Review Negatives vs North Melbourne

fu** everyone trashing Shuey in here, is the best candidate for captain in the entire league. Would like too see anyone else on our team do what he did in the 2018 GF. If that isn’t leadership then what is you ******* flogs.
Yeah but what do you really think?

fu** everyone trashing Shuey in here, is the best candidate for captain in the entire league. Would like too see anyone else on our team do what he did in the 2018 GF. If that isn’t leadership then what is you ******* flogs.

He's actually a terrible captain. Just because you play a blinder in a GF doesn't make you a leader of men. Hindsight is 20/20 but captaincy should fo gone to Jkk or Nic if you want the spiritual leader of the club type figure, or, if it had to be a midfielder it should of gone to Yeo. Being captain is nothing for Shuey but a feather in his cap and I don't think its elevated him a an individual nor do I think its elevated his status within the group.

I've been on the fence for quite a while on this question, and this is going to be an unpopular opinion but don't give a ****. The fact is, Shuey ducks. I have no respect for him as a player, I basically think he is a dishonourable cheat. He did it on the weekend and you could almost see it instantly lifting North. Players throughout the comp seem to genuinely despise him for his deliberate shrugs playing for high contact. Opposition supporters hate his guts. Umpires seem to be sick of being tricked into it. He's basically Toby Greene of 5 years ago, except making Greene captain seems to have taken a lot of the campaigner out of his game. Shuey seems to do it less these days, but for mine when he did it again on the weekend that was a turning point for me in the match as a supporter, thought we were going to lose but that we could still get over the line, when he did that I was like **** that campaigner I hope we lose.

Has nothing to do with my opinion though, I think if you are a player and your captain is playing for free kicks like that it wouldn't make you proud to be wearing the jumper. When the opposition have no respect for your captain for doing that shit it and you likely agree with them its not terribly motivating, especially when there is a game on the line and all of a sudden the opposition are fired up and want it more. This kind of shit matters, don't care what anyone says with the whole yeah well he might be a campaigner but he's our campaigner and an absolute jet of a player. Fine, I agree he's a great player. But, Kents like that make shit captains. And its absolutely true that we have gone backwards since he took the gig.

Opposition supporters hate his guts

Yeah it is high time we have a captain the opposition supporters adore.

Don't know how Geelong managed to stay on top all these years with Joel Selwood as captain. May be all those Geelong players are not highly-principled like our lot so don't mind it when Joel Ducks.

By the way, did Shuey play a game on the weekend?

He's actually a terrible captain. Just because you play a blinder in a GF doesn't make you a leader of men. Hindsight is 20/20 but captaincy should fo gone to Jkk or Nic if you want the spiritual leader of the club type figure, or, if it had to be a midfielder it should of gone to Yeo. Being captain is nothing for Shuey but a feather in his cap and I don't think its elevated him a an individual nor do I think its elevated his status within the group.

I've been on the fence for quite a while on this question, and this is going to be an unpopular opinion but don't give a fu**. The fact is, Shuey ducks. I have no respect for him as a player, I basically think he is a dishonourable cheat. He did it on the weekend and you could almost see it instantly lifting North. Players throughout the comp seem to genuinely despise him for his deliberate shrugs playing for high contact. Opposition supporters hate his guts. Umpires seem to be sick of being tricked into it. He's basically Toby Greene of 5 years ago, except making Greene captain seems to have taken a lot of the campaigner out of his game. Shuey seems to do it less these days, but for mine when he did it again on the weekend that was a turning point for me in the match as a supporter, thought we were going to lose but that we could still get over the line, when he did that I was like fu** that campaigner I hope we lose.

Has nothing to do with my opinion though, I think if you are a player and your captain is playing for free kicks like that it wouldn't make you proud to be wearing the jumper. When the opposition have no respect for your captain for doing that sh*t it and you likely agree with them its not terribly motivating, especially when there is a game on the line and all of a sudden the opposition are fired up and want it more. This kind of sh*t matters, don't care what anyone says with the whole yeah well he might be a campaigner but he's our campaigner and an absolute jet of a player. Fine, I agree he's a great player. But, Kents like that make sh*t captains. And its absolutely true that we have gone backwards since he took the gig.

You heard of a man called Luke Hodge or Joel Selwood you ****ing clown? Interested what you think of their leadership abilities. Shuey May rarely lower the knees but he’s the first to put his head on the line when it matters, the only one that gives 100% week in week out and one of the best big game players in the league.

Give up on watching football champ, you’ve clearly never played the game at any respectable level and you must hate half the league if you think Shueys a dishonourable cheat.

Good to hear you can read opposition players minds though, jump on the coaching panel because we could use some one with that ability right now.

Yeah it is high time we have a captain the opposition supporters adore.

Don't know how Geelong managed to stay on top all these years with Joel Selwood as captain. May be all those Geelong players are not highly-principled like our lot so don't mind it when Joel Ducks.

By the way, did Shuey played a game on the weekend?

Missing the point entirely. Plenty of captains across the game now and across history that have or demand respect from all comers. Those blokes are natural leaders, those blokes are the best leaders.I respect Selwood, don't necessarily like him. To the extent he ducks its a mark against him, finding examples of captions who duck isn't proving a point. Not sure what you mean in your last ungrammatical sentence but Shuey played and played 2nd lowest time on ground behind Nick, might be something in that and how we went, was suprised to see it when I looked at the stats how low his minutes were.

You heard of a man called Luke Hodge or Joel Selwood you ******* clown? Interested what you think of their leadership abilities. Shuey May rarely lower the knees but he’s the first to put his head on the line when it matters, the only one that gives 100% week in week out and one of the best big game players in the league.

Give up on watching football champ, you’ve clearly never played the game at any respectable level and you must hate half the league if you think Shueys a dishonourable cheat.

Good to hear you can read opposition players minds though, jump on the coaching panel because we could use some one with that ability right now.

Not sure Luke Hodge did wrong, is this a reference to his drink driving?

Face it you are all upset because you know its true, Shuey has a rep for playing for free's that would make Lindsey Thomas blush. Great player, don't like it in a captain you can all have a cry about it if you want its simply a fact.

What is clear, and has been for some years, we don't have good onfield leadership and have not since Cuz.
Nic Nat, and our team, did amazing when he was captain for those two games. Hand the captaincy to him I say!

Not sure Luke Hodge did wrong, is this a reference to his drink driving?

Face it you are all upset because you know its true, Shuey has a rep for playing for free's that would make Lindsey Thomas blush. Great player, don't like it in a captain you can all have a cry about it if you want its simply a fact.
Luke hodge has always been a dirty prick on the field that toed the line rules wise, but was still a fantastic player and leader, same goes with Selwood.
Selwoods reputation is far worse than Shueys yet in your last post you said you respected him? You’re talking out of your ass mate.

But continue to judge Shueys leadership from the crowd in his 18 injury affected games 🤡

“We’ve gone backwards since Shuey took over”. Must be that he’s a shit captain not that our two best midfielders have combined for 33/68 games, McGovern has turned into even more of a lazy prick after signing his contract and the best forward in the leagues, body is failing.

Missing the point entirely. Plenty of captains across the game now and across history that have or demand respect from all comers. Those blokes are natural leaders, those blokes are the best leaders.I respect Selwood, don't necessarily like him. To the extent he ducks its a mark against him, finding examples of captions who duck isn't proving a point. Not sure what you mean in your last ungrammatical sentence but Shuey played and played 2nd lowest time on ground behind Nick, might be something in that and how we went, was suprised to see it when I looked at the stats how low his minutes were.

Your main issue with Shuey is that he ducks from time to time. However, this is not a problem for Selwood who does far worse things than Shuey on the field. If you think Shuey has other faults which make him a terrible captain then please do enlighten us.

