News National Draft - Pick 38 - Welcome Jordan Kelly

• Thread starter Thread starter grizzlym

Reads the play well, smart body player, goes extremely hard, very clean pickup, very quick hands, strong tackler.

Haven't seen any disposal by foot of any regard yet, but appears to be a very good footballer "when they've got it, or when it's in dispute".

I like.

Nice one hp. Its alright i know wat i am. i can laugh at myself. i was aware of the footage. thought the hawkers mite like a look. can remove if required. peace- cashy

Personally- very happy that anyone would make the effort to inform me of a player in the way you have. Much thanks.

If you have any extra YouTube stuff on Hill or Woodward- I wouldn't say no to that either. Pm me if ya like.

Cheers. :thumbsu:

Nice one hp. Its alright i know wat i am. i can laugh at myself. i was aware of the footage. thought the hawkers mite like a look. can remove if required. peace- cashy

Not criticising at all, its just funny how well documented his junior career is on youtube.

Muahaha our army of half back flankers grows. You got to catch 'em all!

Clever trade strategy, draft/trade for all the half back flankers/3rd talls, corner the market so no other club has them and then trade them for exorbitant prices. I like it.

Discovered just then that Jordan is almost family. OK, barely. My brother-in-law (well, I'm engaged at least) had two kids to Jordans mum's sister (maybe half sister). I got it from a lock tight, reliable source that this guy is a gun.:p

Trust me, I'll try and milk that link, no matter how obsure it is, I guess to make it sound good, I cou'ld say it's my sister in laws nephew.:p

the bloke who owns the newsagency has a butcher mate that goes shopping in a local fruit and veg shop where the shelf packer knew someone who went to school with jordans great uncles best mates brother inlaw :p id be milkin it too ;):D

Ryan Shoenmakers: 193cm 86kg
Stephen Gilham: 192cm 92kg
Ben Stratton: 189cm 82kg
Jordan Kelly: 191cm 81kg
Jarrad Boumann: 197cm 90kg

Thats our key defenders hoping boumann puts on 3 - 5kg over preseason and he can prove to be a very solid key backman shoenmakers needs to bulk up a bit aswell aswell as stratton Kelly u can excuse for now being just drafted

throw in gibson , hodge , birchall and goo , and thats a handy defencive unit in anyones book .

Seen a bit of Jordan Kelly over the last few years and he screams everything Hawthorn. Dedicated, humble, commited!

Very good lock down defender who can also go forward (played most of his junior footy at CHF).

Excellent skills by hand or foot, both sides of the body, good pace as he did a 3 sec flat for 20m at the combine and also has reasonable endurance 14.1 beep at combine.

As for the comparisons to Talia - Both measured 192cm at combine. Jordan is a few kg lighter but his skill level and decision making is way better.

I have been singing Kelly's praises in BF (even selected him in the Phantom draft) thrilled that the Hawks picked him up at about the right pick!

Clearly the Hawks do not select height (194cm+) as a criteria for players especially defenders. We want ability and a particular type first.

Jordan Kelly (at 192cm) is that type. Many many times the Hawks have failed to initiate physical contact at the marking contest. Gibson needs a run-up, Schoenmakers is loose, Birchall is a runner, Suckling is an attacker.

So in true traditonal defensive mode we have Stratton and probably Murphy.

Jordan Kelly is the true shoulder to shoulder tall defender we do not have (until this draft). He works very hard and wants to involve himself in the pyhsical defensive work.

He has good pace and pretty good skills.

He is a surpising choice to some but at Pick 38 he is worth it.

Seen a bit of Jordan Kelly over the last few years and he screams everything Hawthorn. Dedicated, humble, commited!

Very good lock down defender who can also go forward (played most of his junior footy at CHF).

Excellent skills by hand or foot, both sides of the body, good pace as he did a 3 sec flat for 20m at the combine and also has reasonable endurance 14.1 beep at combine.

As for the comparisons to Talia - Both measured 192cm at combine. Jordan is a few kg lighter but his skill level and decision making is way better.

I have been singing Kelly's praises in BF (even selected him in the Phantom draft) thrilled that the Hawks picked him up at about the right pick!

Thanks, mate. Always good to read opinions based on first-hand observations, especially when they're positive!

Clearly the Hawks do not select height (194cm+) as a criteria for players especially defenders. We want ability and a particular type first.

Don't tell Boumann that :)

Jordan Kelly is the true shoulder to shoulder tall defender we do not have (until this draft). He works very hard and wants to involve himself in the pyhsical defensive work.

Stratts goes all right:thumbsu:

This...from the small sample of videos he seems very good at making & keeping contact at the contest, and staying on his feet afterwards. Something Stratton does well.

Looks like a promising pick up.

Liking the sound of his pace and his determination. His height doesn't seem too shabby either. If he can Bulk up a bit too that would make him a pretty handy player at 38. Judging from his body shape and shoulders, he should be able to bulk up and fill out nicely. I think it was a good choice. Just hope Talia doesn't kill it... but his lack of pace and skill set might limit him. Good Choice Hawks!

