Opinion New AFC HQ: We're on like Donkey Kong!

What should we do?

"Things changed when the state league was understood to have told parties involved it wanted $8.5m, rather than $11m, to hand over its lease to Adelaide from West Torrens Council."

Well at least we know now what the compensation to the SANFL was.

8.5 million dollars

It appears that the SANFL were originally demanding 11 million dollars, but once Brompton because a possiblity they panicked and lowered their asking price to 8.5 million

So after all the money they've ripped out of us over the years, we now have to fork over another 8.5 million to these clowns.

Sorry, but it's an absolute joke.
So you are trying to credit Mal for reducing the payout by $2.5M? Thats funny.

Maybe the SANFL knew Brompton was a political stunt and Olsen negotiated it down from $11M to $8.5M.

They had a 10 year lease, they knew we wanted the development badly, what would you have expected them to accept?

The sad thing was that we were originally offered Thebarton on a peppercorn agreement way back when Trigg committed to the white elephant because the SANFL were trying to shore up Footy Parks future by getting us to invest there.

Well it looks like Olsen has managed to gift the SANFL even more money.
Wow, you need to leave your political bias out of this.

I think they got the feedback and are responding rather than forgot to put licensed venue on the press release.

The biggest problem is coming up with the solution that keeps the most people happy.

Like, what ticks that box for the most people, would coming out and confirming there will be a bar or outlets, for example on the deck near the scoreboard/hill area on AFLW/SANFL/trial game days that will have alcohol do?

Is it something like maybe the feel of a Grill'd or a Schnitz where you can get something from a limited menu, maybe 1 of a dozen burgers and a the choice of 3 sponsor beers if you don't want a coke with your meal. This could be on a balcony over looking the playing field or something.

Is it a full bistro with chef and full staff and food ordering for a menu with 50+ options, something for everyone, steaks, schnitzels, chicken, seafood, burgers pizzas, Asian, Italian, full on menu, and full bar of alcohol choices that can seat hundreds of people.

Would the poeple that want the last option be ok with subsidising it with pokies and tab facilities, would the negative response to doing that outway the positive.

Or does it only tick the box if it can scale up to the couple of thousand people who might attend after a big match, basically a third version of the shed.

And there are probably a heap of choices between that lot that offer something differnt.

I just want them to try and do something decent, it can't be a like a Bunnings cafe or a hospital kiosk selling wraps, muffins and fingerbuns.

https://www.adelaidenow.com.au/spor...l/news-story/589fec9554d173b3515d248dff94a421

"Things changed when the state league was understood to have told parties involved it wanted $8.5m, rather than $11m, to hand over its lease to Adelaide from West Torrens Council.

Discussions between the Thebarton stakeholders ramped up on Monday and Tuesday.

Negotiations are continuing between the Crows, council and SANFL as a win-win is sought for all."
Footage of the SANFL during the negotiations:

64926153-6376-4ce4-9749-37df9d668b3f_text.gif

The sad thing was that we were originally offered Thebarton on a peppercorn agreement way back when Trigg committed to the white elephant because the SANFL were trying to shore up Footy Parks future by getting us to invest there.

Well it looks like Olsen has managed to gift the SANFL even more money.

Is this an SANFL gouge, or just fair compensation?

SANFL do hold the lease.

Why do posters need to make stuff up to argue their point?

I am not demanding it and nor am I upset. I am merely countering the opinion of those on here that think its not needed because they wont go and using that to determine others wont and are dismissing the opinion of those who want it and would go. Clearly the backlash and Olsen has acknowledged it, indicates it is wanted by a number of members and supporters.

Its patronage I think has been downplayed on here. This is a venue that will have a captured market, a loyal bunch of Crows supporters that would go for a meal and a drink to support their club. It doesnt need to be a 7 day week venue, Thursday to Sunday. Just look at the number of pubs around Adelaide who operate 7 days a week who dont have pokies, that get * all patronage during the week and are still open. They need the patrons to keep the doors open and still do and not all have pokies. Some would be paying a s**t load of rent.

The Crows venue wont have that. The facility is there, we wouldn't be paying rent to anyone. We wont need to staff it for the quiet periods as it wont be open. It will be part of the complex, not the complex.

