National Draft - #8

• Thread starter Thread starter conVINCEd

Bockchoy67 said:
Matt Rosa, Nick Becker and Jesse D Smith are all capable midfielders who have impressed me. I predict Rosa (who represented and was one of the best for Vic Country) will go as a late 2nd Round pick. Smith and Becker after their terrific Grand Final performances are likely to be taken as 3rd Rounders.

Smith racked up 34 possessions in the Grand Final, so perhaps he is one who can perform well in big games. In fact, the only thing I can actually criticise him of is his lack of pace.

Agreed that we should be able to pick up a quality midfielder with our second pick (as Stiffy pointed out, Coughland was #25), but I still want to use #8 on a midfielder, I don't know where/how we will get a ruckman. :(

I guess the thing for me is, you can win a flag with adequate ruckmen, but you sure as hell can't win a flag win an adequate midfield, you need a quality bunch of midfielders for success.

Look at the 'gun' ruckmen in the comp - Gardiner, White, King, Everitt - none of them have been able to deliver a flag.

I'm still of the opinion that we need to trade for more first and second round draft picks through the likes of Burton and Bode, but it doesn't look like its going to happen. If we had a pick between #8 and #24, then I'd use that on a ruckmen, although it would probably have to be top 12 to get a good one.

McLeod23 said:
Agreed that we should be able to pick up a quality midfielder with our second pick (as Stiffy pointed out, Coughland was #25), but I still want to use #8 on a midfielder, I don't know where/how we will get a ruckman. :(

Actually, I was referring to us getting another midfielder through our 3rd pick.

We must get a midfielder with our no.8 pick if Wood and Franklin are not avaliable. Then we should use our second pick on a ruckman, though the amount left may be low by pick 24. If Wood or Franklin are still avaliable, I agree with Stiff in saying you have to draft them regardless of team structural disadvantages.

With our 3rd pick we should pick up another midfielder, but one that can also go forward (eg: McLeod, Edwards, Bode, Skipworth). Matt Rosa, at 189cm, looks like a real find to me. He can take a good grab, is pretty fast, and does everything right. He also has the potential to go forward as a flanker and/or pocket. Unfortunately, he may not be avaliable by our 3rd pick.

Jesse D Smith should do well after his super-impressive Grand Final performance. If he improves the depth of his kicking and his pace, I see no reason why he couldn't be a good utility at AFL level.

Bockchoy67 said:
With our 3rd pick we should pick up another midfielder, but one that can also go forward (eg: McLeod, Edwards, Bode, Skipworth). Matt Rosa, at 189cm, looks like a real find to me. He can take a good grab, is pretty fast, and does everything right. He also has the potential to go forward as a flanker and/or pocket. Unfortunately, he may not be avaliable by our 3rd pick.
Considering the depth of this year's draft (or lack of it) our 3rd pick (#40) will be a punt and the player I would like to see us pick up and have a punt on is Danyle Pearce from Sturt.

He got the record in the 20 meter sprint and agility at the Draft Camp. Has pace to burn, nice skills but is a bit on the light side. I would definetly take a punt on him with pick 40 or if we don't pick up a ruckman earlier I would probably go for someone like Daniel Batson.

Stiffy_18 said:
Considering the depth of this year's draft (or lack of it) our 3rd pick (#40) will be a punt and the player I would like to see us pick up and have a punt on is Danyle Pearce from Sturt.

He got the record in the 20 meter sprint and agility at the Draft Camp. Has pace to burn, nice skills but is a bit on the light side. I would definetly take a punt on him with pick 40 or if we don't pick up a ruckman earlier I would probably go for someone like Daniel Batson.
Think there's a few SA boys we could punt on.

Stiffy it still has me absolutely baffled no-one wants to discuss the father/son option in Copping who is still being rated a second round in the phantom drafts.
:confused:

Wayne's-World said:

Stiffy it still has me absolutely baffled no-one wants to discuss the father/son option in Copping who is still being rated a second round in the phantom drafts.
You are right there is a number of SA lads we can take a punt on with out 3rd round pick because in this years draft thats all it really is. Its a punt. Win some, lose some.

I am really not sure whats happening with the Copping lad. Are we absolutely certain that he is eligable for the father son rule and if in fact he is the son of??????

