Player Watch Nathan Freeman

What sort of bus - tour or commuter? A luxury bus with on board entertainment and a toilet? Or the type of bus that always stopping to let people on and off? Who is driving the bus? Bucks? Does he have an appropriate licence endorsement? Is this bus the only vehicle Bucks employs to motivate the boys?

Perhaps Nathan Freeman, Dayne Beams and others who have left aren't keen on bus travel. Personally I prefer trains, particularly over long distances. On a train, there would be room for the players' wives, girlfriends, friends and family. There's space to wander about, with maybe a dining car and first class sleeping berths to give the boys a bit of privacy.

In any event, if Beams and others are eluding to it in their farewell interviews, this bus metaphor is obviously causing concern. Maybe a convoy of cars travelling in the same direction might suit the boys better, avoiding the claustrophobic crush of an entire playing list, coaches and officials crammed into the one compartment.

Banksy and Darren Millane.
Eddie gets off before

The kings of the Night Club scene (The Tunnel) has a big night and decided they needed a bus ride to finish off their night.

Earlier in the night they took a hot dog vendor for a joy ride in his hot dog cart. Anybody else remember this?

Perhaps Nathan Freeman, Dayne Beams and others who have left aren't keen on bus travel. Personally I prefer trains, particularly over long distances. On a train, there would be room for the players' wives, girlfriends, friends and family. There's space to wander about, with maybe a dining car and first class sleeping berths to give the boys a bit of privacy.

So do I.

tf2 pies train.jpg

Banksy and Darren Millane.
Eddie gets off before

Remember the good old days used to see Banksy Christian Pants and there groupie Eddie quite a bit at the chevron .
Pants was a really nice guy saw him at the tunnell night club, I was drinking ouzo , i said gooday, he said My favourite drink mate shouted me another had heaps of drink passes.
Another time saw Mcguane with 2 girls at a Lonsdale st greek dinner.Was at his peak but started having groin problems.
I said Mick how is your groin mate
He said Hows you groin mate lol.
Also saw B.Taylor at a night club drinking from a coffee mug , that night he must have had 20 coffees ! Wouldnt have been able to sleep for a week.
Things were different then.

Remember the good old days used to see Banksy Christian Pants and there groupie Eddie quite a bit at the chevron .
Pants was a really nice guy saw him at the tunnell night club, was drinking ouzo , i said gooday, he said My favourite drink mate shouted me another had heaps of drink passes.
Another time saw Mcguane with 2 girls at a Lonsdale st greek dinner.Was at his peak but started having groin problems.
I said Mick how is your groin mate
He said Hows you groin mate lol.
Also saw B.Taylor at a night club drinking from a coffee mug , that night he must have had 20 coffees ! Wouldnt have been able to sleep for a week.
Things were different then.
Thing were very different then.

The kings of the Night Club scene (The Tunnel) has a big night and decided they needed a bus ride to finish off their night.
Ah the Tunnel, I have no recollection of being kicked out on numerous occasions.

Anyway do people remember McGuane being knocked back at the door only to climb through a side window with a young N.Buckley in tow?

Funny to think we were all worried about scharenberg yet should of been talking about freeman....i for one hopes he plays less that 50 games in his career
Pies are happy to part company with who they think should and fight for players they want to keep. Fairly obvious conclusion but I think you get the idea.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

What's this getting off the bus you talking bout?
As has been alluded to by many, it's a reference from Bucks about buying in.

From What Bucks has been saying, and Pert for that matter, I would suggest they have bought into the Jim Collins theories and book 'Good to Great'.

For those that are bored (and give half a **** given we have time until trade week) this is a well known book that focuses on what organisations need to do to seperate themselves from being in the top 0.5% (approx) of performers. It analyses all businesses from the last 100 years, takes the thousands of listed businesses on the stock exchange, and finds 7 that's have outperformed the market by 7 times or more (or something like that) and have sustained that performance. Basically finding the 'creme de la creme' of businesses performance based on hard data and stock price, and investigates WHY these organisations have been so good over so long.

To cut a long story short - there are 5 key things they identify. One of the biggest mantra's is, and I quote 'get the right people on the bus'. They say it over and over. It alludes to the fact that even if you don't know where the bus is going yet and how you will get there - if you get the right people in the right roles - they will take you there. ( blah blah blah)

I shit you not - read the book and look and the CFC the last 5 years and you would agree it's scary how close the decision making and communication has been to the philosophies of these teachings. Tie this in with the 'high performance seminars and workshops the club flogs for $750 a head, it's amazing.