And I said nothing about AO so why make that up as well?
So essentially a licensed Cafe only open during times there is Football activity?

This I agree with.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Wow, you need to leave your political bias out of this.

Are you sure you're not projecting? You're the one being overly sensitive about Olsen and constantly trying to shield him from any criticism by trying to claim it's politically driven which is complete and utter BS.

I've said all along and made it clear for months that I couldn't give a shit about Olsen's political history, it's about his connection to the SANFL that worries me.

My concern was whether Thebarton Oval was somehow going to end up being a massive financial windfall for the SANFL and everyone including yourself was trying to claim that it wasn't etc and we were being paranoid about nothing. Even yesterday you were still trying to claim that Olsen wasn't about to gift the SANFL a massive pay day.

Yet here we now find out that we're about to gift the SANFL 8.5 million to vacate a 10 year lease that the SANFL pays about 20k for a year and trying to play it off as some sort of win?

So essentially a licensed Cafe only open during times there is Football activity?

This I agree with.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Basically, there's no need for a 7 day business, it wouldn't survive. But a Thursday to Sunday thing, that will include activity at the club and away games. During the summer months you could justifiably close it as footy isnt happening and open for open training sessions etc.

Are you sure you're not projecting? You're the one being overly sensitive about Olsen and constantly trying to shield him from any criticism by trying to claim it's politically driven which is complete and utter BS.

I've said all along and made it clear for months that I couldn't give a s**t about Olsen's political history, it's about his connection to the SANFL that worries me.

My concern was whether Thebarton Oval was somehow going to end up being a massive financial windfall for the SANFL and everyone including yourself was trying to claim that it wasn't etc and we were being paranoid about nothing. Even yesterday you were still trying to claim that Olsen wasn't about to gift the SANFL a massive pay day.

Yet here we now find out that we're about to gift the SANFL 8.5 million to vacate a 10 year lease that the SANFL pays about 20k for a year and trying to play it off as some sort of win?
So your opinion of Olsen has nothing to do with being an ex Liberal Premier?

As for political bias, you are trying to claim we got a discount on what we paid thanks to Mal and his bogus political stunt and not what Olsen negotiated down.

I have never said it wouldn't be a windfall for the SANFL because they hold the lease. What I have laughed at is your paranoia that Olsen is more interested in looking after the SANFL than us. Your rationale? Because he was good at his job when he worked for them, wow.

As for the payout, how do you know the lease was $20k a year, I bet you it was more than $1666 a month for a property that size. Remember they didn't have to leave, they held all the cards, we were always going to pay through the nose once they knew we had no where else to go.

Not sure if this image was shared earlier, from an Advertiser article. Replicating the feel of Adelaide Oval with a hill and scoreboard area is a good idea. I don't know if it will have any real benefit, but having that home ground feel can only help.

View attachment 1490487
Crows fans are going to be confused ... am I at Adelaide or Thebby :think:

:grin:

Cmon people, lighten up, we might be finally be able to secure our new home without going out to the sticks for a 9ha area to work in ... on top of Izak news.

In all seriousness, the West Thebarton is just across the road.

Surely something basic at the training centre could be complemented by a partnership with that pub?

Still want something we could watch big away finals at but something like a tie in with the West Thebby would work, surely
It’s a hell of a road to cross and I think the facility needs to be overlooking the training grounds otherwise it’s “just another pub”

You want a venue that for the majority of the time is a small cafe but with temporary walls that can be removed to create a much larger space on game day.

At Optus stadium there is the Camfield Pub that is absolutely packed when Freon and West Coast play. However it works at other times as it's on the banks of the Swan has a great playground/open space area and attracts people outside of game day. Can't see the same draw at Thebarton

That pub outside Optus is a cracker.

Crows fans are going to be confused ... am I at Adelaide or Thebby :think:

:grin:

Cmon people, lighten up, we might be finally be able to secure our new home without going out to the sticks for a 9ha area to work in ... on top of Izak news.

If the rebuild goes well, 2025 could be a pretty big year!

But people like yourself are putting this licenced club fantasy ahead of elite training facilities.

What?
No one is doing that.
Everyone wants the elite training facility and it would be stupid if the club wasn’t aiming for that.
Just some people want both.