Happy with our last 3 picks... that includes Bruest of course. Hill... i'm thinking there were some better players still there. Seriously we could of picked Hill with 53! I hope Graeme Wright sees something we don't. Hope we Rookie list Shane Nelson.

Club strategy is interesting. I may be wrong but it seems we are looking for defenders that have the pace to rebound. Is it due to the way the game is being played??

This appears to be the case with Boumann and Kelly pick ups. So it seems to me we want talls that can play well both in the air and when the ball hits the deck.

I may be imagining it too.:o

Thanks, mate. Always good to read opinions based on first-hand observations, especially when they're positive!

No worries... Jordan is a good egg!

Not sure he will grow much more, but will fill out. He will be an ideal replacement for Gilham or Gibson in a couple of years. Hopefully he gets to play some AFL games next year!

Kelly thrilled to be a Hawk

JORDAN Kelly says he will never forget the moment he was drafted by Hawthorn, at pick 38, last night.

He was with his parents, Greg and Maree at their Edithvale home, listening to the draft on radio.

"I saw it on my phone before mum did because the radio was a bit delayed for some reason," Jordan, 18, said.

"Mum said I just put my head down and, I don't know how, but she knew it was me. She said, 'it's you isn't it?'. I said, 'yeah it is'. And she dived on me and we hugged each other and she burst into tears. Then the phones started ringing.

"It was one of the best moments of my life.

"I will never forget it."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/kelly-thrilled-to-be-a-hawk/story-fn53khlj-1226206103775

Kelly thrilled to be a Hawk

JORDAN Kelly says he will never forget the moment he was drafted by Hawthorn, at pick 38, last night.

He was with his parents, Greg and Maree at their Edithvale home, listening to the draft on radio.

"I saw it on my phone before mum did because the radio was a bit delayed for some reason," Jordan, 18, said.

"Mum said I just put my head down and, I don't know how, but she knew it was me. She said, 'it's you isn't it?'. I said, 'yeah it is'. And she dived on me and we hugged each other and she burst into tears. Then the phones started ringing.

"It was one of the best moments of my life.

"I will never forget it."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/kelly-thrilled-to-be-a-hawk/story-fn53khlj-1226206103775

Great article....

My favorite bit :-

Jordan, a defender who grew up supporting Essendon, said he was thrilled to be going to the Hawks.

"I was stoked. There's probably no other club that I could be happier at," he said.
:D:D:D

Now all we need to do is get his cousin (Lachie Whitfield) next year !

Great article....

Jordan, a defender who grew up supporting Essendon, said he was thrilled to be going to the Hawks.

"I was stoked. There's probably no other club that I could be happier at," he said.
:D:D:D

Now all we need to do is get his cousin (Lachie Whitfield) next year !

I've already asked Santa to bring me a Lachie Whitfield for Christmas, he stooged me on Brad Crouch so he owes me one.

Safe as houses selection this one.
Schoe, Stratts, Litherland, Boumann, Kelly, Langford, and maybe Grimley seems to be a very solid collection of young defenders.
Add the experience and cool heads of Gibbo, Gillham, Birch, Hodge and Burgoyne that is an incredible defensive half.

Now if we can add Boseley or Clarke to the rookie list, we would have that slightly taller 194 cm + defender added to that mix as well.

In 2012 we go to the draft and pick up a gun tall, lightning quick mid, a project ruckman and a key forward our list will be freaking incredible.

Good times ahead for Hawks supporters.

I've already asked Santa to bring me a Lachie Whitfield for Christmas, he stooged me on Brad Crouch so he owes me one.

Safe as houses selection this one.
Schoe, Stratts, Litherland, Boumann, Kelly, Langford, and maybe Grimley seems to be a very solid collection of young defenders.
Add the experience and cool heads of Gibbo, Gillham, Birch, Hodge and Burgoyne that is an incredible defensive half.

Now if we can add Boseley or Clarke to the rookie list, we would have that slightly taller 194 cm + defender added to that mix as well.

In 2012 we go to the draft and pick up a gun tall, lightning quick mid, a project ruckman and a key forward our list will be freaking incredible.

Good times ahead for Hawks supporters.

Fat bastard stooged me last year too when I got X-Mens' Storm action figurine instead of Wolverine with retractable claws. :thumbsd:

Side note: I'm most excited about Jordan Kelly of our drafts selections.

Great article....

Given that he does not have to move interstate, and can now continue to live with his folks and have a shortish drive out ot Waverly every work day, then why wouldn't he be rapt?

Apart from the Saints, and who on earth would want to play with those <insert perjorative term> ?, no other club in the AFL offers that kind of convenience to a southern suburbs lad.

And that is before considering other factors such as the professionalism, resources, success, and stability of Hawthorn.

So it is no wonder he is happy.