So Monday=weekend?

By itself, I can't see Rioli being a massive issue. But it could have been a point of contention that has allowed a wider airing of grievances.

It's blatantly obvious that the group isn't exactly playing for each other. I don't see the defensive running, the blocking, the 1 percenters that inspire confidence in a group.

There seems to be a lack of trust in the group itself, Nic Nat is having massive clearance numbers, but is that what we actually want? I don't think he trusts his midfield. Why do we also try the safest option or defer pressure to someone else by kicking to a contested marking situation near the boundary line or into the forward 50? Or why has our corralling of opponents reached comical levels as players are waiting on another teammate to make the tackle.

A complete lack of trust and a lot of 'make it someone else's problem' at the moment.

Shuey is no where near as bad as he used to be in regard to playing for frees. He still does the sideways lean on the odd occasion but to not like him for that when guys like Selwood are way worse is bizarre.

As for his captaincy, I thought he was always the ideal candidate for years. He always gives his all and gets around the boys.

Shuey is no where near as bad as he used to be in regard to playing for frees. He still does the sideways lean on the odd occasion but to not like him for that when guys like Selwood are way worse is bizarre.

As for his captaincy, I thought he was always the ideal candidate for years. He always gives his all and gets around the boys.

Irrelevant. He can't be captain because the opposition supporters hate him .

That was a tough game last night because of the weather and because our boys just weren't able to perform. I made a video at the ground last night with my brother and we talk about where the eagles should improve. I hope you like it!

Well done champ, that was brilliant. Levi was pretty spot on at half time.

Luke hodge has always been a dirty prick on the field that toed the line rules wise, but was still a fantastic player and leader, same goes with Selwood.
Selwoods reputation is far worse than Shueys yet in your last post you said you respected him? You’re talking out of your ass mate.

But continue to judge Shueys leadership from the crowd in his 18 injury affected games 🤡

Settle down chief. I agree that Shuey goes hard and I mostly his past antics were against Port and I found it hilarious and he's mostly taken that out of his game as well because there was damn near a royal commission into his ducking at one point 5-6 years back. Yes, this was mostly hypocritical vicbias media trying to run cover in part for Selwood.

I don't really care how dirty Hodge was he was a very inspiring leader and a 4 time premiership player. I rate thuggish behaviour, game is too soft. Selwood similarly has how many premierships? I've always seen him as more reckless in putting his head over the ball but fine with him being called a ducker. Many players do it, Shuey is/was just the worse at it. Generally don't pay much attention to the crowd or the media but opposition players generally have a heap of respect for each other out there on the battlefield and it never escapes anyones attention when Shuey gets paid for that trademark shrug, genuinely think it fires other sides up because it is just frankly dishonourable to play for free kicks, not something you want a reputation for I wouldn't think and his proceeds him.

I'll acknowledge that I am hardcore on this though. I've been saying for years that players that throw or stage should get match bans for bringing the game into disrepute, and I genuinely mean that. Only way to get it out of the game I think. When Bret Harvey knocked that football out of Priddis's hands down in Tasmania and appealed for that 50, I lost all respect for him. I still choose to see sportsmen as warriors and I think warriors should abide by a code of honour. Cheating of any kind disgusts me. I think that generally West Coast has always had a tough but fair brand built off the likes of Worsfold, and generally we've never gone down the dark path many victorian teams do of exploiting the rules and winning premierships off of throwing the ball, blocking, tunnelling and scragging forwards as a substitute for a game plan etc etc. I HATE to see that shit. Shuey can get ****ed with his shrugs, blight on the club I don't care what anyone says. Not as if I want him out of the team or see him as irredeemable but don't rate that side of his game and don't rate him as a captain and think there are better options. Thats just an opinion you can disagree with it if you like.

