Neil Craig

Neeld taught me in primary school and for high school cricket and P.E. Went on my Yr 8 AUSCAMP group. Good bloke and smart man. Arrogent but in a good way, likes to pay-out on people.

Funny story was when we were hiking each day (trust me it was bloody hard we hiked 53km for 5 days) he would pay me out about how I had **** all weight on my packpack (we all had 25kg's). Funny thing is on one of the last days he falls to the ground with back spasms and I gave him a bit of shit only to have another teach tell me he had some kind of back injury and to lay off. He would try and make me clean the dishes at camp outs too after meals. Love hate relationship. Bit of a ******** but good bloke too.

That said he will do fairly well I believe. I can assure you nobody will defy his commands because he can be a pretty intimidating fellow, commands respect.

^^
Also heard he's a bit full-of-himself

Back to Craig, i reckon the club is going about this the right way, not atrracting attention with a big media frenzy like others. Just quitely trying to get a man who can help them reach there goal a little easier:thumbsu:

lol obviously not. Also, lol at Melbourne for sacking an in-experienced coach to hire an experienced one and getting Mark Neeld. lol wut? Mark Neeld coaching career P 0 W 0 L 0. Would guess that no experienced coach wanted to be at that rabble.

Never said they would get pre head coach experienced coach. Just the best best. Bit Pot Kettle Black calling us a rabble. We have actully played finals recently, by tigs standards anyway. Remember them! :)

Anyways was just lookin for any news on Craig.

Never said they would get pre head coach experienced coach. Just the best best. Bit Pot Kettle Black calling us a rabble. We have actully played finals recently, by tigs standards anyway. Remember them! :)

Can't say i remember u playing finals recently to be honest? Yes, we WERE a rabble. Can't say we lost by 186 a month or so ago tho :eek:

How many captains have started a game in the red vest ?
The axing of McDonald was only bettered by the appointment of Green , which inturn was bettered by your upcoming leader seeing the light and heading to a completely newly formed side , what quality leadership your club has , I'm sure people are just falling over one another to get there ?
Hence why you seized the opportunity and signed the in demand super assistant Brian Royal ?

Can't say i remember u playing finals recently to be honest? Yes, we WERE a rabble. Can't say we lost by 186 a month or so ago tho :eek:

Compared to the last time you guys even made a final the years 2000 2002 2004 2006 are all pretty dam recent. :cool:

How many captains have started a game in the red vest ?
The axing of McDonald was only bettered by the appointment of Green , which inturn was bettered by your upcoming leader seeing the light and heading to a completely newly formed side , what quality leadership your club has , I'm sure people are just falling over one another to get there ?
Hence why you seized the opportunity and signed the in demand super assistant Brian Royal ?

I agree with you. The leadership at Melb on and off the field has been diabolical.

I'll know much about Neeld in the not too distant future.

I actually think Neeld was a good appointment by the Dee's. He can't do any worse than Bailey. Dee's have some big deficiencies in their list still. Will be interesting to see how it all unfolds. I think the political divisions within the club though will hamper Neeld to a degree. Time will tell.

Demons biggest issues sadly are not Royal.

Schwab should have been booted from the club, and CC with him (instead of being moved side ways).

I know they say cc can no longer interfere in footy matters, but Schwab isn't supposed to get involved in footy matters are all, and his interference cause a shit load of problems down there.

Bring in Neil, Mlthouse, or Jesus Christ, don't matter until you remove those two liabilities.

Demons biggest issues sadly are not Royal.

Schwab should have been booted from the club, and CC with him (instead of being moved side ways).

I know they say cc can no longer interfere in footy matters, but Schwab isn't supposed to get involved in footy matters are all, and his interference cause a shit load of problems down there.

Bring in Neil, Mlthouse, or Jesus Christ, don't matter until you remove those two liabilities.

Schwab is a cancer. No doubt. He should have been booted while they had the chance.

Compared to the last time you guys even made a final the years 2000 2002 2004 2006 are all pretty dam recent. :cool:
*cough* denial *cough*

at least we know we've been shit. don't see many teams gloat they played finals in 2006. that's cool though. whatever helps u sleep at night.

I actually think Neeld was a good appointment by the Dee's. He can't do any worse than Bailey. Dee's have some big deficiencies in their list still. Will be interesting to see how it all unfolds. I think the political divisions within the club though will hamper Neeld to a degree. Time will tell.

Good call Captain blood, also a bit unusual how Brian royal was resigned at about the same time. I was under the impression that senior coaches had some say in this. I know W. campbell stayed with us when Dimma came onboard but he was better known around the club etc. Does Royal have strong links with the Dees?? Sorry I'm a bit off the topic:eek:

Royal knows that if he fell out of contract this year he would have gone the same way as Scott West. Royal has two years left and wasn't about to be paid out. I'm not a fan of Royal, but he won't be a massive issue. It's accepted at club land that the two most important people in the footy dept are the senior coach and the fitness coach. Some may argue that the head recruiter is right up there, but the two I mention are the linch pins.

Also, Schwab has been fantastic for our club. Yes, he's been too immersed in footy and almost lost his job over it, but the parameters are now firmly in place with regards to his role. Under his stewardship we have rid ourselves of $5mil debt, have record sponsorship (top end of entire AFL), are once again a section of the MCC, etc. Now some of you will dismiss these achievements, or place them at the feet of Stynes, but no club will achieve these targets without a good CEO. He's made mistakes, but he's a key plank in our club.

I have faith that he'll embrace the role in the way the club wants him to. I'll give him the benefit of the doubt. Then again, that's my nature and it differs with many that post on these forums.

Truth be known, Schwab was only retained, after he was given his marching orders, when he threatened to take 5 or 6 million dollars worth of sponsorship with him. The dees had no option but to keep him and dismiss Bailey instead on that fateful weekend.
All is not peaceful down in demon land......

Truth be known, Schwab was only retained, after he was given his marching orders, when he threatened to take 5 or 6 million dollars worth of sponsorship with him. The dees had no option but to keep him and dismiss Bailey instead on that fateful weekend.
All is not peaceful down in demon land......

Unlikely unsubstantiated and bordering on fanciful speculation.

Mate it's great your passionate and your club needs supporters like yourself. But, understand, just because people know things about another club doesn't mean it should be dismissed. We have had plenty of heads up moments from opposition supporters as well. Your board is anything but settled, and there are still massive divisions and factions within your club. I can't say how i know, so you'll just have to take my word. Neeld is a very good appointment, but i seriously question whether your club can provide him with the right level of support to get the job done. So sorry if that upsets you, but it is what it is. Keep on truckin':thumbsu:

Didn't realize this topic was about Melbourne and there coaching problems

Please stop talking about the cheatmons :thumbsu: