Player Watch Nathan Freeman

On one hand we have a crack at Saints for talking him down in pick value, whilst offering him $300k.
Yet our posters talk up his pick value, whilst talking down his character and durability:confused:

Naturally there is nothing but positive in this.
Just one player who wants to leave. He's homesick, I mean Greedy and no good anyway. Players leave good clubs all the time.
Now Buckley finally has his list......

I'm guessing some sort of defect. Or his quads are too strong and he's hammies too weak.

If there was some big genetic defect then it would of come up in his junior career. He was 100% fit throughout juniors, comes to Collingwood and spends 2 years in rehab.

Just another in a long line of blokes who can't get their soft tissue injuries fixed at the pies. Not the clubs fault though, just a huge coincidence.

Hine, Rendall, Balmey etc are not mugs when it comes to list management/player retention.

The fact that a player deemed talented enough to warrant pick 10, with attributes that are not abundant at the club (speed) is being let go for the paltry sum of 300k, taking in to account the delistings/retirements already on our list, is telling.

What's paltry about 300k? That's above the average wage of a senior listed player. I doubt we have hundreds of thousands just lying around at this time of the year, especially after we hand out a huge chunk to Treloar, plus pendles is taking over 700k and Cloke is massively weighing down our salary cap.

If there was some big genetic defect then it would of come up in his junior career. He was 100% fit throughout juniors, comes to Collingwood and spends 2 years in rehab.

Just another in a long line of blokes who can't get their soft tissue injuries fixed at the pies. Not the clubs fault though, just a huge coincidence.
Genuinely not trying to troll here, but we have some posters with inside knowledge on our board that called our interest in Freeman a lot earlier than the media. They have been saying the whole time that Freeman was mismanaged and put out to play when he wasn't ready. This is a large factor in him wanting to move on.

Medical staff aren't mind readers, if you think your body isn't up to it, it's up to you to say something about it.

Thanks for sharing, just wasn't meant to be.
I'm sure Saints are keen on a top 10 pick who supported them as a kid.
A reasonable trade will be done.

We were all looking forward to him playing next year on what his potential is. Now he is going why has that potential gone that we wouldn't or shouldn't ask for a 1st round pick. It's not for what his done but what he could do. 1st round nothing less.

Yep, blame the club. I'm sure the saints have a great history of managing players with injury. Mate it is a cop out. Not denying he may have said that. However, I think it is a reflection of the character of the boy to pass off the blame.

We had Scharenberg come back in quick time from a knee. He was committed in doing all the right things to get his body right and aid in rehab. Freeman, from my understanding, did not have the same commitment. My view is that his character is not up to AFL standard. Good luck to whoever takes him. I'd rather we tried to pick up a player who is committed.

We couldn't fix his hamstrings for him, maybe if he wasn't out on the piss they would've healed quicker. Shows poor character if you ask me to point your finger at the club that gave you a chance, poured resources into your rehab and you gave jack shit to to blame them, demand a big contract and then storm out.

I'm sure all those issues will be fixed at St Kilda though...

The problem with Freeman is he's no longer rated as high as a real pick 10.

Injuries have set him back of course but several players taken after him in the draft would be ahead of him in terms of development and potential now. Let alone most taken ahead of him.

I'd settle for a late first round pick (North's pick about right).

If he doesn't want to be at the club I'm quite happy to see him leave, was always rumblings about him not being happy about being drafted by the club he hated the most in the first place.

*shrug* What can you do. The way I see it is that he was probably more open to offers from other clubs than your standard 2nd year player due to the injuries and the money pushed it over the line. Lots of different little factors here. I'd say I hope he goes well at your club but I'd be lying :P I do hope that both clubs feel like they get a 'win/win' scenario from the trade at the very least.

Are you talking about his VFL stint? Because that doesn't make any sense

Lets make this trade work to our advantage
First option the kangas have shown intetest, most likely they will give us a first rounder for him. Make him go to North
Second option Blues have no salary cap space according to Maclure. If Aish nominates the pies we use Freeman as part of the deal, or force him to nominate for the PSD and let the lions get him that way.
What is he going to do then? Retire like Karnesis

He played 4 games (?) in the VFL in 2 years for us and we played him when he wasnt ready. I call bulldust.

Its a disgrace on the clubs behalf we can't talk him around in to staying money or not. What are Buckley and Pert paid for?

now is not the right time to post some thing like that.
not on this thread tg,thought you had a little more sense than that.
then again you like playing with fire

Are we really sure he's a pisshead who wasn't committed to his rehab? Seems a bit unfair based off hearsay and some Instagram photos

Mentally weak from him, he's seen the likes of Crisp, Greenwood, De Goey, Treloar etc come in and in my view thinks he'll be too far down the pecking order.

Anyway the way we are re-stocking our midfield, it won't affect us, a pick between 15-23 is what we should seek.

You know what. I reckon thats absolute frogshit. He tore it in the NAB Cup 2014. He then missed the rest of the year before absolutely lighting up the pre-season. Didn't miss a beat. Won time trials and in the top group of runnners consistently. The hype over the pre-season was massive. He was gunna be a star etc etc blah blah. He played a couple VFL praccy matches instead of the NAB games in 2015. To say he was played before he was ready is garbage. If anything, I reckon he was probably filthy he was made to play VFL instead of ones footy (That part is just me guessing;))

Lets make this trade work to our advantage
First option the kangas have shown intetest, most likely they will give us a first rounder for him. Make him go to North
Second option Blues have no salary cap space according to Maclure. If Aish nominates the pies we use Freeman as part of the deal, or force him to nominate for the PSD and let the lions get him that way.
What is he going to do then? Retire like Karnesis

We can't make him go anywhere.

He is uncontracted and disillusioned with the club.

He will tell us where to trade him, and if we disagree we lose him to the PSD.

Unfortunately we cant just ship him to the highest bidder, it'll be the saints 2nd round pick.

Pendlebury
Sidebottom
Adams
Greenwood
Crisp
Broomhead
De Goey
Blair
Swan*
Elliot*
Varcoe*
Macaffer**

Treloar!
Aish!

Seedsman?
Kennedy?

*'Rotation' player
** Depth
! Yes please!
? Gone?

Can't say I'm too bothered with Freeman's decision, we look ok in the midfield for the foreseeable future (potentially excellent) and if it gives us another piece to help secure Treloar or Aish I think we've done well.