. Why dont you go back and hide back under that rock you crawled out from.
Did you get that Yellow Card for pure stupidity. I bet you are one of the cretins that spat on Danny Frawley 5 years ago or better still i bet you are Terry Wallace's sister!
Why did you get that Red?
I would say it is for your pure stupidity:thumbsu: