Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

Again, all of those players have been able to get onto the park, freeman has not.
It was a bad trade, call me a pessimist or whatever you please but it was a bad move by the club.

how was it a bad trade ( 6 months on, seriously ffs) ? if this club doesn't take risks, and a 2nd Rnd pick for the potential that he has is a low risk, then we go nowhere. fast. we still have so much ground to make up, and by the time we seriously contend, 1/3 to 1/2 of the current team won't be there anyway.

was it more or less of a risk to take Billings over Bont or Paddy over Pettrecca? there is risk in every draft pick or trade, lets stop canning them 4 months later because he hasn't played yet

According to Jamie Cox.

DOMS is hours after and completely normal. Awareness is immediate and a sign that the muscle isn't quite coping with the load but it's not to the point of injury (strain/tear)

Cheers. So the fact he felt awareness but the scans were negative could mean it's psychological not physical, yeah?

how was it a bad trade ( 6 months on, seriously ffs) ? if this club doesn't take risks, and a 2nd Rnd pick for the potential that he has is a low risk, then we go nowhere. fast. we still have so much ground to make up, and by the time we seriously contend, 1/3 to 1/2 of the current team won't be there anyway.

was it more or less of a risk to take Billings over Bont or Paddy over Pettrecca? there is risk in every draft pick or trade, lets stop canning them 4 months later because he hasn't played yet

I guess Collingwood got Scharenberg, Freeman and Broomhead in one draft and it looked like they'd made out like bandits. I guess there is risk in everything. Richmond took Dean Polo, Adam Pattison and Richard Tambling with picks under 20 in 2004 while the hawks got Roughead, Buddy and Lewis in the same draft...the rest is history.

I think the 46 touches and a goal in 3/4 in the Development League 2 weeks ago answers the "why" in regards to Freeman's recruitment.

Just have to hope he can overcome/grow out of his hamstring issues.

Anyway, I see no point in making negative comments about the kid or about the club's decision to trade for him. He's our player now and the relevant pick is not. We desperately need him to succeed.

These setbacks are a real test of his resolve and we need to encourage the lad.

Unfortunately, if he read some of the doom and gloom on these forums he'd really start to doubt his future [emoji853]

I think the 46 touches and a goal in 3/4 in the Development League 2 weeks ago answers the "why" in regards to Freeman's recruitment.

Anyway, I see no point in making negative comments about the kid or about the club's decision to trade for him. He's our player now and the relevant pick is not. We desperately need him to succeed.

Unfortunately, if he read some of the doom and gloom on these forums he'd really start to doubt his future [emoji853]

I want him sent for calf semen treatment in Germany or something. I demand more be done. Perhaps LARS hammies.

Have you ever done hamstring curls and when you get up you have that almost tickly type feeling in your hamstrings? Hamstring "awareness" is essentially a mixture of feeling fatigue and tightness. You can flex and extend your leg no worries but you have a general feeling in the muscle group. If you've ever done a hamstring you'll know what I'm talking about as you'd have felt it at some stage in your rehab. As Freeman was missing a game due to the bye they would have (I assume) put him through a pretty tough session to get high intensity loads into him. It just means his hamstrings weren't happy with the load so they'll drop him back to recover and build him back up. The scan was negative. It's not ideal but I'm essentially no less confident that he will be a player at the Saints.
I used to get this maybe 3 times a year. Would always happen at Tueaday night training, & I found I was a bit stiff from the game on Saturday arvo (Ammos), if did too much too soon without warming up properly. Would usually just mean sit out training that night, do light stuff on Thursday & have a fitness test before he game on Saturday. Any sensation in the hammy at all during that fitness test & you sat out the game & revised the next Tuesday

No he said "but scans revealed no significant damage" that doesn't say the scans were negative

Sorry mate I meant negative for a strain/tear. There may well have been some level of signal.

Cheers. So the fact he felt awareness but the scans were negative could mean it's psychological not physical, yeah?

Look I'd only be speculating in relation to Freeman but hamstring awareness is physical. It may be that because of his history he mentions it to staff earlier than a player with no history so in that case there is a psychological element.