I would note that the Captaincy at West Coast seems from the outside like something the modern players aren't really that keen on, seems we've got a bit of an under the radar type culture about the place and that its seen as a bit of a poisoned chalice or something that if you wouldn't put your hand up for lest the other blokes think you've got too high an opinion of yourself or something. Jkk seems the natural leader in the group for mine but comes across as being just too chill to put himself forward. On performance over the period since Shueys been captain undoubtably Nic has been our most influential player, seemed to lift to another level in the matches the captained this year as well. Shame. But you'd of been mad to back him in to play so many games coming off those ACLs.

Btw on his injuries [Shueys]. Seems to be a direct link between his captaincy and that side of things. Its been all the talk from Simmo that these hamstrings are down to him being the hardest trainer on the track, attacking every drill at 100% pace. Blokes over 30, not the smartest move. I get needing to drive training standards and all that so you can't really criticise it, definitely a place for standards and professionalism on the training track especially for this mob. But, can't be doing that at the back end of your career if it means breaking down. Theres more to leadership than setting an example on the track or on the field. Ask Fremantle how much they loved RTB dumping Mundy for Fyfe because of his trophy cabinet and GOATness.

For me our midfield is not as good on field as it looks on paper. They seem to have no real chemistry and go missing for too long. They turned it on for 5 minutes in the last quarter and we kicked 4 goals, and then they went back to sleep and we watched norf players just run away from our mids like they didn’t care.

The other issue is our small forwards do not do anything small forwards should do. They don’t seem to know how to be front and centre to crumb, and they seem to apply very little pressure to the opposition when they win the ball in our forward line. The reason so many people get on Petch in here is coz he has the speed to be the best pressure forward in the game but you rarely see him tackle someone in our forward 50.

Our game plan needs work but the best game plan in the world is no good when your mids can’t get their hands on the footy and the team doesn’t apply defensive pressure when there’s a turnover.

There's a difference between leadership/leading from the front/setting an example and captaincy.
Compare for example Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting. Steve Waugh was a great captain, like Mark Taylor before him.
Ricking Ponting was a great player and led by example, but he wasn't a very good captain. When things went badly and ideas were needed it was guys like Warne and Gilchrist and Langer who were behaving as captains, not Ponting. He wasn't an adapter, a flexible thinker the way Waugh and Taylor were. He was actually lucky in that regard as he had a team chocked with champions who could win almost every match.

Shuey. And suggesting he isn't the best choice for captain is not trashing him. I'd love to see him lose that burden; a burden that seems to be weighing on him at the moment. The burden of trying to turn around a losing team while being a midfield leader, by being captain and while being unable to perform to your high standards due recurring injuries.

Some guys thrive with the added burden, some don't.

Positive- It's at least funny that most of Sportsbet's tipping prizewinners just forgot to enter their tips until Monday, then correctly picked North to roll us. Well played EagleJake, you wily bastard.
Screenshot_20210713-220803.jpg

There's a difference between leadership/leading from the front/setting an example and captaincy.
Compare for example Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting. Steve Waugh was a great captain, like Mark Taylor before him.
Ricking Ponting was a great player and led by example, but he wasn't a very good captain. When things went badly and ideas were needed it was guys like Warne and Gilchrist and Langer who were behaving as captains, not Ponting. He wasn't an adapter, a flexible thinker the way Waugh and Taylor were. He was actually lucky in that regard as he had a team chocked with champions who could win almost every match.

Shuey. And suggesting he isn't the best choice for captain is not trashing him. I'd love to see him lose that burden; a burden that seems to be weighing on him at the moment. The burden of trying to turn around a losing team while being a midfield leader, by being captain and while being unable to perform to your high standards due recurring injuries.

Some guys thrive with the added burden, some don't.
Shuey is not only the most inspirational/lead by example player in our team but he also has one of the highest forty IQ’s in our team. But yeah let’s go with Yeo or Nic Nat as captain who blind hack kick half the times they get the footy.