Wayne's-World said:

I was begining to think the same thing. Is he the kind of player the crows would be looking at? Im not even sure of what position he plays. Be good to have the son of a Bay gun running around with the crowies in any case.

Stiffy_18 said:
You are right there is a number of SA lads we can take a punt on with out 3rd round pick because in this years draft thats all it really is. Its a punt. Win some, lose some.

I am really not sure whats happening with the Copping lad. Are we absolutely certain that he is eligable for the father son rule and if in fact he is the son of??????
Im told on this board yes!

It hasn't even stirred debate on that question though.

A farther/son third round pick in this draft is valuable, even if he is a project player (apparently needs to seriously put on weight).

He does come from very good stock though and is 191cm.

Stiffy_18 said:

Batson was dogged by injuries at times throughout 2004, so he will go lower than expected at the start of the year.

IMO he has got all the athletic qualities to make it to AFL level. From what I've heard he's won heaps of athletic competitions, especially the High Jump, Long Jump and Sprints.

At 201 - 202cm he has the size. Many say he was unlucky to miss out on the U18 Championships, as he was an emergency.

The only thing, and it's a pretty big problem, is the fact he stands around too much after rucking. His ruckwork, especially in the centre square, really needs improvement.

However he's got a fantastic kick (he can kick around 50-65m) and a good pair of hands. To me he looks like a taller, more athletic Brendon Lade. Somone who can ruck, but can also be dangerous as a KPP.

From what I've seen, he's definitely worth it as a late 3rd Rounder, an early 4th Rounder or as a rookie. FootyDraft has him at no.68, which I think is a bit harsh. I would say high 50's or low 60's.

Pearce has also impressed me. His athletic qualities are a great feature of his game, though he does need to put on some weight, like nearly all of the draftees. :rolleyes:

Bockchoy67 said:
Batson was dogged by injuries at times throughout 2004, so he will go lower than expected at the start of the year.

IMO he has got all the athletic qualities to make it to AFL level. From what I've heard he's won heaps of athletic competitions, especially the High Jump, Long Jump and Sprints.

At 201 - 202cm he has the size. Many say he was unlucky to miss out on the U18 Championships, as he was an emergency.

The only thing, and it's a pretty big problem, is the fact he stands around too much after rucking. His ruckwork, especially in the centre square, really needs improvement.

However he's got a fantastic kick (he can kick around 50-65m) and a good pair of hands. To me he looks like a taller, more athletic Brendon Lade. Somone who can ruck, but can also be dangerous as a KPP.

From what I've seen, he's definitely worth it as a late 3rd Rounder, an early 4th Rounder or as a rookie. FootyDraft has him at no.68, which I think is a bit harsh. I would say high 50's or low 60's.

Pearce has also impressed me. His athletic qualities are a great feature of his game, though he does need to put on some weight, like nearly all of the draftees. :rolleyes:
If we pick up batson i would be delighted! And if we pick up pearce ill be stoked! I think we have to use our 2nd round pick though because after his performances in the camp he would go a lot higher.

i have said earlier in the thread what would be our logical and best for us draft picks but i recieved some interesting new late yesterday which was backed up by what Kevin Sheehan said when i wasnt listening last night according to my dad! I would not be suprised to see us pick up Thomas Redden with pick 8, simply because quality tall midfielders are as rare as hens teeth. The kids impressed everyone at draft camp and i have seen him play a few times this year and he will be an absolute gun, he went one on one with Monfries in the only game Angus played in school footy this year and gave Monfries an absolute bath by all reports, some are a bit synical about school football compared to 17s/19s football, but take it from me the level at school is actually better skilled and harder than that of 17s for sure and possibly even 19s. As i have said before, Redden is a quicker, maybe even more skillful version of Andrew Mackie who shocked people to be taken at pick 7 in 2002. I have seen both play and Reddo is a better player than Mackie was at school, apparentyl Kevin Sheehan expects him to go very high, i wouldnt be disappointed if he came to us at pick 8 because the kid can play;)

and no he is not son of Mick i dont think, but he is some relation!

http://www.csc.actebs.com.au/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1146

Quote from this message board: "Only thing I know about Benet Copping is that he's the nephew of former Essendon player Stephen Copping, who I'd never heard of. They're sayiong he's a CHB type who's a bit light on for kilos. Sounds OK."