Anywho, for those not so interested in that academic and bug eyed shit..... How bout those boobies on (insert relevant celebrity/personality here)!!!

Ah the Tunnel, I have no recollection of being kicked out on numerous occasions.

Anyway do people remember McGuane being knocked back at the door only to climb through a side window with a young N.Buckley in tow?
We used to call it the Trusty Tunnel because just like clockwork, you'd wait briefly in the queue before a fight broke out, then just bolt inside the place for free .. The things you do when you're young & stupid .. Back in the day that was Uncle Paul's money, his shout (dole , Paul keating era)

Calling someone a coward and a shit person behind a computer screen when you don't know them makes you a coward and a shit person.
Ouroboros-dragon-serpent-snake-symbol.jpg

But it isn't the same thing. Leaving because you are offered $1m compared to $750k is abut the money. If you were offered $25 it is an insult. Obviously these are exaggerated numbers for the sake of a point and we don't actually know any of the numbers but your assumption is not supported by the quote. What I am more concerned about is the same ting that I've been concerned about for a few years and that's the continued flow of exits. Even if it was about the money it would be simplistic to leave it at that. It's rarely completely and rarely never about the money. It's generally a factor and generally only one. As expected the latest round of exits are all 100% justified, nothing to do with Collingwood and 100% irrelevant to our list build.

I understand your point about the exits but I am more interested in the players arriving. If we are struggling why do players like Treloar want to play for us?

Ping golf clubs for freeman
Touche the pied piper

From What Bucks has been saying, and Pert for that matter, I would suggest they have bought into the Jim Collins theories and book 'Good to Great'.

For those that are bored (and give half a **** given we have time until trade week) this is a well known book that focuses on what organisations need to do to seperate themselves from being in the top 0.5% (approx) of performers. It analyses all businesses from the last 100 years, takes the thousands of listed businesses on the stock exchange, and finds 7 that's have outperformed the market by 7 times or more (or something like that) and have sustained that performance. Basically finding the 'creme de la creme' of businesses performance based on hard data and stock price, and investigates WHY these organisations have been so good over so long.

To cut a long story short - there are 5 key things they identify. One of the biggest mantra's is, and I quote 'get the right people on the bus'. They say it over and over. It alludes to the fact that even if you don't know where the bus is going yet and how you will get there - if you get the right people in the right roles - they will take you there. ( blah blah blah)

I shit you not - read the book and look and the CFC the last 5 years and you would agree it's scary how close the decision making and communication has been to the philosophies of these teachings. Tie this in with the 'high performance seminars and workshops the club flogs for $750 a head, it's amazing.

Anywho, for those not so interested in that academic and bug eyed shit..... How bout those boobies on (insert relevant celebrity/personality here)!!!
Along the same lines as "leading teams", not so much in the detail but the hoped outcome.
I think all AFL clubs would have similar thought not exactly the same programs in place.
You employ people who attended a business college/course/workshop, as every single club does, this is what you are going to get.
Not such a slight on the Pies as the times.

Brilliant post. There really is no secret formula for motivating people, whether they be adults or children. All you have to do is make a connection. Some people can, and some people can't. The ones that can't rely on self help books. The ones that can can't explain how they do it.

Remember the Tunnel well too, smelt of Euacalyptus all the time, Marty Rose downstairs on the piano!
Still have the bent finger when a mate got into a big fight with Paul Bulluss from richmond and his mates and broke it sideways, was so drunk not sure if i hit a face or something else hahaha.

Brilliant post. There really is no secret formula for motivating people, whether they be adults or children. All you have to do is make a connection. Some people can, and some people can't. The ones that can't rely on self help books. The ones that can can't explain how they do it.
The self-help books call this 'engagement'.

And your right. People work or follow people. Not systems, or processes, or structures. People.

They trust the bloke (or gal), and say 'even if I don't 100% agree or understand or believe this, if 'x' days do it - I'm doing it coz I trust them.

A galvanised team is the most essential ingredient and that comes from the leader.

I heard them say on SEN today that Nathan Buckley gave Freeman a bit of a send off last night (may have been on AFL 360). Does anyone know what was said? I thought they said something about his issues will follow him.

The Internet is your friend.

The thread is also a friend, particularly recent pages. Use of the search function will establish acquaintanceships with the potential to befriend. The world is your oyster! Eat freely of it.