To put it into perspective, I've had 3 patients who are rehabbing from hamstrings in the last 2-3 weeks. Two of which have had awareness in a session. I dropped their loads back a bit but haven't changed their return to play dates yet. If managed it's generally not an issue. However, of course Freeman is different due to his history so they are a bit more conservative. It's certainly not ideal but also not major.

I used to get this maybe 3 times a year. Would always happen at Tueaday night training, & I found I was a bit stiff from the game on Saturday arvo (Ammos), if did too much too soon without warming up properly. Would usually just mean sit out training that night, do light stuff on Thursday & have a fitness test before he game on Saturday. Any sensation in the hammy at all during that fitness test & you sat out the game & revised the next Tuesday

Exactly.

Sorry mate I meant negative for a strain/tear. There may well have been some level of signal.

Look I'd only be speculating in relation to Freeman but hamstring awareness is physical. It may be that because of his history he mentions it to staff earlier than a player with no history so in that case there is a psychological element.

To put it into perspective, I've had 3 patients who are rehabbing from hamstrings in the last 2-3 weeks. Two of which have had awareness in a session. I dropped their loads back a bit but haven't changed their return to play dates yet. If managed it's generally not an issue. However, of course Freeman is different due to his history so they are a bit more conservative.

Exactly.

You guys are getting in the way of us losing out shit and blowing this out of proportion.

We are all concerned. It's just a broad spectrum from 'Mild eyebrow raising interest' to 'Round 2 v Western Bulldogs Armageddon' that we Saints supporters like to deal in.

Most of us fall somewhere in that spectrum ;)

We are all concerned. It's just a broad spectrum from 'Mild eyebrow raising interest' to 'Round 2 v Western Bulldogs Armageddon' that we Saints supporters like to deal in.

Most of us fall somewhere in that spectrum ;)

Yeah post Bulldogs I went full Rainman. I'm probably only slight facial tic on Freezer.

You're right, a top 25 pick so he can rack up possessions in the development league every 3-4 weeks is why we traded for him.....

To put it into perspective, I've had 3 patients who are rehabbing from hamstrings in the last 2-3 weeks. Two of which have had awareness in a session. I dropped their loads back a bit but haven't changed their return to play dates yet. If managed it's generally not an issue. However, of course Freeman is different due to his history so they are a bit more conservative. It's certainly not ideal but also not major.

Exactly.
Are you telling me i need to put down my pitchfork and torch?

Yeah post Bulldogs I went full Rainman. I'm probably only slight facial tic on Freezer.
Freeman did what ?

560a415d0c8d97e58ba8f37318213823.jpg

Lately we have all become a little to ready to go to bulldogageddon levels. Lets wait til the end of the year if Freeman isn't a regular VFL player we can complain all offseason and argue about who we could of drafted and how good they will be

You're right, a top 25 pick so he can rack up possessions in the development league every 3-4 weeks is why we traded for him.....
Don't be silly, mischievous and misquotey.

Those numbers blew everyone away and I was simply indicating they provide a snapshot of this kid's ability and help answer the question "why did we trade for him?"

Of course we want him doing it for the Saints. But if he had that sort of ability and no injury concerns it would've taken a lot, lot more from us to complete the deal.

Couldnt care less of he played at all this year.

Was there anything on the scans? No.

Is the hammy torn? No

Are there a bunch of campaigners on this thread? Yes.
About time you owned up to being a campaigner.

Except in Freeman's case there is no fitness test for this week's game. It's just give it a miss and reassess the following week aka ultra conservative. To quote richo, he is here for a career not just one game

The more I think about it the more I think it's a storm in a tea cup. If it was anyone else we wouldn't even blink twice reading the article, let alone go full crazy like some(including me) have.
I think we'd all admit if he he actually plays a game this year it's a bonus, so let's let it settle and see what happens.

Can't believe the overreaction in here... I'll form an opinion on bust or no bust when he's been with us 18 months and there's actually evidence to suggest he's cooked

People have a short memory that when we traded for him the club clearly said the medicos will have to work hard with him but it's about the long term view and we think we can get him right.. We are only 6 months into that.. Calm down!