Not sure whether thats correct or not but it probably explains why the Adelaide footy club hasnt made mention of using a father-son pick when most other clubs (carlton, kangas, collingwood) have done.

Thomas Redden would probably not be the son of Mick, otherwise the Power would be all over that one since I believe they are aligned with North Adelaide in father-son.

RooDog said:
i have said earlier in the thread what would be our logical and best for us draft picks but i recieved some interesting new late yesterday which was backed up by what Kevin Sheehan said when i wasnt listening last night according to my dad! I would not be suprised to see us pick up Thomas Redden with pick 8, simply because quality tall midfielders are as rare as hens teeth. The kids impressed everyone at draft camp and i have seen him play a few times this year and he will be an absolute gun, he went one on one with Monfries in the only game Angus played in school footy this year and gave Monfries an absolute bath by all reports, some are a bit synical about school football compared to 17s/19s football, but take it from me the level at school is actually better skilled and harder than that of 17s for sure and possibly even 19s. As i have said before, Redden is a quicker, maybe even more skillful version of Andrew Mackie who shocked people to be taken at pick 7 in 2002. I have seen both play and Reddo is a better player than Mackie was at school, apparentyl Kevin Sheehan expects him to go very high, i wouldnt be disappointed if he came to us at pick 8 because the kid can play;)

and no he is not son of Mick i dont think, but he is some relation!
Redden will be a superstar if we pick him up. he's listed as 190 cm but i reckon he'll grow to 192-193cm and then he can play as a kpp. He'll be very versatile- maybe a bit like riewolt!!!

imbecile12 said:
http://www.csc.actebs.com.au/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1146

Quote from this message board: "Only thing I know about Benet Copping is that he's the nephew of former Essendon player Stephen Copping, who I'd never heard of. They're sayiong he's a CHB type who's a bit light on for kilos. Sounds OK."

Not sure whether thats correct or not but it probably explains why the Adelaide footy club hasnt made mention of using a father-son pick when most other clubs (carlton, kangas, collingwood) have done.

Thomas Redden would probably not be the son of Mick, otherwise the Power would be all over that one since I believe they are aligned with North Adelaide in father-son.

no he is definately the son of Stephen, i just rang a mate and he said he is... no i asked my brother who goes to school with Reddo and he said its his nephew he thinks!

crowsarethebest said:
Redden will be a superstar if we pick him up. he's listed as 190 cm but i reckon he'll grow to 192-193cm and then he can play as a kpp. He'll be very versatile- maybe a bit like riewolt!!!

i actually dont think he will grow anymore actually!! even though he is a "young" yr12 this year i dont think he will after talking to a couple of his mates who said he has pretty much stopped growing all he needs to do now is to develop a bigger body but i dont know if he will he may be one of those wirey types i think!

RooDog said:
no he is definately the son of Stephen, i just rang a mate and he said he is... no i asked my brother who goes to school with Reddo and he said its his nephew he thinks![/QUOTE ]
We should pick redden. Carlton has a stack of them- kouta, walker bannisster and waite. Our midfield is to small.

RooDog said:
no he is definately the son of Stephen, i just rang a mate and he said he is... no i asked my brother who goes to school with Reddo and he said its his nephew he thinks!

Fair enough. Better source than mine. Just trying to get to the bottom of it since it never gets a mention in the papers.

Looks like Danyle Pearce has had an exceptional draft camp. The kid has blitzed it

Draft Camp Results

2004 National Bank's AFL Draft Camp

Height

Cameron Wood (West Adelaide) - 203.90cm
Fabian Deluca (Eastern Ranges) - 203.20cm
John Meesen (Geelong Falcons) - 199.30cm
Shane Neaves (Calder Cannons) - 199.00cm
Earl Shaw (Campbelltown) - 198.90cm
Adam Pattison (Northern Knights) - 197.90cm
Ivan Maric (Calder Cannons) - 197.80cm
Ryan Willitts (Northern Knights) - 197.30cm
Tom Williams (Morningside) - 196.10cm
Lance Franklin (Perth) - 195.90cm

Mass (kilograms)

Ryan Willitts (Northern Knights) - 99.9kg
Fabian Deluca (Eastern Ranges) - 97.0kg
Shane Neaves (Calder Cannons) - 96.6kg
Earl Shaw (Campbelltown) - 96.2kg
Ivan Maric (Calder Cannons) - 95.7kg
Jesse Wells (Burnie) - 93.7kg
Chad Gibson (Norwood) - 93.4kg
Heath Grundy (Norwood) - 92.2kg
Beau Wilkes (Claremont) - 90.6kg
Adam Pattison (Northern Knights) - 89.8kg

20-metre sprint

Danyle Pearce (Sturt) - 2.79sec
Richard Tambling (Southern Districts) - 2.87sec
Jordan Russell (West Adelaide) - 2.89sec
Brett Deledio (Murray Bushrangers) - 2.90sec
Jesse Wells (Burnie) - 2.95sec
Chad Gibson (Norwood) - 2.95sec
Tim Hill (Bendigo Pioneers) - 2.95sec
Chris Egan (Murray Bushrangers) - 2.95sec
Clinton Young (North Ballarat Rebels) - 2.97sec
Jarred Moore (Dandenong Stingrays) - 3.00sec

Standing vertical jump

Chad Gibson (Norwood) - 73.0cm
Danyle Pearce (Sturt) - 70cm
Tim Hill (Bendigo Pioneers) - 70cm
Brett Deledio (Murray Bushrangers) - 68.0cm
Angus Monfries (Sturt) - 68.0cm
Matt Little (Calder Cannons) - 67.0cm
Jordan Lewis (Geelong Falcons) - 67.0cm
Richard Tambling (Southern Districts) - 66.0cm
Jayden Attard (Dandenong Stingrays) - 66.0cm
Dean Limbach (Calder Cannons) - 65.0cm

Running vertical jump

Danyle Pearce (Sturt) - 96cm
Chris Egan (Murray Bushrangers) - 94cm
Richard Tambling (Southern Districts) - 93cm
Brett Deledio (Murray Bushrangers) - 92cm
Dean Limbach (Calder Cannons) - 90cm
Tom Williams (Morningside) - 87cm
Danny Meyer (Glenelg) - 87cm
Chad Gibson (Norwood) - 86cm
Damien McCormack (Dandenong Stingrays) - 84cm
Ryan Willitts (Northern Knights) - 83cm

Agility run

Danyle Pearce (Sturt) - 7.79sec
Nathan Van Berlo (West Perth) - 7.80sec
Andrew McQualter (Gippsland Power) - 8.00sec
Andrew Lee (Burnie) - 8.04sec
Mark Le Cras (West Perth) - 8.18sec
Dean Polo (Gippsland Power) - 8.19sec
Richard Tambling (Southern Districts) - 8.20sec
Jesse Wells (Burnie) - 8.22sec
Adam Thomson (Sturt) - 8.25sec
Jordan Russell (West Adelaide) - 8.29sec

Shuttle run

Nathan Van Berlo (West Perth) - Level 15.2
Andrew McQualter (Gippsland Power) - 15.1
Dean Polo (Gippsland Power) - 14.7
Lynden Dunn (Calder Cannons) - 14.6
Brent Prismall (Western Jets) - 14.2
Adam Pattison (Northern Knights) - 14.2
Matthew Bate (Eastern Ranges) - 14.1
Tom Williams (Morningside) - 14.1
Clinton Young (North Ballarat Rebels) - 14.1
Matt Rosa (North Ballarat Rebels) - 14.1

3km time-trail
Nathan Van Berlo (West Perth) - 10min 35sec
Tom Williams (Morningside) - 10:36
Andrew McQualter (Gippsland Power) - 10:38
Ryan Jackson (Northern Knights) - 10:40
Beau Wilkes (Claremont) - 10:42
Matt Rosa (North Ballarat Rebels) - 10:44
Dean Polo (Gippsland Power) - 10:44
John Meeson (Geelong Falcons) - 10:44
Danyle Pearce (Sturt) - 10:45
Adam Pattison (Northern Knights) - 10:46

Thanks for the info Stiff.

Chad Gibson from Norwood looks to have plenty of athleticism.

Despite his relatively big frame, he finished well in the vertical jumps and sprints.

And Dean Polo also did well, especially in the running categories. He's pretty tall, from all reports has performed consistently well through the TAC Cup season, and is predicted to go as a late 2nd Rounder. Being a midfielder, I think he's definitely one to look out for.

Combined with Matt Rosa I reckon he's definitely worth it as a 2nd rounder if we pick up Wood with no.8.